Skip to main content
UC Logo
Libraries | Ask the Libraries

NEW RefWorks (The Next-Generation RefWorks)

A new version of RefWorks is now available.

CONTENTS --Writing with RefWorks

WRITING/COMPOSITION USING REFWORKS

Writing with RefWorks (3 Options: Write-N-Cite, RefWorks Citation Manager & Google Docs add-on)

Refworks provides three writing utilities with which you can create in-text citations and bibliographies: Write-N-Cite (WnC), RefWorks Citation Manager (RCM) and the Google Docs add-on.   Links to video tutorials for the all 3 utilities are provided below.  RefWorks also provides a mechanism for creating a stand-alone bibliography which may be used simply as a stand-alone product or added to the end of a paper or manuscript. 

Selecting the RefWorks writing utility (IMPORTANT)

Your choice of  which RefWorks writing utility you use depends on your operating system (Windows or Mac) and the version of word processor (MS Word or Google Doc) you use.  Use the "RefWorks Writing Plugins" link below to help you make this decision.

Refworks Writing Plugins

Using Write-N-Cite 

Write-N-Cite Basics

More Information about Write-N-Cite

Using RefWorks Citation Manager

Installing RefWorks Citation Manager for Word 2016

Enabling RefWorks Citation Manager (if blocked by institutional IT staff)

RefWorks Citation Manager for MS Word 2016

Using RefWorks Add-on for Google Docs

RefWorks Add-on for Google Docs

More Information about RefWorks Add-on for Google Docs

Using RefWorks to Create a Stand-alone Bibliography

Creating a Stand-alone Bibliography

Additional Information about RefWorks Plugins

Link to ProQuest's ExLibris Knowledge Center (includes a compatibility table)

Creating a Stand-alone Bibliography

You can easily create a bibliography from the All Documents area, any collection or your search results list.

Navigate to the collection you want to use (or All Documents area or run a search and select items) and click the Create bibliography icon

You can choose to create a bibliography for selected references or for all of the reference in the collection (or in All Documents if that's the view you are in).

Next, search for your output style and select it.  Your formatted bibliography will be displayed in your browser for you to copy and paste into any word processing software.

To use a custom output style from your RefWorks account, click here.

RefWorks Writing Plugins

Write-N-Cite Issues and Fixes

In this box you will find a range of problems and fixes for Write-N-Cite.  These links come from a variety of resources.

University of Cincinnati Libraries

PO Box 210033 Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033

Phone: 513-556-1424

Contact Us | Staff Directory

University of Cincinnati

Alerts | Clery and HEOA Notice | Notice of Non-Discrimination | eAccessibility Concern | Privacy Statement | Copyright Information

© 2019 University of Cincinnati