Research Guides: Immigration and Human Rights Law Review Guide: Additional Resources

Statistics

Asylum Statistics by Nationality Asylum statistics chart.
Immigration Judge Complaint Statistics The Office of the Chief Immigration Judge has established a procedure that allows any person to file a complaint about the conduct of an Immigration Judge. Coverage for statistics begin in 2009.
Statistical Yearbook Total immigration court matters received by the court for the fiscal year. Prepared by the Office of Planning, Analysis, & Statistics.
Visa Bulletin The monthly Visa Bulletin shows the waiting times for immigrant visas in different categories from different countries. Archived copied are available going back to 2002.
Visa Statistics The Report of the Visa Office is an annual report providing statistical information on immigrant and non-immigrant visa issuances by consular offices, as well as information on the use of visa numbers in numerically limited categories.

Websites

Country Reports on Human Rights Practices The annual Country Reports on Human Rights Practices – the Human Rights Reports – cover internationally recognized individual, civil, political, and worker rights, as set forth in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and other international agreements. The U.S. Department of State submits reports on all countries receiving assistance and all United Nations member states to the U.S. Congress in accordance with the Foreign Assistance Act of 1961 and the Trade Act of 1974.
EOIR Virtual Law Library This site serves as a complement to the Law Library and Immigration Research Center (LLIRC) located within the headquarters complex of the Executive Office for Immigration Review (EOIR).
European Council on Refugees & Exiles The European Council on Refugees and Exiles (ECRE) is a pan-European alliance of 90 NGOs protecting and advancing the rights of refugees, asylum seekers and displaced persons. Our mission is to promote the establishment of fair and humane European asylum policies and practices in accordance with international human rights law.
Findlaw (Immigration Law) Provides information on immigration, asylum, visas, deportation and removal.
HierosGamos (Immigration Law) Provides an overview on immigration and links to articles.
The Immigration Portal Provides links to immigration news, blogs, CRS reports, and more.
Legal Information Institute (Immigration) Provides an overview of immigration with links to resources.
Migration Information Source Working with a team of international correspondents, the Source chronicles global migration movements, provides perspectives on current migration debates, and offers the tools and data from numerous global organizations and governments needed to understand migration.
Refworld Collection of refugee policy documents and guidelines from a variety of sources. In particular, UNHCR's position papers relating to specific countries and case loads are highlighted here.
U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets General country information, including background notes.
UC Law Journals' Guide This guide is intended to introduce you to the many ways that the Library can help you write an article, pull sources, and/or cite check.

Associations & Organizations

ABA Commission on Immigration The Commission directs the Association’s efforts to ensure fair treatment and full due process rights for immigrants and refugees within the United States.
ACLU Immigrants' Rights Project The ACLU Immigrants’ Rights Project is dedicated to expanding and enforcing the civil liberties and civil rights of immigrants and to combating public and private discrimination against them.
American Immigration Council Through research and analysis, the Council promotes the development of immigration policies that reflect our proud history as a nation of immigrants that respects fundamental principles of fairness and due process.
American Immigration Lawyers Association The American Immigration Lawyers Association (AILA) is the national association of more than 14,000 attorneys and law professors who practice and teach immigration law. AILA member attorneys represent U.S. families seeking permanent residence for close family members, as well as U.S. businesses seeking talent from the global marketplace. AILA members also represent foreign students, entertainers, athletes, and asylum seekers, often on a pro bono basis. Founded in 1946, AILA is a nonpartisan, not-for-profit organization that provides continuing legal education, information, professional services, and expertise through its 39 chapters and over 50 national committees.
Center for Gender & Refugee Studies The CGRS database contains information on over 9,000 asylum cases from 1996 and after at all levels of adjudication across the United States.
Center for Immigration Studies The Center for Immigration Studies is an independent, non-partisan, non-profit, research organization. Since 1985, CIS has provided immigration policymakers, the academic community, news media, and concerned citizens with reliable information about the social, economic, environmental, security, and fiscal consequences of legal and illegal immigration into the United States.
Federation for American Immigration Reform i FAIR, the Federation for American Immigration Reform is a non-profit, non-partisan organization of concerned individuals who believe that our immigration laws must be reformed to better serve the needs of current and future generations.
Immigrant Legal Resource Center The ILRC seeks to improve immigration law and policy, expand the capacity of legal service providers, and advance immigrant rights.
Immigration Equality The nation's leading LGBTQ immigrant organization.
National Immigration Forum The National Immigration Forum is one of the leading immigrant advocacy organizations in the country, with a mission to advocate for the value of immigrants and immigration to the nation.
National Immigration Law Center Established in 1979, the National Immigration Law Center (NILC) is one of the leading organizations in the U.S. exclusively dedicated to defending and advancing the rights of low-income immigrants.
National Lawyer's Guild: National Immigration Project Since its founding, the National Immigration Project has served as a progressive source for cutting-edge, advocacy-oriented legal support on issues critical to immigrant rights.