A systematic literature review (SLRs; also known as systematic review or as systematic overview, evidence summary, integrative review, or research synthesis) is a summary of the research literature that is focused on a single question.
The systematic review process has been developed to minimize bias and ensure transparency. Methods should be adequately documented so that they can be replicated.
Key components of a systematic review include:
Conducting a systematic or integrative review is a team endeavor and if well-designed, is a time intensive research project that may take a year or more to complete. Total time will vary depending on the scope of the review and the size and availability of the team. The Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions provides the following table showing estimated times for each task:
Table used with permission. Green S, Higgins JPT (editors). Chapter 2: Preparing a Cochrane review. In: Higgins JPT, Green S (editors). Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions Version 5.1.0 (updated March 2011). The Cochrane Collaboration, 2011. Available from http://handbook.cochrane.org
| FUNCTION | TOOL(S) | REFERENCE | NOTES |
|---|---|---|---|
| Identify existing systematic reviews (if any) | |||
| Explicit statement of PICO question(s) | PRISMA-P | ||
| Describe information sources (databases, websites, grey literature, hand searching, etc.) and date ranges | PRISMA-P | ||
| Identify literature limits (if any) | PRISMA-P | ||
| Identify "gold standard" articles [GSA] (3-10 minimum) | |||
| Subject heading frequency analysis of GSA | http://mesh.med.yale.edu/ | ||
| Term harvesting | |||
| Testing search terms | |||
| Finalize reproducible search string in database 1 | |||
| Test search string 1 against GSA | |||
| PI approval of search string 1 | |||
| Translate search string to remaining database(s) | |||
| Peer review of search strategies | PRESS | + Copy editing + Methodologic assessment |
|
| Conduct search of grey literature (if necessary) | |||
| Conduct hand-searching (if necessary) | |||
| Conduct reference list searching (if necessary) | |||
| Contact other authors (if necessary) | |||
| Document reproducible search strings | |||
| Export literature search results | Cochrane Handbook Section 6.5.2 |
||
| Import and organize literature search results | EndNote | ||
| Deduplicate search results | EndNote | Bramer method | |
| Export deduplicated results into selection software | https://rayyan.qcri.org/ | ||
| Populate screening software with inclusion/exclusion criteria | https://rayyan.qcri.org/ | ||
| Perform title/abstract [tiab] screening using minimum of two independent reviewers | https://rayyan.qcri.org/ | ||
| Export chosen citations after tiab screening | |||
| Obtain full text for tiab selected articles | |||
| Screen full text articles (two independent reviewers minimum) | |||
| Export chosen citations after full text screening | |||
| DATA EXTRACTION | |||
| STATISTICAL ANALYSIS | |||
| Submit protocol to PROSPERO | |||
| Update search strings | |||
| Supply figures for PRISMA flow diagram | PRISMA flow diagram | PDF Example | |
| Complete PRISMA flow diagram | PRISMA flow diagram | Word Template | |
| Write structured abstract | PRISMA-A | ||
| Write methods section of abstract | |||
| Present full reproducible search strategy for at least one database | PRISMA checklist |
Reproduced from: Grant MJ, Booth A. A typology of reviews: an analysis of 14 review types and associated methodologies. Health Info Libr J. 2009 Jun;26(2):91-108. doi: 10.1111/j.1471-1842.2009.00848.x. Review. PubMed PMID: 19490148. |
|||||
Label |
Description |
Search |
Appraisal |
Synthesis |
Analysis |
|
Critical review |
Aims to demonstrate writer has extensively researched literature and critically evaluated its quality. Goes beyond mere description to include degree of analysis and conceptual innovation. Typically results in hypothesis or model. |
Seeks to identify significant items in the field. |
No formal quality assessment. Attempts to evaluate according to contribution. |
Typically narrative, perhaps conceptual or chronological. |
Significant component: seeks to identify conceptual contribution to embody existing or derive new theory. |
|
Literature review |
Generic term: published materials that provide examination of recent or current literature. Can cover wide range of subjects at various levels of completeness and comprehensiveness. May include research findings. |
May or may not include comprehensive searching. |
May or may not include quality assessment. |
Typically narrative. |
Analysis may be chronological, conceptual, thematic, etc. |
|
Mapping review/systematic map |
Map out and categorize existing literature from which to commission further reviews and/or primary research by identifying gaps in research literature. |
Completeness of searching determined by time/scope constraints. |
No formal quality assessment. |
May be graphical and tabular. |
Characterizes quantity and quality of literature, perhaps by study design and other key features. May identify need for primary or secondary research. |
|
Meta-analysis |
Technique that statistically combines the results of quantitative studies to provide a more precise effect of the results. |
Aims for exhaustive searching. May use funnel plot to assess completeness. |
Quality assessment may determine inclusion/exclusion and/or sensitivity analyses. |
Graphical and tabular with narrative commentary. |
Numerical analysis of measures of effect assuming absence of heterogeneity. |
|
Mixed studies review/mixed methods review |
Refers to any combination of methods where one significant component is a literature review (usually systematic). Within a review context it refers to a combination of review approaches for example combining quantitative with qualitative research or outcome with process studies. |
Requires either very sensitive search to retrieve all studies or separately conceived quantitative and qualitative strategies. |
Requires either a generic appraisal instrument or separate appraisal processes with corresponding checklists. |
Typically both components will be presented as narrative and in tables. May also employ graphical means of integrating quantitative and qualitative studies. |
Analysis may characterize both literatures and look for correlations between characteristics or use gap analysis to identify aspects absent in one literature but missing in the other. |
|
Overview |
Generic term: summary of the [medical] literature that attempts to survey the literature and describe its characteristics. |
May or may not include comprehensive searching (depends whether systematic overview or not). |
May or may not include quality assessment (depends whether systematic overview or not). |
Synthesis depends on whether systematic or not. Typically narrative but may include tabular features. |
Analysis may be chronological, conceptual, thematic, etc. |
|
Qualitative systematic review/qualitative evidence synthesis |
Method for integrating or comparing the findings from qualitative studies. It looks for ‘themes’ or ‘constructs’ that lie in or across individual qualitative studies. |
May employ selective or purposive sampling. |
Quality assessment typically used to mediate messages not for inclusion/exclusion. |
Qualitative, narrative synthesis. |
Thematic analysis, may include conceptual models. |
|
Rapid review |
Assessment of what is already known about a policy or practice issue, by using systematic review methods to search and critically appraise existing research. |
Completeness of searching determined by time constraints. |
Time-limited formal quality assessment. |
Typically narrative and tabular. |
Quantities of literature and overall quality/direction of effect of literature. |
|
Scoping review |
Preliminary assessment of potential size and scope of available research literature. Aims to identify nature and extent of research evidence (usually including ongoing research). |
Completeness of searching determined by time/scope constraints. May include research in progress. |
No formal quality assessment. |
Typically tabular with some narrative commentary. |
Characterizes quantity and quality of literature, perhaps by study design and other key features. Attempts to specify a viable review. |
|
State-of-the-art review |
Tend to address more current matters in contrast to other combined retrospective and current approaches. May offer new perspectives on issue or point out area for further research. |
Aims for comprehensive searching of current literature. |
No formal quality assessment. |
Typically narrative, may have tabular accompaniment. |
Current state of knowledge and priorities for future investigation and research. |
|
Systematic review |
Seeks to systematically search for, appraise and synthesize research evidence, often adhering to guidelines on the conduct of a review. |
Aims for exhaustive, comprehensive searching. |
Quality assessment may determine inclusion/exclusion. |
Typically narrative with tabular accompaniment. |
What is known; recommendations for practice. What remains unknown; uncertainty around findings, recommendations for future research. |
|
Systematic search and review |
Combines strengths of critical review with a comprehensive search process. Typically addresses broad questions to produce ‘best evidence synthesis’. |
Aims for exhaustive, comprehensive searching. |
May or may not include quality assessment. |
Minimal narrative, tabular summary of studies. |
What is known; recommendations for practice. Limitations. |
|
Systematized review |
Attempt to include elements of systematic review process while stopping short of systematic review. Typically conducted as postgraduate student assignment. |
May or may not include comprehensive searching. |
May or may not include quality assessment. |
Typically narrative with tabular accompaniment. |
What is known; uncertainty around findings; limitations of methodology. |
|
Umbrella review |
Specifically refers to review compiling evidence from multiple reviews into one accessible and usable document. Focuses on broad condition or problem for which there are competing interventions and highlights reviews that address these interventions and their results. |
Identification of component reviews, but no search for primary studies. |
Quality assessment of studies within component reviews and/or of reviews themselves. |
Graphical and tabular with narrative commentary. |
What is known; recommendations for practice. What remains unknown; recommendations for future research. |
