If writing or cite checking about an interdisciplinary topic, you may need to check non-legal periodicals. The sources that you would check will differ depending on the topic chosen. You may find it helpful to check out the subject guides developed by a UC librarian who specializes in that area. Visit our http://guides.libraries.uc.edu/ page to view all subject guides.
The following are some selected, general resources for non-legal periodicals.
JSTOR includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs.
Project MUSE provides access to articles from over 40 journals in the humanities starting in 1995. Human Rights Quarterly is published electronically through Project MUSE.
Google Scholar includes access to thousands of scholarly research articles, books, reports and a variety of additional formats. You may or may not find full-text resources in Google Scholar. If you are on-campus and searching Google Scholar, it will often identify resources to which the UC libraries subscribe.
PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health. PubMed comprises more than 37 million citations and abstracts biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) was established in 1914. There are two databases created from the files: PAIS International and PAIS Archive (now PAIS ProQuest). PAIS International includes records from the print PAIS Bulletin 1977 and forward; it also includes PAIS print Foreign Language Index published 1972-1990¸ at which time it merged with the PAIS Bulletin. The PAIS International database contains continually updated records for over half a million journal articles¸ books¸ government documents¸ statistical directories¸ grey literature¸ research reports¸ conference papers¸ web content¸ and more. PAIS (formerly PAIS Archive) is a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin¸ volumes 1-62¸ published 1915-1976. PAIS (ProQuest)contains over 1.23 million records and covers monographs¸ periodical articles¸ notes and announcements¸ and analytics. Coverage: 1914-present
You must be a UC student, faculty, or staff to access these legal periodical databases.
