Active and Passive Vibration Damping by Amr M. BazActive and Passive Vibration Damping is a practical guide to the application of passive as well as actively treated viscoelastic damping materials to control vibration and noise of structures, machinery and vehicles. The author — a noted expert on the topic — presents the basic principles and reviews the potential applications of passive and active vibration damping technologies. The text presents a combination of the associated physical fundamentals, governing theories and the optimal design strategies of various configurations of vibration damping treatments.
Publication Date: 2018-12-07
Aluminium Castings Engineering Guide by Jagan NathThis practical guide to product and process engineering of various aluminum castings emphasises process and material characteristics; product-process-alloy integration; manufacturing aspects of aluminum casting; product design features; tooling design, feeding and gating design; product quality needs and specifications; and more.
Publication Date: 2018-10-01
Biopolymers and Biomaterials by Aneesa Padinjakkara (Editor)Biopolymers are attracting immense attention of late because of their diverse applications that can address growing environmental concerns and energy demands. The development of various biomaterials creates significant advancements in the medical field as well, and many biopolymers are used for the fabrication of biomaterials. Together, biopolymers and biomaterials create great potential for new materials, applications, and uses. This new volume, Biopolymers and Biomaterials, covers the science and application of biopolymers and biomaterials. It presents an array of different studies on biopolymers and biomaterials, along with their results, interpretation, and the conclusions arrived at through investigations. It includes biopolymer synthesis, their characterizations, and their potential applications. The book begins with an explanation of the different biopolymers used in the textile industry, their advantages and disadvantages, and their applications.
Publication Date: 2018-12-18
Blended Learning in Engineering Education by Ataur Rahman; Vojislav IlicBlended Learning combines the conventional face-to-face course delivery with an online component. The synergetic effect of the two modalities has proved to be of superior didactic value to each modality on its own. The highly improved interaction it offers to students, as well as direct accessibility to the lecturer, adds to the hitherto unparalleled learning outcomes. "Blended Learning in Engineering Education: Recent Developments in Curriculum, Assessment and Practice" highlights current trends in Engineering Education involving face-to-face and online curriculum delivery. This book will be especially useful to lecturers and postgraduate/undergraduate students as well as university administrators who would like to not only get an up-to-date overview of contemporary developments in this field, but also help enhance academic performance at all levels.
Publication Date: 2018-11-13
Capillary Flows in Heterogeneous and Random Porous Media 1 by Rachid AbabouCapillary phenomena occur in both natural and human-made systems, from equilibria in the presence of solids (grains, walls, metal wires) to multiphase flows in heterogeneous and fractured porous media. This book, composed of two volumes, develops fluid mechanics approaches for two immiscible fluids (water/air or water/oil) in the presence of solids (tubes, joints, grains, porous media). Their hydrodynamics are typically dominated by capillarity and viscous dissipation.
Publication Date: 2018-10-31
Failure Investigation of Boiler Tubes - A Comprehensive Approach by Haribhakti, Paresh; Joshi, P. B.; Kumar, RajendraFailures or forced shutdowns in power plants are often due to boilers, and particularly failure of boiler tubes. This comprehensive resource deals with the subject of failure investigation of boiler tubes from basic fundamentals to practical applications. Coverage includes properties and selection of materials for boiler tubes from a metallurgical view point, damage mechanisms responsible for failure of boiler tubes, and characterization techniques employed for investigating failures of boiler tubes in thermal power plants and utility boilers of industrial/commercial/institutional (ICI) boilers. A large number of case studies based on the actual failures from the field are described, along with photographs and microstructures to allow for easy comprehension of the theory behind the failures.
Publication Date: 2018
Foundations of MIMO Communication by Robert W. Heath; Ángel LozanoUnderstand the fundamentals of wireless and MIMO communication with this accessible and comprehensive text. Viewing the subject through an information theory lens, but also drawing on other perspectives, it provides a sound treatment of the key concepts underpinning contemporary wireless communication and MIMO, all the way to massive MIMO. Authoritative and insightful, it includes over 330 worked examples and 450 homework problems, with solutions and MATLAB code and data available online. Altogether, this is an excellent resource for instructors and graduate students, as well as an outstanding reference for researchers and practicing engineers.
Publication Date: 2018-12-31
Low Power Circuits for Emerging Applications in Communications, Computing, and Sensing by Krzysztof Iniewski (Editor); Fei Yuan (Editor)The book addresses the need to investigate new approaches to lower energy requirement in multiple application areas and serves as a guide into emerging circuit technologies. It explores revolutionary device concepts, sensors, and associated circuits and architectures that will greatly extend the practical engineering limits of energy-efficient computation. The book responds to the need to develop disruptive new system architecutres, circuit microarchitectures, and attendant device and interconnect technology aimed at achieving the highest level of computational energy efficiency for general purpose computing systems. Features Discusses unique technologies and material only available in specialized journal and conferences Covers emerging applications areas, such as ultra low power communications, emerging bio-electronics, and operation in extreme environments Explores broad circuit operation, ex. analog, RF, memory, and digital circuits Contains practical applications in the engineering field, as well as graduate studies Written by international experts from both academia and industry
Publication Date: 2018-12-18
Metal Recovery from Electronic Waste by Arda IşildarWaste electrical and electronic equipment (WEEE) generation is a global problem. Despite the growing awareness and deterring legislation, most of the WEEE is disposed improperly, i.e. landfilled or otherwise shipped overseas, and treated in sub-standard conditions. Informal recycling of WEEE has catastrophic effects on humans and the environment. WEEE contains considerable quantities of valuable metals such as base metals, precious metals and rare earth elements (REE). Metal recovery from WEEE is conventionally carried out by pyrometallurgical and hydrometallurgical methods. In this PhD research, novel metal recovery technologies from WEEE are investigated. Using acidophilic and cyanide-generating bacteria, copper and gold were removed from crushed electronic waste with removal efficiencies of 98.4 and 44.0%, respectively. The leached metals in solution were recovered using sulfidic precipitation and electrowinning separation techniques. Finally, a techno-economic assessment of the technology was studied. This research addresses the knowledge gap on two metal extraction approaches, namely chemical and biological, from a secondary source of metals. The essential parameters of the selective metal recovery processes, scale-up potential, techno-economic and sustainability assessment have been studied.
Publication Date: 2018-11-07
Nanoparticles in Polymer Systems for Biomedical Applications by Jince Thomas (Editor); Sabu Thomas (Editor); Nandakumar Kalarikkal (Editor); Jiya Jose (Editor)The volume includes presentations of technological and research accomplishments along with novel approaches in nanomedicine and nanotechnology. It explores the different types of nanomedicinal drugs with their production and commercial significance. Other topics discussed are the use of natural and synthetic nanoparticles for the production of drugs, different types of nanoparticles systems, drug carriers, wound-healing antimicrobial activity, effects of natural materials in nanomedicine, and toxicity of nanoparticles. The valuable information presented in this volume will help to keep those in this field up to date on the key findings, observations, and fabrication of drugs related to nanomedicine and nanotechnology. With chapters written by prominent researchers from academia, industry, and government and private research laboratories across the world, the book will prove to be a rich resource.
Publication Date: 2019-01-08
Natural GAS Processing from Midstream to Downstream by Nimir O. Elbashir (Editor); Ioannis G. Economou (Editor); Mahmoud M. El-Halwagi (Editor); Kenneth R. Hall (Editor)Natural Gas Processing from Midstream to Downstream will present a global perspective on the production and monetization of shale gas and natural gas, providing techno-economic assessments of the midstream and downstream natural gas processing technologies. The book will identify the current status and the challenges facing the advancement of the midstream natural gas treatments, such as gas sweeting processes and sulfur recovery units, gas dehydration, and natural gas pipeline transportations, while highlighting the challenges facing shale gas production and treatment. Special emphasis will be given to the downstream processes including the physical treatment (Liquefied Natural Gas or LNG) and the chemical conversion (both direct conversion (e.g. natural gas to methanol) and indirect conversion (e.g. Gas-to-Liquid or GTL)). The book will also provide an overview of natural gas monetization processes and the potential for shale gas to play a role in the future of the energy market, specifically for the production of ultra-clean fuels and value-added chemicals. Written by a team of international authors, the book will include contributions from world leading researchers in academia and industry, highlighting examples of successful collaboration between academia and industry for the advancement of existing commercial technologies and the development of innovative processes. This book will be a valuable reference to academic researchers and industry professionals, providing a broad overview of the current status and challenges for natural gas production, treatment and monetization technologies.
Publication Date: 2019-02-04
Novel Bioremediation Processes for Treatment of Seleniferous Soils and Sediment by Shrutika Laxmikant WadgaonkarThe aim of this Ph.D. was to develop a technology for the remediation of seleniferous soils/sediments and to explore microbial reduction of selenium oxyanions under different respiration conditions and bioreactor configurations. Seleniferous soil collected from the wheat-grown agricultural land in Punjab (India) was characterized and its soil washing was optimized by varying parameters, where addition of oxidizing agents showed a maximum selenium removal efficiency. Aquatic plants, Lemna minor and Egeria densa were used to study phytoremediation of the selenium-rich soil leachate containing oxidizing agents. Additionally, migration of the soluble selenium fraction from the upper to the lower layers and its subsequent reduction and accumulation in the lower layers of the soil column was observed during soil flushing. Furthermore, the soil leachate containing selenium oxyanions obtained from soil washing was treated in a UASB reactor by varying the organic feed. Ex situ bioremediation of selenium oxyanions was studied under variable conditions. An aerobic bacterium (Delftia lacustris) capable of transforming selenate and selenite to elemental selenium was isolated and characterized. Anaerobic bioreduction of selenate coupled to methane oxidation was investigated in serum bottles and a biotrickling filter using marine sediment as inoculum. Finally, the effect of contamination of other chalcogen oxyanions (tellurium) on selenium bioreduction was studied in a continuous system (UASB reactor).
Publication Date: 2018-10-17
Principles of Forensic Engineering Applied to Industrial Accidents by Luca Fiorentini Luca MarmoForensic engineering should be seen as a rigorous approach to the discovery of root causes that lead to an accident or near-miss. The approach should be suitable to identify both the immediate causes as well as the underlying factors that affected, amplified, or modified the events in terms of consequences, evolution, dynamics, etc., as well as the contribution of an eventual "human error".
Publication Date: 2018-11-26
Solid State Composites and Hybrid Systems by Rada Savkina; Larysa KhomenkovaSolid state composites and hybrid systems offer multifunctional applications in various fields of human life, demonstrating solutions to the key problems of the environment, human health, biology, medicine, electronics, energy harvesting and storage. Exploring this innovative field of research, this book details the wide range of materials, techniques, and approaches utilised in composite and hybrid structures in recent years. It will be of interest not only for experienced researchers but also for postgraduate students and young researchers entering the fields of nanoscience, material sciences, and bioengineering. Features: Contains the latest research developments in the materials, techniques, patents, and approaches in the field Includes both fundamental aspects and applied research Edited by two highly experienced researchers
Publication Date: 2018-09-04
Water Harvesting for Groundwater Management by Partha Sarathi DattaOutlines the concept and principles of water harvesting for groundwater management for an international audience, and looks at the positives and negatives surrounding water harvesting technologies This book is the first to fully outline the concept and principles of water harvesting for groundwater management for a global audience. It offers guidance to academics, students and researchers on effective water harvesting approaches for groundwater recharge, and educates them on the risks associated with managed aquifer recharge, as well as the causes of success or failure of particular management strategies, and demand management strategies and tools. The book is helpful to water managers, administrators, and professionals, to make decisions to allocate resources; developing innovative cost-effective measures and approaches to achieve demand-supply balance. The book provides readers with an overview of the historical evolution of water harvesting for groundwater recharge. It looks at the benefits and gaps in knowledge, their implementation and funding strategies, and public participation. It also assesses the strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and threats (SWOT) of water harvesting technologies. Water Harvesting for Groundwater Management: Issues, Perspectives, Scope and Challenges offers chapters covering: issues on water harvesting and water security; mega-trends that impact water security; groundwater occurrence, availability, and recharge-ability; phases of water harvesting systems; SWOT analysis of water harvesting systems; case studies and short examples of implementing water harvesting; scope of water harvesting for GWM strategies; guidelines to make water harvesting helpful and meaningful for GWM; and more. Summarizes the theories and applications of water harvesting for groundwater management for a world audience Offers guidance on effective water harvesting approaches for groundwater recharge, managed aquifer recharge, and successful water management strategies Evaluates the strengths, weaknesses, opportunities and threats (SWOT) of water harvesting technologies Part of the Challenges in Water Management series Water Harvesting for Groundwater Management: Issues, Perspectives, Scope and Challenges is an excellent resource for water management professionals working with water harvesting technologies, and will be of great interest to water managers, administrators, professionals, academics and researchers working in water management.