1-Dimensional Metal Oxide Nanostructures by Zainovia Lockman (Editor)1-D metal oxide nanostructures, especially those with semiconducting properties, have attracted much attention in recent years due to their potential and emerging applications, specifically in environment purification and energy devices. For these applications, there have been many efforts to grow 1-D nanostructures in the form of nanotubes, nanorods, and nanowires using processes that conserve energy, are cost effective, and can be scaled up for large-scale production. 1-Dimensional Metal Oxide Nanostructuresgathers under one title the most recent development of oxide nanomaterials, especially those fabricated via oxidation process in the nanoscale field. Thermal and anodic oxidation processes are reviewed with an aim to offer an in-depth understanding of mechanisms of 1-D nanostructure formation, their characteristics, and limitations. Other more common methods are also discussed, including sol-gel, hydrothermal, and other templated methods. Important applications of 1-D nanostructures are then presented, focusing on oxides like zinc oxide, titanium oxide, zirconium oxide, copper oxide, and iron oxide. A chapter on carbon nanotubes hybrid with these oxides is also included as well as one on silicon oxide nanowires formation by local anodic oxidation process. Aimed at researchers, academics, and engineers working across the fields of nanotechnology, materials science, chemistry, physics, semiconductors, and environmental and biomedical engineering, this essential reference enables readers to grasp the main concepts of nanomaterials in 1-D: formation technique, characteristics, and uses. It also encourages practical innovations in nanotechnology, especially in curbing pressing global issues related to energy, environment, and security.
Advanced Battery Management Technologies for Electric Vehicles by Rui Xiong; Weixiang ShenA comprehensive examination of advanced battery management technologies and practices in modern electric vehicles Policies surrounding energy sustainability and environmental impact have become of increasing interest to governments, industries, and the general public worldwide. Policies embracing strategies that reduce fossil fuel dependency and greenhouse gas emissions have driven the widespread adoption of electric vehicles (EVs), including hybrid electric vehicles (HEVs), pure electric vehicles (PEVs) and plug-in electric vehicles (PHEVs). Battery management systems (BMSs) are crucial components of such vehicles, protecting a battery system from operating outside its Safe Operating Area (SOA), monitoring its working conditions, calculating and reporting its states, and charging and balancing the battery system. Advanced Battery Management Technologies for Electric Vehicles is a compilation of contemporary model-based state estimation methods and battery charging and balancing techniques, providing readers with practical knowledge of both fundamental concepts and practical applications. This timely and highly-relevant text covers essential areas such as battery modeling and battery state of charge, energy, health and power estimation methods. Clear and accurate background information, relevant case studies, chapter summaries, and reference citations help readers to fully comprehend each topic in a practical context. Offers up-to-date coverage of modern battery management technology and practice Provides case studies of real-world engineering applications Guides readers from electric vehicle fundamentals to advanced battery management topics Includes chapter introductions and summaries, case studies, and color charts, graphs, and illustrations Suitable for advanced undergraduate and graduate coursework, Advanced Battery Management Technologies for Electric Vehicles is equally valuable as a reference for professional researchers and engineers.
Publication Date: 2019-02-26
Ageing and Life Extension of Offshore Structures by Gerhard Ersdal; John V. Sharp; Alexander Stacey A comprehensive overview of managing and assessing safety and functionality of ageing offshore structures and pipelines A significant proportion, estimated at over 50%, of the worldwide infrastructure of offshore structures and pipelines is in a life extension phase and is vulnerable to ageing processes. This book captures the central elements of the management of ageing offshore structures and pipelines in the life extension phase. The book gives an overview of: the relevant ageing processes and hazards; how ageing processes are managed through the life cycle, including an overview of structural integrity management; how an engineer should go about assessing a structure that is to be operated beyond its original design life, and how ageing can be mitigated for safe and effective continued operation. Key Features: Provides an understanding of ageing processes and how these can be mitigated. Applies engineering methods to ensure that existing structures can be operated longer rather than decommissioned unduly prematurely. Helps engineers performing these tasks in both evaluating the existing structures and maintaining ageing structures in a safe manner. The book gives an updated summary of current practice and research on the topic of the management of ageing structures and pipelines in the life extension phase but also meets the needs of structural engineering students and practicing offshore and structural engineers in oil & gas and engineering companies. In addition, it should be of value to regulators of the offshore industry.
Publication Date: 2019-02-04
Biomaterials for Cell Delivery by Aaron S. Goldstein (Editor)The purpose of this book is to summarize key strategies and recent accomplishments in the area of developing cell/biomaterial constructs for regenerative medicine. The first section is a review of the state-of-the-art of biomaterial carriers and is divided into synthetic and natural materials. A subset of the latter are decellularized organs which retain the structure and some of the biological activities of the target organ. The bulk of the book is devoted to unique problems associated with key tissue and organ targets. Key selling features: Describes developing cell/biomaterial constructs for regenerative medicine Reviews state-of-the-art of biomaterial carriers Summarizes the unique problems associated with key tissue and organ targets Discusses issues associated with clinical translation including quality control, manufacturing practices, nondestructive imaging, and animal models
Publication Date: 2018-12-10
Carbon Nanomaterials for Bioimaging, Bioanalysis, and Therapy by Huang-Cheng Chang (Editor); Haifeng Dong (Editor); Yuen Y. Hui (Editor); Xueji Zhang (Editor)This book provides background knowledge at the entry level into the biomedical applications of carbon nanomaterials, focusing on three applications; bioimaging, bioanalysis and therapy. Carbon nanomaterials have different shapes and structures like carbon nanotubes, nanodiamonds, fullerenes, carbon nanohorns, carbon nanodots and nanographene. However, not every carbon nanomaterial is promising for the respective biomedical applications. The book begins with a general introduction to carbon nanomaterials for biomedical applications, including a discussion about the pros and cons of various carbon nanomaterials for the respective applications. The book then goes on to describe various applications in bioimaging, bioanalysis and therapy; each chapter briefly introduces the biomedical application, and emphasizes the most appropriate carbon nanomaterial(s) for the application. Topics covered include: * Functionalization of carbon nanomaterials for therapeutic applications * Biocompatibility/toxicity * Fluorescence imaging * Magnetic Resonance Imaging with carbon nanomaterials * Pre-clinical/clinical bioimaging applications * Electrochemical and Optical bioanalysis of carbon nanomaterials * Image-guided drug delivery * Targeted cancer therapy * Photothermal/photodynamic therapy This book is published as a title in the new Wiley book series Nanocarbon Chemistry and Interfaces. This series summarizes recent developments in the exciting and evolving field of carbon-based nanomaterials from a chemistry perspective, with a particular focus on surface chemistry and interface properties of nanocarbons.
Publication Date: 2019-01-29
Computational Paradigm Techniques for Enhancing Electric Power Quality by L. Ashok Kumar; S. Albert AlexanderThis book focusses on power quality improvement and enhancement techniques with aid of intelligent controllers and experimental results. It covers topics ranging from the fundamentals of power quality indices, mitigation methods, advanced controller design and its step by step approach, simulation of the proposed controllers for real time applications and its corresponding experimental results, performance improvement paradigms and its overall analysis, which helps readers understand power quality from its fundamental to experimental implementations. The book also covers implementation of power quality improvement practices. Key Features Provides solution for the power quality improvement with intelligent techniques Incorporated and Illustrated with simulation and experimental results Discusses renewable energy integration and multiple case studies pertaining to various loads Combines the power quality literature with power electronics based solutions Includes implementation examples, datasets, experimental and simulation procedures
Filter Evaluation Procedures for Granular Media by Daniel K. Nix; John Scott TaylorThis book is a compilation of more than ten years of searching for procedures to evaluate the condition of filter media. Filter Evaluation Procedures for Granular Media takes you through all of the granular filter test procedures that water professionals need to know. This book will give water industry personnel the guidance needed to produce the highest level of finished water quality for the protection of the public. Filter Evaluation Procedures for Granular Media: Provides a complete filter evaluation and maintenance program for your water treatment plant Includes step-by-step procedures, equipment needed, and forms for recording your findings for 15 filter bed tests Shows correct safety procedures for working in filter beds
Publication Date: 2019-01-10
Forest Products and Wood Science by Rubin Shmulsky; P. David JonesThe updated seventh edition of the classic text on wood science and forestry The seventh edition of Forest Products and Wood Science: An Introduction offers a fully revised and updated review of the forest products industry. This classic text contains a comprehensive review of the subject and presents a thorough understanding of the anatomical and physical nature of wood. The authors emphasize its use as an industrial raw material. Forest Products and Wood Science provides thorough coverage of all aspects of wood science and industry, ranging from tree growth and wood anatomy to a variety of economically important wood products, along with their applications and performance. The text explores global raw materials, the increasing use of wood as a source of energy and chemicals and environmental implications of the use of wood. This edition features new material on structural composites, non-structural composites, durability and protection, pulp and paper, energy and chemicals, and global raw materials. This seventh edition of the classic work: Contains new information on a variety of topics including: structural composites, non-structural composites, durability and protection, pulp and paper, energy and chemicals and global raw materials Includes a fully revised text that meets the changing needs of the forestry, engineering, and wood science academics and professionals Presents material written by authors with broad experience in both the private and academic sectors Written for undergraduate students in forestry, natural resources, engineering, and wood science, as well as forest industry personnel, engineers, wood-based manufacturing and using professionals, the seventh edition of Forest Products and Wood Science updates the classic text that has become an indispensable resource.
Publication Date: 2019-03-11
Fundamentals of Electroceramics by R. K. PandeyThe first textbook to provide in-depth treatment of electroceramics with emphasis on applications in microelectronics, magneto-electronics, spintronics, energy storage and harvesting, sensors and detectors, magnetics, and in electro-optics and acousto-optics Electroceramics is a class of ceramic materials used primarily for their electrical properties. This book covers the important topics relevant to this growing field and places great emphasis on devices and applications. It provides sufficient background in theory and mathematics so that readers can gain insight into phenomena that are unique to electroceramics. Each chapter has its own brief introduction with an explanation of how the said content impacts technology. Multiple examples are provided to reinforce the content as well as numerous end-of-chapter problems for students to solve and learn. The book also includes suggestions for advanced study and key words relevant to each chapter. Fundamentals of Electroceramics: Materials, Devices and Applications offers eleven chapters covering: 1.Nature and types of solid materials; 2. Processing of Materials; 3. Methods for Materials Characterization; 4. Binding Forces in Solids and Essential Elements of Crystallography; 5. Dominant Forces and Effects in Electroceramics; 6. Coupled Nonlinear Effects in Electroceramics; 7. Elements of Semiconduct∨ 8. Electroceramic Semiconductor Devices; 9. Electroceramics and Green Energy; 10.Electroceramic Magnetics; and 11. Electro-optics and Acousto-optics. Provides an in-depth treatment of electroceramics with the emphasis on fundamental theoretical concepts, devices, and applications with focus on non-linear dielectrics Emphasizes applications in microelectronics, magneto-electronics, spintronics, energy storage and harvesting, sensors and detectors, magnetics and in electro-optics and acousto-optics Introductory textbook for students to learn and make an impact on technology Motivates students to get interested in research on various aspects of electroceramics at undergraduate and graduate levels leading to a challenging career path. Includes examples and problem questions within every chapter that prepare students well for independent thinking and learning. Fundamentals of Electroceramics: Materials, Devices and Applications is an invaluable academic textbook that will benefit all students, professors, researchers, scientists, engineers, and teachers of ceramic engineering, electrical engineering, applied physics, materials science, and engineering.
Publication Date: 2019-01-07
Handbook of Position Location by Reza Zekavat (Editor); R. Michael Buehrer (Editor)A comprehensive review of position location technology -- from fundamental theory to advanced practical applications Positioning systems and location technologies have become significant components of modern life, used in a multitude of areas such as law enforcement and security, road safety and navigation, personnel and object tracking, and many more. Position location systems have greatly reduced societal vulnerabilities and enhanced the quality of life for billions of people around the globe -- yet limited resources are available to researchers and students in this important field. The Handbook of Position Location: Theory, Practice, and Advances fills this gap, providing a comprehensive overview of both fundamental and cutting-edge techniques and introducing practical methods of advanced localization and positioning. Now in its second edition, this handbook offers broad and in-depth coverage of essential topics including Time of Arrival (TOA) and Direction of Arrival (DOA) based positioning, Received Signal Strength (RSS) based positioning, network localization, and others. Topics such as GPS, autonomous vehicle applications, and visible light localization are examined, while major revisions to chapters such as body area network positioning and digital signal processing for GNSS receivers reflect current and emerging advances in the field. This new edition: Presents new and revised chapters on topics including localization error evaluation, Kalman filtering, positioning in inhomogeneous media, and Global Positioning (GPS) in harsh environments Offers MATLAB examples to demonstrate fundamental algorithms for positioning and provides online access to all MATLAB code Allows practicing engineers and graduate students to keep pace with contemporary research and new technologies Contains numerous application-based examples including the application of localization to drone navigation, capsule endoscopy localization, and satellite navigation and localization Reviews unique applications of position location systems, including GNSS and RFID-based localization systems The Handbook of Position Location: Theory, Practice, and Advances is valuable resource for practicing engineers and researchers seeking to keep pace with current developments in the field, graduate students in need of clear and accurate course material, and university instructors teaching the fundamentals of wireless localization.
Publication Date: 2019-03-06
Junctionless Field-Effect Transistors by Shubham Sahay; Mamidala Jagadesh KumarA comprehensive one-volume reference on current JLFET methods, techniques, and research Advancements in transistor technology have driven the modern smart-device revolution--many cell phones, watches, home appliances, and numerous other devices of everyday usage now surpass the performance of the room-filling supercomputers of the past. Electronic devices are continuing to become more mobile, powerful, and versatile in this era of internet-of-things (IoT) due in large part to the scaling of metal-oxide semiconductor field-effect transistors (MOSFETs). Incessant scaling of the conventional MOSFETs to cater to consumer needs without incurring performance degradation requires costly and complex fabrication process owing to the presence of metallurgical junctions. Unlike conventional MOSFETs, junctionless field-effect transistors (JLFETs) contain no metallurgical junctions, so they are simpler to process and less costly to manufacture.JLFETs utilize a gated semiconductor film to control its resistance and the current flowing through it. Junctionless Field-Effect Transistors: Design, Modeling, and Simulation is an inclusive, one-stop referenceon the study and research on JLFETs This timely book covers the fundamental physics underlying JLFET operation, emerging architectures, modeling and simulation methods, comparative analyses of JLFET performance metrics, and several other interesting facts related to JLFETs. A calibrated simulation framework, including guidance on SentaurusTCAD software, enables researchers to investigate JLFETs, develop new architectures, and improve performance. This valuable resource: Addresses the design and architecture challenges faced by JLFET as a replacement for MOSFET Examines various approaches for analytical and compact modeling of JLFETs in circuit design and simulation Explains how to use Technology Computer-Aided Design software (TCAD) to produce numerical simulations of JLFETs Suggests research directions and potential applications of JLFETs Junctionless Field-Effect Transistors: Design, Modeling, and Simulation is an essential resource for CMOS device design researchers and advanced students in the field of physics and semiconductor devices.
Publication Date: 2019-02-27
Materials Processing Fundamentals 2019 by Guillaume Lambotte (Editor); Jonghyun Lee (Editor); Antoine Allanore (Editor); Samuel Wagstaff (Editor)This book includes contributions from the Materials Processing Fundamentals Symposium held at the TMS 2019 Annual Meeting & Exhibition in San Antonio, Texas. This volume includes contributions on the physical and numerical modeling of materials processing, and covers a range of metals and minerals. Authors present models and results related the basics of processing such as extraction, joining, separation, and casting. The corresponding fundamentals of mass and heat transport as well as physical and thermodynamics properties are addressed, allowing for a cross-disciplinary vision of the field.
Publication Date: 2019-02-11
Nanofluidics by Zhigang R. LiThis book provides an introduction to nanofluidics in a simple manner and can be easily followed by senior undergraduate students, graduate students, and other researchers who have some background in fluid mechanics. The book covers the main topics about the fundamentals of nanofluidics and how it differs from classic fluid mechanics. It also describes the methodologies of nanofluidics, including numerical approaches, e.g., molecular dynamics simulation and experimental techniques. Fundamental physics and new phenomena in nanofluidics are the major concerns of this book. The author goes on to discuss nanocofinements and the parameters that affect the fluid dynamics at the nanoscale and make flow analysis complex. These parameters accommodate rich, new flow phenomena that may not be observed at the macro- and microscale. Although not all of the new phenomena will find widespread applications, the physics underlying these new phenomena may offer insights for other fields. This is one of the reasons why this book emphasizes the mechanisms of various flow fashions. Explores the unique characteristics of nanoscale flows and related properties Reviews the latest research of nanoscale ion transport and its applications Discusses the fluid flows in nanoconfinements in a unique manner based on the author's original research Incorporates important applications of nanofluidics throughout.
Publication Date: 2018-12-07
Nanoscience and Nanoengineering by Vjacheslav B. Dement'ev (Editor); A. K. Haghi (Editor); Vladimir Ivanovitch Kodolov (Editor)This volume presents a selection of important information and discussion on the new scientific trend of chemical mesoscopics and also sheds new knowledge on the science of nanomaterials, processes of nanochemistry, and nanoengineering. The volume explores nanomaterial development as well as investigations of processes and modeling. It provides new perspectives on processes, while also discussing new methods of treatment polymeric materials and different material modification, including by super small quantities of metal/carbon nanocomposites. This volume will be a valuable resource on new trends on chemical mesoscopics, nanotechnology, and nanoengineering for researchers, scientists, professors, postgraduate students, and others.
Publication Date: 2019-01-09
Nonlinear Control Systems Using MATLAB by Mourad BoufadeneThe development of computer software for nonlinear control systems has provided many benefits for teaching, research, and the development of control systems design. MATLAB is considered the dominant software platforms for linear and nonlinear control systems analysis. This book provides an easy way to learn nonlinear control systems such as feedback linearization technique and Sliding mode control (Structure variable control) which are one of the most used techniques in nonlinear control dynamical systems; therefore teachers-students and researchers are all in need to handle such techniques; and since they are too difficult for them to handle such nonlinear controllers especially for a more complicated systems such as induction motor, satellite, and vehicles dynamical models. Thus, this document it is an excellent resource for learning the principle of feedback linearization and sliding mode techniques in an easy and simple way: Provides a briefs description of the feedback linearization and sliding mode control strategies Includes a simple method on how to determine the right and appropriate controller (P-PI-PID) for feedback linearization control strategy. A Symbolic MATLAB Based function for finding the feedback linearization and sliding mode controllers are developed and tested using several examples. A simple method for finding the approximate sliding mode controller parameters is introduced Where the program used to construct the nonlinear controller uses symbolic computations; such that the user should provide the program with the necessary functions f(x), g(x) and h(x) using the symbolic library.
Publication Date: 2018-10-05
Optimization of the Electron Donor Supply to Sulphate Reducing Bioreactors Treating Inorganic Wastewater by Luis Carlos Reyes-AlvaradoThe main objective of this research was to optimize the electron donor supply in sulphate reducing bioreactors treating sulphate rich wastewater. Two types of electron donor were tested: lactate and slow release electron donors such as carbohydrate based polymers and lignocellulosic biowastes. Biological sulphate reduction was evaluated in different bioreactor configurations: the inverse fluidized bed, sequencing batch and batch reactors. The reactors were tested under steady-state, high-rate and transient-state feeding conditions of electron donor and acceptor, respectively. The results showed that the inverse fluidized bed reactor configuration is robust and resilient to transient and high-rate feeding conditions at a hydraulic retention time as low as 0.125 d. The biological sulphate reduction was limited by the COD:sulphate ratio (< 1.7). The results from artificial neural network modelling showed that the influent sulphate concentrations synergistically affected the COD removal efficiency and the sulphide production. Concerning the role of electron donors, the slow release electron donors allowed a biological sulphate reduction > 82% either using carbohydrate based polymers or lignocellulosic bio-wastes, in batch bioreactors. The biological sulphate reduction was limited by the hydrolysis-fermentation rate and by the complexity of the slow release electron donors.
Publication Date: 2018-09-19
Practical Evaluation and Testing of Plastics by Frick; Vibunanthan MuralidharanEngineering with polymers is a growing technical field which requires special knowledge. Filling a need, this ready reference brings together the hard-to-get and recently acquired knowledge usually only found scattered in the original literature. At the beginning, the reference introduces plastics as a class of technical materials, gives an overview of their properties, presents plastics processing and its possible influence on the achievable quality of plastic parts. Afterwards, plastics testing is presented as a separate, practical-scientific field of work. The possibilities and fields of application of plastics testing will be discussed. This is followed by a comprehensive treatment of the individual, relevant test areas for the characterization and qualification of plastics and plastic molded parts made from them, with descriptions of the corresponding, practical test methods. A comprehensive index provides easy access to relevant information for successful engineering with plastics and suitable methods for material characterization and for quality assurance and damage analysis of parts. Written by experienced academics and industrial researchers and developers who know the problems of plastics engineers in their daily work - and the solutions - inside out, this book offers first-hand practical knowledge and intensive discussion. The book is aimed at industry, scientists and students involved in plastics and plastic engineering and aims to help them gain the necessary understanding of polymer materials and knowledge of practical testing and evaluation of plastics.
Publication Date: 2019-03-11
Reliability Engineering and Services by Tongdan JinOffers a holistic approach to guiding product design, manufacturing, and after-sales support as the manufacturing industry transitions from a product-oriented model to service-oriented paradigm This book provides fundamental knowledge and best industry practices in reliability modelling, maintenance optimization, and service parts logistics planning. It aims to develop an integrated product-service system (IPSS) synthesizing design for reliability, performance-based maintenance, and spare parts inventory. It also presents a lifecycle reliability-inventory optimization framework where reliability, redundancy, maintenance, and service parts are jointly coordinated. Additionally, the book aims to report the latest advances in reliability growth planning, maintenance contracting and spares inventory logistics under non-stationary demand condition. Reliability Engineering and Service provides in-depth chapter coverage of topics such as: Reliability Concepts and Models; Mean and Variance of Reliability Estimates; Design for Reliability; Reliability Growth Planning; Accelerated Life Testing and Its Economics; Renewal Theory and Superimposed Renewals; Maintenance and Performance-Based Logistics; Warranty Service Models; Basic Spare Parts Inventory Models; Repairable Inventory Systems; Integrated Product-Service Systems (IPPS), and Resilience Modeling and Planning Guides engineers to design reliable products at a low cost Assists service engineers in providing superior after-sales support Enables managers to respond to the changing market and customer needs Uses end-of-chapter case studies to illustrate industry best practice Lifecycle approach to reliability, maintenance and spares provisioning Reliability Engineering and Service is an important book for graduate engineering students, researchers, and industry-based reliability practitioners and consultants.
Publication Date: 2019-03-11
Spon's Civil Engineering and Highway Works Price Book 2019 by AECOM Staff (Editor)SPON'S CIVIL ENGINEERING AND HIGHWAY WORKS PRICE BOOK 2019 from AECOM gives costs for both general and civil engineering works and highway works. It provides a full breakdown of labour, plant and material elements, with labour rates updated. cost guidance is given at a number of levels, varying from the more general functional costs to detailed resource costing, and in conformity with CESMM4 and the Highways Method of Measurement. In this 33rd edition: More emphasis has been given to sampling from major projects - of £20-£100m in value with no acute access or ground condition problems and run under NEC contracts. The rates, prices and outputs in the Resources and Unit Cost calculations include allowances for wastage, normal productivity and efficiency. Plus prices from specialists More research with contractors and suppliers allows for a more confident forecast in a volatile market - but outliers have been largely excluded. Prices are based more strongly on globalstructural steel grades and rates and extrapolated accordingly. Pipe lining is now included, as being more effective and economical than replacement of pipes in maintenance drainage works. Consideration is given to the possible scarcity of skilled labour. Use the access code inside the front cover of the book to get set up with an ebook of this 2019 edition on the VitalSource® Bookshelf platform. This versatile and powerful online data viewing packageis available for use until the end of December 2019. ... along with the standard features you have come to expect from SPON'SCIVIL ENGINEERING AND HIGHWAY WORKS PRICE BOOK: for budgeting: estimating principles, on-cost advice, method-related charges for resource costings: labour costs, plant costs, material prices for rapid cost information: approximate estimates, dayworks, cost indices for plant and labour allowances: production rates, outputs, man hour constants for detailed pricing: unit costs with full breakdown, or specialist prices, with advice on item coverage, waste allowances and comparative costs for incidental advice: tables and formulae, technical information, professional advice updates, free of charge, two or three times a year - see inside for registration details. Updates are available online at www.pricebooks.co.uk
Publication Date: 2018-12-26
Spon's Mechanical and Electrical Services Price Book 2019 by AECOM Staff (Editor)Spon's Mechanical and Electrical Services Price Book 2019 continues to be the most comprehensive and best annual services engineering price book currently available, providing detailed pricing information across the full range of mechanical and electrical services, together with higher-level costs for a diverse range of systems and different building applications. Use the access code inside the front cover of the book to get set up with an ebook of this 2019 edition on the VitalSource® Bookshelf platform. This versatile and powerful online data viewing packageis available for use until the end of December 2019. In this 50thedition we have significantly updated the engineering features section and added a section on smart building technology. Along with the following new and significantly developed items: Tuneable white luminaires Wireless lighting control PV cells Battery storage systems All the standard features you have come to expect from SPON'SMECHANICAL AND ELECTRICAL SERVICES PRICE BOOK are also included, considered essential for today's services cost professional: detailed materials prices, labour constants, labour costs and measured work prices for mechanical and electrical works, from above ground drainage to automatic transfer switches, and circuit breakers to sprinkler systems an extensive Approximate Estimating section for quick, rule-of-thumb pricing of mechanical or electrical installations, together with elemental services costs for different types and standard of buildings full details of wage rates, daywork and cost indices on a national and Central London basis an overhauled index and guidance notes updates, free of charge, two or three times a year - see inside for registration details. Updates are available online at www.pricebooks.co.uk ~Spon's Mechanical and Electrical Services Price Book 2019 continues to be the most comprehensive and best annual services engineering price book currently available, providing detailed pricing information across the full range of mechanical and electrical services, together with higher-level costs for a diverse range of systems and different building applications. Use the access code inside the front cover of the book to get set up with a VitalSource® ebook of this 2019 edition. This versatile and powerful online data viewing package is available for use until the end of December 2019. In this 50th edition we have significantly updated the engineering features section and added a section on smart building technology. Along with the following new and significantly developed items: - Tuneable white luminaires - Wireless lighting control - PV cells - Battery storage systems All the standard features you have come to expect from SPON'S MECHANICAL AND ELECTRICAL SERVICES PRICE BOOK are also included, considered essential for today's services cost professional: * detailed materials prices, labour constants, labour costs and measured work prices for mechanical and electrical works, from above ground drainage to automatic transfer switches, and circuit breakers to sprinkler systems * an extensive Approximate Estimating section for quick, rule-of-thumb pricing of mechanical or electrical installations, together with elemental services costs for different types and standard of buildings * full details of wage rates, daywork and cost indices on a national and Central London basis. * an overhauled index and guidance notes * updates, free of charge, two or three times a year - see inside for registration details. Updates are available online at www.pricebooks.co.uk
Publication Date: 2018-11-09
Thermal Energy Systems by S. G. PenoncelloThermal Energy Systems: Design and Analysis, Second Edition presents basic concepts for simulation and optimization, and introduces simulation and optimization techniques for system modeling. This text addresses engineering economy, optimization, hydraulic systems, energy systems, and system simulation. Computer modeling is presented, and a companion website provides specific coverage of EES and Excel in thermal-fluid design. Assuming prior coursework in basic thermodynamics and fluid mechanics, this fully updated and improved text will guide students in Mechanical and Chemical Engineering as they apply their knowledge to systems analysis and design, and to capstone design project work.
Publication Date: 2018-09-25
Vibration of Continuous Systems by Singiresu S. RaoA revised and up-to-date guide to advanced vibration analysis written by a noted expert The revised and updated second edition of Vibration of Continuous Systems offers a guide to all aspects of vibration of continuous systems including: derivation of equations of motion, exact and approximate solutions and computational aspects. The author--a noted expert in the field--reviews all possible types of continuous structural members and systems including strings, shafts, beams, membranes, plates, shells, three-dimensional bodies, and composite structural members. Designed to be a useful aid in the understanding of the vibration of continuous systems, the book contains exact analytical solutions, approximate analytical solutions, and numerical solutions. All the methods are presented in clear and simple terms and the second edition offers a more detailed explanation of the fundamentals and basic concepts. Vibration of Continuous Systems revised second edition: * Contains new chapters on Vibration of three-dimensional solid bodies; Vibration of composite structures; and Numerical solution using the finite element method * Reviews the fundamental concepts in clear and concise language * Includes newly formatted content that is streamlined for effectiveness * Offers many new illustrative examples and problems * Presents answers to selected problems Written for professors, students of mechanics of vibration courses, and researchers, the revised second edition of Vibration of Continuous Systems offers an authoritative guide filled with illustrative examples of the theory, computational details, and applications of vibration of continuous systems.
Publication Date: 2019-03-06
Wind Effects on Structures by Emil Simiu; DongHun YeoProvides structural engineers with the knowledge and practical tools needed to perform structural designs for wind that incorporate major technological, conceptual, analytical and computational advances achieved in the last two decades. With clear explanations and documentation of the concepts, methods, algorithms, and software available for accounting for wind loads in structural design, it also describes the wind engineer's contributions in sufficient detail that they can be effectively scrutinized by the structural engineer in charge of the design. Wind Effects on Structures: Modern Structural Design for Wind, 4th Edition is organized in four sections. The first covers atmospheric flows, extreme wind speeds, and bluff body aerodynamics. The second examines the design of buildings, and includes chapters on aerodynamic loads; dynamic and effective wind-induced loads; wind effects with specified MRIs; low-rise buildings; tall buildings; and more. The third part is devoted to aeroelastic effects, and covers both fundamentals and applications. The last part considers other structures and special topics such as trussed frameworks; offshore structures; and tornado effects. Offering readers the knowledge and practical tools needed to develop structural designs for wind loadings, this book: Points out significant limitations in the design of buildings based on such techniques as the high-frequency force balance Discusses powerful algorithms, tools, and software needed for the effective design for wind, and provides numerous examples of application Discusses techniques applicable to structures other than buildings, including stacks and suspended-span bridges Features several appendices on Elements of Probability and Statistics; Peaks-over-Threshold Poisson-Process Procedure for Estimating Peaks; estimates of the WTC Towers' Response to Wind and their shortcomings; and more Wind Effects on Structures: Modern Structural Design for Wind, 4th Edition is an excellent text for structural engineers, wind engineers, and structural engineering students and faculty.
Publication Date: 2019-03-11
Wind Energy by Vaughn Nelson; Kenneth StarcherThe utilization of wind power and other renewable energy sources has been growing at a phenomenal rate.Wind Energy, Third Editionexplores the wind industry from its inception in the 1970s to today; presents the design, aerodynamics, operation, control, applications, as well as different types of wind turbines. An overview of energy examines world consumption and use of fossil fuels, and includes a section on global climate change. It covers the characteristics of wind, such as shear, power potential, and turbulence, and discusses the measurement and siting of individual wind turbines and wind farms. It also discusses the political and economic factors regarding the adoption of wind as an energy source. Features Includes updates throughout, and adds new material on wind forecasting, offshore wind, decommissioning and repowering wind farms, and more Illustrates the need for a shift to renewable energy through discussions on energy use and the order of magnitude estimates for the lifetime of fossil fuels Discusses the interconnection of wind turbines to utility grids, regulations on installation and operation, and the related environmental concerns Presents important economic considerations for the development of wind farms Provides an abundance of examples that highlight the real-world advantages of wind energy over fossil fuels