3D and 4D Printing in Biomedical Applications by Mohammed Maniruzzaman (Editor)Ein professioneller Leitfaden zu 3D- und 4D-Drucktechniken in der Biomedizin und Pharmazie. 3D and 4D Printing in Biomedical Applications führt fundiert in 3D- und 4D-Drucktechniken in der Biomedizin und Pharmazie ein. Dieses Fachbuch enthält Beiträge von internationalen Wissenschaftlern und Industrieexperten und bietet einen Überblick über das Thema, aktuelle Forschungsergebnisse und Innovationen zu Anwendungen in der Pharmazie und Biomedizin. Untersucht werden Prozessoptimierung, Innovationsprozesse, Engineering- und Plattformtechnologien. Darüber hinaus informiert das Werk über Entwicklungen in der Biomedizin, u. a. über Formgedächtnispolymere, Biofabrikation in 4D und Knochen aus dem Drucker. Eine Fülle von Themen werden behandelt und näher beleuchtet: Potenzial des 3D-Drucks für die Wirkstoffverabreichung, neue Fertigungsprozess, Bio-Scaffolding, neueste Trends und Herausforderungen für 3D- und 4D-Bioprinting in der Biofabrikation. Dieses wertvolle Referenzwerk - ist ein umfassender Leitfaden zu 3D- und 4D-Drucktechniken in der Biomedizin und Pharmazie. - informiert u. a. über die erste 3D-Druckplattform mit FDA-Zulassung für ein pharmazeutisches Erzeugnis. - enthält Reviews der derzeit verfügbaren pharmazeutischen Erzeugnisse, die per 3D-Druck hergestellt wurden. - präsentiert die jüngsten Fortschritte bei neuartigen Materialien für den 3D- und 4D-Druck und biomedizinische Anwendungen.
Publication Date: 2018-12-14
Advanced Thermoelectric Materials by Ashutosh Tiwari; Chong Rae Park (Editor)Your guide to advanced thermoelectric materials Written by a distinguished group of contributors, this book provides comprehensive coverage of the most up-to-date information on all aspects of advanced thermoelectric materials -- ranging from system biology, diagnostics, imaging, image-guided therapy, therapeutics, biosensors, and translational medicine and personalized medicine, as well as the much broader task of covering most topics of biomedical research.
Publication Date: 2019-04-09
Advanced Tropological Insulator by Ashutosh Tiwari; Huixian Luo (Editor)This book is the first pedagogical synthesis of the field of topological insulators and superconductors, one of the most exciting areas of research in condensed matter physics. Presenting the latest developments, while providing all the calculations necessary for a self-contained and complete description of the discipline, it is ideal for researchers and graduate students preparing to work in this area, and it will be an essential reference both within and outside the classroom. The book begins with the fundamental description on the topological phases of matter such as one, two- and three-dimensional topological insulators, and methods and tools for topological material's investigations, topological insulators for advanced optoelectronic devices, topological superconductors, saturable absorber and in plasmonic devices. Advanced Topological Insulators provides researchers and graduate students with the physical understanding and mathematical tools needed to embark on research in this rapidly evolving field.
Publication Date: 2019-04-09
Artificial Intelligence for the Internet of Everything by William Lawless (Editor); Ranjeev Mittu (Editor); Ira S. Moskowitz (Editor); Stephen Russell (Editor); Donald Sofge (Editor)Artificial Intelligence for the Internet of Everything considers the foundations, metrics and applications of IoE systems. It covers whether devices and IoE systems should speak only to each other, to humans or to both. Further, the book explores how IoE systems affect targeted audiences (researchers, machines, robots, users) and society, as well as future ecosystems. It examines the meaning, value and effect that IoT has had and may have on ordinary life, in business, on the battlefield, and with the rise of intelligent and autonomous systems. Based on an artificial intelligence (AI) perspective, this book addresses how IoE affects sensing, perception, cognition and behavior. Each chapter addresses practical, measurement, theoretical and research questions about how these "things" may affect individuals, teams, society or each other. Of particular focus is what may happen when these "things" begin to reason, communicate and act autonomously on their own, whether independently or interdependently with other "things". Considers the foundations, metrics and applications of IoE systems Debates whether IoE systems should speak to humans and each other Explores how IoE systems affect targeted audiences and society Discusses theoretical IoT ecosystem models
Publication Date: 2019-02-21
Billmeyer and Saltzman's Principles of Color Technology by Roy S. BernsThis book offers detailed coverage of color, colorants, the coloring of materials, and reproducing the color of materials through imaging. It combines the clarity and ease of earlier editions with significant updates about the advancement in color theory and technology. Provides guidance for how to use color measurement instrumentation, make a visual assessment, set a visual tolerance, and select a formulation Supplements material with numerical examples, graphs, and illustrations that clarify and explain complex subjects Expands coverage of topics including spatial vision, solid-state lighting, cameras and spectrophotometers, and translucent materials
Publication Date: 2019-03-07
Chemical Science and Engineering Technology by Devrim Balköse (Editor); Ana Cristina Faria Ribeiro (Editor); A. K. Haghi (Editor); Suresh C. Ameta (Editor); Tanmoy Chakraborty (Editor)One of the major areas of emphasis in the field of in chemical science and engineering technology in recent years has been interdisciplinary research, a trend that promises new insights and innovations rooted in cross-disciplinary collaboration. This volume is designed for stepping beyond traditional disciplinary boundaries and applying knowledge and insights from multiple fields. This book, Chemical Science and Engineering Technology: Perspectives on Interdisciplinary Research, provides a selection of chapters on interdisciplinary research in chemical science and engineering technology, taking a conceptual, and practical approach. The book includes case studies and supporting technologies and also explains the conceptual thinking behind current uses and potential uses not yet implemented. International experts with countless years of experience lend this volume credibility.
Publication Date: 2019-01-30
Delay and Disruption Tolerant Networks by Aloizio Pereira da Silva; Scott Burleigh; Katia ObraczkaDelay- and Disruption Tolerant Networks (DTNs) are networks subject to arbitrarily long-lived disruptions in connectivity and therefore cannot guarantee end-to-end connectivity at all times. Consequently DTNs called for novel core networking protocols since most existing Internet protocols rely on the networks ability to maintain end-to-end communication between participating nodes. This book presents the fundamental principles that underline DTNs. It explains the state-of-the-art on DTNs, their architecture, protocols, and applications. It also explores DTN¿s future technological trends and applications. Its main goal is to serve as a reference for researchers and practitioners.
Publication Date: 2018-09-14
Design, Test, and Thermal Management by Peter Ramm (Series edited by); Muhannad S. Bakir (Editor); Paul D. Franzon (Editor); Philip Garrou (Series edited by); Mitsumasa Koyanagi (Series edited by); Eric Jan Marinissen (Editor)This fourth volume of the landmark handbook focuses on the design, testing, and thermal management of 3D-integrated circuits, both from a technological and materials science perspective. Edited and authored by key contributors from top research institutions and high-tech companies, the first part of the book provides an overview of the latest developments in 3D chip design, including challenges and opportunities. The second part focuses on the test methods used to assess the quality and reliability of the 3D-integrated circuits, while the third and final part deals with thermal management and advanced cooling technologies and their integration. This fourth volume of the landmark handbook focuses on the design, testing, and thermal management of 3D-integrated circuits, both from a technological and materials science perspective. Edited and authored by key contributors from top research institutions and high-tech companies, the first part of the book provides an overview of the latest developments in 3D chip design, including challenges and opportunities. The second part focuses on the test methods used to assess the quality and reliability of the 3D-integrated circuits, while the third and final part deals with thermal management and advanced cooling technologies and their integration.
Publication Date: 2019-05-13
Embedded System Interfacing by Marilyn WolfEmbedded System Interfacing: Design for the Internet-of-Things (IoT) and Cyber-Physical Systems (CPS) takes a comprehensive approach to the interface between embedded systems and software. It provides the principles needed to understand how digital and analog interfaces work and how to design new interfaces for specific applications. The presentation is self-contained and practical, with discussions based on real-world components. Design examples are used throughout the book to illustrate important concepts. This book is a complement to the author's Computers as Components, now in its fourth edition, which concentrates on software running on the CPU, while Embedded System Interfacing explains the hardware surrounding the CPU. Provides a comprehensive background in embedded system interfacing techniques Includes design examples to illustrate important concepts and serve as the basis for new designs Discusses well-known, widely available hardware components and computer-aided design tools
Publication Date: 2019-02-08
Emerging Contaminants Handbook by Caitlin H. Bell (Editor); Erica Kalve (Editor); Margaret Gentile (Editor); Suthan Suthersan (Editor)The term "emerging contaminants" and its multiple variants has come to refer to unregulated compounds discovered in the environment that are also found to represent a potential threat to human and ecological receptors. Such contaminants create unique and considerable challenges as the push to address them typically outpaces the understanding of their toxicity, their need for regulation, their occurrence, and techniques for treating the environmental media they affect. With these challenges in mind, this handbook serves as a primer regarding the topic of emerging contaminants, with current and practical information to help support the goal of protection where they are encountered. Features Explores the definition, identification, and life cycle of emerging contaminants. Reviews current information on sources, toxicology, regulation, and new tools for characterization and treatment of: 1,4-Dioxane (mature in its emerging contaminant life cycle) Per- and polyfluoroalkyl substances (PFASs; a newer group of emerging contaminant) Hexavalent chromium (former emerging contaminant with evolving science) 1,2,3-Trichloropropane (progressing in its emerging contaminant life cycle) Provides thoughts on opportunities in managing emerging contaminants to help balance uncertainty, compress life cycle, and optimize outcomes.
Green's Function Integral Equation Methods in Nano-Optics by Thomas M. SøndergaardThis book gives a comprehensive introduction to Green's function integral equation methods (GFIEMs) for scattering problems in the field of nano-optics. First, a brief review is given of the most important theoretical foundations from electromagnetics, optics, and scattering theory, including theory of waveguides, Fresnel reflection, and scattering, extinction, and absorption cross sections. This is followed by a presentation of different types of GFIEMs of increasing complexity for one-, two-, and three-dimensional scattering problems. In GFIEMs, the electromagnetic field at any position is directly related to the field at either the inside or the surface of a scattering object placed in a reference structure. The properties of the reference structure, and radiating or periodic boundary conditions, are automatically taken care of via the choice of Green's function. This book discusses in detail how to solve the integral equations using either simple or higher-order finite-element-based methods; how to calculate the relevant Green's function for different reference structures and choices of boundary conditions; and how to calculate near-fields, optical cross sections, and the power emitted by a local source. Solution strategies for large structures are discussed based on either transfer-matrix-approaches or the conjugate gradient algorithm combined with the Fast Fourier Transform. Special attention is given to reducing the computational problem for three-dimensional structures with cylindrical symmetry by using cylindrical harmonic expansions. Each presented method is accompanied by examples from nano-optics, including: resonant metal nano-particles placed in a homogeneous medium or on a surface or waveguide; a microstructured gradient-index-lens; the Purcell effect for an emitter in a photonic crystal; the excitation of surface plasmon polaritons by second-harmonic generation in a polymer fiber placed on a thin metal film; and anti-reflective, broadband absorbing or resonant surface microstructures. Each presented method is also accompanied by guidelines for software implementation and exercises. Features Comprehensive introduction to Green's function integral equation methods for scattering problems in the field of nano-optics Detailed explanation of how to discretize and solve integral equations using simple and higher-order finite-element approaches Solution strategies for large structures Guidelines for software implementation and exercises Broad selection of examples of scattering problems in nano-optics
Publication Date: 2019-01-31
Hendee's Physics of Medical Imaging by Ehsan Samei; Donald J. PeckAn up-to-date edition of the authoritative text on the physics of medical imaging, written in an accessible format The extensively revised fifth edition of Hendee's Medical Imaging Physics, offers a guide to the principles, technologies, and procedures of medical imaging. Comprehensive in scope, the text contains coverage of all aspects of image formation in modern medical imaging modalities including radiography, fluoroscopy, computed tomography, nuclear imaging, magnetic resonance imaging, and ultrasound. Since the publication of the fourth edition, there have been major advances in the techniques and instrumentation used in the ever-changing field of medical imaging. The fifth edition offers a comprehensive reflection of these advances including digital projection imaging techniques, nuclear imaging technologies, new CT and MR imaging methods, and ultrasound applications. The new edition also takes a radical strategy in organization of the content, offering the fundamentals common to most imaging methods in Part I of the book, and application of those fundamentals in specific imaging modalities in Part II. These fundamentals also include notable updates and new content including radiobiology, anatomy and physiology relevant to medical imaging, imaging science, image processing, image display, and information technologies. The book makes an attempt to make complex content in accessible format with limited mathematical formulation. The book is aimed to be accessible by most professionals with lay readers interested in the subject. The book is also designed to be of utility for imaging physicians and residents, medical physics students, and medical physicists and radiologic technologists perpetrating for certification examinations. The revised fifth edition of Hendee's Medical Imaging Physics continues to offer the essential information and insights needed to understand the principles, the technologies, and procedures used in medical imaging.
Publication Date: 2019-02-08
Intergrating Green Chemistry and Sustainable Engineering by Shahid Ul-IslamOver the past decade, the population explosion, rise in global warming, depletion of fossil fuel resources and environmental pollution has been the major driving force for promoting and implementing the principles of green chemistry and sustainable engineering in all sectors ranging from chemical to environmental sciences. It is noteworthy to mention that production of biofuels, exploitation of renewable energy sources and use of ecologically safer products in applied sectors are becoming increasingly important for the development of alternative sustainable technologies. Integrating Green Chemistry and Sustainable Engineering focusses on latest sustainable technologies and developments and describes how sustainable chemistry and engineering practices are being applied and integrated in various industrial sectors. The book addresses emerging topics including biofuel production, CO2 conversation to green fuels, advanced green polymers in coating applications, biological macromolecules in medical sector, biofertilizers for agricultural sector, bioadsorption and much more.
Publication Date: 2019-03-19
Lithium-Sulfur Batteries by Mark Wild (Editor); Gregory J. Offer (Editor)Lithium Sulfur (Li-S) batteries are unique in many respects when compared to the body of knowledge in existence about lithium ion technology. This book explains Li-S batteries from the perspectives of materials used in their construction, the underlying electrochemical mechanisms and how this translates into the characteristics of Li-S batteries, and the approaches and techniques required to model Li-S batteries. The book also considers application of Li-S batteries for commercialization, and broader systems issues such as the development of battery management systems to control the unique characteristics of Li-S batteries. Topics covered include: Materials: Sulfur cathodes, electrolytes and other components for Li-S batteries Mechanisms: The role of lithium sulfide, the shuttle mechanism and its effects, degradation mechanisms Modelling: Electrochemical theory and physics, Li-S model development, battery management systems Application: Battery design, understanding commercial markets Electrochemistry of Li-S batteries and analytical techniques used to study Li-S batteries are discussed throughout the book.
Publication Date: 2019-03-18
Low-Cost Smart Antennas by Chao Gu; Steven Shichang Gao; Wei Liu; Qi LuoThe authors present low-cost design solutions for smart antenna systems. This is very important as the realizations of 5G mobile communication, next-generation broadband satellite communications and Internet Of Things (IOT) have huge demands for smart antennas which have low cost, low power and compact size, which cannot be met by traditional smart antenna systems due to their high cost, high power consumption and bulky size. Up to date, there is no book addressing this topic, and case studies in each chapter will be helpful for people to understand the theory and technology better. Current literature focuses on signal processing algorithms - the software - of the antenna. This book is unique in focusing on the antenna hardware, and will cover fundamental theories and advanced topics, suitable for readers at varying levels of study and experience.
Publication Date: 2019-03-18
Magnetoelectric Composites by Mirza I. BichurinThis book is dedicated to modeling and application of magnetoelectric (ME) effect in layered and bulk composites based on magnetostrictive and piezoelectric materials. Currently, a huge literature is available on theoretical and experimental studies of ME composites but much less on the development and research of instruments based on them. It is important to note that so far only investigation of ME magnetic field sensors has been cited in the existing literature. However, these studies have finally resulted in the creation of low-frequency ME magnetic field sensors with parameters substantially exceeding the characteristics of Hall sensors. The book presents the authors¿ many years of experience, gained while studying ME composites and creating device models based on their studies. It describes low-frequency ME devices, such as current and position sensors and energy harvesters, and microwave ME devices, such as antennas, attenuators, filters, gyrators, and phase shifters.
Publication Date: 2019-02-21
Managing Technology and Product Development Programmes by Peter FlinnAn authoritative guide to new product development for early career engineers and engineering students Managing Technology and Product Development Programmes provides a clear framework and essential guide for understanding how research ideas and new technologies are developed into reliable products which can sold successfully in the private or business marketplace. Drawing on the author's practical experience in a variety of engineering industries, this important book fills a gap in the product development literature. It links back into the engineering processes that drives the actual creation of products and represents the practical realisation of innovation. Comprehensive in scope, the book reviews all elements of new product development. The topics discussed range from the economics of new product development, the quality processes, prototype development, manufacturing processes, determining customer needs, value proposition and testing. Whilst the book is designed with an emphasis on engineered products, the principles can be applied to other fields as well. This important resource: Takes a holistic approach to new product development Links technology and product development to business needs Structures technology and product development from the basic idea to the completed off-the-shelf product Explores the broad range of skills and the technical expertise needed when developing new products Details the various levels of new technologies and products and how to track where they are in the development cycle Written for engineers and students in engineering, as well as a more experienced audience, and for those funding technology development, Managing Technology and Product Development Programmes offers a thorough understanding of the skills and information engineers need in order to successfully convert ideas and technologies into products that are fit for the marketplace.
Publication Date: 2019-05-20
Model-Based Processing by James V. CandyA bridge between the application of subspace-based methods for parameter estimation in signal processing and subspace-based system identification in control systems Model-Based Processing: An Applied Subspace Identification Approach provides expert insight on developing models for designing model-based signal processors (MBSP) employing subspace identification techniques to achieve model-based identification (MBID) and enables readers to evaluate overall performance using validation and statistical analysis methods. Focusing on subspace approaches to system identification problems, this book teaches readers to identify models quickly and incorporate them into various processing problems including state estimation, tracking, detection, classification, controls, communications, and other applications that require reliable models that can be adapted to dynamic environments. The extraction of a model from data is vital to numerous applications, from the detection of submarines to determining the epicenter of an earthquake to controlling an autonomous vehicles--all requiring a fundamental understanding of their underlying processes and measurement instrumentation. Emphasizing real-world solutions to a variety of model development problems, this text demonstrates how model-based subspace identification system identification enables the extraction of a model from measured data sequences from simple time series polynomials to complex constructs of parametrically adaptive, nonlinear distributed systems. In addition, this resource features: Kalman filtering for linear, linearized, and nonlinear systems; modern unscented Kalman filters; as well as Bayesian particle filters Practical processor designs including comprehensive methods of performance analysis Provides a link between model development and practical applications in model-based signal processing Offers in-depth examination of the subspace approach that applies subspace algorithms to synthesized examples and actual applications Enables readers to bridge the gap from statistical signal processing to subspace identification Includes appendices, problem sets, case studies, examples, and notes for MATLAB Model-Based Processing: An Applied Subspace Identification Approach is essential reading for advanced undergraduate and graduate students of engineering and science as well as engineers working in industry and academia.
Publication Date: 2019-03-19
Model Identification and Data Analysis by Sergio BittantiThis book is about constructing models from experimental data. It covers a range of topics, from statistical data prediction to Kalman filtering, from black-box model identification to parameter estimation, from spectral analysis to predictive control. Written for graduate students, this textbook offers an approach that has proven successful throughout the many years during which its author has taught these topics at his University. The book: Contains accessible methods explained step-by-step in simple terms Offers an essential tool useful in a variety of fields, especially engineering, statistics, and mathematics Includes an overview on random variables and stationary processes, as well as an introduction to discrete time models and matrix analysis Incorporates historical commentaries to put into perspective the developments that have brought the discipline to its current state Provides many examples and solved problems to complement the presentation and facilitate comprehension of the techniques presented
Publication Date: 2019-04-02
Modern Aerodynamic Methods for Direct and Inverse Applications by Wilson C. ChinJust when classic subject areas seem understood, the author, a Caltech, M.I.T. and Boeing trained aerodynamicist, raises profound questions over traditional formulations. Can shear flows be rigorously modeled using simpler "potential-like" methods versus Euler equation approaches? Why not solve aerodynamic inverse problems using rapid, direct or forward methods similar to those used to calculate pressures over specified airfoils? Can transonic supercritical flows be solved rigorously without type-differencing methods? How do oscillations affect transonic mean flows, which in turn influence oscillatory effects? Or how do hydrodynamic disturbances stabilize or destabilize mean shear flows? Is there an exact approach to calculating wave drag for modern supersonic aircraft? This new book, by a prolific fluid-dynamicist and mathematician who has published more than twenty research monographs, represents not just another contribution to aerodynamics, but a book that raises serious questions about traditionally accepted approaches and formulations - and provides new methods that solve longstanding problems of importance to the industry. While both conventional and newer ideas are discussed, the presentations are readable and geared to advanced undergraduates with exposure to elementary differential equations and introductory aerodynamics principles. Readers are introduced to fundamental algorithms (with Fortran source code) for basic applications, such as subsonic lifting airfoils, transonic supercritical flows utilizing mixed differencing, models for inviscid shear flow aerodynamics, and so on - models they can extend to include newer effects developed in the second half of the book. Many of the newer methods have appeared over the years in various journals and are now presented with deeper perspective and integration. This book helps readers approach the literature more critically. Rather than simply understanding an approach, for instance, the powerful "type differencing" behind transonic analysis, or the rationale behind "conservative" formulations, or the use of Euler equation methods for shear flow analysis when they are unnecessary, the author guides and motivates the user to ask why and why not and what if. And often, more powerful methods can be developed using no more than simple mathematical manipulations. For example, Cauchy-Riemann conditions, which are powerful tools in subsonic airfoil theory, can be readily extended to handle compressible flows with shocks, rotational flows, and even three-dimensional wing flowfields, in a variety of applications, to produce powerful formulations that address very difficult problems. This breakthrough volume is certainly a "must have" on every engineer's bookshelf.
Publication Date: 2019-04-02
Molecular Beam Epitaxy by Hajime Asahi (Editor); Yoshiji Horikoshi (Editor)Covers both the fundamentals and the state-of-the-art technology used for MBE Written by expert researchers working on the frontlines of the field, this book covers fundamentals of Molecular Beam Epitaxy (MBE) technology and science, as well as state-of-the-art MBE technology for electronic and optoelectronic device applications. MBE applications to magnetic semiconductor materials are also included for future magnetic and spintronic device applications. Molecular Beam Epitaxy: Materials and Applications for Electronics and Optoelectronics is presented in five parts: Fundamentals of MBE; MBE technology for electronic devices application; MBE for optoelectronic devices; Magnetic semiconductors and spintronics devices; and Challenge of MBE to new materials and new researches. The book offers chapters covering the history of MBE; principles of MBE and fundamental mechanism of MBE growth; migration enhanced epitaxy and its application; quantum dot formation and selective area growth by MBE; MBE of III-nitride semiconductors for electronic devices; MBE for Tunnel-FETs; applications of III-V semiconductor quantum dots in optoelectronic devices; MBE of III-V and III-nitride heterostructures for optoelectronic devices with emission wavelengths from THz to ultraviolet; MBE of III-V semiconductors for mid-infrared photodetectors and solar cells; dilute magnetic semiconductor materials and ferromagnet/semiconductor heterostructures and their application to spintronic devices; applications of bismuth-containing III-V semiconductors in devices; MBE growth and device applications of Ga2O3; Heterovalent semiconductor structures and their device applications; and more. Includes chapters on the fundamentals of MBE Covers new challenging researches in MBE and new technologies Edited by two pioneers in the field of MBE with contributions from well-known MBE authors including three Al Cho MBE Award winners Part of the Materials for Electronic and Optoelectronic Applications series Molecular Beam Epitaxy: Materials and Applications for Electronics and Optoelectronics will appeal to graduate students, researchers in academia and industry, and others interested in the area of epitaxial growth.
Publication Date: 2019-01-30
Nanomaterials Design for Sensing Applications by Olena V. Zenkina (Editor)Nanomaterials Design for Sensing Applications examines chemosensors, beginning with molecules that are able to respond to certain stimuli and then showing their assembly and incorporation into sensing materials. The mechanisms of their action for the detection of ions, specific molecules and biostructures, are also covered. A major theme is the affordability of sensors, with particular attention paid to inexpensive and reliable colorimetric sensors that can be read by the naked eye. The book also delves into the development of sensors that utilize existing RFID infrastructure and introduces a novel strategy for the development of self-healing sensing platforms. This book will help readers develop a better understanding of the types of materials used for sensing at the nano level, while also providing an insightful overview on recent advances in this important area. Demonstrates how the use of nanomaterials allows for the creation of cheaper, more reliable sensors Shows how metal oxide nanostructures are used as both sensors and supports for embedded organic and organometallic sensing molecules Explores a novel sensing methodology resulting from the integration of nanostructured sensors into radio frequency identification tags
Publication Date: 2019-03-13
Nanomaterials for Drug Delivery and Therapy by Alexandru Mihai GrumezescuNanomaterials for Drug Delivery and Therapy presents recent advances in the field of nanobiomaterials and their important applications in drug delivery, therapy and engineering. The book offers pharmaceutical perspectives, exploring the development of nanobiomaterials and their interaction with the human body. Chapters show how nanomaterials are used in treatments, including neurology, dentistry and cancer therapy. Authored by a range of contributors from global institutions, this book offers a broad, international perspective on how nanotechnology-based advances are leading to novel drug delivery and treatment solutions. It is a valuable research resource that will help both practicing medics and researchers in pharmaceutical science and nanomedicine learn more on how nanotechnology is improving treatments. Assesses the opportunities and challenges of nanotechnology-based drug delivery systems Explores how nanotechnology is being used to create more efficient drug delivery systems Discusses which nanomaterials make the best drug carriers
Publication Date: 2019-03-14
Nanosponges by Francesco Trotta (Editor); Andrea Mele (Editor)An excellent overview of the field, covering in detail a wide range of different types of constituent materials, such as polymers, metals and metal oxides. It discusses their production and synthetic routes, as well as applications in several areas, including catalysis, drug delivery and environmental science. A must-have for scientists in academia and industry, as well as a valuable resource for both newcomers and more established researchers working in the field.
Publication Date: 2019-01-29
Nanotube Superfiber Materials by Mark Schulz (Editor); Vesselin Shanov (Editor); Zhangzhang Yin (Editor); Marc Cahay (Editor)Nanotube Superfiber Materials: Science, Manufacturing, Commercialization, Second Edition, helps engineers and entrepreneurs understand the science behind the unique properties of nanotube fiber materials, how to efficiency and safely produce them, and how to transition them into commercial products. Each chapter gives an account of the basic science, manufacturing, properties and commercial potential of a specific nanotube material form and its application. New discoveries and technologies are explained, along with experiences in handing-off the improved materials to industry. This book spans nano-science, nano-manufacturing, and the commercialization of nanotube superfiber materials. As such, it opens up the vast commercial potential of nanotube superfiber materials. Applications for nanotube superfiber materials cut across most of the fields of engineering, including spacecraft, automobiles, drones, hyperloop tracks, water and air filters, infrastructure, wind energy, composites, and medicine where nanotube materials enable development of tiny machines that can work inside our bodies to diagnose and treat disease. Provides up to date information on the applications of nanotube fiber materials Explores both the manufacturing and commercialization of nanotube superfibers Sets out the processes for producing macro-scale materials from carbon nanotubes Describes the unique properties of these materials
Publication Date: 2019-03-12
Non-Destructive Evaluation of Corrosion and Corrosion-Assisted Cracking by Raman Singh (Editor); U. Kamachi Mudali (Editor); Baldev Raj (Editor); Prabhakar Singh (Editor)A comprehensive text to the non-destructive evaluation of degradation of materials due to environment that takes an interdisciplinary approach Non-Destructive Evaluation of Corrosion and Corrosion-assisted Cracking is an important resource that covers the critical interdisciplinary topic of non-destructive evaluation of degradation of materials due to environment. The authors--noted experts in the field--offer an overview of the wide-variety of approaches to non-destructive evaluation and various types of corrosion. The text is filled with instructive case studies from a range of industries including aerospace, energy, defense, and processing. The authors review the most common non-destructive evaluation techniques that are applied in both research and industry in order to evaluate the properties and more importantly degradation of materials components or systems without causing damage. Ultrasonic, radiographic, thermographic, electromagnetic, and optical are some of the methods explored in the book. This important text: Offers a groundbreaking interdisciplinary approach to of non-destructive evaluation of corrosion and corrosion-assisted cracking Discusses techniques for non-destructive evaluation and various types of corrosion Includes information on the application of a variety of techniques as well as specific case studies Contains information targeting industries such as aerospace, energy, processing Presents information from leading researchers and technologists in both non-destructive evaluation and corrosion Written for life assessment and maintenance personnel involved in quality control, failure analysis, and R&D, Non-Destructive Evaluation of Corrosion and Corrosion-assisted Cracking is an essential interdisciplinary guide to the topic.
Publication Date: 2019-04-09
Photoactive Inorganic Nanoparticles by Julia Pérez Prieto (Editor); María González Béjar (Editor)Nanoparticles are usually designed for specific applications and selection of the most convenient capping can be a complex task, but is crucial for successful design. In this volume, the authors discuss the selection of functional cappings to coat nanoparticles in a range of different applications. The opening chapter provides an understanding of basic aspects of surface chemistry at the nanoscale. Each following chapter covers a particular kind of capping, beginning with a basic introduction and describing characteristics such as structure, functionality, solubility, (photo)physics, and toxicity. Special emphasis is placed on how important these specific features are in the preparation of smart nanomaterials. In-depth explanations and examples are then presented, highlighting the latest results and cutting-edge research carried out with the selected capping according to the kind of nanoparticle employed (such as rare-earth doped, semiconducting, and metallic). An additional chapter focusses on computational techniques for modelling nanosurfaces. Photoactive Inorganic Nanoparticles: Surface Composition and its Role in Nanosystem Functionality will be a valuable working resource for graduate students, researchers, and industry R&D professionals working in the field of applied nanomaterials. Aids selection of the best functional cappings for particular applications Covers a broad range of application areas, including medical, biological and materials science Provides material on computational techniques for modeling nanosurfaces
Publication Date: 2019-03-09
Piping and Instrumentation Diagram Development by Moe ToghraeiAn essential guide for developing and interpreting piping and instrumentation drawings Piping and Instrumentation Diagram Development is an important resource that offers the fundamental information needed for designers of process plants as well as a guide for other interested professionals. The author offers a proven, systemic approach to present the concepts of P&ID development which previously were deemed to be graspable only during practicing and not through training. This comprehensive text offers the information needed in order to create P&ID for a variety of chemical industries such as: oil and gas industries; water and wastewater treatment industries; and food industries. The author outlines the basic development rules of piping and instrumentation diagram (P&ID) and describes in detail the three main components of a process plant: equipment and other process items, control system, and utility system. Each step of the way, the text explores the skills needed to excel at P&ID, includes a wealth of illustrative examples, and describes the most effective practices. This vital resource: Offers a comprehensive resource that outlines a step-by-step guide for developing piping and instrumentation diagrams Includes helpful learning objectives and problem sets that are based on real-life examples Provides a wide range of original engineering flow drawing (P&ID) samples Includes PDF's that contain notes explaining the reason for each piece on a P&ID and additional samples to help the reader create their own P&IDs Written for chemical engineers, mechanical engineers and other technical practitioners, Piping and Instrumentation Diagram Development reveals the fundamental steps needed for creating accurate blueprints that are the key elements for the design, operation, and maintenance of process industries.
Publication Date: 2019-04-02
Power Systems Analysis Illustrated with MATLAB and ETAP by Hemchandra Madhusudan ShertukdeElectrical power is harnessed using several energy sources, including coal, hydel, nuclear, solar, and wind. Generated power is needed to be transferred over long distances to support load requirements of customers, viz., residential, industrial, and commercial. This necessitates proper design and analysis of power systems to efficiently control the power flow from one point to the other without delay, disturbance, or interference. Ideal for utility and power system design professionals and students, this book is richly illustrated with MATLAB® and Electrical Transient Analysis Program (ETAP®) to succinctly illustrate concepts throughout, and includes examples, case studies, and problems. Features Illustrated throughout with MATLAB and ETAP Proper use of positive/negative/zero sequence analysis of a given one-line diagram (OLD) associated with a grid, as well as finger-holding instructions to tackle a power system analysis (PSA) problem for a given OLD of a grid On-line evaluation of power flow, short-circuit analysis, and related PSA for a given OLD Appropriately learn the finer nuances of designing the several components of a PSA, including transmission lines, transformers, generators/motors, and illustrate the corresponding equivalent circuit Case studies from utilities and independent system operators well as finger-holding instructions to tackle a power system analysis (PSA) problem for a given OLD of a grid On-line evaluation of power flow, short-circuit analysis, and related PSA for a given OLD Appropriately learn the finer nuances of designing the several components of a PSA, including transmission lines, transformers, generators/motors, and illustrate the corresponding equivalent circuit Case studies from utilities and independent system operators
Publication Date: 2019-01-29
Practical Wastewater Treatment by David L. RussellThe updated and expanded guide for handling industrial wastes and designing a wastewater treatment plant The revised and updated second edition of Practical Wastewater Treatment provides a hands-on guide to industrial wastewater treatment theory, practices, and issues. It offers information for the effective design of water and wastewater treatment facilities and contains material on how to handle the wide-variety of industrial wastes. The book is based on a course developed and taught by the author for the American Institute of Chemical Engineers. The author reviews the most current industrial practices and goals, describes how the water industry works, and covers the most important aspects of the industry. In addition, the book explores a wide-range of approaches for managing industrial wastes such as oil, blood, protein and more. A comprehensive resource, the text covers such basic issues as water pollution, wastewater treatment techniques, sampling and measurement, and explores the key topic of biological modeling for designing wastewater treatment plants. This important book: Offers an updated and expanded text for dealing with real-world wastewater problems Contains new chapters on: Reverse Osmosis and desalination; Skin and Membrane Filtration; and Cooling tower water treatment Presents a guide filled with helpful examples and diagrams that is ideal for both professionals and students Includes information for handling industrial wastes and designing water and wastewater treatment plants Written for civil or chemical engineers and students, Practical Wastewater Treatment offers the information and techniques needed to solve problems of wastewater treatment.
Publication Date: 2019-04-30
Structural and Stress Analysis by T. H. G. MegsonStructural and Stress Analysis, Fourth Edition, provides readers with a comprehensive introduction to all types of structural and stress analysis. Starting with an explanation of the basic principles of statics, the book then covers normal and shear force, bending moments, and torsion. Building on the success of prior editions, this update features new material on structural dynamics and fatigue, along with additional discussions of Eurocode compliance in the design of beams. With worked examples, practice problems, and extensive illustrations, it is an all-in-one resource for students and professionals interested in learning structural analysis. Presents a comprehensive overview of structural and stress analysis Includes numerous worked examples and end-of-chapter problems Extensively illustrated to help visualize concepts Contains a greater focus on digital trends in structural engineering, including newer computer analysis methods and how to check output of such methods to avoid 'black-box' engineering Contains additional worked examples on plastic analysis of frames, bending moment distribution and displacement evaluations on collapse mechanics Introduces content on statics to ensure that students know the basic concepts and can understand the equilibrium principles that govern all structures as well as the principles of the mechanisms involved in computer-based calculations.