5G Explained by Jyrki T. J. PenttinenPractical Guide Provides Students and Industry Professionals with Latest Information on 5G Mobile Networks Continuing the tradition established in his previous publications, Jyrki Penttinen offers 5G Explained as a thorough yet concise introduction to recent advancements and growing trends in mobile telecommunications. In this case, Penttinen focuses on the development and employment of 5G mobile networks and, more specifically, the challenges inherent in adjusting to new global standardization requirements and in maintaining a high level of security even as mobile technology expands to new horizons. The text discusses, for example, the Internet of Things (IoT) and how to keep networks reliable and secure when they are constantly accessed by many different devices with varying levels of user involvement and competence. 5G Explained is primarily designed for specialists who need rapid acclimation to the possibilities and concerns presented by 5G adoption. Therefore, it assumes some prior knowledge of mobile communications. However, earlier chapters are structured so that even relative newcomers will gain useful information. Other notable features include: Three modules each consisting of three chapters: Introduction, Technical Network Description and Planning of Security and Deployment Comprehensive coverage of topics such as technical requirements for 5G, network architecture, radio and core networks and services/applications Discussion of specific security techniques in addition to common-sense guidelines for planning, deploying, managing and optimizing 5G networks 5G Explained offers crucial updates for anyone involved in designing, deploying or working with 5G networks. It should prove a valuable guide for operators, equipment manufacturers and other professionals in mobile equipment engineering and security, network planning and optimization, and mobile application development, or anyone looking to break into these fields.
Publication Date: 2019-03-28
5G for the Connected World by Devaki Chandramouli (Editor); Rainer Liebhart (Editor); Juho Pirskanen (Editor)Comprehensive Handbook Demystifies 5G for Technical and Business Professionals in Mobile Telecommunication Fields Much is being said regarding the possibilities and capabilities of the emerging 5G technology, as the evolution towards 5G promises to transform entire industries and many aspects of our society. 5G for the Connected World offers a comprehensive technical overview that telecommunication professionals need to understand and take advantage of these developments. The book offers a wide-ranging coverage of the technical aspects of 5G (with special consideration of the 3GPP Release 15 content), how it enables new services and how it differs from LTE. This includes information on potential use cases, aspects of radio and core networks, spectrum considerations and the services primarily driving 5G development and deployment. The text also looks at 5G in relation to the Internet of Things, machine to machine communication and technical enablers such as LTE-M, NB-IoT and EC-GSM. Additional chapters discuss new business models for telecommunication service providers and vertical industries as a result of introducing 5G and strategies for staying ahead of the curve. Other topics include: Key features of the new 5G radio such as descriptions of new waveforms, massive MIMO and beamforming technologies as well as spectrum considerations for 5G radio regarding all possible bands Drivers, motivations and overview of the new 5G system - especially RAN architecture and technology enablers (e.g. service-based architecture, compute-storage split and network exposure) for native cloud deployments Mobile edge computing, Non-3GPP access, Fixed-Mobile Convergence Detailed overview of mobility management, session management and Quality of Service frameworks 5G security vision and architecture Ultra-low latency and high reliability use cases and enablers, challenges and requirements (e.g. remote control, industrial automation, public safety and V2X communication) An outline of the requirements and challenges imposed by massive numbers of devices connected to cellular networks While some familiarity with the basics of 3GPP networks is helpful, 5G for the Connected World is intended for a variety of readers. It will prove a useful guide for telecommunication professionals, standardization experts, network operators, application developers and business analysts (or students working in these fields) as well as infrastructure and device vendors looking to develop and integrate 5G into their products, and to deploy 5G radio and core networks.
Publication Date: 2019-04-29
Advanced Battery Materials by Ashutosh Tiwari; Chunwen Sun (Editor)Electrochemical energy storage has played important roles in energy storage technologies for portable electronics and electric vehicle applications. During the past thirty years, great progress has been made in research and development of various batteries, in term of energy density increase and cost reduction. However, the energy density has to be further increased to achieve long endurance time. In this book, recent research and development in advanced electrode materials for electrochemical energy storage devices are presented, including lithium ion batteries, lithium-sulfur batteries and metal-air batteries, sodium ion batteries and supercapacitors. The materials involve transition metal oxides, sulfides, Si-based material as well as graphene and graphene composites.
Publication Date: 2019-04-09
Advances in Energy Systems by Peter D. Lund; John A. Byrne (Editor); Reinhard Haas (Editor); Damian Flynn (Editor)A guide to a multi-disciplinary approach that includes perspectives from noted experts in the energy and utilities fields Advances in Energy Systems offers a stellar collection of articles selected from the acclaimed journal Wiley Interdisciplinary Review: Energy and Environment. The journalcovers all aspects of energy policy, science and technology, environmental and climate change. The book covers a wide range of relevant issues related to the systemic changes for large-scale integration of renewable energy as part of the on-going energy transition. The book addresses smart energy systems technologies, flexibility measures, recent changes in the marketplace and current policies. With contributions from a list of internationally renowned experts, the book deals with the hot topic of systems integration for future energy systems and energy transition. This important resource: Contains contributions from noted experts in the field Covers a broad range of topics on the topic of renewable energy Explores the technical impacts of high shares of wind and solar power Offers a review of international smart-grid policies Includes information on wireless power transmission Presents an authoritative view of micro-grids Contains a wealth of other relevant topics Written forenergy planners, energy market professionals and technology developers, Advances in Energy Systems is an essential guide with contributions from an international panel of experts that addresses the most recent smart energy technologies.
Publication Date: 2019-04-29
Advances in Nanostructured Composites by Mahmood Aliofkhazraei (Editor)Composites and nanocomposites are used in cases where long durability and strength of components are required; i.e., where high stress levels, erosion processes and multiphase environments are present, including the parts under collision and impact, the parts under rotating motion and erosion (like excavation drills in oil and gas wells). The first volume of this book aims to provide a guide for fabrication of new nanocomposites mainly based on carbon nanotubes and graphene. The main topics of this volume are: Application of Nano-powders for Formation of Metal Matrix of Composites, Conjugated Polymer Nanocomposites, Biopolymer Nanocomposites, Dental Nanocomposites, Graphene-based Nanocomposites for Electrochemical Energy Storage, Polymer/Filler Composites for Optical Diffuse Reflectors, Synthesis and Applications of LDH-Based Nanocomposites, Rubber--CNT Nanocomposites, Nanocomposite Fibers with Carbon Nanotubes, Fabrications of Graphene Based Nanocomposites for Electrochemical Sensing of Drug Molecules, Recent Advances in Graphene Metal Oxide Based Nanocomposites. ing of Drug Molecules, Recent Advances in Graphene Metal Oxide Based Nanocomposites.
Publication Date: 2019-04-26
Advances in Pervaporation, Vapor Permeation and Membrane Distillation for Industrial Scale Separations and Water/Wastewater Treatment by Siddhartha Moulik (Editor); S. Sridhar (Editor)Separation processes are challenging steps in any process industry for isolation of products and recycling of reactants. Membrane technology has shown immense potential in separation of liquid and gaseous mixtures, effluent treatment, drinking water purification and solvent recovery. It has found endless popularity and wide acceptance for its small footprint, higher selectivity, scalability, energy saving capability and inherent ease of integration into other unit operations. There are many situations where the target component cannot be separated by distillation, liquid extraction, and evaporation. The different membrane processes such as pervaporation, vapor permeation and membrane distillation could be used for solving such industrial bottlenecks. This book covers the entire array of fundamental aspects, membrane synthesis and applications in the chemical process industries (CPI). It also includes various applications of pervaporation, vapor permeation and membrane distillation in industrially and socially relevant problems including separation of azeotropic mixtures, close-boiling compounds, organic-organic mixtures, effluent treatment along with brackish and seawater desalination, and many others. These processes can also be applied for extraction of small quantities of value-added compounds such as flavors and fragrances and selective removal of hazardous impurities, viz., volatile organic compounds (VOCs) such as vinyl chloride, benzene, ethyl benzene and toluene from industrial effluents. Including case studies, this is a must-have for any process or chemical engineer working in the industry today. Also valuable as a learning tool, students and professors in chemical engineering, chemistry, and process engineering will benefit greatly from the groundbreaking new processes and technologies described in the volume.
Publication Date: 2018-12-18
Applied Gas Dynamics by Ethirajan RathakrishnanA revised edition to applied gas dynamics with exclusive coverage on jets and additional sets of problems and examples The revised and updated second edition of Applied Gas Dynamics offers an authoritative guide to the science of gas dynamics. Written by a noted expert on the topic, the text contains a comprehensive review of the topic; from a definition of the subject, to the three essential processes of this science: the isentropic process, shock and expansion process, and Fanno and Rayleigh flows. In this revised edition, there are additional worked examples that highlight many concepts, including moving shocks, and a section on critical Mach number is included that helps to illuminate the concept. The second edition also contains new exercise problems with the answers added. In addition, the information on ram jets is expanded with helpful worked examples. It explores the entire spectrum of the ram jet theory and includes a set of exercise problems to aid in the understanding of the theory presented. This important text: Includes a wealth of new solved examples that describe the features involved in the design of gas dynamic devices Contains a chapter on jets; this is the first textbook material available on high-speed jets Offers comprehensive and simultaneous coverage of both the theory and application Includes additional information designed to help with an understanding of the material covered Written for graduate students and advanced undergraduates in aerospace engineering and mechanical engineering, Applied Gas Dynamics, Second Edition expands on the original edition to include not only the basic information on the science of gas dynamics but also contains information on high-speed jets.
Publication Date: 2019-02-25
Bioceramics and Biocomposites by Iulian Antoniac (Editor)Provides comprehensive coverage of the research into and clinical uses of bioceramics and biocomposites Developments related to bioceramics and biocomposites appear to be one the most dynamic areas in the field of biomaterials, with multiple applications in tissue engineering and medical devices. This book covers the basic science and engineering of bioceramics and biocomposites for applications in dentistry and orthopedics, as well as the state-of-the-art aspects of biofabrication techniques, tissue engineering, remodeling, and regeneration of bone tissue. It also provides insight into the use of bionanomaterials to create new functionalities when interfaced with biological molecules or structures. Featuring contributions from leading experts in the field, Bioceramics and Biocomposites: From Research to Use in Clinical Practice offers complete coverage of everything from extending the concept of hemopoietic and stromal niches, to the evolution of bioceramic-based scaffolds. It looks at perspectives on and trends in bioceramics in endodontics, and discusses the influence of newer biomaterials use on the structuring of the clinician's attitude in dental practice or in orthopedic surgery. The book also covers such topics as biofabrication techniques for bioceramics and biocomposites; glass ceramics: calcium phosphate coatings; brain drug delivery bone substitutes; and much more. Presents the biggest trends in bioceramics and biocomposites relating to medical devices and tissue engineering products Systematically presents new information about bioceramics and biocomposites, developing diagnostics and improving treatments and their influence on the clinicians' approaches Describes how to use these biomaterials to create new functionalities when interfaced with biological molecules or structures Offers a range of applications in clinical practice, including bone tissue engineering, remodeling, and regeneration Delineates essential requirements for resorbable bioceramics Discusses clinical results obtained in dental and orthopedic applications Bioceramics and Biocomposites: From Research to Use in Clinical Practice is an excellent resource for biomaterials scientists and engineers, bioengineers, materials scientists, and engineers. It will also benefit mechanical engineers and biochemists who work with biomaterials scientists.
Publication Date: 2019-04-23
Bridge Design by António J. Reis; José J. Oliveira PedroA comprehensive guide to bridge design Bridge Design - Concepts and Analysis provides a unique approach, combining the fundamentals of concept design and structural analysis of bridges in a single volume. The book discusses design solutions from the authors' practical experience and provides insights into conceptual design with concrete, steel or composite bridge solutions as alternatives. Key features: Principal design concepts and analysis are dealt with in a unified approach. Execution methods and evolution of the static scheme during construction are dealt with for steel, concrete and composite bridges. Aesthetics and environmental integration of bridges are considered as an issue for concept design. Bridge analysis, including modelling and detail design aspects, is discussed for different bridge typologies and structural materials. Specific design verification aspects are discussed on the basis of present design rules in Eurocodes. The book is an invaluable guide for postgraduate students studying bridge design, bridge designers and structural engineers.
Publication Date: 2019-05-13
Catalytic Chemical Vapor Deposition by Hideki Matsumura; Karen K. Gleason; Ruud E. I. Schropp; Hironobu UmemotoThe authoritative reference on catalytic chemical vapor deposition, written by the inventor of the technology. This comprehensive book covers a wide scope of Cat-CVD and related technologies from the fundamentals to the many applications, including the design of a Cat-CVD apparatus. Featuring contributions from four senior leaders in the field, including the father of catalytic chemical vapor deposition, it also introduces some of the techniques used in the observation of Cat-CVD related phenomena so that readers can understand the concepts of such techniques. Catalytic Chemical Vapor Deposition: Technology and Applications of Cat-CVD begins by reviewing the analytical tools for elucidating the chemical reactions in Cat-CVD, such as laser-induced fluorescence and deep ultra-violet absorption, and explains in detail the underlying physics and chemistry of the Cat-CVD technology. Subsequently it provides an overview of the synthesis and properties of Cat-CVD-prepared inorganic and organic thin films. The last parts of this unique book are devoted to the design and operation of Cat-CVD apparatuses and the applications. Provides coherent coverage of the fundamentals and applications of catalytic chemical vapor deposition (Cat-CVD) Assembles in one place the state of the art of this rapidly growing field, allowing new researchers to get an overview that is difficult to obtain solely from journal articles Presents comparisons of different Cat-CVD methods which are usually not found in research papers Bridges academic and industrial research, showing how CVD can be scaled up from the lab to large-scale industrial utilization in the high-tech industry. Catalytic Chemical Vapor Deposition: Technology and Applications is an excellent one-stop resource for researchers and engineers working on or entering the field of Cat-CVD, Hot-Wire CVD, iCVD, and related technologies.
Publication Date: 2019-04-29
Corrosion and Materials in Hydrocarbon Production by Bijan Kermani; Don HarropComprehensively covers the engineering aspects of corrosion and materials in hydrocarbon production This book captures the current understanding of corrosion processes in upstream operations and provides a brief overview of parameters and measures needed for optimum design of facilities. It focuses on internal corrosion occurring in hydrocarbon production environments and the key issues affecting its occurrence, including: the types and morphology of corrosion damage; principal metallic materials deployed; and mitigating measures to optimise its occurrence. The book also highlights important areas of progress and challenges, and looks toward the future of research and development to enable improved and economical design of facilities for oil and a gas production. Written for both those familiar and unfamiliar with the subject--and by two authors with more than 60 years combined industry experience--this book covers everything from Corrosion Resistant Alloys (CRAs) to internal metal loss corrosion threats, corrosion in injection systems to microbiologically influenced corrosion, corrosion risk analysis to corrosion and integrity management, and more, notably: Comprehensively covers the engineering aspects of corrosion and materials in hydrocarbon production Written by two, renowned experts in the field Offers practical guide to those unfamiliar with the subject whilst providing a focused roadmap to addressing the topics in a precise and methodical manner Covers all aspects of corrosion threat and remedial and mitigation measures in upstream hydrocarbon production applicable to sub-surface, surface, and transportation facilities Outlines technology challenges that need further research as a pre-cursor to moving the industry forward. Operational and Engineering Aspects of Corrosion and Materials in Hydrocarbon Production is an excellent guide for both practicing materials and corrosion engineers working in hydrocarbons production as well as those entering the area who may not be fully familiar with the subject.
Publication Date: 2019-04-16
Desalination by Jane Kucera"Blue is the new green." This is an all-new revised edition of a modern classic on one of the most important subjects in engineering: Water. Featuring a total revision of the initial volume, this is the most comprehensive and up-to-date coverage of the process of desalination in industrial and municipal applications, a technology that is becoming increasingly more important as more and more companies choose to "go green." This book covers all of the processes and equipment necessary to design, operate, and troubleshoot desalination systems, from the fundamental principles of desalination technology and membranes to the much more advanced engineering principles necessary for designing a desalination system. Earlier chapters cover the basic principles, the economics of desalination, basic terms and definitions, and essential equipment. The book then goes into the thermal processes involved in desalination, such as various methods of evaporation, distillation, recompression, and multistage flash. Following that is an exhaustive discussion of the membrane processes involved in desalination, such as reverse osmosis, forward osmosis, and electrodialysis. Finally, the book concludes with a chapter on the future of these technologies and their place in industry and how they can be of use to society. This book is a must-have for anyone working in water, for engineers, technicians, scientists working in research and development, and operators. It is also useful as a textbook for graduate classes studying industrial water applications.
Publication Date: 2019-04-30
Designing for How People Think by John WhalenUser experience doesn't happen on a screen; it happens in the mind, and the experience is multidimensional and multisensory. This practical book will help you uncover critical insights about how your customers think so you can create products or services with an exceptional experience. Corporate leaders, marketers, product owners, and designers will learn how cognitive processes from different brain regions form what we perceive as a singular experience. Author John Whalen shows you how anyone on your team can conduct "contextual interviews" to unlock insights. You'll then learn how to apply that knowledge to design brilliant experiences for your customers. Learn about the "six minds" of user experience and how each contributes to the perception of a singular experience Find out how your team--without any specialized training in psychology--can uncover critical insights about your customers' conscious and unconscious processes Learn how to immediately apply what you've learned to improve your products and services Explore practical examples of how the Fortune 100 used this system to build highly successful experiences
Publication Date: 2019-04-18
Design of Foundations for Offshore Wind Turbines by Subhamoy BhattacharyaComprehensive reference covering the design of foundations for offshore wind turbines As the demand for "green" energy increases the offshore wind power industry is expanding at a rapid pace around the world. Design of Foundations for Offshore Wind Turbines is a comprehensive reference which covers the design of foundations for offshore wind turbines, and includes examples and case studies. It provides an overview of a wind farm and a wind turbine structure, and examines the different types of loads on the offshore wind turbine structure. Foundation design considerations and the necessary calculations are also covered. The geotechnical site investigation and soil behavior/soil structure interaction are discussed, and the final chapter takes a case study of a wind turbine and demonstrates how to carry out step by step calculations. Key features: New, important subject to the industry. Includes calculations and case studies. Accompanied by a website hosting software and data files. Design of Foundations for Offshore Wind Turbines is a must have reference for engineers within the renewable energy industry and is also a useful guide for graduate students in this area.
Publication Date: 2019-05-07
Fermentation Microbiology and Biotechnology by E. M. T. El-Mansi (Editor)Fermentation Microbiology and Biotechnology, 4th Edition explores and illustrates the broad array of metabolic pathways employed for the production of primary and secondary metabolites, as well as biopharmaceuticals. This updated and expanded edition addresses the whole spectrum of fermentation biotechnology, from fermentation kinetics and dynamics to protein and co-factor engineering. It also sheds light on the new strategies employed by industrialist for increasing tolerance and endurance of microorganisms to the accumulation of toxic wastes in microbial-cell factories. The new edition builds upon the fine pedigree of its earlier predecessors and extends the spectrum of the book to reflect the multidisciplinary and buoyant nature of this subject area. Key Features Covers the whole spectrum of the field from fermentation kinetics to control of fermentation and protein engineering. Includes case studies specifically designed to illustrate industrial applications and current state-of-the-art technologies. Presents the contributions of eminent international academics and industrial experts. Offers new chapters addressing: The prospects and the role of bio-fuels refineries, Control of metabolic efflux to product formation in microbial-cell factories and Improving tolerance of microorganisms to toxic byproduct accumulation in the fermentation vessel.
This Geotechnical Special Publication contains 86 peer-reviewed papers on geotechnical materials, modeling, and testing.
Topics include: computational geotechnics; numerical modeling and analysis techniques; pavement subgrades and foundations; rock mechanics; soil properties and modeling; and unsaturated soils.
GSP 310 will be of interest to practitioners and researchers in all areas of geotechnical engineering.
Publication Date: 2019
Handbook of Occupational Safety and Health by S. Z. Mansdorf (Editor)A quick, easy-to-consult source of practical overviews on wide-ranging issues of concern for those responsible for the health and safety of workers This new and completely revised edition of the popular Handbook is an ideal, go-to resource for those who need to anticipate, recognize, evaluate, and control conditions that can cause injury or illness to employees in the workplace. Devised as a "how-to" guide, it offers a mix of theory and practice while adding new and timely topics to its core chapters, including prevention by design, product stewardship, statistics for safety and health, safety and health management systems, safety and health management of international operations, and EHS auditing. The new edition of Handbook of Occupational Safety and Health has been rearranged into topic sections to better categorize the flow of the chapters. Starting with a general introduction on management, it works its way up from recognition of hazards to safety evaluations and risk assessment. It continues on the health side beginning with chemical agents and ending with medical surveillance. The book also offers sections covering normal control practices, physical hazards, and management approaches (which focuses on legal issues and workers compensation). Features new chapters on current developments like management systems, prevention by design, and statistics for safety and health Written by a number of pioneers in the safety and health field Offers fast overviews that enable individuals not formally trained in occupational safety to quickly get up to speed Presents many chapters in a "how-to" format Featuring contributions from numerous experts in the field, Handbook of Occupational Safety and Health, 3rd Edition is an excellent tool for promoting and maintaining the physical, mental, and social well-being of workers in all occupations and is important to a company's financial, moral, and legal welfare.
Publication Date: 2019-04-23
Harsh Environment Electronics by Ahmed Sharif (Editor)Provides in-depth knowledge on novel materials that make electronics work under high-temperature and high-pressure conditions This book reviews the state of the art in research and development of lead-free interconnect materials for electronic packaging technology. It identifies the technical barriers to the development and manufacture of high-temperature interconnect materials to investigate into the complexities introduced by harsh conditions. It teaches the techniques adopted and the possible alternatives of interconnect materials to cope with the impacts of extreme temperatures for implementing at industrial scale. The book also examines the application of nanomaterials, current trends within the topic area, and the potential environmental impacts of material usage. Written by world-renowned experts from academia and industry, Harsh Environment Electronics: Interconnect Materials and Performance Assessment covers interconnect materials based on silver, gold, and zinc alloys as well as advanced approaches utilizing polymers and nanomaterials in the first section. The second part is devoted to the performance assessment of the different interconnect materials and their respective environmental impact. -Takes a scientific approach to analyzing and addressing the issues related to interconnect materials involved in high temperature electronics -Reviews all relevant materials used in interconnect technology as well as alternative approaches otherwise neglected in other literature -Highlights emergent research and theoretical concepts in the implementation of different materials in soldering and die-attach applications -Covers wide-bandgap semiconductor device technologies for high temperature and harsh environment applications, transient liquid phase bonding, glass frit based die attach solution for harsh environment, and more -A pivotal reference for professionals, engineers, students, and researchers Harsh Environment Electronics: Interconnect Materials and Performance Assessment is aimed at materials scientists, electrical engineers, and semiconductor physicists, and treats this specialized topic with breadth and depth.
Publication Date: 2019-05-13
High Performance Technical Textiles by Roshan Paul (Editor)An authentic resource for the fundamentals, applied techniques, applications and recent advancements of all the main areas of technical textiles Created to be a comprehensive reference, High Performance Technical Textiles includes the review of a wide range of technical textiles from household to space textiles. The contributors--noted experts in the field from all the continents--offer in-depth coverage on the fibre materials, manufacturing processes and techniques, applications, current developments, sustainability and future trends. The contributors include discussions on synthetic versus natural fibres, various textile manufacturing techniques, textile composites and finishing approaches that are involved in the manufacturing of textiles for a specific high performance application. Whilst the book provides the basic knowledge required for an understanding of technical textiles, it can serve as a springboard for inspiring new inventions in hi-tech fibres and textiles. This important book: Contains a unique approach that offers a comprehensive understanding of the manufacturing and applications of technical textiles Includes a general overview to the fundamentals, current techniques, end use applications as well as the most recent advancements Explores the current standards in the industry and the ongoing research in the field Offers a comprehensive and single source reference on the topic Written for academics, researchers and professionals working in textile and related industries, High Performance Technical Textiles offers a systematic, structured, logical and updated source of information for understanding technical textiles.
Publication Date: 2019-05-07
Integrated Security Technologies and Solutions - Volume II by Aaron Woland; Mason Harris; Jamie Sanbower; Vivek Santuka; Chad MitchellThe essential reference for security pros and CCIE Security candidates: identity, context sharing, encryption, secure connectivity and virtualization Integrated Security Technologies and Solutions - Volume II brings together more expert-level instruction in security design, deployment, integration, and support. It will help experienced security and network professionals manage complex solutions, succeed in their day-to-day jobs, and prepare for their CCIE Security written and lab exams. Volume II focuses on the Cisco Identity Services Engine, Context Sharing, TrustSec, Application Programming Interfaces (APIs), Secure Connectivity with VPNs, and the virtualization and automation sections of the CCIE v5 blueprint. Like Volume I, its strong focus on interproduct integration will help you combine formerly disparate systems into seamless, coherent, next-generation security solutions. Part of the Cisco CCIE Professional Development Series from Cisco Press, it is authored by a team of CCIEs who are world-class experts in their Cisco security disciplines, including co-creators of the CCIE Security v5 blueprint. Each chapter starts with relevant theory, presents configuration examples and applications, and concludes with practical troubleshooting. Review the essentials of Authentication, Authorization, and Accounting (AAA) Explore the RADIUS and TACACS+ AAA protocols, and administer devices with them Enforce basic network access control with the Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE) Implement sophisticated ISE profiling, EzConnect, and Passive Identity features Extend network access with BYOD support, MDM integration, Posture Validation, and Guest Services Safely share context with ISE, and implement pxGrid and Rapid Threat Containment Integrate ISE with Cisco FMC, WSA, and other devices Leverage Cisco Security APIs to increase control and flexibility Review Virtual Private Network (VPN) concepts and types Understand and deploy Infrastructure VPNs and Remote Access VPNs Virtualize leading Cisco Security products Make the most of Virtual Security Gateway (VSG), Network Function Virtualization (NFV), and microsegmentation
Publication Date: 2019-04-06
Intelligence in Iot-Enabled Smart Cities by Fadi Al-TurjmanSmart Cities and intelligence are among the most significant topics in IoT. Intelligence in communication and infrastructure implementation is at the heart of this concept, and its development is a key issue in smart cities. This book addresses the challenges in realizing intelligence in smart cities and sensing platforms in the era of cloud computing and IoT, varying from cost and energy efficiency to availability and service quality. It focuses on both the design and implementation aspects of artificial intelligence approaches in smart cities and sensing applications that are enabled and supported by IoT paradigms, and mainly on data delivery approaches and their performability aspects.
Publication Date: 2019-01-09
Kinematic Control of Redundant Robot Arms Using Neural Networks by Mohammed Aquil Mirz; Long Jin; Shuai LiPresents pioneering and comprehensive work on engaging movement in robotic arms, with a specific focus on neural networks This book presents and investigates different methods and schemes for the control of robotic arms whilst exploring the field from all angles. On a more specific level, it deals with the dynamic-neural-network based kinematic control of redundant robot arms by using theoretical tools and simulations. Kinematic Control of Redundant Robot Arms Using Neural Networks is divided into three parts: Neural Networks for Serial Robot Arm Control; Neural Networks for Parallel Robot Control; and Neural Networks for Cooperative Control. The book starts by covering zeroing neural networks for control, and follows up with chapters on adaptive dynamic programming neural networks for control; projection neural networks for robot arm control; and neural learning and control co-design for robot arm control. Next, it looks at robust neural controller design for robot arm control and teaches readers how to use neural networks to avoid robot singularity. It then instructs on neural network based Stewart platform control and neural network based learning and control co-design for Stewart platform control. The book finishes with a section on zeroing neural networks for robot arm motion generation. Provides comprehensive understanding on robot arm control aided with neural networks Presents neural network-based control techniques for single robot arms, parallel robot arms (Stewart platforms), and cooperative robot arms Provides a comparison of, and the advantages of, using neural networks for control purposes rather than traditional control based methods Includes simulation and modelling tasks (e.g., MATLAB) for onward application for research and engineering development By focusing on robot arm control aided by neural networks whilst examining central topics surrounding the field, Kinematic Control of Redundant Robot Arms Using Neural Networks is an excellent book for graduate students and academic and industrial researchers studying neural dynamics, neural networks, analog and digital circuits, mechatronics, and mechanical engineering.
Publication Date: 2019-04-29
Metal Oxide Varistors by Jinliang He; Jun HuCompletely up-to-date, this is the first comprehensive monograph on metal oxide varistors with a focus on microstructure, conduction mechanisms, device failures, ageing, additive impacts and future varistor systems. As such, it covers the fundamentals and applications of metal oxide varistors, including their macro-characteristics, microstructural properties and the device-internal physical and electrical mechanisms. The author reflects on the achievements made in varistor research and propose new approaches to analyze and predict the macro-characteristics, employing such methods as micro-contact measurements and numerical simulations. In addition, he looks at future directions for varistor research, such as ZnO varistors with a high voltage gradient and low residual voltage and further varistor types based on TiO2 and SnO2.
Publication Date: 2019-04-01
Multidimensional Digital Signal and Image Processing by Eric DuboisThis book presents the theory of multidimensional signals and systems, largely from the perspective of image and video processing. Several aspects set the book apart from other works on this topic. Foremost is the extensive and integral use of lattices to describe discrete-domain signals and signal periodicities. Most other works include this as an add-on topic after the basic theory using rectangular sampling structures is derived. Non-rectangular sampling and periodicity are sufficiently pervasive in their application to justify the use of lattices as the basis for development from the very beginning of the work. The second distinguishing feature is the use of vector spaces and group theory more extensively than most other books on the topic. This is especially significant in the treatment of color and color image processing, and for discrete transform representations based on symmetry groups, including fast computational algorithms.
Publication Date: 2019-05-07
Novel Carbon Materials and Composites by Haogang Zhuang; Xiaoning Guo (Editor); Xin Jiang (Editor); Zhenhui Kang (Editor); Nianjun Yang; Hao Zhuang (Editor)This book will connect knowledge about synthesis, properties and applications of novel carbon materials and carbon-based composites, including thin films of silicon carbide, carbon nitrite, boron carbide and their related composites. The book will cover the direct bottom-up synthesis of the carbon based composite systems and their potential applications. The growth mechanism of the composite structures will be discussed. The applications will range from mechanical, electronic, chemical, biochemical, medical, and environmental applications to functional devices, such as sensors, detection of contaminants, wastewater treatment, and water splitting. Topics covered include: * Silicon carbide (SiC): CVD growth of SiC films, Morphology controlling of SiC nanostructures, SiC films for bio and electrochemical applications, SiC powders for thermocatalytic and photocatalytic applications. * Carbon nitrides: Synthesis and electrochemical applications, fabrication and water splitting applications, biosensing applications using carbon nitrides, CVD synthesis and chemical applications. * Boron carbide: Synthesis of boron carbide thin films and nanostructures, mechanical properties of boron carbide thin films and their applications, theoretical modeling of BCN, synthesis and applications of BCN. * Novel carbon composites: Carbon nanodots composites, SiC/diamond composites, carbon nitrides-based composites, boron carbides-based composites. This book is published as a title in the new Wiley book series Nanocarbon Chemistry and Interfaces. This series summarizes recent developments in the exciting and evolving field of carbon-based nanomaterials from a chemistry perspective, with a particular focus on surface chemistry and interface properties of nanocarbons.
Publication Date: 2019-05-06
Publication Date: 2019-04-14
Prometheus - Up and Running by Brian BrazilGet up to speed with Prometheus, the metrics-based monitoring system used by tens of thousands of organizations in production. This practical guide provides application developers, sysadmins, and DevOps practitioners with a hands-on introduction to the most important aspects of Prometheus, including dashboarding and alerting, direct code instrumentation, and metric collection from third-party systems with exporters. This open source system has gained popularity over the past few years for good reason. With its simple yet powerful data model and query language, Prometheus does one thing, and it does it well. Author and Prometheus developer Brian Brazil guides you through Prometheus setup, the Node exporter, and the Alertmanager, then demonstrates how to use them for application and infrastructure monitoring. Know where and how much to apply instrumentation to your application code Identify metrics with labels using unique key-value pairs Get an introduction to Grafana, a popular tool for building dashboards Learn how to use the Node Exporter to monitor your infrastructure Use service discovery to provide different views of your machines and services Use Prometheus with Kubernetes and examine exporters you can use with containers Convert data from other monitoring systems into the Prometheus format
Publication Date: 2018-07-28
Single Particle Nanocatalysis by Weiling Xu; Tao Chen; Yuwei ZhangIntroduces the detailed basis and recent development of single molecule/particle nanocatalysis based on single molecule techniques This unique book introduces and summarizes the recent development of single molecule/particle nanocatalysis to provide both comprehensive coverage of fundamentals for different methods now in widespread use and the extensive applications in different catalytic systems. Chapters are mainly based on different detection methods, including single molecule fluorescence microscopy, surface plasmon resonance spectroscopy, X-ray microscopy, and surface enhanced Raman spectroscopy. The book also includes numerous basic principles of different methods and application examples and features illustrations that help clarify presentations. Single Particle Nanocatalysis: Fundamentals and Applications starts with the history and development of single molecule techniques for nanocatalysis. It then shows readers how single molecule fluorescence microscopy (SMFM) reveals catalytic kinetics and dynamics of individual nanocatalysts. Next, it examines traditional SMFM-based single molecule nanocatalysis without super-resolution (SR) imaging, before moving on to the topic of SMFM-based SR imaging in single molecule nanocatalysis. Following chapters cover scanning electrochemical microscopy for single particle nanocatalysis; surface plasmon resonance spectroscopy for single particle nanocatalysis/reactions; X-ray-based microscopy of single-particle nanocatalysis; and surface-enhanced Raman spectroscopy for single particle nanocatalysis. The book finishes by introducing some less-practiced techniques for single particle nanocatalysis/electrochemistry. -Presents a systematical and complete introduction to the subject of single particle nanocatalysis?covering all of its fundamentals and applications -Helps readers fully understand the basis, role, and recent development of single molecule nanocatalysis -Teaches researchers how to gain new knowledge to successfully conduct their own studies within this rapidly increasing new area of research Single Particle Nanocatalysis: Fundamentals and Applications is an excellent reference book for experts in this area as well as for general researchers who want to learn how to study nanocatalysis at single molecule/particle level.
Publication Date: 2019-04-29
Smart Inorganic Polymers by Wiley-vch; Evamarie Hey-Hawkins (Editor); Muriel Hissler (Editor)Provides complete and undiluted knowledge on making inorganic polymers functional. This comprehensive book reflects the state of the art in the field of inorganic polymers, based on research conducted by a number of internationally leading research groups working in this area. It covers the synthesis aspects of synthetic inorganic polymers and looks at multiple inorganic monomers as building blocks, which exhibit unprecedented electronic, redox, photo-emissive, magnetic, self-healing and catalytic properties. It also looks at the applications of inorganic polymers in areas such as optoelectronics, energy storage, industrial chemistry, and biology. Beginning with an overview of the use of smart inorganic polymers in daily life, Smart Inorganic Polymers: Synthesis, Properties and Emerging Applications in Materials and Life Sciences goes on to study the synthesis, properties, and applications of polymers incorporating different heteroelements such as boron, phosphorus, silicon, germanium, and tin. The book also examines inorganic polymers in flame-retardants, as functional materials, and in biology. An excellent addition to the polymer scientists' and synthetic chemists' toolbox Summarizes the state of the art on how to make and use functional inorganic polymers, from synthesis to applications Edited by the coordinator of a highly funded European community research program (COST action) that focuses specifically on the exploration of inorganic polymers Features contributions from top experts in the field Aimed at academics and industrial researchers in this field, Smart Inorganic Polymers: Synthesis, Properties and Emerging Applications in Materials and Life Sciences will also benefit scientists who want to get a better overview on the state-of-the-art of this rapidly advancing area.
Publication Date: 2019-04-29
Stream Processing with Apache Flink by Fabian Hueske; Vasiliki KalavriGet started with Apache Flink, the open source framework that powers some of the world's largest stream processing applications. With this practical book, you'll explore the fundamental concepts of parallel stream processing and discover how this technology differs from traditional batch data processing. Longtime Apache Flink committers Fabian Hueske and Vasia Kalavri show you how to implement scalable streaming applications with Flink's DataStream API and continuously run and maintain these applications in operational environments. Stream processing is ideal for many use cases, including low-latency ETL, streaming analytics, and real-time dashboards as well as fraud detection, anomaly detection, and alerting. You can process continuous data of any kind, including user interactions, financial transactions, and IoT data, as soon as you generate them. Learn concepts and challenges of distributed stateful stream processing Explore Flink's system architecture, including its event-time processing mode and fault-tolerance model Understand the fundamentals and building blocks of the DataStream API, including its time-based and statefuloperators Read data from and write data to external systems with exactly-once consistency Deploy and configure Flink clusters Operate continuously running streaming applications
Publication Date: 2019-04-21
Textile Fiber Microscopy by Ivana MarkovàA groundbreaking text to the study of textile fibers that bridges the knowledge gap between fiber shape and end uses Textile Fiber Microscopy offers an important and comprehensive guide to the study of textile fibers and contains a unique text that prioritizes a review of fibers' microstructure, macrostructure and chemical composition. The author - a noted expert in the field - details many fiber types and includes all the possible fiber shapes with a number of illustrative micrographs. The author explores a wealth of topics such as fiber end uses, fiber source and production, a history of each fiber and the sustainability of the various fibers. The text includes a review of environmentally friendly fibers and contains information on the most current fiber science by putting the focus on fibers that have been mechanically or chemically recycled, for use in textile production. The author also offers an exploration of issues of textile waste and the lack of textile recycling that can help public policymakers with ways to inform and regulate post-industrial and post-consumer textile waste issues. This vital guide: Contains an accompanied micrograph for many fibers presented Includes information on how fiber microstructure is connected to fabric properties and how it affects the end use of fabrics Offers a review of the sophistication of textile fibers from a scientific point of view Presents a comparative textile fiber review that is appropriate for both for students, textile experts and forensic scientists Written for students and professionals of apparel design and merchandising, and forensic scientists, Textile Fiber Microscopy presents an important review of textile fibers from a unique perspective that explores fibers' microstructure, macrostructure and chemical composition.
Publication Date: 2019-04-29
Transport and Town Planning by Jean LaterrasseIn a context where climate change urgently requires us to alter our paradigms, this book explores the possibilities of cities that are both more energy efficient and more respectful of the environment. Based on the observation that urban planning has been detrimentally affected by the compartmentalization of knowledge and practices, this book is conceived as a dialog between transport and urban planning on the one hand, and between engineering and social science on the other. Systemic analysis and a historical approach, integrating the teachings of the last two centuries, constitute at the methodological level the framework in which this dialog unfolds. Based on examples of good practice, Transport and Town Planning identifies an effective set of levers of action and proposes an original method to guide and accompany urban transition with a large share of the initiative reserved for the actors concerned.
Publication Date: 2019-05-21
Ultra-Dense Networks for 5G and Beyond by Trung Q. Duong (Editor); Xiaoli Chu (Editor); Himal A. Suraweera (Editor)Offers comprehensive insight into the theory, models, and techniques of ultra-dense networks and applications in 5G and other emerging wireless networks The need for speed--and power--in wireless communications is growing exponentially. Data rates are projected to increase by a factor of ten every five years--and with the emerging Internet of Things (IoT) predicted to wirelessly connect trillions of devices across the globe, future mobile networks (5G) will grind to a halt unless more capacity is created. This book presents new research related to the theory and practice of all aspects of ultra-dense networks, covering recent advances in ultra-dense networks for 5G networks and beyond, including cognitive radio networks, massive multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO), device-to-device (D2D) communications, millimeter-wave communications, and energy harvesting communications. Clear and concise throughout, Ultra-Dense Networks for 5G and Beyond - Modelling, Analysis, and Applications offers a comprehensive coverage on such topics as network optimization; mobility, handoff control, and interference management; and load balancing schemes and energy saving techniques. It delves into the backhaul traffic aspects in ultra-dense networks and studies transceiver hardware impairments and power consumption models in ultra-dense networks. The book also examines new IoT, smart-grid, and smart-city applications, as well as novel modulation, coding, and waveform designs. One of the first books to focus solely on ultra-dense networks for 5G in a complete presentation Covers advanced architectures, self-organizing protocols, resource allocation, user-base station association, synchronization, and signaling Examines the current state of cell-free massive MIMO, distributed massive MIMO, and heterogeneous small cell architectures Offers network measurements, implementations, and demos Looks at wireless caching techniques, physical layer security, cognitive radio, energy harvesting, and D2D communications in ultra-dense networks Ultra-Dense Networks for 5G and Beyond - Modelling, Analysis, and Applications is an ideal reference for those who want to design high-speed, high-capacity communications in advanced networks, and will appeal to postgraduate students, researchers, and engineers in the field.