Advanced Nanofibrous Materials Manufacture Technology Based on Electrospinning by Yanbo Liu (Editor); Ce Wang (Editor)This book comprehensively addresses advanced nanofiber manufacturing based on electrospinning technology. The principles, relationships between process parameters and structure, morphology and performance of electrospun nanofibers and nanomaterials, and the methods for enhanced field intensity and uniform distribution are discussed. The electric field intensity and distribution during electrospinning is also analyzed based on finite element analysis on both the needle and the needleless electrospinning. Furthermore, the modification techniques for improved nanomaterials strength are covered, aiming to provide effective avenues towards the manufacture of stronger nanofiber or nanomaterial products.
Publication Date: 2019-04-16
Advances in Liquid Biofuel Production by Lalit Kumar Singh (Editor); Gaurav Chaudhary (Editor)Biofuels production is one of the most extensively studied fields in the energy sector that can provide an alternative energy source and bring the energy industry closer to sustainability. Biomass-based fuel production, or renewable fuels, are becoming increasingly important as a potential solution for man-made climate change, depleted oil reserves, and the dangers involved with hydraulic fracturing (or "fracking"). The price of oil will always be volatile and changeable, and, so long as industry and private citizens around the world need energy, there will be a need for alternative energy sources. The area known as "biofuels and biofeedstocks" is one of the most important and quickly growing pieces of the "energy pie." Biofuels and biofeedstocks are constantly changing, and new processes are constantly being created, changed, and improved upon. The area is rapidly changing and always innovative. It is important, therefore, that books like the volumes in this series are published and the information widely disseminated to keep the industry informed of the state-of-the-art. This third volume in the Advances in Biofeedstocks and Biofuels series focuses on the production of liquid biofuel, covering all of the major biofuels, such as biodiesel, biobutanol, bioethanol, and others. This engaging text touches on all of the most important new processes and technologies, providing the most up-to-date coverage of the science available to industry. It is a must-have for any engineer or scientist working with biofuel technology.
Publication Date: 2019-06-05
Analytics and Optimization for Renewable Energy Integration by Ning Zhang; Chongqing Kang; Ershun Du; Yi WangThe scope of this book covers the modeling and forecast of renewable energy and operation and planning of power system with renewable energy integration.The first part presents mathematical theories of stochastic mathematics; the second presents modeling and analytic techniques for renewable energy generation; the third provides solutions on how to handle the uncertainty of renewable energy in power system operation. It includes advanced stochastic unit commitment models to acquire the optimal generation schedule under uncertainty, efficient algorithms to calculate the probabilistic power, and an efficient operation strategy for renewable power plants participating in electricity markets.
Publication Date: 2019-03-22
A Beginner's Guide to 3D Modeling by Cameron CowardThe rise of enthusiast 3D printing and CNC machining has created a need for 3D CAD modeling skills, but CAD has traditionally been associated with a steep learning curve. With CAD for Beginners, you'll learn the basics of 3D CAD modeling all the way to advanced modeling using Autodesk Fusion 360, the cloud powered 3D CAD/CAM tool. In this practical guide, you'll start by learning the principles of parametric modeling and basic modeling and assembly methods. Then, you'll move into advanced modeling concepts like 3D sketching and splines, helixes and ribs, technical drawing, and rendering.
Publication Date: 2019-06-11
Collaborative Construction Procurement and Improved Value by David MoseyThe guide that explores how procurement and contracts can create an integrated team while improving value, economy, quality and client satisfaction Collaborative Construction Procurement and Improved Value provides an important guide for project managers, lawyers, designers, constructors and operators, showing step by step how proven collaborative models and processes can move from the margins to the mainstream. It covers all stages of the project lifecycle and offers new ways to embed learning from one project to the next. Collaborative Construction Procurement and Improved Value explores how strategic thinking, intelligent team selection, contract integration and the use of digital technology can enhance the value of construction projects and programmes of work. With 50 UK case studies, plus chapters from specialists in 6 other jurisdictions, it describes in detail the legal and procedural route maps for successful collaborative teams. Collaborative Construction Procurement and Improved Value: Examines the ways to create an effective contract that will spell success throughout the procurement process Contains helpful case studies from real-world projects and programmes Explores the benefits of the collaborative construction process and how to overcome common obstacles Bridges the gaps between contract law, collaborative working and project management Includes the first analysis of the NEC4 Alliance Contract, the FAC-1 Framework Alliance Contract and the TAC-1 Term Alliance Contract
Publication Date: 2019-06-18
Common Rail Fuel Injection Technology in Diesel Engines by Guangyao Ouyang; Shijie An; Yuxue Liu; Zhenming LiuA wide-ranging and practical handbook that offers comprehensive treatment of high-pressure common rail technology for students and professionals In this volume, Dr. Ouyang and his colleagues answer the need for a comprehensive examination of high-pressure common rail systems for electronic fuel injection technology, a crucial element in the optimization of diesel engine efficiency and emissions. The text begins with an overview of common rail systems today, including a look back at their progress since the 1970s and an examination of recent advances in the field. It then provides a thorough grounding in the design and assembly of common rail systems with an emphasis on key aspects of their design and assembly as well as notable technological innovations. This includes discussion of advancements in dual pressure common rail systems and the increasingly influential role of Electronic Control Unit (ECU) technology in fuel injector systems. The authors conclude with a look towards the development of a new type of common rail system. Throughout the volume, concepts are illustrated using extensive research, experimental studies and simulations. Topics covered include: Comprehensive detailing of common rail system elements, elementary enough for newcomers and thorough enough to act as a useful reference for professionals Basic and simulation models of common rail systems, including extensive instruction on performing simulations and analyzing key performance parameters Examination of the design and testing of next-generation twin common rail systems, including applications for marine diesel engines Discussion of current trends in industry research as well as areas requiring further study Common Rail Fuel Injection Technology is the ideal handbook for students and professionals working in advanced automotive engineering, particularly researchers and engineers focused on the design of internal combustion engines and advanced fuel injection technology. Wide-ranging research and ample examples of practical applications will make this a valuable resource both in education and private industry.
Publication Date: 2019-06-18
Composite Materials for Industry Electronics and the Environment by Omari V. Mukbaniani (Editor); Devrim Balkose (Editor); Heru Susanto (Editor); A. K. Haghi (Editor)Composite Materials for Industry, Electronics, and the Environment: Research and Applicationsfocuses on different aspects of composite systems that are associated with research and development, helping to bridge the gap between classical analysis and modern, real-life applications. The book provides practical insights into many areas of composite materials. The chapters look at the experimental and theoretical aspects of composite materials, regarding preparation, processing, design, properties, and practical implications. It also presents recent advancements, research, and development prospects of advanced composite materials that provide new solutions for advanced technologies. The volume takes a unique approach by presenting specific materials, then progresses into discussions of how novel materials and processes are integrated into today's functioning manufacturing industry. The chapters provide the experimental and theoretical aspects regarding the preparation, processing, designing, properties, and practical implications. The book also discusses recent advancements, research, and development prospects of advanced composite materials that provide new solutions for advanced technologies. s regarding the preparation, processing, designing, properties, and practical implications. The book also discusses recent advancements, research, and development prospects of advanced composite materials that provide new solutions for advanced technologies.
Publication Date: 2019-07-02
Computational Fluid Dynamics by Xiaofeng Liu; Jie ZhangPrepared by the Computational Fluid Dynamics Task Committee of the Water Supply, Treatment and Distribution Engineering Committee of the Water, Wastewater, and Stormwater Council of the Environmental and Water Resources Institute of the American Society of Civil Engineers Computational Fluid Dynamics: Applications in Water, Wastewater, and Stormwater Treatment provides a valuable introduction and overview of computational fluid dynamics and how it can be used in the water and wastewater industry. This book reviews procedures for conducting flow, transport, and reaction simulations using computational fluid dynamics along with specific practical examples of water, wastewater, and stormwater treatment applications. Computational fluid dynamics has proven to be a valuable tool for designing new and retrofitting existing water, wastewater, and stormwater systems. The availability of ever-increasing computing power further spurs the adoption of computational fluid dynamics in engineering practice and academic research for water infrastructure. This book is organized into five parts, which cover Physical, chemical, and biological processes in water, wastewater, and stormwater treatment; Fundamentals of computational fluid dynamics; Water treatment technologies and CFD application case studies; Wastewater treatment technologies and CFD application case studies; and Stormwater treatment technologies and CFD application case studies. Computational Fluid Dynamics: Applications in Water, Wastewater, and Stormwater Treatment will be a valuable resource to those in the water and wastewater industry, especially water engineers and designers.
Publication Date: 2019-05-16
Designing for Older Adults by Sara J. Czaja; Walter Boot; Neil Charness; Wendy A. RogersThis new edition provides easily accessible and usable guidelines for practitioners in the design community for older adults. It includes an updated overview of the demographic characteristics of older adult populations and the scientific knowledge base of the aging process relevant to design. New chapters include Existing and Emerging Technologies, Work and Volunteering, Social Engagement, and Leisure Activities. Also included is basic information on user-centered design and specific recommendations for conducting research with older adults. Features Focuses on design for diverse groups of older adults Introduces the latest scientific advances, but is easily accessible to practitioners and students Offers an emphasis on existing and emerging technologies within everyday contexts and activities Includes many examples of everyday activities and contexts, as well as new chapters Presents a new conceptual model linking design principles across a broad range of topics
Publication Date: 2019-02-07
Electromagnetic Compatibility (EMC) Design and Test Case Analysis by Junqi ZhengA practical introduction to techniques for the design of electronic products from the Electromagnetic compatibility (EMC) perspective Introduces techniques for the design of electronic products from the EMC aspects Covers normalized EMC requirements and design principles to assure product compatibility Describes the main topics for the control of electromagnetic interferences and recommends design improvements to meet international standards requirements (FCC, EU EMC directive, Radio acts, etc.) Well organized in a logical sequence which starts from basic knowledge and continues through the various aspects required for compliance with EMC requirements Includes practical examples and case studies to illustrate design features and troubleshooting Author is the founder of the EMC design risk evaluation approach and this book presents many years' experience in teaching and researching the topic
Publication Date: 2019-06-18
Electronics and Communication Engineering: Applications and Innovations by T. Kishore Kumar (Editor); Ravi Kumar Jatoth (Editor); V. . V. Mani (Editor)Every day, millions of people are unaware of the amazing processes that take place when using their phones, connecting to broadband internet, watching television, or even the most basic action of flipping on a light switch. Advances are being continually made in not only the transmission of this data but also in the new methods of receiving it. These advancements come from many different sources and from engineers who have engaged in research, design, development, and implementation of electronic equipment used in communications systems. This volume addresses a selection of important current advancements in the electronics and communications engineering fields, focusing on signal processing, chip design, and networking technology. The sections in the book cover: Microwave and antennas Communications systems Very large-scale integration Embedded systems Intelligent control and signal processing systems
Publication Date: 2019-06-07
Emerging Energy Alternatives for Sustainable Environment by D. P. Singh (Editor); Richa Kothari (Editor); V. V. Tyagi (Editor)Sustainability of environment is an emerging global issue at present. Unsustainable or deteriorating environment is a matter of concern as it has threatened the survival of living creatures. Recently, climate change has been a matter of great concern at a global platform owing to imbalances in natural environment. Increasing population has increased the demand for energy, which has ultimately put pressure on natural resources and caused a paradigm shift from resource generation to exploitation. Emerging Energy Alternatives for Sustainable Environment aims to address the role of sustainable technologies in energy generation options for clean environment. It covers a wide spectrum of energy generation approaches, with an emphasis on five key topics: (i) renewable energy sources and recent advances, (ii) emerging green technologies for sustainable development, (iii) assessment of biomass for sustainable bioenergy production, (iv) solid waste management and its potential for energy generation, and (v) solar energy applications, storage system, and heat transfer. This book provides essential and comprehensive knowledge of green energy technologies with different aspects for engineers, technocrats and researchers working in the industry, universities, and research institutions. The book is also very useful for undergraduate and graduate students of science and engineering who are keen to know about the development of renewable energy products and their corresponding processes. Please note: This volume is Co-published with The Energy and Resources Institute Press, New Delhi. Taylor & Francis does not sell or distribute the Hardback in India, Pakistan, Nepal, Bhutan, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka
Publication Date: 2019-02-14
From Complexity in the Natural Sciences to Complexity in Operations Management Systems by Jean-Pierre BriffautAlthough complexity makes up the very fabric of our daily lives and has been more or less addressed in a wide variety of knowledge fields, the approaches developed in the Natural Sciences and the results obtained over the past century have not yet permeated Management Sciences very much. The main features of the phenomena that the Natural Sciences deal with are: non-linear behavior, self-organization and chaos. They are analyzed with the framing of what is called "systems thinking", popularized by the mindset pertaining to cybernetics. All pioneers in systems thinking either had direct or indirect connections with Biology, which is the discipline considered complex par excellence by the public. When applying these concepts to Operations Management Systems and modeling organizations by BDI (Beliefs, Desires, Intentions) agents, the lack of predictability in the conduct of change management that is prone to bifurcations (tipping points) in terms of organizational structures and in forecasting future activities, reveals them to be ingrained in the interplay of complexity and chaos.
Publication Date: 2019-04-30
Fundamental Mass Transfer Concepts in Engineering Applications by Ismail TosunFundamental Mass Transfer Concepts in Engineering Applications provides the basic principles of mass transfer to upper undergraduate and graduate students from different disciplines. This book outlines foundational material and equips students with sufficient mathematical skills to tackle various engineering problems with confidence. It covers mass transfer in both binary and multicomponent systems and integrates the use of Mathcad® for solving problems. This textbook is an ideal resource for a one-semester course. Key Features The concepts are explained with the utmost clarity in simple and elegant language Presents theory followed by a variety of practical, fully-worked example problems Includes a summary of the mathematics necessary for mass transfer calculations in an appendix Provides ancillary Mathcad®subroutines Includes end-of-chapter problems and a solutions manual for adopting instructors n an appendix Provides ancillary Mathcad®subroutines Includes end-of-chapter problems and a solutions manual for adopting instructors
Publication Date: 2019-07-01
Green and Software-Defined Wireless Networks by Chih-Lin I; Guanding Yu; Shuangfeng Han; Geoffrey Ye LiUnderstand the fundamental theory and practical design aspects of green and soft wireless communications networks with this expert text. It provides comprehensive and unified coverage of 5G physical layer design, as well as design of the higher and radio access layers and the core network, drawing on viewpoints from both academia and industry. Get to grips with the theory through authoritative discussion of information-theoretical results, and learn about fundamental green design trade-offs, software-defined network architectures, and energy efficient radio resource management strategies. Applications of wireless big data and artificial intelligence to wireless network design are included, providing an excellent design reference, and real-world examples of employment in software-defined 5G networks and energy saving solutions from wireless communications companies and cellular operators help to connect theory with practice. This is an essential text for graduate students, professionals and researchers.
Publication Date: 2019-04-25
Guidelines for Investigating Process Safety Incidents by Ccps (Center CCPS (Center for Chemical Process Safety)This book provides a comprehensive treatment of investing chemical processing incidents. It presents on-the-job information, techniques, and examples that support successful investigations. Issues related to identification and classification of incidents (including near misses), notifications and initial response, assignment of an investigation team, preservation and control of an incident scene, collecting and documenting evidence, interviewing witnesses, determining what happened, identifying root causes, developing recommendations, effectively implementing recommendation, communicating investigation findings, and improving the investigation process are addressed in the third edition. While the focus of the book is investigating process safety incidents the methodologies, tools, and techniques described can also be applied when investigating other types of events such as reliability, quality, occupational health, and safety incidents.
Publication Date: 2019-05-29
Handbook of Iot and Big Data by Vijender Kumar Solanki (Editor); Vicente García Díaz (Editor); J. Paulo Davim (Editor)This multi-contributed handbook focuses on the latest workings of IoT (internet of Things) and Big Data. As the resources are limited, it's the endeavor of the authors to support and bring the information into one resource. The book is divided into 4 sections that covers IoT and technologies, the future of Big Data, algorithms, and case studies showing IoT and Big Data in various fields such as health care, manufacturing and automation. Features Focuses on the latest workings of IoT and Big Data Discusses the emerging role of technologies and the fast-growing market of Big Data Covers the movement toward automation with hardware, software, and sensors, and trying to save on energy resources Offers the latest technology on IoT Presents the future horizons on Big Data
Publication Date: 2019-03-05
Human-Robot Interaction by Paolo Barattini (Editor); Federico Vincentini (Editor); Gurvinder Singh Virk (Editor)Human-Robot Interaction: Safety, Standardization, and Benchmarkingprovides a comprehensive introduction to the new scenarios emerging where humans and robots interact in various environments and applications on a daily basis. The focus is on the current status and foreseeable implications of robot safety, approaching these issues from the standardization and benchmarking perspectives. Featuring contributions from leading experts, the book presents state-of-the-art research, and includes real-world applications and use cases. It explores the key leading sectors--robotics, service robotics, and medical robotics--and elaborates on the safety approaches that are being developed for effective human-robot interaction, including physical robot-human contacts, collaboration in task execution, workspace sharing, human-aware motion planning, and exploring the landscape of relevant standards and guidelines. Features Presenting a comprehensive introduction to human-robot interaction in a number of domains, including industrial robotics, medical robotics, and service robotics Focusing on robot safety standards and benchmarking Providing insight into current developments in international standards Featuring contributions from leading experts, actively pursuing new robot development amp;lt;UL> Presenting a comprehensive introduction to human-robot interaction in a number of domains, including industrial robotics, medical robotics, and service robotics Focusing on robot safety standards and benchmarking Providing insight into current developments in international standards Featuring contributions from leading experts, actively pursuing new robot development
Publication Date: 2019-04-29
Integrated Multiferroic Heterostructures and Applications by Ming Liu (Editor); Ziyao Zhou (Editor)Written by well-known experts in the field, this first systematic overview of multiferroic heterostructures summarizes the latest developments, first presenting the fundamental mechanisms, including multiferroic materials synthesis, structures and mechanisms, before going on to look at device applications. The resulting text offers insight and understanding for scientists and students new to this area.
Publication Date: 2019-05-06
Integrated Silicon-Based Optical Modulators at 100 Gb/S and Beyond by Kensuke Ogawa"This book discusses the principles and the latest progress of silicon optical modulators as cutting-edge integrated photonic devices on silicon-photonic platforms, which play key roles in modern optical communications with low power consumption, small footprints, and low manufacturing costs. Silicon Mach-Zehnder optical modulators are emphasized as the principal small-footprint optical modulator because of its superior performance in high-speed optical modulation at operational temperatures beyond 100 degrees Celsius without power-consuming thermo-electric cooling in spectral bands over 100 nm"--
Publication Date: 2019-03-01
Internet of Things by Ravi Ramakrishnan; Loveleen GaurThe concept of Internet of Things has silently existed since the late nineteenth century but in the current decade expectations and excitement has peaked. However not many have understood the profound change that it can usher in. How big this change can be and how it can transform our working!! This book aims to bring in this realization with illustrative and practical case studies with comprehensive concepts. From beginners to practitioners in the field of academics or industry, it serves as a comprehensive yet easy to comprehend source of information on the multiple facets of IoT. Simplistic but comprehensive introduction of the facets of primarily the industrial IoT Practical adoption cases explaining the Core technology stack and business applications Comprehensive view of current technologies which complete the IoT delivery ecosystem, followed by overview of IoT enabled new business models. Realistic view of how industrial firms can evolve into the next stage of maturity along with determinants influencing this transformation since manufacturing is envisioned to be a key segment to adopt and benefit from IoT. Detailed analysis of IoT benefits for the universal triad- energy management, logistics optimization and distribution channel management. A full-fledged case study on Adoption of Green manufacturing using IoT. Real world example of gauging End User perception using different models which is important for a successful adoption of IoT. A futuristic visionary view of IoT as comprehended based on evolution of technology and platforms, and finally analysis of the extremely crucial concepts of security, privacy and governance. ologies which complete the IoT delivery ecosystem, followed by overview of IoT enabled new business models. Realistic view of how industrial firms can evolve into the next stage of maturity along with determinants influencing this transformation since manufacturing is envisioned to be a key segment to adopt and benefit from IoT. Detailed analysis of IoT benefits for the universal triad- energy management, logistics optimization and distribution channel management. A full-fledged case study on Adoption of Green manufacturing using IoT. Real world example of gauging End User perception using different models which is important for a successful adoption of IoT. A futuristic visionary view of IoT as comprehended based on evolution of technology and platforms, and finally analysis of the extremely crucial concepts of security, privacy and governance. latforms, and finally analysis of the extremely crucial concepts of security, privacy and governance.
Publication Date: 2019-06-05
Introduction to Steels by P. C. Angelo; B. RavisankarThe book briefly describes the structure, properties and applications of various grades of steel, primarily aimed at non-metallurgical students from other engineering streams. The book consists of nine chapters covering most of the important types of steels and their physical metallurgy, microstructure and engineering applications including iron-carbon diagram, heat treatment, surface hardening methods, effect of alloying, specific applications, selection of materials, case studies and so forth. The book also contains subjective and objective questions aimed at exam preparation. Key Features Exclusive title aimed at introduction to steels for non-metallurgy audience Includes microstructure, composition, and properties of all the most commonly used steels Describes the heat treatments and the required alloying additions to process steel for the intended applications Discusses effects of alloying elements on steel Explores development of steels for specialized areas such as the automobile, aerospace, and nuclear industries tions to process steel for the intended applications Discusses effects of alloying elements on steel Explores development of steels for specialized areas such as the automobile, aerospace, and nuclear industries
Publication Date: 2019-04-23
Link State Routing by Rui ValadasThis book describes and compares both the IPv4 and IPv6 versions of OSPF and IS-IS. It explains OSPF and IS-IS by grounding the analysis on the principles of Link State Routing (LSR). It deliberately separates principles from technologies. Understanding the principles behind the technologies makes the learning process easier and more solid. Moreover, it helps uncovering the dissimilarities and commonalities of OSPF and IS-IS and exposing their stronger and weaker features. The chapters on principles explain the features of LSR protocols and discuss the alternative design options, independently of technologies. The chapters on technologies provide a comprehensive description of OSPF and IS-IS with enough detail for professionals that need to work with these technologies. The final part of the book describes and discusses a large set of experiments with Cisco routers designed to illustrate the various features of OSPF and IS-IS. In particular, the experiments related to the synchronization mechanisms are not usually found in the literature. are not usually found in the literature.
Publication Date: 2019-01-02
Manufacturing and Enterprise by Adedeji Bodunde Badiru; Oye Ibidapo-Obe; Babatunde J. AyeniThis book presents an integrated systems approach to manufacturing and business enterprise. Traditionally, these topics are treated as separate and independent subjects, but the practical fact is that the manufacturing and the business enterprises are intertwined. Currently, there is no book on the market that addresses both subjects from an integrated systems engineering approach with a manufacturing engineering foundation. Topics covered include engineering process, systems modeling, business enterprise, forecasting, inventory management, product design, and project management. Features Provides in-depth treatment of modern manufacturing processes, systems, and tools Uses an integrated systems life-cycle approach to manufacturing and business Includes business proposals Discusses prototype manufacturing and/or business development processes Presents concepts, steps, and procedures for achieving an integrated enterprise of manufacturing and business ;/LI> Presents concepts, steps, and procedures for achieving an integrated enterprise of manufacturing and business
Publication Date: 2019-01-03
Matter by Geoff CottrellWhat is matter? Matter is the stuff from which we and all the things in the world are made. Everything around us, from desks, to books, to our own bodies are made of atoms, which are small enough that a million of them can fit across the breadth of a human hair. Inside every atom is a tinynucleus and orbiting the nucleus is a cloud of electrons. The nucleus is made out of protons and neutrons, and by zooming in further you would find that inside each there are even smaller particles, quarks. Together with electrons, the quarks are the smallest particles that have been seen, and arethe indivisible fundamental particles of nature that have existed since the Big Bang, almost 14 billion years ago. The 92 different chemical elements that all normal matter is made from were forged billions of years ago in the Big Bang, inside stars, and in violent stellar explosions. This Very Short Introduction takes us on a journey from the human scale of matter in the familiar everyday forms of solids, liquids, and gases to plasmas, exotic forms of quantum matter, and antimatter. On the largest scales matter is sculpted by gravity into planets, stars, galaxies, and vastclusters of galaxies. All the matter that that we normally encounter however constitutes only 5% of the matter that exists. The remaining 95% comes in two mysterious forms: dark matter, and dark energy. Dark matter is necessary to stop the galaxies from flying apart, and dark energy is needed toexplain the observed acceleration of the expansion of the universe. Geoff Cottrell explores the latest research into matter, and shows that there is still a lot we don't know about the stuff our universe is made of. ABOUT THE SERIES: The Very Short Introductions series from Oxford University Press contains hundreds of titles in almost every subject area. These pocket-sized books are the perfect way to get ahead in a new subject quickly. Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, perspective, new ideas, andenthusiasm to make interesting and challenging topics highly readable.
Publication Date: 2019-05-28
Nano and Bio-Based Technologies for Wastewater Treatment by Elvis Fosso-Kankeu (Editor)Over the past few decades the boom in the industrial sector has contributed to the release in the environment of pollutants that have no regulatory status and which may have significant impact on the health of animals and humans. These pollutants also refer as "emerging pollutants" are mostly aromatic compounds which derive from excretion of pharmaceutical, industrial effluents and municipal discharge. Some form of pollutions have also evolved, including the proliferation of acid mine drainage from oxidation or weathering of obsolete and unmanaged excavations around the world; this results mostly in the dispersion of inorganic pollutants in the environment at level surpassing the treatment capacity of conventional techniques. It is recurrent these days to find water treatment plants which no longer produce water that fits the purpose of domestic consumption based on newly established guidelines. This situation has prompted water authorities and researchers to develop tools for proper prediction and control of the dispersion of pollutants in the environment to ensure that appropriate measures are taken to prevent the occurrence of outbreaks due to sudden load of these pollutants in the water system. The chapters in this book cover a wide range of nano and bio-based techniques that have been designed for the real time detection of emerging contaminants in environmental water sources, geochemical models that are continuously improved for the prediction of inorganic contaminants migration from the mine solid wastes into ground and surface waters. Remediation strategies are also discussed and include effective techniques based on nanotechnology, advanced membrane filtration, oxidative and bio- degradation processes using various types of nanocatalysts, biocatalysts or supporting polymer matrices which are under advanced investigations for their implementation at large scale for the removal of recalcitrant pollutants from polluted water. This book is divided is two sections, the first section covers the occurrence of emerging pollutants in environmental water while the second section covers state of the art research on the removal of emerging pollutants from water using sustainable technologies. A total of 13 chapters addressing various topics related to the two sections are essentially based on recent development in the respective field which could have a significant impact on the enhancement of the performance of wastewater treatment plants around the world and especially in developing countries where access to clean and safe water remains a daily challenge
Publication Date: 2019-06-12
Nature-Inspired Optimization Algorithms for Fuzzy Controlled Servo Systems by Radu-Emil Precup; Radu-Codrut DavidNature-inspired Optimization Algorithms for Fuzzy Controlled Servo Systems explains fuzzy control in servo systems in a way that doesn't require any solid mathematical prerequisite. Analysis and design methodologies are covered, along with specific applications to servo systems and representative case studies. The theoretical approaches presented throughout the book are validated by the illustration of digital simulation and real-time experimental results. This book is a great resource for a wide variety of readers, including graduate students, engineers (designers, practitioners and researchers), and everyone who faces challenging control problems. Merges classical and modern approaches to fuzzy control Presents, in a unified structure, the essential aspects regarding fuzzy control in servo systems Explains notions of fuzzy set theory and fuzzy control to readers with limited experience
Publication Date: 2019-04-19
Network Programmability with YANG by Benoit Claise; Joe Clarke; Jan LindbladToday, networks must evolve and scale faster than ever. You can't manage everything by hand anymore: You need to automate relentlessly. YANG, along with the NETCONF, RESTCONF, or gRPC/gNMI protocols, is the most practical solution, but most implementers have had to learn by trial and error. Now, Network Programmability with YANG gives you complete and reliable guidance for unlocking the full power of network automation using model-driven APIs and protocols.Authored by three YANG pioneers, this plain-spoken book guides you through successfully applying software practices based on YANG data models. The authors focus on the network operations layer, emphasising model-driven APIs, and underlying transports. Whether you're a network operator, DevOps engineer, software developer, orchestration engineer, NMS/OSS architect, service engineer, or manager, this guide can help you dramatically improve value, agility, and manageability throughout your network. Discover the value of implementing YANG and Data Model-Driven Management in your network Explore the layers and components of a complete working solution Build a business case where value increases as your solution grows Drill down into transport protocols: NETCONF, RESTCONF, and gNMI/gRPC See how telemetry can establish a valuable automated feedback loop Find data models you can build on, and evaluate models with similar functionality Understand models, metadata, and tools from several viewpoints: architect, operator, module author, and application developer Walk through a complete automation journey: business case, service model, service implementation, device integration, and operation Leverage the authors' experience to design successful YANG models and avoid pitfalls
Publication Date: 2019-05-15
Operator's Guide to Process Compressors by Robert X. PerezGas compressors tend to be the largest, most costly, and most critical machines employed in chemical and gas transfer processes. Since they tend to have the greatest effect on the reliability of processes they power, compressors typically receive the most scrutiny of all the machinery among the general population of processing equipment. To prevent unwanted compressor failures from occurring, operators must be taught how their equipment should operate and how each installation is different from one another. The ultimate purpose of this book is to teach those who work in process settings more about gas compressors, so they can start up and operate them correctly and monitor their condition with more confidence. Some may regard compressor technology as too broad and complex a topic for operating personnel to fully understand, but the author has distilled this vast body of knowledge into some key, easy to understand lessons for the reader to study at his or her own pace. The main goals of this book are to: Explain important theories and concepts about gases and compression processes with a minimum of mathematics Identify key compressor components and explain how they affect reliability Explain how centrifugal compressors, reciprocating compressors, and screw compressors function. Explain key operating factors that affect reliability Introduce the reader to basic troubleshooting methodologies Introduce operators to proven field inspection techniques
Publication Date: 2019-04-30
Optical Wireless Communications by Z. Ghassemlooy; W. Popoola; S. RajbhandariThe 2ndEdition of Optical Wireless Communications: System and Channel Modelling with MATLAB®with additional new materials, is a self-contained volume that provides a concise and comprehensive coverage of the theory and technology of optical wireless communication systems (OWC). The delivery method makes the book appropriate for students studying at undergraduate and graduate levels as well as researchers and professional engineers working in the field of OWC. The book gives a detailed description of OWC, focusing mainly on the infrared and visible bands, for indoor and outdoor applications. A major attraction of the book is the inclusion of Matlab codes and simulations results as well as experimental test-beds for free space optics and visible light communication systems. This valuable resource will aid the readers in understanding the concept, carrying out extensive analysis, simulations, implementation and evaluation of OWC links. This 2ndedition is structured into nine compact chapters that cover the main aspects of OWC systems: History, current state of the art and challenges Fundamental principles Optical source and detector and noise sources Modulation, equalization, diversity techniques Channel models and system performance analysis Visible light communications Terrestrial free space optics communications Relay-based free space optics communications Matlab codes. A number of Matlab based simulation codes are included in this 2ndedition to assist the readers in mastering the subject and most importantly to encourage them to write their own simulation codes and enhance their knowledge. , implementation and evaluation of OWC links. This 2ndedition is structured into nine compact chapters that cover the main aspects of OWC systems: History, current state of the art and challenges Fundamental principles Optical source and detector and noise sources Modulation, equalization, diversity techniques Channel models and system performance analysis Visible light communications Terrestrial free space optics communications Relay-based free space optics communications Matlab codes. A number of Matlab based simulation codes are included in this 2ndedition to assist the readers in mastering the subject and most importantly to encourage them to write their own simulation codes and enhance their knowledge. lab codes. A number of Matlab based simulation codes are included in this 2ndedition to assist the readers in mastering the subject and most importantly to encourage them to write their own simulation codes and enhance their knowledge.
Publication Date: 2019-05-02
Recent Advances in Materials, Mechanics and Management by M. R. Rajkumar (Editor) These proceedings present a selection of papers presented at the 3rd International Conference on Materials Mechanics and Management 2017 (IMMM 2017), which was jointly organized by the Departments of Civil Engineering, Mechanical Engineering and Architecture of College of Engineering Trivandrum. Developments in the fields of materials, mechanics and management have paved the way for overall improvements in all aspects of human life. The quest for meeting the requirements of the rapidly increasing population has led to revolutionary construction and production technologies aiming at optimum management and use of natural resources. The objective of this conference was to bring together experts from academic institutions, industries, research organizations and professionals for sharing of knowledge, expertise and experience in the emerging trends related to Civil Engineering, Mechanical Engineering and Architecture. IMMM 2017 provided opportunities for young researchers to actively engage in research discussions, new research interests, research ethics and professional development.
Publication Date: 2019-05-23
Recognizing and Responding to Normalization of Deviance by American Institute of Chemical Engineers, Center for Chemical Process Safety Staff (Contribution by); CCPS (Center for Chemical Process Safety) StaffAn essential guide for recognizing and responding to normalization of deviance to help organizations improve their process safety performance This book provides an introduction and offers approaches for finding and addressing normalization of deviation both in operational and organizational activities. It addresses the initial and long-term effects of normalization of deviations as seen in reduced efficiencies, reduced product quality, extended batch run time, and near miss process safety incidents which can lead to loss of containment of hazardous materials and energies. Recognizing and Responding to Normalization of Deviance addresses how to recognize and respond to the normalization of deviation that can, and almost certainly will, occur in any ongoing operations that involves humans. The book's primary focus is on reducing the incidence of normalization of deviation and the associated increased risk exposure due to its effects when operating chemical or petrochemical manufacturing facilities. It contains an introduction to the concept and offers approaches for finding and addressing normalization of deviation when it presents itself in both operational and organizational activities. Contains guidance to assist facilities in recognizing and addressing the phenomenon of normalization of deviation Provides techniques for addressing normalized deviations and techniques to eliminate waste in all manufacturing processes Describes methods for identifying normalized deviation as well as where to find deviations Includes techniques to reduce operational normalization of deviance and to reduce organizational normalization of deviance Aimed at process safety professionals and consultants applying process safety risk reduction efforts in manufacturing areas, Recognizing and Responding to Normalization of Deviance is an important book for any organization that has seen its process safety performance deteriorate over time.
Publication Date: 2018-10-09
Reliability of Maintained Systems Subjected to Wear Failure Mechanisms by Franck BayleToday, the reliability of systems has become a major issue in most industrial applications. The theoretical approach to estimating reliability was largely developed in the 1960s for maintenance-free systems, and more recently, in the late 1990s, it was developed for maintenance-based systems. Customers' expectations concerning reliability (as well as maintenance, safety, etc.) are growing ever more demanding over the generations of systems. However, the theoretical methods used to handle the systems are not suitable when aging mechanisms are present. This book proposes a theoretical approach to estimate all of these quantities correctly. In addition to the theoretical aspect, it details a number of issues that any industrial system will meet sooner or later, whether due to design flaws, the batch of components, manufacturing problems or new technologies that result in the aging of mechanisms during their operational use.
Publication Date: 2019-04-30
Responsible Manufacturing by Ammar Y. Alqahtani (Editor); Elif Kongar (Editor); Kishore K. Pochampally (Editor); Surendra M. Gupta (Editor)Responsible Manufacturing has become an obligation to the environment and to society itself, enforced primarily by customer perspective and governmental regulations on environmental issues. This is mainly driven by the escalating deterioration of the environment, such as diminishing raw material resources, overflowing waste sites, and increasing levels of pollution. Responsible Manufacturing related issues have found a large following in industry and academia, which aim to find solutions to the problems that arise in this newly emerged research area. Problems are widespread, including the ones related to the lifecycle of products, disassembly, material recovery, remanufacturing, and pollution prevention. Organized into sixteen chapters, this book provides a foundation for academicians and practitioners, and addresses several important issues faced by strategic, tactical, and operation planners of Responsible Manufacturing. Using efficient models in a variety of decision-making situations, it provides easy-to-use mathematical and/or simulation modeling-based solution methodologies for the majority of the issues. Features Addresses a variety of state-of-the-art issues in Responsible Manufacturing Highlights how popular industrial engineering and operations research techniques can be effectively exploited to find the most effective solutions to problems Presents how a specific issue can be approached or modeled in a given decision-making situation Covers strategic, tactical, and operational systems issues Provides a foundation for academicians and practitioners interested in building bodies of knowledge in this new and fast-growing area
Publication Date: 2019-02-26
Self-Assembly of Nano- and Micro-Structured Materials Using Colloidal Engineering by Dwaipayan Chakrabarti (Editor); Stefano Sacanna (Editor)Self-assembly of Nano- and Micro-structured Materials Using Colloidal Engineering, Volume 12, covers the recent breakthroughs in the design and manufacture of functional colloids at the micro- and nanoscale level. In addition, it provides analyses on how these functionalities can be exploited to develop self-assembly pathways towards nano- and micro-structured materials. As we seek increasingly complex functions for colloidal superstructures, in silico design will play a critical role in guiding experimental fabrication by reducing the element of trial-and-error that would otherwise be involved. In addition to novel experimental approaches, recent developments in computational modelling are also presented, along with an overview of the arsenal of designing tools that are available to the modern materials scientist.
Publication Date: 2019-04-25
Thermochemical Processing of Biomass by Robert C. Brown (Editor)A comprehensive examination of the large number of possible pathways for converting biomass into fuels and power through thermochemical processes Bringing together a widely scattered body of information into a single volume, this book provides complete coverage of the many ways that thermochemical processes are used to transform biomass into fuels, chemicals and power. Fully revised and updated, this new edition highlights the substantial progress and recent developments that have been made in this rapidly growing field since publication of the first edition and incorporates up-to-date information in each chapter. Thermochemical Processing of Biomass: Conversion into Fuels, Chemicals and Power, 2nd Edition incorporates two new chapters covering: condensed phased reactions of thermal deconstruction of biomass and life cycle analysis of thermochemical processing systems. It offers a new introductory chapter that provides a more comprehensive overview of thermochemical technologies. The book also features fresh perspectives from new authors covering such evolving areas as solvent liquefaction and hybrid processing. Other chapters cover combustion, gasification, fast pyrolysis, upgrading of syngas and bio-oil to liquid transportation fuels, and the economics of thermochemically producing fuels and power, and more. Features contributions by a distinguished group of European and American researchers offering a broad and unified description of thermochemical processing options for biomass Combines an overview of the current status of thermochemical biomass conversion as well as engineering aspects to appeal to the broadest audience Edited by one of Biofuels Digest's "Top 100 People" in bioenergy for six consecutive years Thermochemical Processing of Biomass: Conversion into Fuels, Chemicals and Power, 2nd Edition will appeal to all academic researchers, process chemists, and engineers working in the field of biomass conversion to fuels and chemicals. It is also an excellent book for graduate and advanced undergraduate students studying biomass, biofuels, renewable resources, and energy and power generation.
Publication Date: 2019-05-28
The Three Sisters: Acid Gas Injection, Carbon Capture and Sequestration, and Enhanced Oil Recovery by John J. Carroll (Editor); Ying Wu (Editor); Yongle Hu (Editor)This is the seventh volume in the series, Advances in Natural Gas Engineering, focusing on carbon dioxide (CO2) capture and sequestration, acid gas injection, and enhanced oil recovery, the "three sisters" of natural gas engineering. This volume includes information for both upstream and downstream operations, including chapters detailing the most cutting-edge techniques in acid gas injection, carbon capture, chemical and thermodynamic models, and much more. Written by some of the most well-known and respected chemical and process engineers working with natural gas today, the chapters in this important volume represent the most state-of-the-art processes and operations being used in the field. Not available anywhere else, this volume is a must-have for any chemical engineer, chemist, or process engineer in the industry. Advances in Natural Gas Engineering is an ongoing series of books meant to form the basis for the working library of any engineer working in natural gas today.