5G-Enabled Internet of Things by Yulei Wu (Editor); Haojun Huang (Editor); Cheng-Xiang Wang (Editor); Yi Pan (Editor)How the enabling technologies in 5G as an integral or as a part can seamlessly fuel the IoT revolution is still very challenging. This book presents the state-of-the-art solutions to the theoretical and practical challenges stemming from the integration of 5G enabling technologies into IoTs in support of a smart 5G-enabled IoT paradigm, in terms of network design, operation, management, optimization, and applications. In particular, the technical focus covers a comprehensive understanding of 5G-enabled IoT architectures, converged access networks, smart network management, and emerging applications of 5G-eabled IoT.
Publication Date: 2019-06-18
A Complete Guide to Wireless Sensor Networks from Inception to Current Trends by Ankur DumkaThis book provides comprehensive coverage of the major aspects in designing, implementing, and deploying wireless sensor networks by discussing present research on WSNs and their applications in various disciplines. It familiarizes readers with the current state of WSNs and how such networks can be improved to achieve effectiveness and efficiency. It starts with a detailed introduction of wireless sensor networks and their applications and proceeds with layered architecture of WSNs. It also addresses prominent issues such as mobility, heterogeneity, fault-tolerance, intermittent connectivity, and cross layer optimization along with a number of existing solutions to stimulate future research.
Publication Date: 2019-06-20
AC to AC Converters by Narayanaswamy P. R. IyerPower electronic converters can be broadly classified as AC to DC, DC to AC, DC to DC and AC to AC converters. AC to AC converters can be further classified as AC Controllers or AC regulators, Cycloconverters and Matrix converters. AC controllers and cycloconverters are fabricated using Silicon Controlled Rectifiers (SCR) whereas matrix converters are built using semiconductor bidirectional switches. This text book provides a summary of AC to AC Converter modelling excluding AC controllers. The software Simulink® by Mathworks Inc., USA is used to develop the models of AC to AC Converters presented in this text book. The term model in this text book refers to SIMULINK model. This text book is mostly suitable for researchers and practising professional engineers in the industry working in the area of AC to AC converters. Features Provides a summary of AC to AC Converter modelling excluding AC controllers Includes models for three phase AC to three phase AC matrix converters using direct and indirect space vector modulation algorithm Presents new applications such as single and dual programmable AC to DC rectifier with derivations for output voltage Displays Hardware-in-the Loop simulation of a three phase AC to single phase AC matrix converter Provides models for three phase multilevel matrix converters, Z-source Direct and Quasi Z-source Indirect matrix converters; a model for speed control and brake by plugging of three phase induction motor and separately excited DC motors using matrix converter; a model for a new single phase and three phase sine wave direct AC to AC Converter without a DC link using three winding transformers and that for a square wave AC to square wave AC converter using a DC link; models for variable frequency, variable voltage AC to AC power supply; models for Solid State Transformers using Dual Active Bridge topology and a new direct AC to AC Converter topology; and models for cycloconverters and indirect matrix converters o AC Converter modelling excluding AC controllers Includes models for three phase AC to three phase AC matrix converters using direct and indirect space vector modulation algorithm Presents new applications such as single and dual programmable AC to DC rectifier with derivations for output voltage Displays Hardware-in-the Loop simulation of a three phase AC to single phase AC matrix converter Provides models for three phase multilevel matrix converters, Z-source Direct and Quasi Z-source Indirect matrix converters; a model for speed control and brake by plugging of three phase induction motor and separately excited DC motors using matrix converter; a model for a new single phase and three phase sine wave direct AC to AC Converter without a DC link using three winding transformers and that for a square wave AC to square wave AC converter using a DC link; models for variable frequency, variable voltage AC to AC power supply; models for Solid State Transformers using Dual Active Bridge topology and a new direct AC to AC Converter topology; and models for cycloconverters and indirect matrix converters models for Solid State Transformers using Dual Active Bridge topology and a new direct AC to AC Converter topology; and models for cycloconverters and indirect matrix converters
Publication Date: 2019-06-25
Advanced Materials for Sodium Ion Storage by Ranjusha Rajagopalan; Lei ZhangGlobally, lithium ion batteries (LIBs) are leaders in the energy storage sector but there are concerns regarding load leveling of renewable energy sources as well as smart grids and limited availability of lithium resources resulting in cost increase. Therefore, sodium ion batteries (SIBs) are being researched as next-generation alternatives to LIBs due to their similar sustainability and electrochemistry. This book mainly focuses on the current research on electrode materials and proposes future directions for SIBs to meet the current challenges associated with the full cell aspect. Further, it provide insights into scientific and practical issues in the development of SIBs.
Publication Date: 2019-08-30
Advances in Processing Technologies for Bio-Based Nanosystems in Food by Oscar L. RamosNanotechnology can be used to address challenges faced by the food and bioprocessing industries for developing and implementing improved or novel systems that can produce safer, nutritious, healthier, sustainable, and environmental-friendly food products. This book overviews the most recent advances made on the field of nanoscience and nanotechnology that significantly influenced the food industry. Advances in Processing Technologies for Bio-Based Nanosystems in Food provides a multidisciplinary review of the complex mechanisms involved in the research, development, production and legislation of food containing nanostructures systems. Features: Presents the most recent advances made in the field of nanoscience and nanotechnology as applied to the food industry Discusses innovative approaches and processing technologies Shows how nanotechnology can be used to produce safer, nutritious, healthier, sustainable and environmental-friendly food products Covers the complex mechanisms involved in the research, development, production and legislation of food containing nanostructures Selected examples of nanotechnology applications in food industry are shown, focusing on advanced aspects of food packaging, processing and preservation; followed by one contribution that presents the potential commercialization and the main challenges for scale-up. Comprised of 15 chapters, this book provides much-needed and up-to-date information on the use of emergent technologies in bio-based nanosystems for foods, and serves as an ideal reference for scientists, regulators, industrialists, and consumers that conduct research and development in the food processing industry.
Publication Date: 2019-08-09
AI for People and Business by Alex CastrounisIf you're an executive, manager, or anyone interested in leveraging AI within your organization, this is your guide. You'll understand exactly what AI is, learn how to identify AI opportunities, and develop and execute a successful AI vision and strategy. Alex Castrounis, business consultant and former IndyCar engineer and race strategist, examines the value of AI and shows you how to develop an AI vision and strategy that benefits both people and business. AI is exciting, powerful, and game changing--but too many AI initiatives end in failure. With this book, you'll explore the risks, considerations, trade-offs, and constraints for pursuing an AI initiative. You'll learn how to create better human experiences and greater business success through winning AI solutions and human-centered products. Use the book's AIPB Framework to conduct end-to-end, goal-driven innovation and value creation with AI Define a goal-aligned AI vision and strategy for stakeholders, including businesses, customers, and users Leverage AI successfully by focusing on concepts such as scientific innovation and AI readiness and maturity Understand the importance of executive leadership for pursuing AI initiatives "A must read for business executives and managers interested in learning about AI and unlocking its benefits. Alex Castrounis has simplified complex topics so that anyone can begin to leverage AI within their organization." - Dan Park, GM & Director, Uber "Alex Castrounis has been at the forefront of helping organizations understand the promise of AI and leverage its benefits, while avoiding the many pitfalls that can derail success. In this essential book, he shares his expertise with the rest of us." - Dean Wampler, Ph.D., VP, Fast Data Engineering at Lightbend
Publication Date: 2019-07-18
An Introduction to Virtual Sound Barriers by Xiaojun QiuA virtual sound barrier is an active noise control system that uses arrays of loudspeakers and microphones to create a useful size of quiet zone and can be used to reduce sound propagation, radiation, or transmission from noise sources or to reduce noise level around people in a noisy environment. This book introduces the history, principle, and design methods of virtual sound barriers first, and then describes recent progress in research on the systems. Two virtual sound barrier systems, i.e., planar virtual sound barrier system and three-dimensional virtual sound barrier system, are discussed including applications, limitations and future direction discussions.
Publication Date: 2019-08-08
Apollo in Perspective by Jonathan AlldayThis special edition of Apollo in Perspectivemarks the 50th anniversary of the Apollo 11 Moon landing in 1969. Updated and revised throughout, it takes a retrospective look at the Apollo space program and the technology that was used to land a man on the Moon. In addition, there is a new chapter looking forward to the future of contemporary spaceflight in returning to the Moon (project Artemis) and going on to Mars. Using simple illustrations and school-level mathematics, it explains the basic physics and technology of spaceflight, from how rockets work to the dynamics of orbits and how to simulate gravity in a rotating spacecraft. A mathematical appendix shows how some of the formulas can be derived. This is an excellent introduction to astronautics for anyone interested in space and spaceflight. Features: Accessible, written in a friendly and informal style Contains real-world examples Updated throughout, with new chapters on the Apollo missions and the immediate future of human spaceflight From the Foreword "I am sure there is a woman or a man alive today who will land on the Moon and on Mars. This book will certainly help them be ready for such a journey. Most importantly, it explains not only what happened 50 years ago, but how the Apollo missions happened, and the science that is required to do it again, or to go further, to Mars. If the reader is younger, still in school and perhaps considering the sciences, this book will introduce ideas that will help you choose the subjects to study which can help you to make your space travel a reality. For others, the book will be an exciting and thought provoking read that gives a vision of the near future in space, which all of us on planet Earth will be able to enjoy as the adventure unfolds." -- Michael Foale, CBE, former-NASA astronaut
Publication Date: 2019-07-17
Automotive Innovation by Patrick HossayAutomotive Innovation: The Science and Engineering behind Cutting-Edge Automotive Technology provides a survey of innovative automotive technologies in the auto industry. Automobiles are rapidly changing, and this text explores these trends. IC engines, transmissions, and chassis are being improved, and there are advances in digital control, manufacturing, and materials. New vehicles demonstrate improved performance, safety and efficiency factors; electric vehicles represent a green energy alternative, while sensor technologies and computer processors redefine the nature of driving. The text explores these changes, the engineering and science behind them, and directions for the future.
Publication Date: 2019-07-17
Biomaterials Science and Technology by Yaser Dahman Biomaterials Science and Technology: Fundamentals and Developmentspresents a broad scope of the field of biomaterials science and technology, focusing on theory, advances, and applications. It reviews the fabrication and properties of different classes of biomaterials such as bioinert, bioactive, and bioresorbable, in addition to biocompatibility. It further details traditional and recent techniques and methods that are utilized to characterize major properties of biomaterials. The book also discusses modifications of biomaterials in order to tailor properties and thus accommodate different applications in the biomedical engineering fields and summarizes nanotechnology approaches to biomaterials. This book targets students in advanced undergraduate and graduate levels in majors related to fields of Chemical Engineering, Materials Engineering and Science, Biomedical Engineering, Bioengineering, and Life Sciences. It assists in understanding major concepts of fabrication, modification, and possible applications of different classes of biomaterials. It is also intended for professionals who are interested in recent advances in the emerging field of biomaterials. n understanding major concepts of fabrication, modification, and possible applications of different classes of biomaterials. It is also intended for professionals who are interested in recent advances in the emerging field of biomaterials.
Publication Date: 2019-03-01
Capacitive Silicon Resonators by Nguyen Van Toan; Takahito OnoMicrofabricated resonators play an essential role in a variety of applications, including mass sensing, timing reference applications, and filtering applications. Many transduction mechanisms including piezoelectric, piezoresistive, and capacitive mechanisms, have been studied to induce and detect the motion of resonators. This book is meant to introduce and suggest several technological approaches together with design considerations for performance enhancement of capacitive silicon resonators, and will be useful for those working in field of micro and nanotechnology. Features Introduces and suggests several technological approaches together with design considerations for performance enhancement of capacitive silicon resonators Provides information on the various fabrication technologies and design considerations that can be employed to improve the performance capacitive silicon resonator which is one of the promising options to replace the quartz crystal resonator. Discusses several technological approaches including hermetic packaging based on the LTCC substrate, deep reactive ion etching, neutral beam etching technology, and metal-assisted chemical etching, as well as design considerations for mechanically coupled, selective vibration of high-order mode, movable electrode structures, and piezoresistive heat engines were investigated to achieve small motional resistance, low insertion loss, and high quality factor. Focusses on a capacitive sensing method based on the measurement of the change in capacitance between a sensing electrode and the resonant body. Reviews recent progress in performance enhancement methods for capacitive silicon resonator, which are mainly based on the works of the authors.
Publication Date: 2019-12-01
Carbon Nanomaterials by Kun Zhou (Editor)Carbon Nanomaterials: Modeling, Design, and Applicationsprovides an in-depth review and analysis of the most important carbon nanomaterials, including fullerenes, carbon nanotubes, graphene and novel carbon nanomaterial-based membranes and thin films, with an emphasis on modeling, design and applications. This book provides basic knowledge of the structures, properties and applications of carbon-based nanomaterials. It illustrates the fundamental relationship between the structures of materials and their properties from both experimental and modeling aspects, offers technical guidance and skills in computational simulation of nanomaterials, and delivers an extensive view on current achievements in research and practice while pointing out new possibilities in designing and using carbon nanomaterials. Each chapter is written by experts in the field, which ensures that both a review on the subject and an in-depth discussion of the underlying mechanisms are provided. This book is aimed at undergraduate students, graduate students, researchers, designers, professors, and professionals within the fields of materials science and engineering, mechanical engineering, applied physics, and chemical engineering. he underlying mechanisms are provided. This book is aimed at undergraduate students, graduate students, researchers, designers, professors, and professionals within the fields of materials science and engineering, mechanical engineering, applied physics, and chemical engineering.
Publication Date: 2019-08-28
Chemical Reaction Engineering and Reactor Technology Second Edition by Tapio Salmi; Jyri-Pekka Mikkola; Johan WärnåThis well received textbook develops the concept of chemical reaction engineering in a systematic manner, beginning with homogeneous reactors and gradually moving toward more complicated heterogeneous systems. Reactor technology is presented in an illustrative manner with many practical and varied applications included. Numerous realistic exercises help upper undergraduate and graduate students learn the concepts presented. A modern computing approach to chemical reaction engineering is taken throughout the material. The real-life examples make the book very attractive for a broad audience, including engineers working in chemical and process industry.
Publication Date: 2019-07-09
Computational Modeling of Underground Coal Gasification by Vivek V. Ranade; Sanjay M. Mahajani; Ganesh Arunkumar SamdaniThe book deals with development of comprehensive computational models for simulating underground coal gasification (UCG). It starts with an introduction to the UCG process and process modelling inputs in the form of reaction kinetics, flow patterns, spalling rate, and transport coefficient that are elaborated with methods to generate the same are described with illustrations. All the known process models are reviewed, and relative merits and limitations of the modeling approaches are highlighted and compared. The book describes all the necessary steps required to determine the techno-economic feasibility of UCG process for a given coal reserve, through modeling and simulation.
Publication Date: 2019-08-20
Corona Discharge Micromachining for the Synthesis of Nanoparticles by Ranjeet Kumar Sahu; Somashekhar S. HiremathThis book summarizes the fundamentals and established methods for the synthesis of nanoparticles, providing readers with an organized and comprehensive insight into the field of nanoparticle technology. In addition to exploring the characterization and applications of nanoparticles, it also focuses on the recently explored corona discharge micromachining method to synthesize inorganic nanoparticles. In the synthesis of nanoparticles, organic materials often play an indispensable role, such as providing stabilizers in the form of capping agents. This book will be of interest to advanced undergraduate and graduate students studying physics and engineering, as well as professionals and academics looking for an introduction to the nature and foundations of nanoparticle synthesis.
Publication Date: 2019-08-30
Digital Manufacturing and Assembly Systems in Industry 4.0 by K. Kumar; Divya Zindani; J. Paulo DavimManufacturing, like other industries, is rising to the challenges imposed by aggressive consumer demands and the need for cost-effective processing that delivers quality in the fastest possible time. Fierce competition means that keeping abreast of new developments and applications in technology is essential if companies are to meet demands profitably and keep ahead of competitors. This book investigates the design and management of digital manufacturing and assembly systems for an efficient, flexible, and modular production of customized products using the I40 (industry 4.0)-enabling technologies. This book will also provide case studies covering modeling, simulation, and optimization. eBook includes color figures. Discusses how the advancement of data communication and storage through the Internet of Things (IoT) opens the possibilities of connecting sensors, robots, and devices Sheds light on how the human role in industry is decreasing due to the development of connected manufacturing floors, allowing them to take more control over the manufacturing processes, decisions, and even maintenance Covers the benefits from exploiting digital manufacturing, manufacturing enterprises, and what they expect to achieve Explains the important roles that modeling, simulation, and optimization play Investigates the design and management of digital manufacturing and assembly systems for an efficient, flexible, and modular production of customized products exploiting the I40 (industry 4.0)-enabling technologies p;lt;/P> Sheds light on how the human role in industry is decreasing due to the development of connected manufacturing floors, allowing them to take more control over the manufacturing processes, decisions, and even maintenance Covers the benefits from exploiting digital manufacturing, manufacturing enterprises, and what they expect to achieve Explains the important roles that modeling, simulation, and optimization play Investigates the design and management of digital manufacturing and assembly systems for an efficient, flexible, and modular production of customized products exploiting the I40 (industry 4.0)-enabling technologies
Publication Date: 2019-07-24
Drones in Iot-Enabled Spaces by Fadi Al-TurjmanThe Internet of Things (IoT) is a system of inter-connected devices, objects, and organisms. Among these devices, drones are gaining lots of interest. Drones are expected to communicate with cellular networks in the next generation networks (5G and beyond) which opens the door for another exciting research area. This book considers very important research areas in drone and cellular networks. It addresses major issues and challenges in drone-based solutions proposed for IoT-enabled cellular/computer networks, routing/communication protocols, surveillances applications, secured data management, and positioning approaches. It focuses mainly on smart and context-aware implementations.
Publication Date: 2019-07-15
Energy Transition by Bernard LachalAlthough most people are aware of the value of developing new energy technologies, the importance of assessing such technologies is only just beginning to be recognized in full. This book, illustrated by real-life examples, fulfils two main objectives. Firstly, it provides an in-depth summary of energy system evaluation methods, the result of decades of work in this area, for the use of researchers, engineers and anybody else interested in the energy sector. Secondly, the vicious cycle of neglect towards in situ evaluation is broken. This neglect is due to its unjust reputation for being "thankless work": longwinded, expensive, difficult to exploit and undervalued. By scientifically organizing experience acquired over more than 30 years, Energy Transition highlights the considerable usefulness of the approach, not only economically, but also from a human standpoint.
Publication Date: 2019-06-18
Engineering of Submicron Particles by Jayanta ChakrabortyBrings together in one place the fundamental theory and models, and the practical aspects of submicron particle engineering This book attempts to resolve the tricky aspects of engineering submicron particles by discussing the fundamental theories of frequently used research tools--both theoretical and experimental. The first part covers the Fundamental Models and includes sections on nucleation, growth, inter-molecular and inter-particle forces, colloidal stability, and kinetics. The second part examines the Modelling of a Suspension and features chapters on fundamental concepts of particulate systems, writing the number balance, modelling systems with particle breakage and aggregation, and Monte Carlo simulation. The book also offers plenty of diagrams, software, examples, brief experimental demonstrations, and exercises with answers. Engineering of Submicron Particles: Fundamental Concepts and Models offers a lengthy discussion of classical nucleation theory, and introduces other nucleation mechanisms like organizer mechanisms. It also looks at older growth models like diffusion controlled or surface nucleation controlled growth, along with new generation models like connected net analysis. Aggregation models and inter-particle potentials are touched upon in a prelude on intermolecular and surface forces. The book also provides analytical and numerical solutions of population balance models so readers can solve basic population balance equations independently. Presents the fundamental theory, practical aspects, and models of submicron particle engineering Teaches readers to write number balances for their own system of interest Provides software with open code for solution of population balance model through discretization Filled with diagrams, examples, demonstrations, and exercises Engineering of Submicron Particles: Fundamental Concepts and Models will appeal to researchers in chemical engineering, physics, chemistry, engineering, and mathematics concerned with particulate systems. It is also a good text for advanced students taking particle technology courses.
Publication Date: 2019-08-05
Engineering Project Management by Neil G. SiegelA hands-on guide for creating a winning engineering project Engineering Project Management is a practical, step-by-step guide to project management for engineers. The author - a successful, long-time practicing engineering project manager - describes the techniques and strategies for creating a successful engineering project. The book introduces engineering projects and their management, and then proceeds stage-by-stage through the engineering life-cycle project, from requirements, implementation, to phase-out. The book offers information for understanding the needs of the end user of a product and other stakeholders associated with a project, and is full of techniques based on real, hands-on management of engineering projects. The book starts by explaining how we perform the actual engineering on projects; the techniques for project management contained in the rest of the book use those engineering methods to create superior management techniques. Every topic - from developing a work-breakdown structure and an effective project plan, to creating credible predictions for schedules and costs, through monitoring the progress of your engineering project - is infused with actual engineering techniques, thereby vastly increasing the effectivity and credibility of those management techniques. The book also teaches you how to draw the right conclusions from numeric data and calculations, avoiding the mistakes that often cause managers to make incorrect decisions. The book also provides valuable insight about what the author calls the social aspects of engineering project management: aligning and motivating people, interacting successfully with your stakeholders, and many other important people-oriented topics. The book ends with a section on ethics in engineering. This important book: Offers a hands-on guide for developing and implementing a project management plan Includes background information, strategies, and techniques on project management designed for engineers Takes an easy-to-understand, step-by-step approach to project management Contains ideas for launching a project, managing large amount of software, and tips for ending a project Structured to support both undergraduate and graduate courses in engineering project management, Engineering Project Management is an essential guide for managing a successful project from the idea phase to the completion of the project.
Publication Date: 2019-08-26
Estimating Combined Loads of Diffuse and Point-Source Pollutants into the Borkena River Ethiopia by Eskinder Zinabu BelachewThis book is an initial attempt to estimate the loads of heavy metal and nutrient loads into an industrial effluent receiving rivers of a typical industrializing catchment. It shows the effects and impacts of diffuse and point sources of these loads into the rivers, and illuminate management, capacity and policy gaps of riverine water and sediment monitoring in the sub-Saharan countries perspective from Ethiopia. The study was done in semi-arid catchments of Kombolcha city with industrialising urban and peri-urban areas in north-central Ethiopia. The Leyole and Worka rivers, which receives industrial effluent and wash-off from the catchments' areas, were monitored for two years. This book contribute to our understanding on applicable methods to quantify loads of diffuse and point sources in data poor areas, and the most important contribution is to address the gaps in in controlling emission changes and. The results of this book contribute to the theory of river protection and understanding of water quality management of sub-Saharan African tropical rivers and sediments and provides policy options for improvement in rivers water quality of the sub-Saharan countries. In bridging this gap, this book proposed a model to estimate the total loads of nitrogen and phosphorus from a catchment. quality management of sub-Saharan African tropical rivers and sediments and provides policy options for improvement in rivers water quality of the sub-Saharan countries. In bridging this gap, this book proposed a model to estimate the total loads of nitrogen and phosphorus from a catchment.
Publication Date: 2019-05-08
Green Energy Materials Handbook by Ming-Fa Lin (Editor); Wen-Dung Hsu (Editor)Green Energy Materials Handbookgives a systematic review of the development of reliable, low-cost, and high-performance green energy materials, covering mainstream computational and experimental studies as well as comprehensive literature on green energy materials, computational methods, experimental fabrication and characterization techniques, and recent progress in the field. This work presents complete experimental measurements and computational results as well as potential applications. Among green technologies, electrochemical and energy storage technologies are considered as the most practicable, environmentally friendly, and workable to make full use of renewable energy sources. This text includes 11 chapters on the field, devoted to 4 important topical areas: computational material design, energy conversion, ion transport, and electrode materials. This handbook is aimed at engineers, researchers, and those who work in the fields of materials science, chemistry, and physics. The systematic studies proposed in this book can greatly promote the basic and applied sciences. book is aimed at engineers, researchers, and those who work in the fields of materials science, chemistry, and physics. The systematic studies proposed in this book can greatly promote the basic and applied sciences.
Publication Date: 2019-06-18
Groundwater Vulnerability Assessment and Mapping Using Drastic Model by Prashant Kumar; Praveen Thakur; Sanjit DebnathThis book demonstrates the effectiveness of DRASTIC model in a geographical area for validation of vulnerable zones against the chemically analyzed water samples including optimization of parameters with consideration to anthropogenic factors resulting in development of precise maps highlighting several zones with varied gravity of contamination. Aimed primarily at researchers and graduate students in civil and hydrologic engineering, groundwater resources management, hydrogeology, contamination, this book, Covers effectiveness of DRASTIC model for groundwater vulnerability assessment Reviews of the strengths and limitations of assessment methods Presents multi-criteria evaluation of hydro-geological and anthropogenic factors Discusses integration with Geographic Information System (GIS) and Remote Sensing (RS) Includes application of groundwater governance framework with a case study
Publication Date: 2019-07-16
Handbook of Petrochemical Processes by James G. SpeightThe petrochemical industry is a scientific and engineering field that encompasses the production of a wide range of chemicals and polymers. The purpose of this book is not only to provide a follow-on to form the later chapters of the highly successful Chemistry and Technology of Petroleum 5th Edition but also provides a simplified approach to a very diverse chemical subject dealing with the chemistry and technology of various petroleum and petrochemical process. Following from the introductory chapters, this book provides the readers with a valuable source of information containing insights into petrochemical reactions and products, process technology, and polymer synthesis. Provides readers with a valuable source of information containing insights into petrochemical reactions and products, process technology, and polymer synthesis Introduces the reader to the various petrochemical intermediates are generally produced by chemical conversion of primary petrochemicals to form more complicated derivative products The reactions and processes involved in transforming petroleum-based hydrocarbons into the chemicals that form the basis of the multi-billion dollar petrochemical industry are reviewed and described The book includes information on new process developments for the production of raw materials and intermediates for petrochemicals Includes a description of the origin of the raw materials for the petrochemicals industry - including an overview of the coal chemicals industry hemical conversion of primary petrochemicals to form more complicated derivative products The reactions and processes involved in transforming petroleum-based hydrocarbons into the chemicals that form the basis of the multi-billion dollar petrochemical industry are reviewed and described The book includes information on new process developments for the production of raw materials and intermediates for petrochemicals Includes a description of the origin of the raw materials for the petrochemicals industry - including an overview of the coal chemicals industry
Publication Date: 2019-07-08
Heat and Mass Transfer in Drying of Porous Media by Peng Xu (Editor); Agus P. Sasmito (Editor); Arun S. Mujumdar (Editor)Heat and mass transfer in porous media are interdisciplinary fields for fluid mechanics, thermodynamics, and chemical engineering. This book offers a comprehensive review of heat and mass transfer phenomena and mechanisms in drying of porous materials. It covers pore-scale and macro-scale models for heat and mass transfer in porous media. It includes various drying technologies such as air impingement drying, pulsed vacuum drying, microwave drying, radio-frequency drying, infrared drying etc. It also discusses the drying dynamics of fibrous porous material, colloidal porous media and size-distributed particle system.
Publication Date: 2019-08-05
Industrial and Medical Nuclear Accidents by Jean-Claude AmiardThe peaceful use of atomic energy has given rise to a variety of nuclear accidents from the start. This concerns all forms of use, industrial and medical. For each accident, Industrial and Medical Nuclear Accidents details the contamination of the environment, flora and fauna, and quantifies the effects of ionizing radiation. The book also examines the adverse effects on the health, both physical and mental, of the human populations concerned. The monetary cost is also evaluated. The research presented in this book is based on scientifically recognized publications and on the reports of national and international organizations competent in this field (IAEA, WHO, UNSCEAR, IRSN, etc.). The book contains chapters devoted to the most recent accidents (Chernobyl and Fukushima), with a large body of institutional and academic literature.
Publication Date: 2019-06-18
Industrial Hygiene Control of Airborne Chemical Hazards Second Edition by William PopendorfAre you a practicing occupational hygienist wondering how to find a substitute organic solvent that is safer to use than the hazardous one your company is using? Chapter 6 is your resource. Are you a new hygienist looking for an alternative technology as a nonventilation substitute for an existing hazard? Chapter 8 is your resource. Are you looking for an overview of ventilation? Chapters 10 and 11 are your resource? Are you an industrial hygiene student wanting to learn about local exhaust ventilation? Chapters 13 through 16 are your resource. Are you needing to learn about personal protective equipment and respirators? Chapters 21 and 22 are your resources. This new edition brings all of these topics and more right up-to-date with new material in each chapter, including new governmental regulations. While many of the controls of airborne hazards have their origins in engineering, this author has been diligent in explaining concepts, writing equations in understandable terms, and covering the topics of non-ventilation controls, both local exhaust and general ventilation, and receiver controls at the level needed by most IHs without getting too advanced. Taken as a whole, this book provides a unique, comprehensive tool to learn the challenging yet rewarding role that industrial hygiene can play in controlling airborne chemical hazards at work. Features Written for the novice industrial hygienist but useful to prepare for ABIH certification Explains engineering concepts but requires no prior engineering background Includes specific learning goals that differentiate the depth of learning appropriate to each topic within the fuller information and explanations provided for each chapter Contains updated governmental regulations and abundant references Presents a consistent teaching philosophy and approach throughout the book Deals with both ventilation and non-ventilation controls mp;lt;/P> Written for the novice industrial hygienist but useful to prepare for ABIH certification Explains engineering concepts but requires no prior engineering background Includes specific learning goals that differentiate the depth of learning appropriate to each topic within the fuller information and explanations provided for each chapter Contains updated governmental regulations and abundant references Presents a consistent teaching philosophy and approach throughout the book Deals with both ventilation and non-ventilation controls
Publication Date: 2019-07-18
Introduction to Laser Science and Engineering by Travis S. TaylorIntroduction to Laser Science and Engineering provides a modern resource for a first course in lasers for both students and professionals. Starting from simple descriptions, this text builds upon them to give a detailed modern physical understanding of the concepts behind light, optical beams and lasers. The coverage starts with the nature of light and the principles of photon absorption and transmission, leading to the amplified and stimulated emission principals governing lasers. The specifics of lasers and their application, safe use and future prospects are then covered, with a wealth of illustrations to provide readers with a visual sense of optical and laser principles.
Publication Date: 2019-08-01
Introduction to Renewable Energy Conversions by Sergio C. CaparedaIntroduction to Renewable Energy Conversions examines all the major renewable energy conversion technologies with the goal of enabling readers to formulate realistic resource assessments. The text provides step-by-step procedures for assessing renewable energy options and then moves to the design of appropriate renewable energy strategies. The goal is for future engineers to learn the process of making resource estimates through the introduction of more than 140 solved problems and over 165 engineering related equations. More than 120 figures and numerous tables explain each renewable energy conversion type. A solutions manual, PowerPoint slides, and lab exercises are available for instructors. Key Features Covers all major types of renewable energy with comparisons for use in energy systems Builds skills for evaluating energy usage versus environmental hazards and climate change factors Presents and explains the key engineering equations used to design renewable energy systems Uses a practical approach to design and analyze renewable energy conversions Offers a solutions manual, PowerPoint slides, and lab activity plans for instructors
Publication Date: 2019-08-21
Introduction to Software for Chemical Engineers Second Edition by Mariano Martín Martín (Editor)The field of Chemical Engineering and its link to computer science is in constant evolution and new engineers have a variety of tools at their disposal to tackle their everyday problems. Introduction to Software for Chemical Engineers, Second Editionprovides a quick guide to the use of various computer packages for chemical engineering applications. It covers a range of software applications from Excel and general mathematical packages such as MATLAB and MathCAD to process simulators, CHEMCAD and ASPEN, equation-based modeling languages, gProms, optimization software such as GAMS and AIMS, and specialized software like CFD or DEM codes. The different packages are introduced and applied to solve typical problems in fluid mechanics, heat and mass transfer, mass and energy balances, unit operations, reactor engineering, process and equipment design and control. This new edition offers a wider view of packages including open source software such as R, Python and Julia. It also includes complete examples in ASPEN Plus, adds ANSYS Fluent to CFD codes, Lingo to the optimization packages, and discusses Engineering Equation Solver. It offers a global idea of the capabilities of the software used in the chemical engineering field and provides examples for solving real-world problems. Written by leading experts, this book is a must-have reference for chemical engineers looking to grow in their careers through the use of new and improving computer software. Its user-friendly approach to simulation and optimization as well as its example-based presentation of the software, makes it a perfect teaching tool for both undergraduate and master levels. such as R, Python and Julia. It also includes complete examples in ASPEN Plus, adds ANSYS Fluent to CFD codes, Lingo to the optimization packages, and discusses Engineering Equation Solver. It offers a global idea of the capabilities of the software used in the chemical engineering field and provides examples for solving real-world problems. Written by leading experts, this book is a must-have reference for chemical engineers looking to grow in their careers through the use of new and improving computer software. Its user-friendly approach to simulation and optimization as well as its example-based presentation of the software, makes it a perfect teaching tool for both undergraduate and master levels.
Publication Date: 2019-07-05
Liquid Silicone Rubber by Johannes Karl FinkThe scientific literature with respect to liquid silicone rubbers is collected in this monograph. The text focuses on the fundamental issues such as properties, curing methods, special materials, as well as the latest development and provides a broad overview of the materials used therein. In particular, materials and compositions for liquid functional rubbers are discussed. Also, methods of curing and special properties are described, such as tracking and erosion resistance, adhesion properties, storage and thermal stability. Methods of curing are precision casting, hybrid additive manufacturing, peroxide curing, ultraviolet curing, liquid injection molding, or hot embossing. The book includes applications including automotive and underwater applications, electrical and optical uses, as well as medical uses.
Publication Date: 2019-08-06
Load Testing of Bridges Volume 1 by Eva Lantsoght (Editor)Load Testing of Bridges, featuring contributions from almost fifty authors from around the world across two interrelated volumes, deals with the practical aspects, the scientific developments, and the international views on the topic of load testing of bridges. Volume 12, Load Testing of Bridges: Current practice and Diagnostic Load Testing, starts with a background to bridge load testing, including the historical perspectives and evolutions, and the current codes and guidelines that are governing in countries around the world. The second part of the book deals with preparation, execution, and post-processing of load tests on bridges. The third part focuses on diagnostic load testing of bridges. This work will be of interest to researchers and academics in the field of civil/structural engineering, practicing engineers and road authorities worldwide.
Publication Date: 2019-07-29
LTE Advanced Pro by André Perez; Frédéric LaunayThis book presents LTE evolution towards 5G mobile communication and the emergence of new requirements for MBB, MTC and LLC services. As LTE technologies evolve, LTE Advanced Pro dramatically increases cell capacity and user data rates for the MBB unicast service. Such requirements are obtained using full-dimension MIMO, carrier aggregation (on either licensed or unlicensed frequency bands) and dual connectivity. To improve the efficiency of same-content delivery to multiple users, 3GPP proposes a group communications service over LTE and defines mission critical push-to-talk (MCPTT) for dedicated public safety services. Complementary low-cost and low-power modems with enhanced coverage and massive connectivity are emerging. Thus, this book also discusses the need for LTE to support low-rate transmission and high-latency communication for MTC services.
Publication Date: 2019-06-18
Mathematics Applied to Engineering and Management by Hemen Dutta (Editor); Serkan Araci (Editor); Mangey Ram (Editor)This book offers the latest research advances in the field of mathematics applications in engineering sciences and provides a reference with a theoretical and sound background, along with case studies. In recent years, mathematics has had an amazing growth in engineering sciences. It forms the common foundation of all engineering disciplines. This new book provides a comprehensive range of mathematics applied to various fields of engineering for different tasks in fields such as civil engineering, structural engineering, computer science, electrical engineering, among others. It offers articles that develop the applications of mathematics in engineering sciences, conveys the innovative research ideas, offers real-world utility of mathematics, and plays a significant role in the life of academics, practitioners, researchers, and industry leaders. Focuses on the latest research in the field of engineering applications Includes recent findings from various institutions Identifies the gaps in the knowledge of the field and provides the latest approaches Presents international studies and findings in modelling and simulation Offers various mathematical tools, techniques, strategies, and methods across different engineering fields
Publication Date: 2019-08-26
Microporous Materials for Separation Membranes by Guangshan Zhu; Xiaoqin ZouA guide to membrane separation based on a variety of porous materials with promising separation applications Microporous Materials for Separation Membranes offers an in-depth guide that explores microporous materials? potential for membrane applications. The authors?two experts on the topic?examine a wide range of porous materials that have application potential including: microporous silica, porous carbons, zeolites, metal-organic frameworks (MOFs), and porous organic frameworks (POFs). Comprehensive in scope, the book covers a broad range of topics on membrane separations such as: hydrogen recovery, carbon dioxide capture, air purification, hydrocarbon separation, pervaporation, and water treatment. In addition, this up-to-date resource explores the most recent materials for preparing microporous membranes and explores the most promising applications for industrial use. This important book: -Examines the use of microporous materials as membranes to perform with different gases and liquids -Offers an overview of the basic knowledge of membrane separation and an intense examination of separations -Describes the state-of-the-art of membrane separation with porous materials -Highlights the most promising applications of industrial interest Written for scientists working in the fields of membranes, gas and liquid, Microporous Materials for Separation Membranes offers a valuable guide to the potential of microporous materials for membrane applications.
Publication Date: 2019-08-12
Modular Systems for Energy and Fuel Recovery and Conversion by Yatish T. ShahModular Systems for Energy and Fuel Recovery and Conversion surveys the benefits of the modular approach in the front end of the energy industry. The book also outlines strategies for managing modular approaches for fossil, renewable, and nuclear energy resource recovery and conversion with the help of successful industrial examples. The book points out that while the modular approach is most applicable for distributed and small-scale energy systems, it is also often used for parts of large-scale centralized systems. With the help of successful industrial examples of modular approaches for energy and fuel recovery and conversion, the book points out the need for more balance between large-scale centralized systems and small-scale distributed systems to serve the energy needs of rural and isolated communities. Coal, oil, natural gas, hydrogen, biomass, waste, nuclear, geothermal solar, wind, and hydro energy are examined, showing that modular operations are very successfully used in all these components of the energy industry. Aimed at academic researchers and industry professionals, this book provides successful examples and analysis of the modular operation for energy and fuel recovery and conversion. It is also a reference for those who are engaged in the development of modular systems for energy and fuel recovery and conversion.
Publication Date: 2019-07-16
Nanofluids and Their Engineering Applications by K. R. V. Subramanian; Tubati Nageswara Rao; Avinash BalakrishnanNanofluids are solid-liquid composite material consisting of solid nanoparticles suspended in liquid with enhanced thermal properties. This book introduces basic fluid mechanics, conduction and convection in fluids, along with nanomaterials for nanofluids, property characterization, and outline applications of nanofluids in solar technology, machining and other special applications. Recent experiments on nanofluids have indicated significant increase in thermal conductivity compared with liquids without nanoparticles or larger particles, strong temperature dependence of thermal conductivity, and significant increase in critical heat flux in boiling heat transfer, all of which are covered in the book. Key Features Exclusive title focusing on niche engineering applications of nanofluids Contains high technical content especially in the areas of magnetic nanofluids and dilute oxide based nanofluids Feature examples from research applications such as solar technology and heat pipes &am dilute oxide based nanofluids Feature examples from research applications such as solar technology and heat pipes Addresses heat transfer and thermodynamic features such as efficiency and work with mathematical rigor Focused in content with precise technical definitions and treatment
Publication Date: 2019-07-05
NANOHYBRIDS in ENVIRONMENTAL and BIOMEDICAL APPLICATIONS by Surender Kumar Sharma (Editor); Kishore K. Nair (Editor)Heterostructured nanoparticles have the capability for a broad range of novel and enhanced properties, which leads to appealing biomedical and environmental applications. This timely new book addresses the design and preparation of multiphase nanomaterials with desired size, shape, phase composition, and crystallinity, as well as their current applications. It emphasizes key examples to motivate deeper studies, including nanomaterial-based hyperthermia treatment of cancer, nanohybrids for water purification, nanostructures used in the removal or detection of bioagents from waste water, and so on. Features Presents state of the art research on heterostructured nanomaterials, from their synthesis and physiochemical properties to current environmental and biological applications. Includes details on toxicity and risk assessment of multifunctional nanomaterials. Discusses recent developments and utilization in healthcare by leading experts. Introduces the main features of functionalization of nanomaterials in terms of desired size, shape, phase composition, surface functionalization/coating, toxicity, and geometry. Emphasizes practical applications in the environmental and biomedical sectors. ials. Discusses recent developments and utilization in healthcare by leading experts. Introduces the main features of functionalization of nanomaterials in terms of desired size, shape, phase composition, surface functionalization/coating, toxicity, and geometry. Emphasizes practical applications in the environmental and biomedical sectors.
Publication Date: 2019-07-11
Optics for Materials Scientists by Myeongkyu LeeThis new volume will help materials scientists and engineers fully comprehend the principles of optics and optical phenomena and effectively utilize them for the design and fabrication of optical materials and devices. Materials science is an interdisciplinary field at the intersection of various fields, such as metallurgy, ceramics, solid-state physics, chemistry, chemical engineering, and mechanical engineering. Thus, many physicists, chemists, and engineers also work in materials science. Many materials scientists generally do not have a strong background in optics, and this book aims to fill that gap. The volume explains the fundamentals of optics legibly to nonspecialists and presents theoretical treatments for a variety of optical phenomena resulting from light-matter interactions. It covers thin film optics, interference lithography, and metal plasmonics as practical applications of optics for materials research. Each chapter of the book has a problem and reference section to facilitate the reader's understanding. The book is aimed at assisting materials scientists and engineers who must be aware of optics and optical phenomena. This book will also be useful as a textbook for students in materials science, physics, chemistry, and engineering throughout their undergraduate and early graduate years.
Publication Date: 2019-07-16
Quantum Inspired Meta-Heuristics for Image Analysis by Sandip Dey; Siddhartha Bhattacharyya; Ujjwal MaulikIntroduces quantum inspired techniques for image analysis for pure and true gray scale/color images in a single/multi-objective environment This book will entice readers to design efficient meta-heuristics for image analysis in the quantum domain. It introduces them to the essence of quantum computing paradigm, its features, and properties, and elaborates on the fundamentals of different meta-heuristics and their application to image analysis. As a result, it will pave the way for designing and developing quantum computing inspired meta-heuristics to be applied to image analysis. Quantum Inspired Meta-heuristics for Image Analysis begins with a brief summary on image segmentation, quantum computing, and optimization. It also highlights a few relevant applications of the quantum based computing algorithms, meta-heuristics approach, and several thresholding algorithms in vogue. Next, it discusses a review of image analysis before moving on to an overview of six popular meta-heuristics and their algorithms and pseudo-codes. Subsequent chapters look at quantum inspired meta-heuristics for bi-level and gray scale multi-level image thresholding; quantum behaved meta-heuristics for true color multi-level image thresholding; and quantum inspired multi-objective algorithms for gray scale multi-level image thresholding. Each chapter concludes with a summary and sample questions. Provides in-depth analysis of quantum mechanical principles Offers comprehensive review of image analysis Analyzes different state-of-the-art image thresholding approaches Detailed current, popular standard meta-heuristics in use today Guides readers step by step in the build-up of quantum inspired meta-heuristics Includes a plethora of real life case studies and applications Features statistical test analysis of the performances of the quantum inspired meta-heuristics vis-à-vis their conventional counterparts Quantum Inspired Meta-heuristics for Image Analysis is an excellent source of information for anyone working with or learning quantum inspired meta-heuristics for image analysis.
Publication Date: 2019-05-29
Reducing Operational Costs in Composites Manufacturing by Karen Snyder TravisReducing Operational Costs in Composites Manufacturingprovides organization-specific principles for managers working in the composites industry. It utilizes a "how to" format for reducing operational costs and provides examples for each principle. In the first two sections, readers learn how to evaluate the existing environment to determine the best course of action when developing a plan to achieve goals. This is followed by a deeper understanding of why character strengths are important, and how to effectively manage employees in section three. Section four helps the new manager to think outside the box by bringing in other managers to evaluate and offer suggestions. Finally, section five teaches the reader how to sustain and continually enhance what they have put in place. Uniquely aimed at the composites industry, this book helps professionals and managers implement process change, gain control of struggling facilities, enhance the strengths of more efficient organizations, and consider manufacturing costs of in a new light. nhance the strengths of more efficient organizations, and consider manufacturing costs of in a new light.
Publication Date: 2019-07-09
Risk Assessment by Lee T. Ostrom; Cheryl A. WilhelmsenGuides the reader through a risk assessment and shows them the proper tools to be used at the various steps in the process This brand new edition of one of the most authoritative books on risk assessment adds ten new chapters to its pages to keep readers up to date with the changes in the types of risk that individuals, businesses, and governments are being exposed to today. It leads readers through a risk assessment and shows them the proper tools to be used at various steps in the process. The book also provides readers with a toolbox of techniques that can be used to aid them in analyzing conceptual designs, completed designs, procedures, and operational risk. Risk Assessment: Tools, Techniques, and Their Applications, Second Edition includes expanded case studies and real life examples; coverage on risk assessment software like SAPPHIRE and RAVEN; and end-of-chapter questions for students. Chapters progress from the concept of risk, through the simple risk assessment techniques, and into the more complex techniques. In addition to discussing the techniques, this book presents them in a form that the readers can readily adapt to their particular situation. Each chapter, where applicable, presents the technique discussed in that chapter and demonstrates how it is used. Expands on case studies and real world examples, so that the reader can see complete examples that demonstrate how each of the techniques can be used in analyzing a range of scenarios Includes 10 new chapters, including Bayesian and Monte Carlo Analyses; Hazard and Operability (HAZOP) Analysis; Threat Assessment Techniques; Cyber Risk Assessment; High Risk Technologies; Enterprise Risk Management Techniques Adds end-of-chapter questions for students, and provides a solutions manual for academic adopters Acts as a practical toolkit that can accompany the practitioner as they perform a risk assessment and allows the reader to identify the right assessment for their situation Presents risk assessment techniques in a form that the readers can readily adapt to their particular situation Risk Assessment: Tools, Techniques, and Their Applications, Second Edition is an important book for professionals that make risk-based decisions for their companies in various industries, including the insurance industry, loss control, forensics, all domains of safety, engineering and technical fields, management science, and decision analysis. It is also an excellent standalone textbook for a risk assessment or a risk management course.
Publication Date: 2019-07-30
Root Cause Analysis by Mark A. Latino; Robert J. Latino; Kenneth C. LatinoThis book comprehensively outlines what a holistic and effective Root Cause Analysis (RCA) system looks like. From the designing of the support infrastructure to the measuring of effectiveness on the bottom-line, this book provides the blueprint for making it happen. While traditionally RCA is viewed as a reactive tool, the authors will show how it can be applied proactively to prevent failures from occurring in the first place. RCA is a key element of any successful Reliability Engineering initiative. Such initiatives are comprised of equipment, process and human reliability foundations. Human Reliability is critical to the success of a true RCA approach. This book explores the anatomy of a failure (undesirable outcome) as well as a potential failure (high risks). Virtually all failures are triggered by errors of omission or commission by human beings. The methodologies described in this book are applicable to any industry because the focus is on the human being's ability to think through why things go wrong, not on the industry or the nature of the failure. This book correlates Reliability to Safety as well as Human Performance Improvement efforts. The authors have provided a healthy balance between theory and practical application, wrapping up with case studies demonstrating bottom-line results. eBook includes some color figures. Features Outlines in detail every aspect of an effective RCA 'system' Displays appreciation for the role of understanding the physics of a failure as well as the human and system's contribution Demonstrates the role of RCA in a comprehensive Asset Performance Management (APM) system Explores the correlation between Reliability Engineering and Safety Integrates the concepts of Human Performance Improvement, Learning Teams, and Human Error Reduction approaches into RCA ink through why things go wrong, not on the industry or the nature of the failure. This book correlates Reliability to Safety as well as Human Performance Improvement efforts. The authors have provided a healthy balance between theory and practical application, wrapping up with case studies demonstrating bottom-line results. eBook includes some color figures. Features Outlines in detail every aspect of an effective RCA 'system' Displays appreciation for the role of understanding the physics of a failure as well as the human and system's contribution Demonstrates the role of RCA in a comprehensive Asset Performance Management (APM) system Explores the correlation between Reliability Engineering and Safety Integrates the concepts of Human Performance Improvement, Learning Teams, and Human Error Reduction approaches into RCA n approaches into RCA
Publication Date: 2019-07-29
Sensors Cloud and Fog by Sudip Misra; Subhadeep Sarkar; Subarna ChatterjeeThis book provides an in-depth understanding of Internet of Things (IoT) technology. It highlights several of today's research and technological challenges of translating the concept of the IoT into a practical, technologically feasible, and business-viable solution. It introduces two novel technologies--sensor-cloud and fog computing--as the crucial enablers for the sensing and compute backbone of the IoT. The book discusses these two key enabling technologies of IoT that include a wide range of practical design issues and the futuristic possibilities and directions involving sensor networks and cloud and fog computing environments towards the realization and support of IoT. Classroom presentations and solutions to end of chapter questions are available to instructors who use the book in their classes.
Publication Date: 2019-07-12
Subsurface Upgrading of Heavy Crude Oils and Bitumen by Cesar OvallesHeavy crude oils and bitumen represent more than 50% of all hydrocarbons available on the planet. These feedstocks have a low amount of distillable material and high level of contaminants that make their production, transportation, and refining difficult and costly by conventional technologies. Subsurface Upgrading of Heavy Crude Oils and Bitumenis of interest to the petroleum industry mainly because of the advantages compared to aboveground counterparts. The author presents an in-depth account and a critical review of the progress of industry and academia in underground or In-Situupgrading of heavy, extra-heavy oils and bitumen, as reported in the patent and open literature. This work is aimed to be a standalone monograph, so three chapters are dedicated to the composition of petroleum and fundamentals of crude oil production and refining. Key Features: Offers a multidisciplinary scope that will appeal to chemists, geologists, biologists, chemical engineers, and petroleum engineers Presents the advantages and disadvantages of the technologies considered Discusses economic and environmental considerations for all the routes evaluated and offers perspectives from experts in the field working with highlighted technologies
Publication Date: 2019-08-12
User-Centric and Information-Centric Networking and Services by M. Bala KrishnaUser-Centric Networks (UCN) and Information-Centric Networks (ICN) are new communication paradigms to increase the efficiency of content delivery and also content availability. In this new concept, the network infrastructure actively contributes to content caching and distribution. This book presents the basic concepts of UCN and ICN, describes the main architecture proposals for these networks, and discusses the main challenges to their development. The book also looks at the current challenges for this concept, including naming, routing and caching on the network-core elements, several aspects of content security, user privacy, and practical issues in implementing UCN and ICN.
Publication Date: 2019-05-08
Why Don't We Defend Better? by Robert H. Sloan; Richard WarnerThe wave of data breaches raises two pressing questions: Why don't we defend our networks better? And, what practical incentives can we create to improve our defenses? Why Don't We Defend Better?: Data Breaches, Risk Management, and Public Policy answers those questions. It distinguishes three technical sources of data breaches corresponding to three types of vulnerabilities: software, human, and network. It discusses two risk management goals: business and consumer. The authors propose mandatory anonymous reporting of information as an essential step toward better defense, as well as a general reporting requirement. They also provide a systematic overview of data breach defense, combining technological and public policy considerations. Features Explains why data breach defense is currently often ineffective. Shows how to respond to the increasing frequency of data breaches Combines the issues of technology, business and risk management, and legal liability Discusses the different issues faced by large versus small and medium sized businesses (SMBs) Provides a practical framework in which public policy issues about data breaches can be effectively addressed espond to the increasing frequency of data breaches Combines the issues of technology, business and risk management, and legal liability Discusses the different issues faced by large versus small and medium sized businesses (SMBs) Provides a practical framework in which public policy issues about data breaches can be effectively addressed
Publication Date: 2019-07-23
World Biodiesel Policies and Production by Hyunsoo Joo (Editor); Ashok Kumar (Editor)This book presents the evolution of biodiesel technologies along with government policies of major biodiesel producing countries with their backgrounds, impacts, changes, and other energy forms. Biodiesel feedstock and biodiesel production technologies including green algae and methanol are presented as separate topics. Changes in the feedstock types and the corresponding technologies are presented, and their impacts on the biodiesel policies are explained. The life cycle analysis (LCA) in research and policy design of biodiesel is discussed and the findings are given for different feedstocks in terms of greenhouse gases, energy, and other impact categories.