5G for the Connected World by Devaki Chandramouli (Editor); Rainer Liebhart (Editor); Juho Pirskanen (Editor)Comprehensive Handbook Demystifies 5G for Technical and Business Professionals in Mobile Telecommunication Fields Much is being said regarding the possibilities and capabilities of the emerging 5G technology, as the evolution towards 5G promises to transform entire industries and many aspects of our society. 5G for the Connected World offers a comprehensive technical overview that telecommunication professionals need to understand and take advantage of these developments. The book offers a wide-ranging coverage of the technical aspects of 5G (with special consideration of the 3GPP Release 15 content), how it enables new services and how it differs from LTE. This includes information on potential use cases, aspects of radio and core networks, spectrum considerations and the services primarily driving 5G development and deployment. The text also looks at 5G in relation to the Internet of Things, machine to machine communication and technical enablers such as LTE-M, NB-IoT and EC-GSM. Additional chapters discuss new business models for telecommunication service providers and vertical industries as a result of introducing 5G and strategies for staying ahead of the curve. Other topics include: Key features of the new 5G radio such as descriptions of new waveforms, massive MIMO and beamforming technologies as well as spectrum considerations for 5G radio regarding all possible bands Drivers, motivations and overview of the new 5G system - especially RAN architecture and technology enablers (e.g. service-based architecture, compute-storage split and network exposure) for native cloud deployments Mobile edge computing, Non-3GPP access, Fixed-Mobile Convergence Detailed overview of mobility management, session management and Quality of Service frameworks 5G security vision and architecture Ultra-low latency and high reliability use cases and enablers, challenges and requirements (e.g. remote control, industrial automation, public safety and V2X communication) An outline of the requirements and challenges imposed by massive numbers of devices connected to cellular networks While some familiarity with the basics of 3GPP networks is helpful, 5G for the Connected World is intended for a variety of readers. It will prove a useful guide for telecommunication professionals, standardization experts, network operators, application developers and business analysts (or students working in these fields) as well as infrastructure and device vendors looking to develop and integrate 5G into their products, and to deploy 5G radio and core networks.
Publication Date: 2019-03-08
Biochemical and Environmental Bioprocessing by M. Jerold; V. Sivasubramanian The rapid growth of industries has resulted in the generation of high volume of solid and liquid waste. Today, there is a need of Clean and Green technology for the sustainable waste management. Biochemical and Environmental Bioprocessing: Challenges and Developments explore the State-of-art green technologies to manage the waste and to recover value added products. Microbes play an important role in the bioremediation. Bioprocess engineering an interdisciplinary connects the Science and Technology. The bioconversion and bioremediation is essentially required for the management of various hazardous substances in the environment. This book will give an intensive knowledge on the application of Biochemical and Bioprocess technologies for the eco-friendly management of pollution. This book serves as a fundamental to the students, researchers, academicians and Engineers working in the area of Environmental Bioremediation and in the exploration of various bioproducts from waste. Features Reviews various biological methods for the treatment of effluents from Industries by using biomass and biopolymers. Highlights the applications of various bioreactors like Anaerobic Sequential Batch Reactor, Continuously stirred anaerobic digester, Up-flow anaerobic sludge blanket reactor, Fluidized and expanded bed reactors. Presents the cultivation of algae in Open Pond, Closed loop System, and Photo-bioreactors for bioenergy production. Discusses the intensified and integrated biorefinery approach by Microwave Irradiation, Pyrolysis, Acoustic cavitation, Hydrodynamic cavitation, Electron beam irradiation, High pressure Autoclave reactor, Steam explosion and photochemical oxidation. Outlines the usage of microbial fuel cell (MFC) for the production bioelectricity generation in different modules Tubular MFC, Stacked MFC, Separate electrode modules Cutting edge research of synthesis of biogenic nanoparticles and Pigments by green route for the health care and environment management.
Publication Date: 2019-08-09
Biochemical Engineering by Debabrata Das (Editor); Debayan Das (Editor)All engineering disciplines have been developed from the basic sciences. Science gives us the information on the reasoning behind new product development, whereas engineering is the application of science to manufacture the product at the commercial level. Biological processes involve various biomolecules, which come from living sources. It is now possible to manipulate DNA to get the desired changes in biochemical processes. This book provides students the knowledge that will enable them to contribute in various professional fields, including bioprocess development, modeling and simulation, and environmental engineering. It includes the analysis of different upstream and downstream processes. The chapters are organized in broad engineering subdisciplines, such as mass and energy balances, reaction theory using both chemical and enzymatic reactions, microbial cell growth kinetics, transport phenomena, different control systems used in the fermentation industry, and case studies of some industrial fermentation processes. Each chapter begins with a fundamental explanation for general readers and ends with in-depth scientific details suitable for expert readers. The book also includes the solutions to about 100 problems.
Publication Date: 2019-07-23
Construction Project Scheduling and Control by Saleh MubarakWritten by a career construction professional, this text about scheduling and project lays out all steps clearly with solved and unsolved exercises that cover each subject. Computer software programs for construction are included for each chapter, along with examination of precedence networks as the realistic solution to scheduling. Also explored are new concepts in CPM scheduling such as the author's own Dynamic Minimum Lag technique. Addressing the average student, Construction Project Scheduling and Control skillfully guides readers through every aspect of a construction project, no matter what the size.
Publication Date: 2010-06-21
Control Systems by J. R. RaolControl Systems: Classical, Modern, and AI-Based Approachesprovides a broad and comprehensive study of the principles, mathematics, and applications for those studying basic control in mechanical, electrical, aerospace, and other engineering disciplines. The text builds a strong mathematical foundation of control theory of linear, nonlinear, optimal, model predictive, robust, digital, and adaptive control systems, and it addresses applications in several emerging areas, such as aircraft, electro-mechanical, and some nonengineering systems: DC motor control, steel beam thickness control, drum boiler, motional control system, chemical reactor, head-disk assembly, pitch control of an aircraft, yaw-damper control, helicopter control, and tidal power control. Decentralized control, game-theoretic control, and control of hybrid systems are discussed. Also, control systems based on artificial neural networks, fuzzy logic, and genetic algorithms, termed as AI-based systems are studied and analyzed with applications such as auto-landing aircraft, industrial process control, active suspension system, fuzzy gain scheduling, PID control, and adaptive neuro control. Numerical coverage with MATLAB®is integrated, and numerous examples and exercises are included for each chapter. Associated MATLAB®code will be made available. studied and analyzed with applications such as auto-landing aircraft, industrial process control, active suspension system, fuzzy gain scheduling, PID control, and adaptive neuro control. Numerical coverage with MATLAB®is integrated, and numerous examples and exercises are included for each chapter. Associated MATLAB®code will be made available.
Publication Date: 2019-07-31
Cooperative Localization and Navigation by Chao Gao (Editor); Guorong Zhao (Editor); Hassen Fourati (Editor)This book captures the latest results and techniques for cooperative localization and navigation drawn from a broad array of disciplines. It provides the reader with a generic and comprehensive view of modeling, strategies, and state estimation methodologies in that fields. It discusses the most recent research and novel advances in that direction, exploring the design of algorithms and architectures, benefits, and challenging aspects, as well as a potential broad array of disciplines, including wireless communication, indoor localization, robotics, emergency rescue, motion analysis, etc.
Publication Date: 2019-08-08
Deployment of Rare Earth Materials in Microware Devices, RF Transmitters, and Laser Systems by A. R. Jha,Deployment of Rare Earth Materials in Microware Devices, RF Transmitters, and Laser Systems describes the deployment of rare earth materials that offer significant improvement in the RF performance, reliability, weight, and size of microwave devices, RF transmitters, and laser systems. RF components, microware transmitters, laser systems, and special timing devices are described, with an emphasis on improvement in the performance parameters.
Publication Date: 2019-06-18
Design of Analog Multipliers with Operational Amplifiers by K. C. SelvamDesign of analog multipliers discusses what an analog multiplier and its related types is, how different types of analog multipliers are implemented with analog two to one multiplexers and op-amps, and how the types of analog multipliers are implemented with transistors and op-amps. Describing forty-eight analog multiplier circuits, book explains six building blocks as integrator, comparator, switch, low pass filter, peak detector and sample & hold circuit. All analog multiplier circuits presented in this book use a maximum of four operational amplifiers which will enable the readers to simulate the multipliers with minimum number of components and use for their application at low cost.
Publication Date: 2019-08-20
Design of Smart Power Grid Renewable Energy Systems by Ali KeyhaniThe Updated Third Edition Provides a Systems Approach to Sustainable Green Energy Production and Contains Analytical Tools for the Design of Renewable Microgrids The revised third edition of Design of Smart Power Grid Renewable Energy Systems integrates three areas of electrical engineering: power systems, power electronics, and electric energy conversion systems. The book also addresses the fundamental design of wind and photovoltaic (PV) energy microgrids as part of smart-bulk power-grid systems. In order to demystify the complexity of the integrated approach, the author first presents the basic concepts, and then explores a simulation test bed in MATLAB® in order to use these concepts to solve a basic problem in the development of smart grid energy system. Each chapter offers a problem of integration and describes why it is important. Then the mathematical model of the problem is formulated, and the solution steps are outlined. This step is followed by developing a MATLAB® simulation test bed. This important book: Reviews the basic principles underlying power systems Explores topics including: AC/DC rectifiers, DC/AC inverters, DC/DC converters, and pulse width modulation (PWM) methods Describes the fundamental concepts in the design and operation of smart grid power grids Supplementary material includes a solutions manual and PowerPoint presentations for instructors Written for undergraduate and graduate students in electric power systems engineering, researchers, and industry professionals, the revised third edition of Design of Smart Power Grid Renewable Energy Systems is a guide to the fundamental concepts of power grid integration on microgrids of green energy sources.
Publication Date: 2019-08-20
Discrete Mathematical Structures by B. V. Senthil Kumar; Hemen DuttaThis book contains fundamental concepts on discrete mathematical structures in an easy to understand style so that the reader can grasp the contents and explanation easily. The concepts of discrete mathematical structures have application to computer science, engineering and information technology including in coding techniques, switching circuits, pointers and linked allocation, error corrections, as well as in data networking, Chemistry, Biology and many other scientific areas. The book is for undergraduate and graduate levels learners and educators associated with various courses and progammes in Mathematics, Computer Science, Engineering and Information Technology. The book should serve as a text and reference guide to many undergraduate and graduate programmes offered by many institutions including colleges and universities. Readers will find solved examples and end of chapter exercises to enhance reader comprehension. Features Offers comprehensive coverage of basic ideas of Logic, Mathematical Induction, Graph Theory, Algebraic Structures and Lattices and Boolean Algebra Provides end of chapter solved examples and practice problems Delivers materials on valid arguments and rules of inference with illustrations Focuses on algebraic structures to enable the reader to work with discrete structures
Finite Elements-Based Optimization by S. Ratnajeevan H. HooleThis book is intended to be a cookbook for students and researchers to understand the finite element method and optimization methods and couple them to effect shape optimization. The optimization part of the book will survey optimization methods and focus on the genetic algorithm and Powell's method for implementation in the codes. It will contain pseudo-code for the relevant algorithms and homework problems to reinforce the theory to compile finite element programs capable of shape optimization. Features Enables readers to understand the finite element method and optimization methods and couple them to effect shape optimization Presents simple approach with algorithms for synthesis Focuses on automated computer aided design (CAD) of electromagnetic devices Provides a unitary framework involving optimization and numerical modelling Discusses how to integrate open-source mesh generators into your code Indicates how parallelization of algorithms, especially matrix solution and optimization, may be approached cheaply using the graphics processing unit (GPU) that is available on most PCs today Includes coupled problem optimization using hyperthermia as an example
Publication Date: 2019-07-31
Fundamentals of Economics for Applied Engineering by S. Kant Vajpayee; M. D. SarderAn easy-to-follow contemporary engineering economics text that helps making sound economic decisions without advanced mathematics. This one-semester introduction to the fundamentals of engineering economics provides an overview of the basic theory and mathematics underlying operational business decisions that engineering technology, engineering, and industrial technology students will face in the workplace. A basic knowledge of economics empowers a manager to balance costs with production. This new edition of Fundamentals of Economics for Engineering Technologists and Engineersis written in plain language. Concepts have been simplified and kept straightforward with an emphasis on "how to apply" economic principles. Practical examples as a tool for managing business data and giving detailed analysis of business operations. throughout the text make good use of Microsoft Excel templates, provided on the book's companion website, for students. Chapter-end exercises provide discussion and multiple-choice questions along with numerical problems, and a solutions manual and instructor resources is given for adopting instructors.
Publication Date: 2019-08-14
Graphene Nanostructures by Yaser M. Banadaki; Safura SharifiThis book compiles and details cutting-edge research in graphene nanostructures and provides circuit designers with recent progress on graphene transistors for nanoscale circuits. The transistors in integrated circuits are approaching atomic scales. This will soon result in the creation of a growing knowledge gap between the underlying technology and state-of-the-art electronic device modeling and simulations. To bridge this gap, the book provides the computational analysis and mathematical circuit model of a novel transistor with an alternative graphene channel. While most of the books focus on synthesis, fabrication, and characterization of graphene, this book shines a light on graphene models, its circuit simulations, and photonics applications. The computational analysis plays a vital role to optimize the transistor structure, and the device models allow designers to input custom design parameters for evaluating the performance of graphene circuits as a promising VLSI technology. The primary aim of the book is to inspire and to educate fellow circuit designers and students into the field of emerging low-power and high-performance circuit design based on graphene.
Publication Date: 2019-03-31
High Voltage Direct Current Transmission by Dragan JovcicPresents the latest developments in switchgear and DC/DC converters for DC grids, and includes substantially expanded material on MMC HVDC This newly updated edition covers all HVDC transmission technologies including Line Commutated Converter (LCC) HVDC; Voltage Source Converter (VSC) HVDC, and the latest VSC HVDC based on Modular Multilevel Converters (MMC), as well as the principles of building DC transmission grids. Featuring new material throughout, High Voltage Direct Current Transmission: Converters, Systems and DC Grids, 2nd Edition offers several new chapters/sections including one on the newest MMC converters. It also provides extended coverage of switchgear, DC grid protection and DC/DC converters following the latest developments on the market and in research projects. All three HVDC technologies are studied in a wide range of topics, including: the basic converter operating principles; calculation of losses; system modelling, including dynamic modelling; system control; HVDC protection, including AC and DC fault studies; and integration with AC systems and fundamental frequency analysis. The text includes: A chapter dedicated to hybrid and mechanical DC circuit breakers Half bridge and full bridge MMC: modelling, control, start-up and fault management A chapter dedicated to unbalanced operation and control of MMC HVDC The advancement of protection methods for DC grids Wideband and high-order modeling of DC cables Novel treatment of topics not found in similar books, including SimPowerSystems models and examples for all HVDC topologies hosted by the 1st edition companion site. High Voltage Direct Current Transmission: Converters, Systems and DC Grids, 2nd Edition serves as an ideal textbook for a graduate-level course or a professional development course.
Publication Date: 2019-08-26
Introduction to Statistical Decision Theory by Silvia Bacci; Bruno ChiandottoIntroduction to Statistical Decision Theory: Utility Theory and Causal Analysisprovides the theoretical background to approach decision theory from a statistical perspective. It covers both traditional approaches, in terms of value theory and expected utility theory, and recent developments, in terms of causal inference. The book is specifically designed to appeal to students and researchers that intend to acquire a knowledge of statistical science based on decision theory. Features Covers approaches for making decisions under certainty, risk, and uncertainty Illustrates expected utility theory and its extensions Describes approaches to elicit the utility function Reviews classical and Bayesian approaches to statistical inference based on decision theory Discusses the role of causal analysis in statistical decision theory atistical inference based on decision theory Discusses the role of causal analysis in statistical decision theory
Publication Date: 2019-07-04
Mathematical Theory of Subdivision by Sandeep Kumar; Ashish Pathak; Debashis KhanThis book provides good coverage of the powerful numerical techniques namely, finite element and wavelets, for the solution of partial differential equation to the scientists and engineers with a modest mathematical background. The objective of the book is to provide the necessary mathematical foundation for the advanced level applications of these numerical techniques. The book begins with the description of the steps involved in finite element and wavelets-Galerkin methods. The knowledge of Hilbert and Sobolev spaces is needed to understand the theory of finite element and wavelet-based methods. Therefore, an overview of essential content such as vector spaces, norm, inner product, linear operators, spectral theory, dual space, and distribution theory, etc. with relevant theorems are presented in a coherent and accessible manner. For the graduate students and researchers with diverse educational background, the authors have focused on the applications of numerical techniques which are developed in the last few decades. This includes the wavelet-Galerkin method, lifting scheme, and error estimation technique, etc. Features: * Computer programs in Mathematica/Matlab are incorporated for easy understanding of wavelets. * Presents a range of workout examples for better comprehension of spaces and operators. * Algorithms are presented to facilitate computer programming. * Contains the error estimation techniques necessary for adaptive finite element method. This book is structured to transform in step by step manner the students without any knowledge of finite element, wavelet and functional analysis to the students of strong theoretical understanding who will be ready to take many challenging research problems in this area. the last few decades. This includes the wavelet-Galerkin method, lifting scheme, and error estimation technique, etc. Features: * Computer programs in Mathematica/Matlab are incorporated for easy understanding of wavelets. * Presents a range of workout examples for better comprehension of spaces and operators. * Algorithms are presented to facilitate computer programming. * Contains the error estimation techniques necessary for adaptive finite element method. This book is structured to transform in step by step manner the students without any knowledge of finite element, wavelet and functional analysis to the students of strong theoretical understanding who will be ready to take many challenging research problems in this area.
Publication Date: 2019-07-05
Membrane-Distillation in Desalination by Farid BenyahiaMembrane-Distillation in Desalination is an attempt to provide the latest knowledge, state of the art and demystify outstanding issues that delay the deployment of the technology on a large scale. It includes new updates and comprehensive coverage of the fundamentals of membrane distillation technology and explains the energy advantage of membrane distillation for desalination when compared to traditional techniques such as thermal or reverse osmosis. The book includes the latest pilot test results from around the world on membrane distillation desalination.
Publication Date: 2019-06-17
Modern Manufacturing Processes by Muammer Koc; Tugrul ÖzelProvides an in-depth understanding of the fundamentals of a wide range of state-of-the-art materials manufacturing processes Modern manufacturing is at the core of industrial production from base materials to semi-finished goods and final products. Over the last decade, a variety of innovative methods have been developed that allow for manufacturing processes that are more versatile, less energy-consuming, and more environmentally friendly. This book provides readers with everything they need to know about the many manufacturing processes of today. Presented in three parts, Modern Manufacturing Processes starts by covering advanced manufacturing forming processes such as sheet forming, powder forming, and injection molding. The second part deals with thermal and energy-assisted manufacturing processes, including warm and hot hydrostamping. It also covers high speed forming (electromagnetic, electrohydraulic, and explosive forming). The third part reviews advanced material removal process like advanced grinding, electro-discharge machining, micro milling, and laser machining. It also looks at high speed and hard machining and examines advances in material modeling for manufacturing analysis and simulation. Offers a comprehensive overview of advanced materials manufacturing processes Provides practice-oriented information to help readers find the right manufacturing methods for the intended applications Highly relevant for material scientists and engineers in industry Modern Manufacturing Processes is an ideal book for practitioners and researchers in materials and mechanical engineering.
Publication Date: 2019-09-04
Multi-Physics Modeling of Technological Systems by Marc Budinger; Ion Hazyuk; Clément CoïcThe development of mechatronic and multidomain technological systems requires the dynamic behavior to be simulated before detailed CAD geometry is available. This book presents the fundamental concepts of multiphysics modeling with lumped parameters. The approach adopted in this book, based on examples, is to start from the physical concepts, move on to the models and their numerical implementation, and finish with their analysis. With this practical problem-solving approach, the reader will gain a deep understanding of multiphysics modeling of mechatronic or technological systems - mixing mechanical power transmissions, electrical circuits, heat transfer devices and electromechanical or fluid power actuators. Most of the book's examples are made using Modelica platforms, but they can easily be implemented in other 0D/1D multidomain physical system simulation environments such as Amesim, Simulink/Simscape, VHDL-AMS and so on.
Publication Date: 2019-07-30
Nanoscale Networking and Communications Handbook by John R. Vacca (Editor)This comprehensive handbook serves as a professional reference as well as a practitioner's guide to today's most complete and concise view of nanoscale networking and communications. It offers in-depth coverage of theory, technology, and practice as they relate to established technologies and recent advancements. It explores practical solutions to a wide range of nanoscale networking and communications issues. Individual chapters, authored by leading experts in the field, address the immediate and long-term challenges in the authors' respective areas of expertise. Key Features Identifies the main differences between nanonetworks and classical wireless networks and explains how to leverage those to develop new communication techniques for nanonetworks Presents the different alternatives for network communication among nanomachines, whether these are nanomaterial-based devices or genetically modified cells Provides a framework that will stimulate vision for a family of technologies in nanonetworking communications and multi-scale integration her these are nanomaterial-based devices or genetically modified cells Provides a framework that will stimulate vision for a family of technologies in nanonetworking communications and multi-scale integration
Publication Date: 2019-07-03
Network Modeling, Simulation and Analysis in MATLAB by Dac-Nhuong Le; Abhishek Kumar Pandey; Tadepalli Sairam; Pramod Singh Rathore; Jyotir Moy ChatterjeeThe purpose of this book is first to study MATLAB programming concepts, then the basic concepts of modeling and simulation analysis, particularly focus on digital communication simulation. The book will cover the topics practically to describe network routing simulation using MATLAB tool. It will cover the dimensions' like Wireless network and WSN simulation using MATLAB, then depict the modeling and simulation of vehicles power network in detail along with considering different case studies. Key features of the book include: Discusses different basics and advanced methodology with their fundamental concepts of exploration and exploitation in NETWORK SIMULATION. Elaborates practice questions and simulations in MATLAB Student-friendly and Concise Useful for UG and PG level research scholar Aimed at Practical approach for network simulation with more programs with step by step comments. Based on the Latest technologies, coverage of wireless simulation and WSN concepts and implementations
Publication Date: 2019-09-11
Nonlinear Estimation by Shovan Bhaumik; Paresh DateNonlinear Estimation: Methods and Applications with Deterministic Sample Points focusses on a comprehensive treatment of deterministic sample point filters (also called Gaussian filters) and their variants for nonlinear estimation problems, for which no closed-form solution is available in general. Gaussian filters are becoming popular with the designers due to their ease of implementation and real time execution even on inexpensive or legacy hardware. The main purpose of the book is to educate the reader about a variety of available nonlinear estimation methods so that the reader can choose the right method for a real life problem, adapt or modify it where necessary and implement it. The book can also serve as a core graduate text for a course on state estimation. The book starts from the basic conceptual solution of a nonlinear estimation problem and provides an in depth coverage of (i) various Gaussian filters such as the unscented Kalman filter, cubature and quadrature based filters, Gauss-Hermite filter and their variants and (ii) Gaussian sum filter, in both discrete and continuous-discrete domain. Further, a brief description of filters for randomly delayed measurement and two case-studies are also included. Features: The book covers all the important Gaussian filters, including filters with randomly delayed measurements. Numerical simulation examples with detailed matlab code are provided for most algorithms so that beginners can verify their understanding. Two real world case studies are included: (i) underwater passive target tracking, (ii) ballistic target tracking. The style of writing is suitable for engineers and scientists. The material of the book is presented with the emphasis on key ideas, underlying assumptions, algorithms, and properties. The book combines rigorous mathematical treatment with matlab code, algorithm listings, flow charts and detailed case studies to deepen understanding.
Publication Date: 2019-07-17
Partial Differential Equations for Mathematical Physicists by Bijan Kumar BagchiPartial Differential Equations for Mathematical Physicists is intended for graduate students, researchers of theoretical physics and applied mathematics, and professionals who want to take a course in partial differential equations. This book offers the essentials of the subject with the prerequisite being only an elementary knowledge of introductory calculus, ordinary differential equations, and certain aspects of classical mechanics. We have stressed more the methodologies of partial differential equations and how they can be implemented as tools for extracting their solutions rather than dwelling on the foundational aspects. After covering some basic material, the book proceeds to focus mostly on the three main types of second order linear equations, namely those belonging to the elliptic, hyperbolic, and parabolic classes. For such equations a detailed treatment is given of the derivation of Green's functions, and of the roles of characteristics and techniques required in handling the solutions with the expected amount of rigor. In this regard we have discussed at length the method of separation variables, application of Green's function technique, and employment of Fourier and Laplace's transforms. Also collected in the appendices are some useful results from the Dirac delta function, Fourier transform, and Laplace transform meant to be used as supplementary materials to the text. A good number of problems is worked out and an equally large number of exercises has been appended at the end of each chapter keeping in mind the needs of the students. It is expected that this book will provide a systematic and unitary coverage of the basics of partial differential equations. Key Features An adequate and substantive exposition of the subject. Covers a wide range of important topics. Maintains mathematical rigor throughout. Organizes materials in a self-contained way with each chapter ending with a summary. Contains a large number of worked out problems.
Publication Date: 2019-07-15
Plastics Waste Management by Muralisrinivasan Natamai SubramanianThe book provides clear explanations for newcomers to the subject as well as contemporary details and theory for the experienced user in plastics waste management. It is seldom that a day goes by without another story or photo regarding the problem of plastics waste in the oceans or landfills. While important efforts are being made to clear up the waste, this book looks at the underlying causes and focuses on plastics waste management. Plastics manufacturers have been slow to recognize their environmental impact compared with more directly polluting industries. However, the environmental pressures concerning plastics have forced the industry to examine their own recycling operations and implement plastics waste management. Plastics Waste Management realizes two ideals: That all plastics should be able to persist for as long as plastics are required, and that all plastics are recycled in a uniform manner regardless of the length of time for which it persists. The book examines plastics waste management and systems for the environment, as well the management approaches and techniques which are appropriate for managing the environment. It serves as an excellent and thoughtful plastics waste management handbook. This groundbreaking book: Identifies deficiencies in plastics waste management Extrapolates from experiences to draw some conclusions about plastics waste for persistence Describes methods how the waste related processing techniques should be used in recycling Shows how the consumer and industry can assess the performance of plastics waste management Explains waste utilization by recycling techniques as well as waste reduction Life cycle assessment as an important technique for recycling of persistent plastics waste.
Publication Date: 2019-09-11
Power Integrity for Electrical and Computer Engineers by J. Ted Dibene; David HockansonA professional guide to the fundamentals of power integrity analysis with an emphasis on silicon level power integrity Power Integrity for Electrical and Computer Engineers embraces the most recent changes in the field, offers a comprehensive introduction to the discipline of power integrity, and provides an overview of the fundamental principles. Written by noted experts on the topic, the book goes beyond most other resources to focus on the detailed aspects of silicon and optimization techniques in order to broaden the field of study. This important book offers coverage of a wide range of topics including signal analysis, EM concepts for PI, frequency domain analysis for PI, numerical methods (overview) for PI, and silicon device PI modeling. Power Integrity for Electrical and Computer Engineers examine platform technologies, system considerations, power conversion, system level modeling, and optimization methodologies. To reinforce the material presented, the authors include example problems. This important book: * Includes coverage on convergence, accuracy, and error analysis and explains how these can be used to analyze power integrity problems * Contains information for modeling the power converter from the PDN to the load in a full system level model * Explores areas of device level modeling of silicon as related to power integrity * Contains example word problems that are related to an individual chapter's subject Written for electrical and computer engineers and academics, Power Integrity for Electrical and Computer Engineers is an authoritative guide to the fundamentals of power integrity and explores the topics of power integrity analysis, power integrity analytics, silicon level power integrity, and optimization techniques.
Publication Date: 2019-09-24
Probably Not by Lawrence N. DworskyA revised edition that explores random numbers, probability, and statistical inference at an introductory mathematical level Written in an engaging and entertaining manner, the revised and updated second edition of Probably Not continues to offer an informative guide to probability and prediction. The expanded second edition contains problem and solution sets. In addition, the book's illustrative examples reveal how we are living in a statistical world, what we can expect, what we really know based upon the information at hand and explains when we only think we know something. The author introduces the principles of probability and explains probability distribution functions. The book covers combined and conditional probabilities and contains a new section on Bayes Theorem and Bayesian Statistics, which features some simple examples including the Presecutor's Paradox, and Bayesian vs. Frequentist thinking about statistics. New to this edition is a chapter on Benford's Law that explores measuring the compliance and financial fraud detection using Benford's Law. This book: Contains relevant mathematics and examples that demonstrate how to use the concepts presented Features a new chapter on Benford's Law that explains why we find Benford's law upheld in so many, but not all, natural situations Presents updated Life insurance tables Contains updates on the Gantt Chart example that further develops the discussion of random events Offers a companion site featuring solutions to the problem sets within the book Written for mathematics and statistics students and professionals, the updated edition of Probably Not: Future Prediction Using Probability and Statistical Inference, Second Edition combines the mathematics of probability with real-world examples. LAWRENCE N. DWORSKY, PhD, is a retired Vice President of the Technical Staff and Director of Motorola's Components Research Laboratory in Schaumburg, Illinois, USA. He is the author of Introduction to Numerical Electrostatics Using MATLAB from Wiley.
Publication Date: 2019-09-04
Pumps and Compressors by Marc BorremansA practical guide to the majority of pumps and compressors used in engineering applications Pumps and compressors are ubiquitous in industry, used in manufacturing, processing and chemical plant, HVAC installations, aerospace propulsion systems, medical applications, and everywhere else where there is a need to pump liquids, or circulate or compress gasses. This well-illustrated handbook covers the basic function, performance, and applications for the most widely used pump and compressor types available on the market today. It explains how each device operates and includes the governing mathematics needed to calculate device performance such as flow rates and compression. Additionally, real-world issues such as cavitation, and priming are covered. Pumps & Compressors is divided into two sections, each of which offers a notation of variables and an introduction. The Pumps section covers piston pumps, radial turbopumps, axial turbopumps, rotating pumps, hydraulic pumps, and pumps with driving flow. The Compressors section covers piston compressors, rotating compressors, turbo compressors, ejectors, vacuum pumps, and compressors for cooling purposes. A virtual encyclopedia of all pumps and compressors that describes the mechanics of all devices and the theory, mathematics, and formulas governing their function Allows the reader to develop the skills needed to confidently select the appropriate pump or compressor type and specification for their applications Pumps & Compressors is an excellent text for courses on pumps and compressors, as well as a valuable reference for professional engineers and laymen seeking knowledge on the topic.
Publication Date: 2019-08-12
Quality Management in Engineering by Jong Seong LimThis book introduces fundamental, advanced, and future-oriented scientific quality management methods for the engineering and manufacturing industries. It presents new knowledge and experiences in the manufacturing industry with real world case studies. It introduces Quality 4.0 with Industry 4.0, including quality engineering tools for software quality and offers lean quality management methods for lean manufacturing. It also bridges the gap between quality management and quality engineering, and offers a scientific methodology for problem solving and prevention. The methods, techniques, templates, and processes introduced in this book can be utilized in various areas in industry, from product engineering to manufacturing and shop floor management. This book will be of interest to manufacturing industry leaders and managers, who do not require in-depth engineering knowledge. It will also be helpful to engineers in design and suppliers in management and manufacturing, all who have daily concerns with project and quality management. Students in business and engineering programs may also find this book useful as they prepare for careers in the engineering and manufacturing industries. Presents new knowledge and experiences in the manufacturing industry with real world case studies Introduces quality engineering methods for software development Introduces Quality 4.0 with Industry 4.0 Offers lean quality management methods for lean manufacturing Bridges the gap between quality management methods and quality engineering Provides scientific methodology for product planning, problem solving and prevention management Includes forms, templates, and tools that can be used conveniently in the field
Publication Date: 2019-08-08
Quantum Principles and Particles, Second Edition by Walter WilcoxThis textbook offers a unique introduction to quantum mechanics progressing gradually from elementary quantum mechanics to aspects of particle physics. It presents the microscopic world by analysis of the simplest possible quantum mechanical system (spin 1/2). A special feature is the author's use of visual aids known as process diagrams, which show how amplitudes for quantum mechanical processes are computed. The second edition includes a new chapter and problems on time-dependent processes, in addition to new material on quantum computing and improved illustrations. Key Features: Provides a completely updated text with expanded contents. Includes a brand new chapter on time-dependent processes and expanded coverage of recent developments in particle physics. Emphasizes a visual approach employing process diagrams and utilizing new figures. Incorporates quantum information theory in a new appendix, with other helpful supplements on notation, lattice models, weak flavor mixing, and numerical simulations.
Publication Date: 2019-08-23
Research Methodologies and Practical Applications of Chemistry by Lionello Pogliani (Editor); A. K. Haghi (Editor); Nazmul Islam (Editor)This new volume, Research Methodologies and Practical Applications of Chemistry, presents a detailed analysis of current experimental and theoretical approaches surrounding chemical science. With an emphasis on multidisciplinary as well as interdisciplinary applications, the book extensively reviews fundamental principles and presents recent research to help show logical connections between the theory and application of modern chemistry concepts. It also emphasizes the behavior of materials from the molecular point of view. The burgeoning field of chemistry and chemical science has led to many recent technological innovations and discoveries. Understanding the impact of these technologies on business, science, and industry is an important first step in developing applications for a variety of settings and contexts. The aim of this book is to present research that has transformed this discipline and aided its advancement. The book examines the strengths and future potential of chemical technologies in a variety of industries.
Urban Water Resources by Monzur Alam ImteazEver increasing urbanization is impacting both the quantity and quality of urban water resources. These urban water resources and components of the water cycle are likely to be affected severely. To minimize the consequences on world water resources, the development of sustainable water resources management strategies is inevitable. An integrated urban water resources management strategy is the key to maintain sustainable water resources. A preliminary understanding of physio-chemical processes and analysis methodologies involved in each and every component of the urban water cycle is necessary. In the past these components have been investigated and published individually. With the view to aiding the development of integrated urban water resources management strategies, this book endeavors to present and explain the major urban water cycle components from a single holistic platform. The book presents the introduction, analysis and design methods of a wide range of urban water components i.e., rainfall, flood, drainage, water supply and waste water with the additions of sustainability practices in most of the components. Current "Hydrology" and "Hydraulics" books do not incorporate sustainability features and practices, while there are many books on general "Sustainability" without integrating sustainability concepts into typical engineering designs. The book starts with components and classifications of world water resources, then basic and detailed components of the hydrologic cycle, climate change and its impacts on hydrologic cycle, rainfall patterns and measurements, rainfall losses, derivations of design rainfalls, streamflow measurements, flood frequency analysis and probabilistic flood estimations, deterministic flood estimations, unit hydrograph, flood modelling, commercial modelling tools and use of Geographical Information System (GIS) for flood modelling, principles of open channel hydraulics, critical flow and flow classification indices, open channel flow profiles, uniform flow in open channel and open channel design, estimation of future population and domestic water demand, design of water supply systems, sustainable water supply system, water treatments, wastewater quantification, wastewater treatments, sustainable and decentralized wastewater treatment, stormwater drainage and urban drainage analysis, water footprint and water-energy nexus, features of water conservation, harvesting and recycling, components of sustainable urban design, stormwater treatment and integrated water management.