Advanced Mathematics by Stanley J. FarlowProvides a smooth and pleasant transition from first-year calculus to upper-level mathematics courses in real analysis, abstract algebra and number theory Most universities require students majoring in mathematics to take a "transition to higher math" course that introduces mathematical proofs and more rigorous thinking. Such courses help students be prepared for higher-level mathematics course from their onset. Advanced Mathematics: A Transitional Reference provides a "crash course" in beginning pure mathematics, offering instruction on a blendof inductive and deductive reasoning. By avoiding outdated methods and countless pages of theorems and proofs, this innovative textbook prompts students to think about the ideas presented in an enjoyable, constructive setting. Clear and concise chapters cover all the essential topics students need to transition from the "rote-orientated" courses of calculus to the more rigorous "proof-orientated" advanced mathematics courses. Topics include sentential and predicate calculus, mathematical induction, sets and counting, complex numbers, point-set topology, and symmetries, abstract groups, rings, and fields. Each section contains numerous problems for students of various interests and abilities. Ideally suited for a one-semester course, this book: Introduces students to mathematical proofs and rigorous thinking Provides thoroughly class-tested material from the authors own course in transitioning to higher math Strengthens the mathematical thought process of the reader Includes informative sidebars, historical notes, and plentiful graphics Offers a companion website to access a supplemental solutions manual for instructors Advanced Mathematics: A Transitional Reference is a valuable guide for undergraduate students who have taken courses in calculus, differential equations, or linear algebra, but may not be prepared for the more advanced courses of real analysis, abstract algebra, and number theory that await them. This text is also useful for scientists, engineers, and others seeking to refresh their skills in advanced math.
Publication Date: 2019-10-08
Airport Building Information Modelling by Ozan Koseoglu; Yusuf ArayiciThis book details how Building Information Modelling is being successfully deployed in the planning, design, construction and future operation of the Istanbul New Airport, a mega-scale construction project incorporating a varying mix of infrastructures including terminals, runways, passenger gates, car parks, railways and roads. The book demonstrates how Airport Building Information Modelling (ABIM) is being used to: * facilitate collaboration, cooperation and integrated project delivery * manage subcontractors and eliminate cost over-runs * reduce waste on site and enhance overall quality * connect people in a virtual environment to encourage collaborative working * provide clients with an effective interface for lifecycle management including: design development, construction documentation, construction phases and BIM and Big Data Integration for future facilities management The book presents a best practice BIM project, demonstrating concurrent engineering, lean processes, collaborative design and construction, and effective construction management. Moreover, the book provides a visionary exemplar for the further use of BIM technologies in civil engineering projects including highways, railways and others on the way towards the Smart City vision. It is essential reading for all Built Environment and Engineering stakeholders.
Publication Date: 2019-09-16
Analysis, Modeling, and Stability of Fractional Order Differential Systems 1 by Jean-Claude Trigeassou; Nezha MaamriThis book introduces an original fractional calculus methodology ('the infinite state approach') which is applied to the modeling of fractional order differential equations (FDEs) and systems (FDSs). Its modeling is based on the frequency distributed fractional integrator, while the resulting model corresponds to an integer order and infinite dimension state space representation. This original modeling allows the theoretical concepts of integer order systems to be generalized to fractional systems, with a particular emphasis on a convolution formulation.
Publication Date: 2019-09-11
Applied Statistics by Dieter Rasch; Jürgen Pilz; Rob VerdoorenInstructs readers on how to use methods of statistics and experimental design with R software Applied statistics covers both the theory and the application of modern statistical and mathematical modelling techniques to applied problems in industry, public services, commerce, and research. It proceeds from a strong theoretical background, but it is practically oriented to develop one's ability to tackle new and non-standard problems confidently. Taking a practical approach to applied statistics, this user-friendly guide teaches readers how to use methods of statistics and experimental design without going deep into the theory. Applied Statistics: Theory and Problem Solutions with R includes chapters that cover R package sampling procedures, analysis of variance, point estimation, and more. It follows on the heels of Rasch and Schott's Mathematical Statistics via that book's theoretical background--taking the lessons learned from there to another level with this book's addition of instructions on how to employ the methods using R. But there are two important chapters not mentioned in the theoretical back ground as Generalised Linear Models and Spatial Statistics. Offers a practical over theoretical approach to the subject of applied statistics Provides a pre-experimental as well as post-experimental approach to applied statistics Features classroom tested material Applicable to a wide range of people working in experimental design and all empirical sciences Includes 300 different procedures with R and examples with R-programs for the analysis and for determining minimal experimental sizes Applied Statistics: Theory and Problem Solutions with R will appeal to experimenters, statisticians, mathematicians, and all scientists using statistical procedures in the natural sciences, medicine, and psychology amongst others.
Publication Date: 2019-10-07
Autonomous Mobile Robots and Multi-Robot Systems by Eugene Kagan; Irad Ben-Gal; Nir ShvalbOffers a theoretical and practical guide to the communication and navigation of autonomous mobile robots and multi-robot systems This book covers the methods and algorithms for the navigation, motion planning, and control of mobile robots acting individually and in groups. It addresses methods of positioning in global and local coordinates systems, off-line and on-line path-planning, sensing and sensors fusion, algorithms of obstacle avoidance, swarming techniques and cooperative behavior. The book includes ready-to-use algorithms, numerical examples and simulations, which can be directly implemented in both simple and advanced mobile robots, and is accompanied by a website hosting codes, videos, and PowerPoint slides Autonomous Mobile Robots and Multi-Robot Systems: Motion-Planning, Communication and Swarming consists of four main parts. The first looks at the models and algorithms of navigation and motion planning in global coordinates systems with complete information about the robot's location and velocity. The second part considers the motion of the robots in the potential field, which is defined by the environmental states of the robot's expectations and knowledge. The robot's motion in the unknown environments and the corresponding tasks of environment mapping using sensed information is covered in the third part. The fourth part deals with the multi-robot systems and swarm dynamics in two and three dimensions. Provides a self-contained, theoretical guide to understanding mobile robot control and navigation Features implementable algorithms, numerical examples, and simulations Includes coverage of models of motion in global and local coordinates systems with and without direct communication between the robots Supplemented by a companion website offering codes, videos, and PowerPoint slides Autonomous Mobile Robots and Multi-Robot Systems: Motion-Planning, Communication and Swarming is an excellent tool for researchers, lecturers, senior undergraduate and graduate students, and engineers dealing with mobile robots and related issues.
Publication Date: 2019-10-28
Bioremediation by Sanjay K. Sharma (Editor)Bioremediation: A Sustainable Approach to Preserving Earth's Water discusses the latest research in green chemistry practices and principles that are involved in water remediation and the quality improvement of water. The presence of heavy metals, dyes, fluoride, dissolved solids and many other pollutants are responsible for water pollution and poor water quality. The removal of these pollutants in water resources is necessary, yet challenging. Water preservation is of great importance globally and researchers are making significant progress in ensuring this precious commodity is safe and potable. This volume illustrates how bioremediation in particular is a promising green technique globally. Features: Addresses bioremediation of all the major water pollutants Approaches the chemistry of water and the concept of water as a renewable resource from a green chemistry aspect Discusses environmental chemistry and the practice of industrial ecology Explains the global concern of adequate high quality water supplies, and how bioremediation can resolve this Explores sustainable development through green engineering
Publication Date: 2019-10-23
Clustering Methodology for Symbolic Data by Lynne Billard; Edwin DidayCovers everything readers need to know about clustering methodology for symbolic data--including new methods and headings--while providing a focus on multi-valued list data, interval data and histogram data This book presents all of the latest developments in the field of clustering methodology for symbolic data--paying special attention to the classification methodology for multi-valued list, interval-valued and histogram-valued data methodology, along with numerous worked examples. The book also offers an expansive discussion of data management techniques showing how to manage the large complex dataset into more manageable datasets ready for analyses. Filled with examples, tables, figures, and case studies, Clustering Methodology for Symbolic Data begins by offering chapters on data management, distance measures, general clustering techniques, partitioning, divisive clustering, and agglomerative and pyramid clustering. Provides new classification methodologies for histogram valued data reaching across many fields in data science Demonstrates how to manage a large complex dataset into manageable datasets ready for analysis Features very large contemporary datasets such as multi-valued list data, interval-valued data, and histogram-valued data Considers classification models by dynamical clustering Features a supporting website hosting relevant data sets Clustering Methodology for Symbolic Data will appeal to practitioners of symbolic data analysis, such as statisticians and economists within the public sectors. It will also be of interest to postgraduate students of, and researchers within, web mining, text mining and bioengineering.
Publication Date: 2019-11-04
Composites for Environmental Engineering by Saif Ali Chaudhry; Shakeel AhmedComposites are materials made from two or more constituent materials with significantly different physical or chemical properties. The two materials combine together to give a new material with higher strength, toughness, stiffness, but also a higher resistance to creep, corrosion, wear or fatigue compared to conventional materials. It is composed primarily of a matrix i.e. a continuous phase which is armoured with secondary discontinues reinforcement phase. These materials have been used in a variety of products viz. spacecrafts, sporting goods, catalyst, sensors, actuators, biomedical materials, batteries, cars, furniture, aircraft components, etc. This book focusses on processing, properties of various types of composite materials, as well as their environmental engineering applications. This book examines the current state of art, new challenges, and opportunities of composites in environmental engineering. The chapters in this book covers nearly every topic related to composites in environmental engineering in four broad perspectives: (i) classification of composites (ii) green/hybrid synthesis and characterization of nano and biocomposites (iii) processing of composite materials (iv) state-of-the-art in fabricating the composites - nano and biocomposites - for environmental applications.
Publication Date: 2019-11-19
Computer Vision by Manas Kamal BhuyanThe book familiarizes readers with fundamental concepts and issues related to computer vision and major approaches that address them. The focus of the book is on image acquisition and image formation models, radiometric models of image formation, image formation in the camera, image processing concepts, concept of feature extraction and feature selection for pattern classification/recognition, and advanced concepts like object classification, object tracking, image-based rendering, and image registration. Intended to be a companion to a typical teaching course on computer vision, the book takes a problem-solving approach.
Publication Date: 2019-10-07
Condensed Isogeometric Analysis for Plates and Shell Structure by Buntara GanCondensed Isogeometric Analysis for Plates and Shell Structures proposes a novel technique for plate and shell governing equations based on isogeometric analysis, which condenses the dynamic equilibrium equation for plate and shell structures--suitable for reducing the computation cost of large degrees of freedom due to the adoption of Non-Uniform Rational Basis Spline (NURBS) models in the plate and shell element formulations. It features useful guidance for understanding the isogeometric approach and includes accompanying MATLAB® source code in each chapter to deepen readers' understanding of the fundamental theories and methods of civil, architectural, and mechanical engineering. Features: Adopts a progressive and rigorous presentation of relevant topics to facilitate use by students, academics, and professionals Seamlessly integrates the CAD geometrical data into the conventional FE plate and shell classical element codes Allows computation of analytical solutions of plate and shell theories based on a newly-introduced condensation method, not approximation theory Includes relevant MATLAB® codes
Publication Date: 2019-10-08
Design Guide for Concrete-Filled Double Skin Steel Tubular Structures by Lin-Hai Han; D. A. NethercotThis is the first design guide on concrete filled double skin steel tubular (CFDST) structures. It addresses in particular CFDST structures with plain concrete sandwiched between circular hollow sections, and provides the relevant calculation methods and construction provisions for CFDST structures. These inherit the advantages of conventional concrete-filled steel tubular (CFST) structures, including high strength, good ductility and durability, high fire resistance and favourable constructability. Moreover, because of their unique sectional configuration, CFDST structures have been proved to possess lighter weight, higher bending stiffness and better cyclic performance than conventional CFST. Consequently CFDST can offer reduced concrete consumption and construction costs. This design guide is for engineers designing electrical grid infrastructures, wind power towers, bridge piers and other structures requiring light self-weight, high bending stiffness and high bearing capacity.
Publication Date: 2018-10-30
DESIGN of GUIDANCE and CONTROL SYSTEMS for TACTICAL MISSILES by Qi Zaikang; Lin DefuDesign of Guidance and Control Systems for Tactical Missiles presents a modern, comprehensive study of the latest design methods for tactical missile guidance and control. It analyzes autopilot designs, seeker system designs, guidance laws and theories, and the internal and external disturbances affecting the performance factors of missile guidance control systems. The text combines detailed examination of key theories with practical coverage of methods for advanced missile guidance control systems. It is valuable content for professors and graduate-level students in missile guidance and control, as well as engineers and researchers who work in the area of tactical missile guidance and control.
Publication Date: 2019-09-11
Efficient Aromatics Processes by Frank (Xin X. ) Zhu; James Johnson; David W. AblinA GUIDE TO THE DESIGN, OPERATION, CONTROL, TROUBLESHOOTING, OPTIMIZATION AS WELL AS THE RECENT ADVANCES IN THE FIELD OF PETROCHEMICAL PROCESSES Efficient Petrochemical Processes: Technology, Design and Operation is a guide to the tools and methods for energy optimization and process design. Written by a panel of experts on the topic, the book highlights the application of these methods on petrochemical technology such as the aromatics process unit. The authors describe practical approaches and tools that focus on improving industrial energy efficiency, reducing capital investment, and optimizing yields through better design, operation, and optimization. The text is divided into sections that cover the range of essential topics: petrochemical technology description; process design considerations; reaction and separation design; process integration; process system optimization; types of revamps; equipment assessment; common operating issues; and troubleshooting case analysis. This important book: Provides the basic knowledge related to fundamentals, design, and operation for petrochemical processes Applies process integration techniques and optimization techniques that improve process design and operations in the petrochemical process Provides practical methods and tools for industrial practitioners Puts the focus on improving industrial energy efficiency, reducing capital investment, and optimizing yields Contains information on the most recent advances in the field. Written for managers, engineers, and operators working in process industries as well as university students, Efficient Petrochemical Processes: Technology, Design and Operation explains the most recent advances in the field of petrochemical processes and discusses in detail catalytic and adsorbent materials, reaction and separation mechanisms.
Publication Date: 2019-11-26
Encyclopedia of Polymeric Applications 3 Volume Set by Munmaya K. MishraUndoubtedly the applications of polymers are rapidly evolving. Technology is continually changing and quickly advancing as polymers are needed to solve a variety of day-to-day challenges leading to improvements in quality of life. The Encyclopedia of Polymer Applicationspresents state-of-the-art research and development on the applications of polymers. This groundbreaking work provides important overviews to help stimulate further advancements in all areas of polymers. This comprehensive multi-volume reference includes articles contributed from a diverse and global team of renowned researchers. It offers a broad-based perspective on a multitude of topics in a variety of applications, as well as detailed research information, figures, tables, illustrations, and references. The encyclopedia provides introductions, classifications, properties, selection, types, technologies, shelf-life, recycling, testing and applications for each of the entries where applicable. It features critical content for both novices and experts including, engineers, scientists (polymer scientists, materials scientists, biomedical engineers, macromolecular chemists), researchers, and students, as well as interested readers in academia, industry, and research institutions. le. It features critical content for both novices and experts including, engineers, scientists (polymer scientists, materials scientists, biomedical engineers, macromolecular chemists), researchers, and students, as well as interested readers in academia, industry, and research institutions.
Publication Date: 2019-01-02
Energy-Efficient Computing and Data Centers by Luigi Brochard; Julita Corbalán; Scott Holland; Vinod Kamath; Walter Mittelbach; Michael OttData centers consume roughly 1% of the total electricity demand, while ICT as a whole consumes around 10%. Demand is growing exponentially and, left unchecked, will grow to an estimated increase of 20% or more by 2030. This book covers the energy consumption and minimization of the different data center components when running real workloads, taking into account the types of instructions executed by the servers. It presents the different air- and liquid-cooled technologies for servers and data centers with some real examples, including waste heat reuse through adsorption chillers, as well as the hardware and software used to measure, model and control energy. It computes and compares the Power Usage Effectiveness and the Total Cost of Ownership of new and existing data centers with different cooling designs, including free cooling and waste heat reuse leading to the Energy Reuse Effectiveness. The book concludes by demonstrating how a well-designed data center reusing waste heat to produce chilled water can reduce energy consumption by roughly 50%, and how renewable energy can be used to create net-zero energy data centers.
Publication Date: 2019-09-11
Engineering Transition by Susan KrumdieckTransition Engineering: Building a Sustainable Future examines new strategies emerging in response to the mega-issues of global climate change, decline in world oil supply, scarcity of key industrial minerals, and local environmental constraints. These issues pose challenges for organizations, businesses, and communities, and engineers will need to begin developing ideas and projects to implement the transition of engineered systems. This work presents a methodology for shifting away from unsustainable activities. Teaching the Transition Engineering approach and methodology is the focus of the text, and the concept is presented in a way that engineers can begin applying it in their work.
Publication Date: 2019-09-30
Functional Reverse Engineering of Machine Tools by Wasim Ahmed Khan (Editor); Ghulam Abbas (Editor); Khalid Rahman (Editor); Ghulam Hussain (Editor); Cedric Aimal Edwin (Editor)The purpose of this book is to develop capacity building in strategic and non-strategic machine tool technology. The book contains chapters on how to functionally reverse engineer strategic and non-strategic computer numerical control machinery. Numerous engineering areas, such as mechanical engineering, electrical engineering, control engineering, and computer hardware and software engineering, are covered. The book offers guidelines and covers design for machine tools, prototyping, augmented reality for machine tools, modern communication strategies, and enterprises of functional reverse engineering, along with case studies. Features Presents capacity building in machine tool development Discusses engineering design for machine tools Covers prototyping of strategic and non-strategic machine tools Illustrates augmented reality for machine tools Includes Internet of Things (IoT) for machine tools
Publication Date: 2019-10-11
GaN Transistors for Efficient Power Conversion by Alex Lidow; David Reusch; Michael de Rooij; Johan Strydom; John GlaserAn up-to-date, practical guide on upgrading from silicon to GaN, and how to use GaN transistors in power conversion systems design This updated, third edition of a popular book on GaN transistors for efficient power conversion has been substantially expanded to keep students and practicing power conversion engineers ahead of the learning curve in GaN technology advancements. Acknowledging that GaN transistors are not one-to-one replacements for the current MOSFET technology, this book serves as a practical guide for understanding basic GaN transistor construction, characteristics, and applications. Included are discussions on the fundamental physics of these power semiconductors, layout, and other circuit design considerations, as well as specific application examples demonstrating design techniques when employing GaN devices. GaN Transistors for Efficient Power Conversion, 3rd Edition brings key updates to the chapters of Driving GaN Transistors; Modeling, Simulation, and Measurement of GaN Transistors; DC-DC Power Conversion; Envelope Tracking; and Highly Resonant Wireless Energy Transfer. It also offers new chapters on Thermal Management, Multilevel Converters, and Lidar, and revises many others throughout. Written by leaders in the power semiconductor field and industry pioneers in GaN power transistor technology and applications Updated with 35% new material, including three new chapters on Thermal Management, Multilevel Converters, Wireless Power, and Lidar Features practical guidance on formulating specific circuit designs when constructing power conversion systems using GaN transistors A valuable resource for professional engineers, systems designers, and electrical engineering students who need to fully understand the state-of-the-art GaN Transistors for Efficient Power Conversion, 3rd Edition is an essential learning tool and reference guide that enables power conversion engineers to design energy-efficient, smaller, and more cost-effective products using GaN transistors.
Publication Date: 2019-09-30
Human Performance in Automated and Autonomous Systems by Mustapha Mouloua; Peter A. HancockThis book examines recent advances in theories, models, and methods relevant to automated and autonomous systems. The following chapters provide perspectives on modern autonomous systems, such as self-driving cars and unmanned aerial systems, directly from the professionals working with and studying them. Current theories surrounding topics such as vigilance, trust, and fatigue are examined throughout as predictors of human performance in the operation of automated systems. The challenges related to attention and effort in autonomous vehicles described within give credence to still-developing methods of training and selecting operators of such unmanned systems. The book further recognizes the need for human-centered approaches to design; a carefully crafted automated technology that places the "human user" in the center of that design process. Features Combines scientific theories with real-world applications where automated technologies are implemented Disseminates new understanding as to how automation is now transitioning to autonomy Highlights the role of individual and team characteristics in the piloting of unmanned systems and how models of human performance are applied in system design Discusses methods for selecting and training individuals to succeed in an age of increasingly complex human-machine systems Provides explicit benchmark comparisons of progress across the last few decades, and identifies future prognostications and the constraints that impinge upon these lines of progress Human Performance in Automated and Autonomous Systems: Current Theory and Methodsillustrates the modern scientific theories and methods to be applied in real-world automated technologies.
Publication Date: 2019-10-02
Intensifying Activated Sludge Using Media-Supported Biofilms by Dwight Houweling; Glen T. DaiggerIntensifying Activated Sludge Using Media-Supported Biofilms will be of interest to practicing wastewater treatment process designers, along with those seeking more compact and energy-efficient wastewater treatment options. The advantages of Moving Bed Biological Reactor (MBBR)-based hybrid processes are now well-established in practice, leading to their increased use in the field. Membrane Aerated Biofilm Reactor (MABR)-based hybrid processes are much newer and offer further systematic process and energy advantages. This book examines the evolution of hybrid technologies as well as the potential for continued improvement of biological wastewater treatment techniques. Features: Reviews current approaches for intensifying biological wastewater treatment processes and their mechanistic bases. Examines hybrid suspended growth/biofilm-based wastewater treatment processes, including the newly-developed MABR-based processes, and their unique dynamic performance characteristics. Presents a novel method for characterizing the performance and process intensification advantages of hybrid processes. Provides guidance for simulating the performance of hybrid processes, including oxygen transfer in MABR hybrid processes.
Publication Date: 2019-08-26
Metallic Glass-Based Nanocomposites by Sumit Sharma (Editor)Metallic Glass-Based Nanocomposites: Molecular Dynamics Study of Propertiesprovides readers with an overview of the most commonly used tools for MD simulation of metallic glass composites and provides all the basic steps necessary for simulating any material on Materials Studio. After reading this book, readers will be able to model their own problems on this tool for predicting the properties of metallic glass composites. This book provides an introduction to metallic glasses with definitions and classifications, provides detailed explanations of various types of composites, reinforcements and matrices, and explores the basic mechanisms of reinforcement-MG interaction during mechanical loading. It explains various models for calculating the thermal conductivity of metallic glass composites and provides examples of molecular dynamics simulations. Aimed at students and researchers, this book caters to the needs of those working in the field of molecular dynamics (MD) simulation of metallic glass composites.
Publication Date: 2019-09-20
Multiphase Particulate Systems in Turbulent Flows by Wioletta PodgorskaMultiphase Particulate Systems in Turbulent Flows: Fluid-Liquid and Solid-Liquid Dispersions provides methods necessary to analyze complex particulate systems and related phenomena including physical, chemical and mathematical description of fundamental processes influencing crystal size and shape, suspension rheology, interfacial area of drops and bubbles in extractors and bubble columns. Examples of mathematical model formulation for different processes taking place in such systems is shown. Discussing connections between turbulent mixing mechanisms and precipitation, it discusses influence of fine-scale structure of turbulence, including its intermittent character, on breakage of drops, bubbles, cells, plant cell aggregates. An important aspect of the mathematical modeling presented in the book is multi-fractal, taking into account the influence of internal intermittency on different phenomena. Key Features Provides detailed descriptions of dispersion processes in turbulent flow, interactions between dispersed entities, and continuous phase in a single volume Includes simulation models and validation experiments for liquid-liquid, gas-liquid, and solid-liquid dispersions in turbulent flows Helps reader learn formulation of mathematical models of breakage or aggregation processes using multifractal theory Explains how to solve different forms of population balance equations Presents a combination of theoretical and engineering approaches to particulate systems along with discussion of related diversity, with exercises and case studies
Publication Date: 2019-10-07
Operations Excellence Management System (OEMS) by Chitram Lutchman; Kevan Lutchman; Akula Ramakrishna; Charles Lyons; Waddah Ghanem Al HashmiWritten for users, this book provides a structured approach with processes for implementing OEMS based on the learnings and experiences from companies who have implemented OEMS. The book leverages the knowledge of experienced OEMS personnel to provide a compelling sense of direction for organizations in the implementation of OEMS. The book includes sample templates and tools where necessary to ensure successful implementation and sustainment. The content of this book provides a testing methodology for implementing an OEMS across any organization while avoiding the pitfalls others have encountered along the way. The book: Provides a simple and easy process to follow for implementing an OEMS Offers organizations an opportunity to avoid the implementation errors of early adopters and provides them with the ability of learning from the experiences of others Equipped with tools and processes to make implementation and sustainment very effective, thereby avoiding false starts Designed to improve HSE, business reliability, efficiency, effectiveness, and performance on an ongoing basis Presents a simple pathway for helping organizations across all industries including those that operate within the various segments of the Oil and Gas business, to become more operationally disciplined in the way we do business and operate our assets in a high-risk operating environment
Publication Date: 2019-09-30
Practical Plant Failure Analysis by Neville W. SachsThis is a practical guide for those who do the work of maintaining and improving the reliability of mechanical machinery. It is for engineers and skilled trades personnel who want to understand how failures happen and how the physical causes of the great majority can be readily diagnosed in the field. It explains the four major failure mechanisms, wear, corrosion, overload, and fatigue and, using easy-to-read charts, how they can be diagnosed at the site of the failure. Then, knowing the physical failure mechanics involved, the reader can accurately solve the human causes. To improve the reader's understanding, all the diagrams and most of the tables have been redrawn. The number of actual failure examples has been increased, plus the last chapter on miscellaneous machine elements includes new material on couplings, universal joints, and plain bearings. Features A practical field guide showing how to recognize how failures occur that can be used to solve more than 85% of mechanical machinery failures Incorporates multiple easy-to-follow logic trees to help the reader diagnose the physical causes of the failure without needing detailed laboratory analysis Explains how the mechanics, corrosion, materials science, and tribology of components can fit together to improve machinery reliability Includes more than 150 completely redrawn charts and tables, plus almost 250 actual failure photographs to help guide the reader to an accurate analysis Contains clear and detailed explanations of how lubricants function and the critical roles of corrosion and lubrication play in causing mechanical failures
Publication Date: 2019-10-25
Progress in Solar Energy Technologies and Applications by Umakanta SahooEnergy is one of the most important topics of our time, and renewable energy has been a long and still-unfolding story that has taken decades to bring us to where we are today. Even after so much progress, engineers and scientists are always still developing new and innovative techniques, processes, equipment, and materials to further the science and fulfill the mission of generating cleaner, renewable energy for the world's consumption. This new groundbreaking series, Advances in Renewable Energy, covers these topics across the spectrum, including solar, wind, and other renewable energy sources. This first volume in the series focuses on solar energy, probably the fastest-growing and developing area of renewable energy. With new materials and processes constantly coming online, it is important for engineers and scientists to stay abreast of the state-of-the-art in the field, and this volume does just that. Covering not just the basics of the technology and technological advances, the contributors delve into the financial aspects of solar energy systems as well. They look at total costs, not just initial costs, but the costs of maintenance, as well, Covering nearly every aspect of solar energy systems and the latest advances in the field, this is a must-have volume for any engineer, scientist, student, or educator working in or studying solar energy.
Publication Date: 2019-10-01
The Stakeholder Perspective by Massimo PirozziThe Stakeholder Perspective places people at the center of both projects and project management. It gives to the project management community a helpful, innovative, stakeholder-centered approach to increase projects' delivered value and success rate. It presents a logical model also called the "Stakeholder Perspective," which acts as the reference point in a structured path to effectiveness. Starting from the analysis of a project's stakeholders, the model integrates both rational and relational innovative approaches. Its continuous focus on stakeholder requirements and expectations helps to set a proper path, and to maintain it, in order to target success and to achieve goals in a variety of projects with different size and complexity. The book presents a set of innovative and immediately applicable techniques for effective stakeholder identification and classification, as well as analysis of stakeholder requirements and expectations, key stakeholders management, stakeholder network management, and, more generally, stakeholder relationship management. The proposed stakeholder classification model consists of just four communities, each one based on the commonality of main interests and behavior. This model features an accurate and stable identification process to increase effective communication and drastic reduce relationship complexity. A systemic approach is proposed to analyze both stakeholder requirements and expectations. The approach aids in detecting otherwise unclear stakeholder requirements and/or hidden stakeholder expectations. An interactive communication model is presented along with its individual and organizational frames of reference. Also presented are relevant cues to maximize effective and purposeful communication with key stakeholders as well as with the stakeholder network. The importance of satisfying not only the project requirements but also the stakeholder expectations is demonstrated to be the critical success factor in all projects. An innovative approach based on the perceived value and key performance indicators shows how to manage different levels of project complexity. The book also defines a complete structured path to relationship effectiveness called "Relationship Management Project," which can be tailored to enhance stakeholder and communication management processes in each one of the project management process groups (i.e. initiating, planning, executing, monitoring and controlling, and closing). The book concludes with a look ahead at Project Management X.0 and the stakeholder-centered evolution of both project and portfolio management.
Publication Date: 2019-10-09
Surface Engineering by Friction-Assisted Processes by B. Ratna SunilHere is a comprehensive resource that compiles extensive descriptions of friction stir processing, fabrication of surface metal matrix composites, and friction surfacing into one volume. The book is separated into four sections, beginning with a discussion of surface tailoring of metals by friction stir processing. This first section delves into the basics of friction stir processing (FSP), incorporating illustrations to explain the supporting mechanisms of this process. This section culminates with the introduction of potential applications of FSP in the manufacturing industry and obstacles that may arise when implemented. The following two sections explore and discuss surface metal matrix composites by friction stir processing and surface engineering by friction surfacing. They provide a thorough explanation of the material systems involved in the respective processes and discuss in detail the mechanisms behind each. The book, which closes with a comprehensive discussion of recent developments in friction-assisted processes and their functionality, offers a unique compilation of information on these increasingly prominent developments in the field of surface engineering. This volume organizes the information in a manner that is both easily accessible and comprehensible, utilizing visuals such as figures, tables, and photographs to enhance readers' understanding. Key features: * Explores a multitude of topics within the field of surface engineering at length * Summarizes and explores the mechanical foundation of friction stir processing, fabrication of surface metal matrix composites, and friction surfacing * Incorporates figures and tables to aid in illustrating the concepts discussed * Offers potential applications and discusses future benefits of specific elements pertaining to surface engineering
Publication Date: 2019-10-16
Sustainable Downstream Processing of Microalgae for Industrial Application by Kalyan Gayen (Editor); Tridib Kumar Bhowmick (Editor); Sunil Kumar Maity (Editor)Microalgae can be future resource for industrial biotechnology In current energy crisis era, microalgae are under tremendous research focus for the production of biodiesel due to their high photosynthetic efficiency, growth rate and high lipid content compared to territorial plants. However, the large-scale production of algal biomass and downstream processing of harvested algae towards bio-fuels are facing several challenges from economic viability perspective. Apart from bio-fuels, the microalgae synthesize number of bio-molecules such as pigments (e.g., chlorophyll, carotenoid), protein (e.g., lectin, phycobiliprotein), and carbohydrates (e.g., agar, carrageenan, alginate, fucodian) which are available in the various forms of microalgal products. Therefore, developing a strategy for large-scale production and use of algal biomass for the co-production of these value-added macromolecules is thus imperative for the improvement of the economics of algal biorefinery. In the above context, this book covers three major areas (i) commercial-scale production of bio-molecules from microalgae, (ii) sustainable approach for industrial-scale operation, and (iii) optimization of downstream processes. Each of these sections is composed of several chapters written by the renowned academicians/industry experts. Furthermore, in this book, a significant weightage is given to the industry experts (around 50%) to enrich the industrial perspectives. We hope that amalgamate of fundamental knowledge from academicians and applied research information from industry experts will be useful for forthcoming implementation of a sustainable integrated microalgal biorefinery. This book highlights following. Explores biomolecules from microalgae and their applications Discusses microalgae cultivations and harvesting Examines downstream processing of biomolecules Explores sustainable integrated approaches for industrial scale operations Examines purification techniques specific for microalgal proteins, Omega 3 fatty Acids, carbohydrates, and pigments
Publication Date: 2019-09-16
Sustainable Energy and Environment by Sandeep Narayan Kundu (Editor); Muhammad Nawaz (Editor)Here is a comprehensive introductory discussion of Earth, energy, and the environment in an integrated manner that will lead to an appreciation of our complex planet. The book looks at Earth from the perspective of a livable planet and elaborates on the surface and subsurface processes and the various energy cycles where energy is transformed and stored in the planet's various spheres. The chapters discuss the interactions between the different parts of Earth--how energy is exchanged between the atmosphere, hydrosphere, biosphere, and geosphere, and how they impact the environment in which we live.
Publication Date: 2019-09-23
Transport Phenomena in Dispersed Media by Gudret Isfandiyar Kelbaliyev; Dilgam Babir Tagiyev; Sakit Rauf Rasulov Transport Phenomena in Dispersed Mediaaddresses the main problems associated with the transfer of heat, mass and momentum. The authors focus on the analytical solutions of the mass and heat transfer equations; the theoretical problems of coalescence, coagulation, aggregation and fragmentation of dispersed particles; the rheology of structured aggregate and kinetically stable disperse systems; the precipitation of particles in a turbulent flow; the evolution of the distribution function; the stochastic counterpart of the mass transfer equations; the dissipation of energy in disperse systems; and many other problems that distinguish this book from existing publications. Key Selling Features Covers all technological processes taking place in the oil and gas complex, as well as in the petrochemical industry Presents new original solutions for calculating design as well as for the development and implementation of processes of chemical technology Organized to first provide an extensive review of each chapter topic, solve specific problems, and then review the solutions with the reader Contains complex mathematical expressions for practical calculations Compares results obtained on the basis of mathematical models with experimental data
Publication Date: 2019-10-16
Zero Waste: Management Practices for Environmental Sustainability by Ashok K. RathoureZero Waste: Management Practices for Environmental Sustainability presents approaches for resource management centered on reducing waste and reusing and recycling materials. It aims to save energy by reducing energy consumption associated with extracting, processing, and transporting raw materials and waste, and also to reduce and eventually eliminate the need for landfills and incinerators. This book presents the various principles, methods, and tools that can be used to address different issues in the areas of industrial waste reduction and sustainability. It examines how to eliminate waste at the source and at all points of a supply chain, and how to shift from the current one-way linear resource model to a sustainable "closed-loop" system. Proposes strategies for businesses to reduce and reuse waste with a goal of reaching a zero waste status. Focuses on how mitigating waste and promoting recycling can save vast amounts of energy. Explains how the zero waste approach would be a key measure to ensure environmental sustainability and help to offset global climate change.