2D and 3D Graphene Nanocomposites by Olga Glukhova (Editor)In recent decades, graphene composites have received considerable attention due to their unique structural features and extraordinary properties. 2D and 3D graphene hybrid structures are widely used in memory, microelectronic, and optoelectronic devices; energy- and power-density supercapacitors; light-emitting diodes; and sensors, batteries, and solar cells. This book covers the fundamental properties of the latest graphene-based 2D and 3D composite materials. The book is a result of the collective work of many highly qualified specialists in the field of experimental and theoretical research on graphene and its derivatives. It describes experimental methods for obtaining and characterizing samples of chemically modified graphene, details conceptual foundations of popular methods for computer modeling of graphene nanostructures, and compiles original computational techniques developed by the chapter authors. It discusses the potential application areas and modifications of graphene-based 2D and 3D composite materials and interprets the interesting physical effects discovered for the first time for graphene materials under consideration. The book is useful for graduate students and researchers as well as specialists in industrial engineering. It will also appeal to those involved in materials science, condensed matter physics, nanotechnology, physical electronics, nano- and optoelectronics.
Publication Date: 2019-11-13
Autofrettage Processes by Uday S. Dixit; Seikh Mustafa Kamal; Rajkumar ShufenAutofrettage Processes: Technology and Modeling deals with the technology and modeling of autofrettage processes, explaining the subject in a lucid manner. It highlights how the theory of plasticity and finite element modeling are applied in the modeling of autofrettage processes. Aimed at senior students of mechanical, production, automobile, and chemical engineering, it has the potential to directly benefit practicing engineers and industrials, owing to the inclusion of topics like thermal autofrettage. Key Features: Provides a general introduction to autofrettage Covers the application of theory of plasticity and finite element modeling of autofrettage processes Offers exposure to newer autofrettage processes that to date have not been implemented in industries, along with useful practical data
Publication Date: 2019-09-18
Bio Monomers for Green Polymeric Composite Materials by P. M. Visakh; Oguz Bayraktar (Editor); Gopalakrishnan Menon (Editor)Presents new and innovative bio-based monomers to replace traditional petrochemical-based building blocks Featuring contributions from top experts in the field, this book discusses new developments in the area of bio monomers and green polymeric composite materials. It covers bio monomers, green polymeric composites, composites from renewable resources, bio-sourced polymers, green composites, biodegradation, processing methods, green polymeric gels, and green polymeric membranes. Each chapter in Bio Monomers for Green Polymeric Composites Materials presents the most recent research and technological ideas in a comprehensive style. It examines bio monomers for green polymer and the processing methods for the bio nanocomposites. It covers the preparation, characterization, and applications of bio-polymeric materials based blends, as well as the applications of biopolymeric gels in medical biotechnology. The book also explores the properties and applications of gelatins, pectins, and carrageenans gels. Additionally, it offers a plethora of information on green polymeric membranes; the bio-degradation of green polymeric composites materials; applications of green polymeric composites materials; hydrogels used for biomedical applications; and the use of natural aerogels as thermal insulations. Introduces readers to the innovative, new bio-based monomers that are taking the place of traditional petrochemical-based building blocks Covers green polymers, green composites, bio-sourced polymers, bio nanocomposites, biodegradable polymers, green polymer gels, and membranes Features input from leading researchers immersed in the area of study Bio Monomers for Green Polymeric Composites Materials is suitable for academics, researchers, scientists, engineers and advanced students in the field of bio monomers and green polymeric composites materials.
Composite Materials Engineering by Alexander V. Vakhrushev (Editor); A. K. Haghi (Editor)This book provides a compilation of innovative fabrication strategies and utilization methodologies that are frequently adopted in the advanced composite materials community. It addresses developing appropriate composites to efficiently utilize macro- and nanoscale features. It covers a selection of key aspects of composite materials, including history, reinforcements, matrix materials, mechanical properties, physical properties, theory, and applications. The volume reviews the research developments of a number of widely studied composite materials with different matrices
Publication Date: 2019-11-27
Exploring Arduino by Jeremy BlumThe bestselling beginner Arduino guide, updated with new projects! Exploring Arduino makes electrical engineering and embedded software accessible. Learn step by step everything you need to know about electrical engineering, programming, and human-computer interaction through a series of increasingly complex projects. Arduino guru Jeremy Blum walks you through each build, providing code snippets and schematics that will remain useful for future projects. Projects are accompanied by downloadable source code, tips and tricks, and video tutorials to help you master Arduino. You'll gain the skills you need to develop your own microcontroller projects! This new 2nd edition has been updated to cover the rapidly-expanding Arduino ecosystem, and includes new full-color graphics for easier reference. Servo motors and stepper motors are covered in richer detail, and you'll find more excerpts about technical details behind the topics covered in the book. Wireless connectivity and the Internet-of-Things are now more prominently featured in the advanced projects to reflect Arduino's growing capabilities. You'll learn how Arduino compares to its competition, and how to determine which board is right for your project. If you're ready to start creating, this book is your ultimate guide! Get up to date on the evolving Arduino hardware, software, and capabilities Build projects that interface with other devices'wirelessly! Learn the basics of electrical engineering and programming Access downloadable materials and source code for every project Whether you're a first-timer just starting out in electronics, or a pro looking to mock-up more complex builds, Arduino is a fantastic tool for building a variety of devices. This book offers a comprehensive tour of the hardware itself, plus in-depth introduction to the various peripherals, tools, and techniques used to turn your little Arduino device into something useful, artistic, and educational. Exploring Arduino is your roadmap to adventure'start your journey today!
Publication Date: 2019-11-19
Fundamentals and Applications of Acoustic Metamaterials by Vicente Romero-Garcia (Editor); Anne-Christine Hladky-Hennion (Editor)In the last few decades, metamaterials have revolutionized the ways in which waves are controlled, and applied in physics and practical situations. The extraordinary properties of metamaterials, such as their locally resonant structure with deep subwavelength band gaps and their ranges of frequency where propagation is impossible, have opened the way to a host of applications that were previously unavailable. Acoustic metamaterials have been able to replace traditional treatments in several sectors, due to their better performance in targeted and tunable frequency ranges with strongly reduced dimensions. This is a training book composed of nine chapters written by experts in the field, giving a broad overview of acoustic metamaterials and their uses. The book is divided into three parts, covering the state-of-the-art, the fundamentals and the real-life applications of acoustic metamaterials.
Publication Date: 2019-09-11
Guidelines for Inherently Safer Chemical Processes by Ccps (Center CCPS (Center for Chemical Process Safety)Since the publication of the second edition several United States jurisdictions have mandated consideration of inherently safer design for certain facilities. Notable examples are the inherently safer technology (IST) review requirement in the New Jersey Toxic Chemical Prevention Act (TCPA), and the Inherently Safer Systems Analysis (ISSA) required by the Contra Costa County (California) Industrial Safety Ordinance. More recently, similar requirements have been proposed at the U.S. Federal level in the pending EPA Risk Management Plan (RMP) revisions. Since the concept of inherently safer design applies globally, with its origins in the United Kingdom, the book will apply globally. The new edition builds on the same philosophy as the first two editions, but further clarifies the concept with recent research, practitioner observations, added examples and industry methods, and discussions of security and regulatory issues. Inherently Safer Chemical Processes presents a holistic approach to making the development, manufacture, and use of chemicals safer. The main goal of this book is to help guide the future state of chemical process evolution by illustrating and emphasizing the merits of integrating inherently safer design process-related research, development, and design into a comprehensive process that balances safety, capital, and environmental concerns throughout the life cycle of the process. It discusses strategies of how to: substitute more benign chemicals at the development stage, minimize risk in the transportation of chemicals, use safer processing methods at the manufacturing stage, and decommission a manufacturing plant so that what is left behind does not endanger the public or environment.
Publication Date: 2019-11-05
Human Performance in Automated and Autonomous Systems by Mustapha Mouloua; Peter A. HancockThis book is devoted to the examination of emerging practical issues related to automated and autonomous systems. The book highlights the significance of these emergent technologies that determine the course of our daily lives. Each unique chapter highlights human factors and engineering concerns across real-world applications, including matters related to aviation and healthcare, human-robot interaction, transportation systems, cybersecurity and cyber defense. This book also depicts the boundaries that separate humans from machine as we continue to become ever more immersed in and symbiotic with these fast-emerging technologies. Automation, across many occupations, has transitioned the human to a role of monitoring machines, presenting challenges related to vigilance and workload. This book identifies the importance of an approach to automated technology that emphasizes the "human user" at the center of the design process. Features Provides perspectives on the role of the individual and teams in complex technical systems such as aviation, healthcare, and medicine Presents the development of highly autonomous systems related to human safety and performance Examines solutions to human factors challenges presented by modern threats to data privacy and cybersecurity Discusses human perceptual and cognitive capabilities underwriting to the design of automated and autonomous systems * Provides in-depth, expert reviews of context-related developments in automation and human-robot teaming Human Performance in Automated and Autonomous Systems: Emerging Issues and Practical Perspectivesapplies scientific theory directly to real-world systems where automation and autonomous technology is implemented.
Publication Date: 2019-10-02
Information Engineering of Emergency Treatment for Marine Oil Spill Accidents by Lin Mu; Lizhe Wang; Jining YanOil spills are a serious marine disaster. Oil spill accidents usually occur in shipping, ports and offshore oil development. Although most are emergent events, once an oil spill occurs, it will cause great harm to the marine ecological environment, and bring direct harm to the economic development along the affected coast as well as to human health and public safety. Information Engineering of Emergency Treatment for Marine Oil Spill Accidents analyzes the causes of these accidents, introduces China's emergency response system, discusses technologies such as remote sensing and monitoring of oil spill on the sea surface and oil fingerprint identification, studies model prediction of marine oil spill behavior and fate and emergency treatment technologies for oil spills on the sea surface, and emphatically introduces the emergency prediction and warning system for oil spills in the Bohai Sea as well as oil spill-sensitive resources and emergency resource management systems. Features: The status quo and causes of marine oil spill pollution, as well as hazards of oil spill on the sea. The emergency response system for marine oil spills. Model-based prediction methods of marine oil spills. A series of used and developing emergency treatments of oil spill on the sea. This book serves as a reference for scientific investigators who want to understand the key technologies for emergency response to marine oil spill accidents, including the current level and future development trend of China in this field.
Publication Date: 2019-09-10
Information Technology in Medical Diagnostics II by Waldemar Wójcik (Editor); Sergii Pavlov (Editor); Maksat Kalimoldayev (Editor)For many centuries, mankind has tried to learn about his health. Initially, during the pre-technological period, he could only rely on his senses. Then there were simple tools to help the senses. The breakthrough turned out to be the discovery of X-rays, which gave insight into the human body. Contemporary medical diagnostics are increasingly supported by information technology, which for example offers a very thorough analysis of the tissue image or the pathology differentiation. It also offers possibilities for very early preventive diagnosis. Under the influence of information technology, 'traditional' diagnostic techniques and new ones are changing. More and more often the same methods can be used for both medical and technical diagnostics. In addition, methodologies are developed that are inspired by the functioning of living organisms. Information Technology in Medical Diagnostics II is the second volume in a series showing the latest advances in information technologies directly or indirectly applied to medical diagnostics. Unlike the previous book, this volume does not contain closed chapters, but rather extended versions of presentations made during two conferences: XLVIII International Scientific and Practical Conference 'Application of Lasers in Medicine and Biology' (Kharkov, Ukraine) and the International Scientific Internet conference 'Computer graphics and image processing' (Vinnitsa, Ukriane), both held in May 2018. Information Technology in Medical Diagnostics II links technological issues to medical and biological issues, and will be valuable to academics and professionals interested in medical diagnostics and IT. st advances in information technologies directly or indirectly applied to medical diagnostics. Unlike the previous book, this volume does not contain closed chapters, but rather extended versions of presentations made during two conferences: XLVIII International Scientific and Practical Conference 'Application of Lasers in Medicine and Biology' (Kharkov, Ukraine) and the International Scientific Internet conference 'Computer graphics and image processing' (Vinnitsa, Ukriane), both held in May 2018. Information Technology in Medical Diagnostics II links technological issues to medical and biological issues, and will be valuable to academics and professionals interested in medical diagnostics and IT.
Publication Date: 2019-03-01
Introduction to Chemical Engineering by Uche NnajiThe field of chemical engineering is undergoing a global "renaissance," with new processes, equipment, and sources changing literally every day. It is a dynamic, important area of study and the basis for some of the most lucrative and integral fields of science. Introduction to Chemical Engineering offers a comprehensive overview of the concept, principles and applications of chemical engineering. It explains the distinct chemical engineering knowledge which gave rise to a general-purpose technology and broadest engineering field. The book serves as a conduit between college education and the real-world chemical engineering practice. It answers many questions students and young engineers often ask which include: How is what I studied in the classroom being applied in the industrial setting? What steps do I need to take to become a professional chemical engineer? What are the career diversities in chemical engineering and the engineering knowledge required? How is chemical engineering design done in real-world? What are the chemical engineering computer tools and their applications? What are the prospects, present and future challenges of chemical engineering? And so on. It also provides the information new chemical engineering hires would need to excel and cross the critical novice engineer stage of their career. It is expected that this book will enhance students understanding and performance in the field and the development of the profession worldwide. Whether a new-hire engineer or a veteran in the field, this is a must--have volume for any chemical engineer's library.
Publication Date: 2019-10-08
Laser Scanning by Belén Riveiro (Editor); Roderik Lindenbergh (Editor)This book provides an overview on the evolution of laser scanning technology and its noticeable impact in the structural engineering domain. It provides an up-to-date synthesis of the state-of-the-art of the technology for the reverse engineering of built constructions, including terrestrial, mobile, and different portable solutions, for laser scanning. Data processing of large point clouds has experienced an important advance in the last years, and thus, an intense activity in the development of automated data processing algorithms has been noticed. Thus, this book aims to provide an overview of state-of-the-art algorithms, different best practices and most recent processing tools in connection to particular applications. Readers will find this a comprehensive book, that updates the practice of laser scanning for researchers and professionals not only from the geomatic domain, but also other fields such as structural and construction engineering. A set of successful applications to structural engineering are illustrated, including also synergies with other technologies, that can inspire professionals to adopt laser scanning in their day-to-day activity. This cutting-edge edited volume will be a valuable resource for students, researchers and professional engineers with an interest in laser scanning and its applications in the structural engineering domain.
Publication Date: 2019-11-07
Material Modeling in Finite Element Analysis by Z. YangFinite element analysis has been widely applied in mechanical, civil, and biomedical designs. This book aims to provide the readers comprehensive views of various material models with practical examples, which would help readers understand various materials, and build appropriate material models in the finite element analysis. This book is composed of four main parts: 1) metals, 2) polymers, 3) soils, and 4) modern materials. Each part starts with the structure and function of different materials and then follows the corresponding material models such as BISO, MISO, Chaboche model in metals, Arruda-Boyce model, Mooney-Rivlin model, Ogden model in polymers, Mohr-Coulomb model, Cam Clay model and Jointed Rock model in geomechanics, composites and shape memory alloys in modern materials. The final section presents some specific problems, such as metal forming process, combustion chamber, Mullins effect of rubber tire, breast shape after breast surgery, viscoelasticity of liver soft tissues, tunnel excavation, slope stability, orthodontic wire, and piezoelectric microaccelerometer. All modeling files are provided in the appendixes of the book. This book would be helpful for graduate students and researchers in the mechanical, civil, and biomedical fields who conduct finite element analysis. The book provides all readers with comprehensive understanding of modeling various materials.
Publication Date: 2019-10-24
Metalorganic Vapor Phase Epitaxy (MOVPE) by Stuart Irvine (Editor); Peter Capper (Editor); Safa Kasap; Arthur WilloughbySystematically discusses the growth method, material properties, and applications for key semiconductor materials MOVPE is a chemical vapor deposition technique that produces single or polycrystalline thin films. As one of the key epitaxial growth technologies, it produces layers that form the basis of many optoelectronic components including mobile phone components (GaAs), semiconductor lasers and LEDs (III-Vs, nitrides), optical communications (oxides), infrared detectors, photovoltaics (II-IV materials), etc. Featuring contributions by an international group of academics and industrialists, this book looks at the fundamentals of MOVPE and the key areas of equipment/safety, precursor chemicals, and growth monitoring. It covers the most important materials from III-V and II-VI compounds to quantum dots and nanowires, including sulfides and selenides and oxides/ceramics. Sections in every chapter of Metalorganic Vapor Phase Epitaxy (MOVPE): Growth, Materials Properties and Applications cover the growth of the particular materials system, the properties of the resultant material, and its applications. The book offers information on arsenides, phosphides, and antimonides; nitrides; lattice-mismatched growth; CdTe, MCT (mercury cadmium telluride); ZnO and related materials; equipment and safety; and more. It also offers a chapter that looks at the future of the technique. Covers, in order, the growth method, material properties, and applications for each material Includes chapters on the fundamentals of MOVPE and the key areas of equipment/safety, precursor chemicals, and growth monitoring Looks at important materials such as III-V and II-VI compounds, quantum dots, and nanowires Provides topical and wide-ranging coverage from well-known authors in the field Part of the Materials for Electronic and Optoelectronic Applications series Metalorganic Vapor Phase Epitaxy (MOVPE): Growth, Materials Properties and Applications is an excellent book for graduate students, researchers in academia and industry, as well as specialist courses at undergraduate/postgraduate level in the area of epitaxial growth (MOVPE/ MOCVD/ MBE).
Publication Date: 2019-10-07
Nanofiber Membranes for Medical Environmental and Energy Applications by Ahmad Fauzi Ismail (Editor); Nidal Hilal (Editor); Juhana Jaafar (Editor); Chris Wright (Editor)This book focuses on the nanofiber membrane's fabrication, characterization, and performance for medical, environment and energy applications. Topics include polymer, inorganic and composite-form nanofiber membrane materials. Top Research teams from varied disciplines and continents outline applied nanofiber membrane fabrication techniques and characterizations. Promising nanofiber membranes for improving and enhancing technologies used in drug delivery, wound healing, tissue engineering, water and wastewater treatment and purification, gas separation and purification, air purification, and fuel cells are discussed along with the likely path forward for commercial usage. Key Features: Shares the most recent discovery solutions from experts all over the globe for the numerous problems in medical, environmental and energy applications. Provides a holistic cycle of nanofiber membrane development which comprehensively discusses the membrane preparation, characterizations, performance and the way forward for a specific process and application. Explains the mechanism of separation and purification. Focuses on the nanofiber membrane's fabrication, characterizations, and performance in various scenarios and commercial applications.
Publication Date: 2019-08-08
Nanomaterials for Electrochemical Energy Storage Devices by Poulomo Roy; S. K. SrivastavaEnergy storage devices are considered to be an important field of interest for researchers worldwide. Batteries and supercapacitors are therefore extensively studied and progressively evolving. The book not only emphasizes the fundamental theories, electrochemical mechanism and its computational view point, but also discusses recent developments in electrode designing based on nanomaterials, separators, fabrication of advanced devices and their performances.
Publication Date: 2019-11-12
Networking Fundamentals by Crystal PanekA clear and concise resource on Windows networking, perfect for IT beginners Did you know that nearly 85% of IT support roles require a good understanding of networking concepts? If you are looking to advance your IT career, you will need a foundational understanding of Windows networking. Network Fundamentals covers everything you need to know about network infrastructures, hardware, protocols, and services. You will learn everything you need to gain the highly in-demand Networking Fundamentals MTA Certification. This entry-level credential could be your first step into a rewarding, stable and lucrative IT career. This new Sybex guide covers the basics of networking starting from the "ground level," so no previous IT knowledge is required. Each chapter features approachable discussion of the latest networking technologies and concepts, closing with a quiz so you can test your knowledge before moving to the next section. Even if you are brand new to computers, Network Fundamentals will guide you to confidence and mastery. Understand wired and wireless networks in every detail Learn everything you need to attain the Networking Fundamentals MTA Certification Test your knowledge with end-of-chapter quiz questions Understand internet protocol (IP) and categorize IPv4 addresses Work with networking services and area networks Define network infrastructures and network security, including intranets, extranets, and VPNs Beginning and established IT professionals looking to understand more about networking will gain the knowledge to create a network diagram and confidently explain basic networking concepts. Thanks to the features in this book, you will be able to apply your new networking skills in real world situations and feel confident when taking the certification test.
Publication Date: 2019-11-12
Nuclear Power by Darryl SiemerAs the world's energy sources continue to develop, with less reliance on traditional fossil fuels and more reliance on cleaner, more efficient, alternative energy sources, nuclear power continues to be a dividing point for many people. Some believe it is the answer to our energy problems for the future, while others warn of the risks. Written by a retired scientist who spent most of his career at the Idaho National Laboratory (INL), this book aims to delve into the issues surrounding nuclear power and dispel its myths, while building an argument for why the United States should develop a nuclear power plan for the future. As a "whistleblower," the author spent much of the last ten years of his career at the INL raising concerns about how its mission of serving as the Department of Energy's lead laboratory in radioactive waste management was not being properly managed. While the United States continues to tread water on the issue of nuclear energy, the author believes that a nuclear "renaissance" is not only possible but is necessary for meeting the world's growing demand for energy, especially clean energy. With fossil fuels slowly dying out and renewable energy sources not able to handle the demand for a continuously growing energy-consuming public, nuclear is an obvious solution. This book is a must-have for any engineer working in nuclear power, students hoping to go into that industry, and other engineers and scientists interested in the subject. This book is both "technical" and "political" because they're equally important in determining what actually happens in institutions dealing with technical problems.
Publication Date: 2019-10-08
Predictive Control by Yugeng Xi; Dewei LiThis book is a comprehensive introduction to model predictive control (MPC), including its basic principles and algorithms, system analysis and design methods, strategy developments and practical applications. The main contents of the book include an overview of the development trajectory and basic principles of MPC, typical MPC algorithms, quantitative analysis of classical MPC systems, design and tuning methods for MPC parameters, constrained multivariable MPC algorithms and online optimization decomposition methods. Readers will then progress to more advanced topics such as nonlinear MPC and its related algorithms, the diversification development of MPC with respect to control structures and optimization strategies, and robust MPC. Finally, applications of MPC and its generalization to optimization-based dynamic problems other than control will be discussed. Systematically introduces fundamental concepts, basic algorithms, and applications of MPC Includes a comprehensive overview of MPC development, emphasizing recent advances and modern approaches Features numerous MPC models and structures, based on rigorous research Based on the best-selling Chinese edition, which is a key text in China Predictive Control: Fundamentals and Developments is written for advanced undergraduate and graduate students and researchers specializing in control technologies. It is also a useful reference for industry professionals, engineers, and technicians specializing in advanced optimization control technology.
Publication Date: 2019-11-12
Recent Advances in Decolorization and Degradation of Dyes in Textile Effluent by Biological Approaches by Ram Lakhan Singh; Pradeep Kumar Singh; Rajat Pratap SinghRecent Advances in Decolorization and Degradation of Dyes in Textile Effluent by Biological Approachesoutlines various eco-friendly, cost effective methods for removal of toxic textile dyes. Large amounts of dye are unbound and released into the environment due to inefficient dyeing processes. The release of wastewater containing dye into the environment has several adverse effects as it is toxic, mutagenic and has other undesirable effects on living organisms. Hence, it is necessary to remove these dyes from industrial effluents to have a sustainable environment. This book deals with conventional as well as advanced effective treatment methods for the removal of dyes in order to increase the domain knowledge of readers. Salient features: Describes physico-chemical characteristics of textile effluent, dye classes and toxicity of dyes commonly used in the textile industry Assembles effective approaches which are used to remove dyes from textile effluent prior to their release into the environment Presents several advanced approaches such as genetic engineering, nanotechnology, immobilized cells or enzymes, biofilms and microbial fuel cells, etc. for the removal of dyes.
Publication Date: 2019-09-30
Reliability Engineering by Mangey RamOver the last 50 years, the theory and the methods of reliability analysis have developed significantly. Therefore, it is very important to the reliability specialist to be informed of each reliability measure. This book will provide historical developments, current advancements, applications, numerous examples, and many case studies to bring the reader up-to-date with the advancements in this area. It covers reliability engineering in different branches, includes applications to reliability engineering practice, provides numerous examples to illustrate the theoretical results, and offers case studies along with real-world examples. This book is useful to engineering students, research scientist, and practitioners working in the field of reliability.
Publication Date: 2019-10-28
Small-Scale Renewable Energy Systems by Sven Ruin; Göran SidénA revolution is ongoing in the field of small-scale energy solutions, which can enable lower impact on the environment, more robust supply and self-determination. Solar power and other forms of renewable energy sources, which you can implement to generate your own electricity, are growing quickly. Electromobility is transforming the car industry and transportation systems and can also play a role in your energy system. Electricity can be used much more efficiently than before, for example by using LED light, variable speed motor drives and efficient home appliances. Smart controls are available, sometimes with free open source software. All this opens up tremendous opportunities for energy independence, which is the focus of this book. The book introduces the reader to a number of renewable energy sources, to different options for storing electricity and to smart use of electricity, particularly in the context of small isolated systems. This is important because many renewable energy sources are weather- and season-dependent and usually require storage and smart control, in order to obtain a system that is completely independent of the electricity grid. In the book, overall system design is explained, including how to combine different sources in a hybrid system. Different system sizes and architectures are also covered. A number of real cases are described, where homes, businesses and communities have achieved a high level of energy independence or are on their way to achieving it. This book will prove useful in university education in renewable energy at bachelor and master level, and also for companies and private individuals, who want to start or expand activities in the area of renewable energy.
Publication Date: 2019-10-31
Tools for Acute Risk Decisions by CCPSThis book presents a guidance on a large range of decision aids for risk analysts and decision makers in industry so that vital decisions can be made in a more consistent, logical, and rigorous manner. It provide good industry practices on how risk decision making is conducted in the chemical industry from many risk information sources as well as all the elements that need to be addressed to ensure good decisions are being made. Topics Include: Identifying Risk Decisions, A Risk Decision Strategy for Process Safety, Case Studies in Risk Decision Making Failures, Guidance on Selecting Decision Aids, Templates for Decision Making in Risk-Based Process Safety, Understanding Process Hazards & Worst Possible Consequences, Management of Change as an Exercise in Risk Identification, Inherently Safer Design as an Exercise in Risk Tradeoff Analysis, Using LOPA and Risk Matrices in Risk Decisions, Using CPQRA and Safety Risk Criteria in Risk Decisions, Group Decision Making, Avoiding Decision Traps, Documentation of Process Safety Risk Decisions
Publication Date: 2019-11-19
Treatment of Industrial Effluents by Mihir Kumar Purkait; Piyal Mondal; Chang-Tang ChangTo address the issue of discharge of untreated industrial effluent in the water body causing pollution, adoption of cleaner production technologies and waste minimization initiatives are being encouraged. The book explains each related technology elaborately and critically analyses the same from practical application point of view. In-depth characterization, environmental and health effects and treatment of various industrial effluents are discussed with case studies. Limitations, challenges and remedial actions to be taken are included at the end of each chapter. Chapters are arranged as per specific type of effluents from various industries like textile, tannery/leather plant, and oil refinery.
Publication Date: 2019-09-27
Extending Structures by Ana Agore; Gigel MilitaruExtending Structures: Fundamentals and Applications treats the extending structures (ES) problem in the context of groups, Lie/Leibniz algebras, associative algebras and Poisson/Jacobi algebras. This concisely written monograph offers the reader an incursion into the extending structures problem which provides a common ground for studying both the extension problem and the factorization problem. Features Provides a unified approach to the extension problem and the factorization problem Introduces the classifying complements problem as a sort of converse of the factorization problem; and in the case of groups it leads to a theoretical formula for computing the number of types of isomorphisms of all groups of finite order that arise from a minimal set of data Describes a way of classifying a certain class of finite Lie/Leibniz/Poisson/Jacobi/associative algebras etc. using flag structures Introduces new (non)abelian cohomological objects for all of the aforementioned categories As an application to the approach used for dealing with the classification part of the ES problem, the Galois groups associated with extensions of Lie algebras and associative algebras are described
Publication Date: 2019-08-27
Advanced Statistics with Applications in R by Eugene DemidenkoAdvanced Statistics with Applications in R fills the gap between several excellent theoretical statistics textbooks and many applied statistics books where teaching reduces to using existing packages. This book looks at what is under the hood. Many statistics issues including the recent crisis with p-value are caused by misunderstanding of statistical concepts due to poor theoretical background of practitioners and applied statisticians. This book is the product of a forty-year experience in teaching of probability and statistics and their applications for solving real-life problems. There are more than 442 examples in the book: basically every probability or statistics concept is illustrated with an example accompanied with an R code. Many examples, such as Who said π? What team is better? The fall of the Roman empire, James Bond chase problem, Black Friday shopping, Free fall equation: Aristotle or Galilei, and many others are intriguing. These examples cover biostatistics, finance, physics and engineering, text and image analysis, epidemiology, spatial statistics, sociology, etc. Advanced Statistics with Applications in R teaches students to use theory for solving real-life problems through computations: there are about 500 R codes and 100 datasets. These data can be freely downloaded from the author's website dartmouth.edu/~eugened. This book is suitable as a text for senior undergraduate students with major in statistics or data science or graduate students. Many researchers who apply statistics on the regular basis find explanation of many fundamental concepts from the theoretical perspective illustrated by concrete real-world applications.