Advanced Steel Design of Structures by Srinivasan ChandrasekaranAdvanced Steel Design of Structures examines the design principles of steel members under special loads and covers special geometric forms and conditions not typically presented in standard design books. It explains advanced concepts in a simple manner using numerous illustrative examples and MATLAB® codes. Features: Provides analysis of members under unsymmetrical bending Includes coverage of structures with special geometry and their use in offshore applications for ultra-deep water oil and gas exploration Presents numerical modeling and analysis of steel members under fire conditions, impact, and blast loads Includes MATLAB® examples that will aid in the capacity building of civil engineering students approaching this complex subject Written for a broad audience, the presentation of design concepts of steel members will be suitable for upper-level undergraduate students. The advanced design theories for offshore structures under special loads will be an attractive feature for post-graduate students and researchers. Practicing engineers will also find the book useful, as it includes numerous solved examples and practical tutorials.
Publication Date: 2019-10-31
Chemical Reactor Design by Juan A. ConesaA guide to the technical and calculation problems of chemical reactor analysis, scale-up, catalytic and biochemical reactor design Chemical Reactor Design offers a guide to the myriad aspects of reactor design including the use of numerical methods for solving engineering problems. The author - a noted expert on the topic - explores the use of transfer functions to study residence time distributions, convolution and deconvolution curves for reactor characterization, forced-unsteady-state-operation, scale-up of chemical reactors, industrial catalysis, design of multiphasic reactors, biochemical reactors design, as well as the design of multiphase gas-liquid-solid reactors. Chemical Reactor Design contains several examples of calculations and it gives special emphasis on the numerical solutions of differential equations by using the finite differences approximation, which offers the background information for understanding other more complex methods. The book is designed for the chemical engineering academic community and includes case studies on mathematical modeling by using of MatLab software. This important book: - Offers an up-to-date insight into the most important developments in the field of chemical, catalytic, and biochemical reactor engineering - Contains new aspects such as the use of numerical methods for solving engineering problems, transfer functions to study residence time distributions, and more - Includes illustrative case studies on MatLab approach, with emphasis on numerical solution of differential equations using the finite differences approximation Written for chemical engineers, mechanical engineers, chemists in industry, complex chemists, bioengineers, and process engineers, Chemical Reactor Design addresses the technical and calculation problems of chemical reactor analysis, scale-up, as well as catalytic and biochemical reactor design.
Publication Date: 2019-12-04
Complexity Challenges in Cyber Physical Systems by Andreas Tolk; Saurabh MittalOffers a one-stop reference on the application of advanced modeling and simulation (M&S) in cyber physical systems (CPS) engineering This book provides the state-of-the-art in methods and technologies that aim to elaborate on the modeling and simulation support to cyber physical systems (CPS) engineering across many sectors such as healthcare, smart grid, or smart home. It presents a compilation of simulation-based methods, technologies, and approaches that encourage the reader to incorporate simulation technologies in their CPS engineering endeavors, supporting management of complexity challenges in such endeavors. Complexity Challenges in Cyber Physical Systems: Using Modeling and Simulation (M&S) to Support Intelligence, Adaptation and Autonomy is laid out in four sections. The first section provides an overview of complexities associated with the application of M&S to CPS Engineering. It discusses M&S in the context of autonomous systems involvement within the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO). The second section provides a more detailed description of the challenges in applying modeling to the operation, risk and design of holistic CPS. The third section delves in details of simulation support to CPS engineering followed by the engineering practices to incorporate the cyber element to build resilient CPS sociotechnical systems. Finally, the fourth section presents a research agenda for handling complexity in application of M&S for CPS engineering. In addition, this text: Introduces a unifying framework for hierarchical co-simulations of cyber physical systems (CPS) Provides understanding of the cycle of macro-level behavior dynamically arising from spaciotemporal interactions between parts at the micro-level Describes a simulation platform for characterizing resilience of CPS Complexity Challenges in Cyber Physical Systems has been written for researchers, practitioners, lecturers, and graduate students in computer engineering who want to learn all about M&S support to addressing complexity in CPS and its applications in today's and tomorrow's world.
Gas-Phase Pyrolysis Reactions by Nouria A. Al-Awadi; Osman M. E. El-DusouquiOffers a physical organic chemistry and mechanistic perspective of the chemistry of thermal processes in the gas phase The book looks at all aspects of the chemical processing technique called gas-phase pyrolysis, including its methodology and reactors, synthesis, reaction mechanisms, structure, kinetics, and applications. It discusses combinations of pyrolytic reactors with physiochemical techniques, routes for and reactions for the synthesis of organic compounds, and the control of reaction rates. Gas-Phase Pyrolytic Reactions: Synthesis, Mechanisms, and Kinetics starts with in-depth chapter coverage of static pyrolysis, dynamic flow pyrolysis, and analytical pyrolysis. It then examines synthesis and applications, including flash vacuum pyrolysis in organic synthesis, elimination of HX, elimination of CO and CO2, pyrolysis of Meldrum's acid derivatives, and elimination of N2. A chapter on reaction mechanism comes next and includes coverage of retero-ene reaction and reactive intermediates. Following that are sections covering: structure/reactivity correlation, functional group & structural frame interconversions; gas-phase pyrolysis of hydrazones and phosphorus Ylides; and more. Deals with a growing area of chemistry and engineering interest that fits under the practices of green and sustainable chemistry Addresses several important aspects: methodology and reactors, synthesis, reaction mechanisms, structure, kinetics, and applications Reviews general methods of pyrolysis techniques Sets out the fundamentals and advantages of gas-phase pyrolysis in a way that illustrates its wide potential applications Gas-Phase Pyrolytic Reactions: Synthesis, Mechanisms, and Kinetics will appeal to organic chemists, physical organic chemists, chemical engineers and anyone interested in green/sustainable chemistry, chemical synthesis, or process chemistry.
Publication Date: 2019-12-05
Handbook of Materials Selection for Engineering Applications by George Murray (Editor)Reflecting the rapid advances in new materials development, this work offers up-to-date information on the properties and applications of various classes of metals, polymers, ceramics and composites. It aims to simplify the materials selection process and show how to lower materials and manufacturing costs, drawing on such sources as vendor supplied and quality control test data.
Publication Date: 2019-06-19
Handbook of Railway Vehicle Dynamics Second Edition by Simon Iwnicki (Editor); Maksym Spiryagin (Editor); Colin Cole (Editor); Tim McSweeney (Editor)Handbook of Railway Vehicle Dynamics, Second Edition, provides expanded, fully updated coverage of railway vehicle dynamics. With chapters by international experts, this work surveys the main areas of rolling stock and locomotive dynamics. Through mathematical analysis and numerous practical examples, it builds a deep understanding of the wheel-rail interface, suspension and suspension component design, simulation and testing of electrical and mechanical systems, and interaction with the surrounding infrastructure, and noise and vibration. Topics added in the Second Edition include magnetic levitation, rail vehicle aerodynamics, and advances in traction and braking for full trains and individual vehicles.
Publication Date: 2019-12-05
Methods of Mathematical Modelling by Harendra Singh (Editor); Devendra Kumar (Editor); Dumitru Baleanu (Editor)This book features original research articles on the topic of mathematical modelling and fractional differential equations. The contributions, written by leading researchers in the field, consist of chapters on classical and modern dynamical systems modelled by fractional differential equations in physics, engineering, signal processing, fluid mechanics, and bioengineering, manufacturing, systems engineering, and project management. The book offers theory and practical applications for the solutions of real-life problems and will be of interest to graduate level students, educators, researchers, and scientists interested in mathematical modelling and its diverse applications. Features Presents several recent developments in the theory and applications of fractional calculus Includes chapters on different analytical and numerical methods dedicated to several mathematical equations Develops methods for the mathematical models which are governed by fractional differential equations Provides methods for models in physics, engineering, signal processing, fluid mechanics, and bioengineering Discusses real-world problems, theory, and applications
Publication Date: 2019-09-30
Nanomaterials-Based Composites for Energy Applications by Keka Talukdar (Editor)This volume, Nanomaterials-Based Composites for Energy Applications: Emerging Technology and Trends, covers the importance of nanomaterials-based composites for renewable and alternative energy applications. Taking a multidisciplinary approach, it looks at using composites without losing the extraordinary strength of the nanomaterials, preparing new composites with high dielectric permittivity, improving load-carrying capacity, and more. Simulation and experimental work is included, providing a current view of the research that is going on in laboratories all over the world. The book will be a rich reference for professors and instructors, professionals, researchers, and engineering students interested in applying the emerging field of nanoscience and nanotechnology to energy applications.