BIM for Design Coordination by Fernanda L. LeiteA tactical guide to successful Virtual Design and Construction project coordination, featuring case studies from leading VDC firms. Virtual Design Coordination (VDC) employs information-rich Building Information Modeling (BIM) to enable specialty designers and contractors to create a single, coordinated set of designs that can prevent cost overruns, avoid schedule delays, and identify issues in the field. Although BIM-based design coordination is widely used in the commercial construction industry, there remains a need for a standardized practice. BIM for Design Coordination formalizes industry best practices and provides structured guidelines to the process. Helping readers gain the benefits of BIM-based design coordination, this practical guide covers areas such as setting up a project for success, model quality impacts on design coordination, carrying out a successful VDC session, and more. Specific guidelines for various project stakeholders are laid out in detail, while real-world examples of project design coordination workflows and templates for BIM Project Execution Plans (PxPs) are provided throughout the text. Written by a leading expert and educator in the field, this book: Provides a formal set of BIM-based design coordination guidelines that emphasize construction-stage coordination Features real-life case studies that illustrate how leading firms approach design coordination Covers BIM-based design coordination in other industries, such as infrastructure and industrial sectors Presents guidelines for all project stakeholders, including subcontractors, architects, engineers, fabricators, and owners Includes chapters on teaching BIM-based design coordination and the future of the field BIM for Design Coordination: A Virtual Design and Construction Guide for Designers, General Contractors, and MEP Subcontractors is a much-needed resource for general contractors and members of VDC teams, as well as academics, students, and professionals new to BIM-based design coordination.
Publication Date: 2019-11-26
Building Enterprise Iot Applications by Chandrasekar VuppalapatiMcKinsey Global Institute predicts Internet of Things (IoT) could generate up to $11.1 trillion a year in economic value by 2025. Gartner Research Company expects 20 billion inter-connected devices by 2020 and, as per Gartner, the IoT will have a significant impact on the economy by transforming many enterprises into digital businesses and facilitating new business models, improving efficiency and increasing employee and customer engagement. It's clear from above and our research that the IoT is a game changer and will have huge positive impact in foreseeable future. In order to harvest the benefits of IoT revolution, the traditional software development paradigms must be fully upgraded. The mission of our book, is to prepare current and future software engineering teams with the skills and tools to fully utilize IoT capabilities. The book introduces essential IoT concepts from the perspectives of full-scale software development with the emphasis on creating niche blue ocean products. It also: Outlines a fundamental full stack architecture for IoT Describes various development technologies in each IoT layer Explains IoT solution development from Product management perspective Extensively covers security and applicable threat models as part of IoT stack The book provides details of several IoT reference architectures with emphasis on data integration, edge analytics, cluster architectures and closed loop responses.
Publication Date: 2019-12-04
Electronic Circuits with MATLAB, PSpice, and Smith Chart by Won Y. Yang; Suhyun Park; Donghyun Baek; Jaekwon Kim; Jingon Joung; Sungjoon Lim; Han L. Lee; Woo June Choi; Taeho Im; Kyung W. ParkProvides practical examples of circuit design and analysis using PSpice, MATLAB, and the Smith Chart This book presents the three technologies used to deal with electronic circuits: MATLAB, PSpice, and Smith chart. It gives students, researchers, and practicing engineers the necessary design and modelling tools for validating electronic design concepts involving bipolar junction transistors (BJTs), field-effect transistors (FET), OP Amp circuits, and analog filters. Electronic Circuits with MATLAB®, PSpice®, and Smith Chart presents analytical solutions with the results of MATLAB analysis and PSpice simulation. This gives the reader information about the state of the art and confidence in the legitimacy of the solution, as long as the solutions obtained by using the two software tools agree with each other. For representative examples of impedance matching and filter design, the solution using MATLAB and Smith chart (Smith V4.1) are presented for comparison and crosscheck. This approach is expected to give the reader confidence in, and a deeper understanding of, the solution. In addition, this text: Increases the reader's understanding of the underlying processes and related equations for the design and analysis of circuits Provides a stepping stone to RF (radio frequency) circuit design by demonstrating how MATLAB can be used for the design and implementation of microstrip filters Features two chapters dedicated to the application of Smith charts and two-port network theory Electronic Circuits with MATLAB®, PSpice®, and Smith Chart will be of great benefit to practicing engineers and graduate students interested in circuit theory and RF circuits.
Publication Date: 2020-01-15
Interfacial Engineering in Functional Materials for Dye-Sensitized Solar Cells by Alagarsamy Pandikumar; Kandasamy JothivenkatachalamOffers an Interdisciplinary approach to the engineering of functional materials for efficient solar cell technology Written by a collection of experts in the field of solar cell technology, this book focuses on the engineering of a variety of functional materials for improving photoanode efficiency of dye-sensitized solar cells (DSSC). The first two chapters describe operation principles of DSSC, charge transfer dynamics, as well as challenges and solutions for improving DSSCs. The remaining chapters focus on interfacial engineering of functional materials at the photoanode surface to create greater output efficiency. Interfacial Engineering in Functional Materials for Dye-Sensitized Solar Cells begins by introducing readers to the history, configuration, components, and working principles of DSSC It then goes on to cover both nanoarchitectures and light scattering materials as photoanode. Function of compact (blocking) layer in the photoanode and of TiCl4 post-treatment in the photoanode are examined at next. Next two chapters look at photoanode function of doped semiconductors and binary semiconductor metal oxides. Other chapters consider nanocomposites, namely, plasmonic nanocomposites, carbon nanotube based nanocomposites, graphene based nanocomposites, and graphite carbon nitride based nanocompositesas photoanodes. The book: Provides comprehensive coverage of the fundamentals through the applications of DSSC Encompasses topics on various functional materials for DSSC technology Focuses on the novel design and application of materials in DSSC, to develop more efficient renewable energy sources Is useful for material scientists, engineers, physicists, and chemists interested in functional materials for the design of efficient solar cells Interfacial Engineering in Functional Materials for Dye-Sensitized Solar Cells will be of great benefit to graduate students, researchers and engineers, who work in the multi-disciplinary areas of material science, engineering, physics, and chemistry.
Publication Date: 2019-12-12
Introduction to the Variational Formulation in Mechanics by Pablo J. Blanco; Edgardo O. Taroco; Raúl A. FeijóoIntroduces readers to the fundamentals and applications of variational formulations in mechanics Nearly 40 years in the making, this book provides students with the foundation material of mechanics using a variational tapestry. It is centered around the variational structure underlying the Method of Virtual Power (MVP). The variational approach to the modeling of physical systems is the preferred approach to address complex mathematical modeling of both continuum and discrete media. This book provides a unified theoretical framework for the construction of a wide range of multiscale models. Introduction to the Variational Formulation in Mechanics: Fundamentals and Applications enables readers to develop, on top of solid mathematical (variational) bases, and following clear and precise systematic steps, several models of physical systems, including problems involving multiple scales. It covers: Vector and Tensor Algebra; Vector and Tensor Analysis; Mechanics of Continua; Hyperelastic Materials; Materials Exhibiting Creep; Materials Exhibiting Plasticity; Bending of Beams; Torsion of Bars; Plates and Shells; Heat Transfer; Incompressible Fluid Flow; Multiscale Modeling; and more. A self-contained reader-friendly approach to the variational formulation in the mechanics Examines development of advanced variational formulations in different areas within the field of mechanics using rather simple arguments and explanations Illustrates application of the variational modeling to address hot topics such as the multiscale modeling of complex material behavior Presentation of the Method of Virtual Power as a systematic tool to construct mathematical models of physical systems gives readers a fundamental asset towards the architecture of even more complex (or open) problems Introduction to the Variational Formulation in Mechanics: Fundamentals and Applications is a ideal book for advanced courses in engineering and mathematics, and an excellent resource for researchers in engineering, computational modeling, and scientific computing.
Publication Date: 2020-02-25
Microwave Integrated Circuit Components Design Through Matlab by S. RaghavanMICROWAVE INTEGRATED CIRCUIT COMPONENTS DESIGN THROUGH MATLAB® This book teaches the student community microwave integrated circuit component design through MATLAB®, helping the reader to become conversant in using codes and, thereafter, commercial software for verification purposes only. Microwave circuit theory and its comparisons, transmission line networks, S-parameters, ABCD parameters, basic design parameters of planar transmission lines (striplines, microstrips, slot lines, coplanar waveguides, finlines), filter theory, Smith chart, inverted Smith chart, stability circles, noise figure circles and microwave components, are thoroughly explained in the book. The chapters are planned in such a way that readers get a thorough understanding to ensure expertise in design. Aimed at senior undergraduates, graduates and researchers in electrical engineering, electromagnetics, microwave circuit design and communications engineering, this book: * Explains basic tools for design and analysis of microwave circuits such as the Smith chart and network parameters * Gives the advantage of realizing the output without wiring the circuit by simulating through MATLAB code * Compares distributed theory with network theory * Includes microwave components, filters and amplifiers S. Raghavan was a Senior Professor (HAG) in the Department of Electronics and Communication Engineering, National Institute of Technology (NIT), Trichy, India and has 39 years of teaching and research experience at the Institute. His interests include: microwave integrated circuits, RF MEMS, Bio MEMS, metamaterial, frequency selective surfaces (FSS), substrate integrated waveguides (SIW), biomedical engineering and microwave engineering. He has established state-of-the-art MICs and microwave research laboratories at NIT, Trichy with funding from the Indian government. He is a Fellow/Senior Member in more than 24 professional societies including: IEEE (MTT, EMBS, APS), IETE, IEI, CSI, TSI, ISSS, ILA and ISOI. He is twice a recipient of the Best Teacher Award, and has received the Life Time Achievement Award, Distinguished Professor of Microwave Integrated Circuit Award and Best Researcher Award.
Publication Date: 2019-11-21
Remanufacturing in the Circular Economy by Nabil Nasr (Editor)Economic growth and rising levels of consumption in developing and developed countries has been observed as being deeply coupled with natural resource usage and material consumption. The increasing need for natural resources has raised concerns regarding issues such as resource scarcity, undesirable environmental impacts due to material extraction, primary production, and suboptimal product disposal, and social or political tensions. Product End-of-Life (EoL) options, such as reusing or recycling, attempt to limit or reduce the amount of waste sent to a landfill, providing strategic means to decouple the link between economic growth and resource usage. These EoL options have the potential to close material loops, further utilizing wastes as resources, reducing environmental impacts, conserving natural resources, reducing material prices, and providing job opportunities in developing countries. Remanufacturing, on the other hand, is a unique EoL option due to increasing the number of life cycles of a product before final disposal. First, recurring environmental benefits, such as emission and raw material extraction avoidance are obtained with each additional product life cycle. Second, individual resource efficiency yields increase through product remanufacture. Resource efficiency or, using more with less will continue to compound with each additional life cycle. Third, recirculating products decreases the demand and dependency for primary resource production, further closing the material loop and creating a more circular economy. In addition, remanufacturing can initiate more preferable EoL options such as recovery, recycling, and waste reduction. While remanufacturing offers numerous benefits, there is significant lack of literature and books covering the fundamentals of operations, technologies and business models. The proposed book will provide in-depth coverage of remanufacturing fundamentals and its strong link to circular economy and resource efficiency.
Publication Date: 2019-11-12
Risk Evaluation and Climate Change Adaptation of Civil Engineering Infrastructures and Buildings: Project RI-ADAPTCLIM by KotronisThis book brings together a selection of the scientific results of the RI ADAPTCLIM project (International Network on Risk Assessment and Climatic Adaptation of Civil Engineering and Buildings Works). Funded by the Pays de la Loire region in France as part of the 2014 Stratégie Internationale call for projects, research teams from the scientific group LiRGeC (ECN, UN, IFSTTAR, CSTB) and several international partners contributed their human, experimental and digital resources.RI-ADAPTCLIM was established to study the short- and medium term effects of climatic conditions on buildings, infrastructures and the ground. Following an integrated, interdisciplinary and multi-physics approach, the researchers proposed decision support tools that would increase the resilience of structures and buildings against the impact of hazards due to climate change.
Publication Date: 2019-12-12
Static Conceptual Fracture Modeling by Ronald A. NelsonModelling of flow in naturally fractured reservoirs is quickly becoming mandatory in all phases of oil and gas exploration and production. Creation of a Static Conceptual Fracture Model (SCFM) is needed as input to create flow simulations for today and for prediction of flow into the future. Unfortunately, the computer modelers tasked with constructing the gridded fracture model are often not well versed in natural fracture characterization and are often forced to make quick decisions as to the input required by the software used to create these models. Static Conceptual Fracture Modelling: Preparing for Simulation and Development describes all the fracture and reservoir parameters needed to create the fracture database for effective modelling and how to generate the data and parameter distributions. The material covered in this volume highlights not only natural fracture system quantification and formatting, but also describes best practices for managing technical teams charged with creating the SCFM. This book will become a must on the shelf for all reservoir modelers.
Publication Date: 2019-11-25
Vehicle Scanning Method for Bridges by Bin Zhang; Yuntian Wu; Judy P. Yang; Yeong-Bin YangPresents the first ever guide for vehicle scanning of the dynamic properties of bridges Written by the leading author on the subject of vehicle scanning method (VSM) for bridges, this book allows engineers to monitor every bridge of concern on a regular and routine basis, for the purpose of maintenance and damage detection. It includes a review of the existing literature on the topic and presents the basic concept of extracting bridge frequencies from a moving test vehicle fitted with vibration sensors. How road surface roughness affects the vehicle scanning method is considered and a finite element simulation is conducted to demonstrate how surface roughness affects the vehicle response. Case studies and experimental results are also included. Vehicle Scanning Method for Bridges covers an enhanced technique for extracting higher bridge frequencies. It examines the effect of road roughness on extraction of bridge frequencies, and looks at a dual vehicle technique for suppressing the effect of road roughness. A filtering technique for eliminating the effect of road roughness is also presented. In addition, the book covers the identification of bridge mode shapes, contact-point response for modal identification of bridges, and damage detection of bridges--all through the use of a moving test vehicle. The first book on vehicle scanning of the dynamic properties of bridges Written by the leading author on the subject Includes a state-of-the-art review of the existing works on the vehicle scanning method (VSM) Presents the basic concepts for extracting bridge frequencies from a moving test vehicle fitted with vibration sensors Includes case studies and experimental results The first book to fully cover scanning the dynamic properties of bridges with a vehicle, Vehicle Scanning Method for Bridges is an excellent resource for researchers and engineers working in civil engineering, including bridge engineering and structural health monitoring.