Skip to main content
UC Logo
Libraries | Ask the Libraries

ENED1100 and 1120: Foundations of Engineering Design Thinking Research Guide

The library and research guide for engineering foundation courses

Starting from day one, we are going to build research skills. This guide helps you learn the essential skills to:

♦ Locate relevant information and data from the UC Libraries, online and onsite

Seek and evaluate online information outside the libraries

Follow the engineering discipline approved citation style to organize and document all your references

 Be a confident researcher and avoid plagiarism

Tutorials

Please watch all of the following videos and use the skills in all your future projects.

1. CEAS Library Overview

New to the CEAS Library? This short video tells you everything essential about using the library, onsite and online.

2. What does it mean to be a scholarly source?  [UMN Libraries]​

Learn the differences between a scholarly source and a popular source. 

3. Get started with Compendex

Compendex provides abstracts and full bibliographic citations for worldwide engineering and technical literature and encompasses all engineering disciplines¸ as well as related fields in science and management. To access, go to the CEAS Library website and click on the "Compendex" link under "Popular Tools" at the bottom of the page.

4. Basic search in IEEE Xplore Digital Library

This database provides full-text access to IEEE transactions¸ IEEE and IEE journals¸ magazines¸ and conference proceedings published since 1988¸ and all current IEEE standards. To access, go to the CEAS Library website and click on the "IEEE Xplore" link under "Popular Tools" at the bottom of the page.

5. How to find scholarly articles in Google Scholar?

6. How to find data and technical references in Knovel 

It's a popular database to access engineering data and technical references. You can also access the quick start guide.

Are the videos above helpful?
Very helpful: 6 votes (1.62%)
Helpful: 0 votes (0%)
Neutural: 2 votes (0.54%)
Less helpful: 0 votes (0%)
Not helpful: 362 votes (97.84%)
Total Votes: 370

Library Services

Due to the COVID-19, we have changed some services at the library. Check the CEAS Library website for the latest update.

University of Cincinnati Libraries

PO Box 210033 Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033

Phone: 513-556-1424

Contact Us | Staff Directory

University of Cincinnati

Alerts | Clery and HEOA Notice | Notice of Non-Discrimination | eAccessibility Concern | Privacy Statement | Copyright Information

© 2019 University of Cincinnati