The Center, the only location in North America with small test green roofs on replicated buildings, characterizes and quantifies the performance of green roofs and promotes their discoveries through education and outreach.
MSU's overall objective is to advance knowledge by providing scientific evidence regarding the performance of green roofs and to promote their use. Research topics include: carbon sequestration; energy conservation and microclimate moderation; plant evaluations; plant moisture requirements, drought tolerance and irrigation; pollution; public awareness and acceptance; stormwater management; growing substrates; urban agriculture; and wildlife habitat relationships and biodiversity.
"In 1999, Green Roofs for Healthy Cities, a small network consisting of public and private organizations, was founded as a direct result of a research project on the benefits of green roofs and barriers to industry development entitled "Greenbacks from Green Roofs" prepared by Steven Peck, Monica Kuhn, Dr. Brad Bass and Chris Callaghan. Green Roofs for Healthy Cities - North America Inc. is now a rapidly growing not-for-profit industry association working to promote the industry throughout North America . . . "
Combination of American Nursery & Landscape Association and OFA – The Association of Horticulture Professionals. They provide opportunities for membership, awards and scholarships. They also provide professionals with growing information, pest management, and regulatory issues.
Perennial Plant Association, headquartered in Hilliard, Ohio, is a trade association composed of growers, retailers, landscape designers and contractors, educators, and others that are professionally involved in the herbaceous perennial industry.
Buckeye Yard and Garden onLine provides timely information about Ohio growing conditions, pest, disease, and cultural problems. Updated weekly between April and October, this information is useful for those who are managing a commercial nursery, garden center, or landscape business or someone who just wants to keep their yard looking good all summer.
Web search for information from every “land grant” university in the US.
Info about college degree programs, scholarships, career information, and online courses. Images in Plant Facts include photographs of insects and diseases as well as turf related images. In addition to images there are 200 how-to video such as “Winterizing Roses” and Propagating Plants Part I & II. A searchable archive of questions posed to OSU experts is located under the FAQ’s link.
Web Soil Survey (WSS) provides soil data and information produced by the National Cooperative Soil Survey. It is operated by the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) and provides access to the largest natural resource information system in the world. NRCS has soil maps and data available online for more than 95 percent of the nation’s counties and anticipates having 100 percent in the near future. The site is updated and maintained online as the single authoritative source of soil survey information.
Cincinnati Zoo and Botanical Gardens: Plants in the Greater Cincinnati Area.The National Virtual Arboretum and Regional Ornamental Plant Database is a collaborative effort of numerous regional and national horticulture professionals and organizations. Plants on this database have been selected for their excellent performance and years of service. Promoting diversity in the landscape gives gardeners, landscapers and plant propagators / nurserymen the opportunity to expand with a wider variety and selection of outstanding plants and helps to alleviate monotonous monocultures both aesthetically and disease-wise.
Sponsored by the International Society of Arboriculture this site offers information on caring for trees. Topics include: “what your tree needs and why,” “before tree buying and planting,” “proper tree care techniques,” “pruning your trees, and “tree hazards and treatments.” Sections such as “buying high quality trees and useful diagrams which show what to look for when buying container-grown stock, root- balled stock, or bare-root stock.
University of Connecticut plant database. Browse by Latin or common plant names or search for plants by attributes such as flower or fall color, sun exposure, or foliage characteristics. Also search for a plant’s tolerance to deer, drought, urban conditions and more.