Skip to Main Content
UC Logo
Libraries | Ask the Libraries

Materials Sci & Engineering Graduate Seminar

Welcome!

Science and Engineering Libraries staff and faculty

CEAS Librarian

Profile Photo
Mark Chalmers
Contact:
850L Baldwin Hall
PO Box 210018
Cincinnati, OH 45221-0018
(513) 556-1452

Accessing Library Resources

How to Access Library ResourcesClick the link to a library resource. You may be prompted to log in with your UC username and password. You may have to complete Duo Two-Factor Authentication as well.

These prompts can occur both on and off campus.

Library Resources Access Information Link


Additional Information and Resources for Accessing Library Resources

General Information

 

Research Guide -- Materials Science & Engineering

Finding Dissertations and Theses

Look at theses/dissertations at UC and worldwide

Search Tips

Start with a keyword search, then refine by subject or other facets later. 

Building a search query:

  • Create a search set of synonyms (use "OR" operator) for a concept
  • Combine search sets for concepts with "AND" operator
  • use quote marks " " to identify a phrase
  • Use truncation and wild cards to expand based on a word stem (e.g., nano* )
  • More info and general examples: https://libguides.ucmerced.edu/wri10_miller/boolean

Narrow your results:

  • Examine search result record to see what subjects have been assigned (if any) to the record. Subjects can be combined with keywords to focus search, or searched individually to find items that are primarily about the topic.
  • Use refine or limit features such as date, material type (e.g., review article), treatment (in Compendex - theoretical, applied, etc).

Citation searching

  • Expand to related articles with shared citations (Scopus database allows for this)
  • Use citation sorting and browsing features, including sorting by # of times cited (Scopus, SciFinder, etc)

Where to Look

General Engineering Databases

Specialized Databases

For patent searching, see our Guide on Patents 

  • Recommend Derwent Innovations Index for patent searching.  Use other databases (USPTO, Espacenet) to obtain the full patent

Specialized databases:

Note: A few resources are only available on CD-ROM station #1 inside CEAS Library -- (e.g., ACerS-NIST Phase Equilibria Diagrams, SciGlass, Powder Diffraction File)

Other Resources

Tools for locating full-text

  • When searching in an article database, find the "UC Article Linker" icon Article Linker icon ("Find Full Text" in Google Scholar)
    • From Article Linker, check if your desired volume/issue is available online.  Otherwise, search for a print copy in the Library Catalog.
    • If not online or in print, submit an Interlibrary Loan (also called ILLiad) request.  ILLiad will automatically populate the request form with the journal article information. 
      • NOTE: First time ILLiad users will be prompted to fill in a profile. The "M number" is on your UC ID card in the upper left corner.  Enter the M number so it looks like this: M12345678.
  • Use Full Text Journals to search for full-text sources by journal title.
  • Search by journal title in the Library Catalog.

Configure Google Scholar for UC Libraries access

Enable Google Scholar to identify UC-licensed full-text of journal articles.  Access appears as a "Find Full-Text at UC" link.

  1. Go to Google Scholar
  2. Sign in to your Google account (or create one if needed)
  3. Click the icon in the upper left and select “Settings”
  4. Click on “Library Links”
  5. Search for "University of Cincinnati” and add.
  6. Check the box next to "The University of Cincinnati – Find Full-Text at UC” and click “Save”

LibKey Nomad - Browser Plug-In for Full-Text

Download Nomad at www.libkeynomad.com.  Available for Firefox, Chrome, Edge, Vivaldi and Brave browsers. After download, enter University of Cincinnati as your institution.  More details: thirdiron.com/products/libkey-nomad/.

When you reach available full-text, a blue & green "Download PDF” prompt appears in the lower left.  NOTE: You need to be on the article’s page (vs. database search results page) to trigger this prompt.  See this example from an International Journal of Science Education article - https://www.tandfonline.com/doi/full/10.1080/09500693.2018.1540897 .

Libkey Nomad graphic

 

 

 

 

Click the "Download PDF" prompt.  You may be asked to enter your UC Central Login.  Nomad will locate and download a PDF of the article for you or direct you to other options.

Presenting Your Work

Research Data & GIS Services

Contact: Amy Koshoffer, Assistant Director, Research & Data Services: amy.koshoffer@uc.edu

Other tools and services for researchers

  • Data & GIS Collab (GMP Library), 240 Braunstein Hall - large dual monitors, collaboration space, consulting on data and geospatial analysis
  • Visualization Laboratory (GMP Library), 240 Braunstein Hall - large wall for collaboration & multi-input projection, consultation on data visualization
  • Contact AskData@uc.edu for data, informatics, GIS project consultation, reserving lab space
  • OneDrive - (access through Office 365 - https://mail.uc.edu) (storage and backup - more info), Scholar@UC (data archiving, DOI/permanent URL)

Fun stuff

UC Libraries access to some popular newspapers (including current day):

Music & Theater/Opera Video and Audio (with thanks to CCM's college library)

Cincinnati Public Library

University of Cincinnati Libraries

PO Box 210033 Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033

Phone: 513-556-1424

Contact Us | Staff Directory

University of Cincinnati

Alerts | Clery and HEOA Notice | Notice of Non-Discrimination | eAccessibility Concern | Privacy Statement | Copyright Information

© 2019 University of Cincinnati