Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UC Logo
Libraries | Ask the Libraries

Study Abroad: Library Resources

Still a lot to learn about your country?

Now that you are at your destination, you may want to learn more about the country history, social conventions, places to see, and other things. You may also need quick reference tools, such as currency, temperature, and other converters. The library has all the answers for you!

Language resources and tips

Libraries in other countries

Library cultures and access policies differ greatly around the world. Many libraries, including many of the major libraries of Europe, are closed stack (that is, you won't be able to browse the books on the shelves). They can also have very limited hours of operation compared to academic libraries in the United States so you may need to plan your research time carefully.

Access UC Libraries' resources anywhere anytime

Most of the Library's online resources are available to you from wherever you are. Remember to login for off-campus access so you'll be recognized as a member of the UCl community.

There are 2 methods for off-campus access:

  • UC VPN (preferred method) creates a tunnel from your computer to the UC network. It provides for a seamless experience. Critical for accessing e-books and streaming videos. A client needs to be downloaded. Lean more about the VPN client.
  • Proxy server access verifies your UC credentials each time you click a restricted link. Use it on a public on unsecured computer.

Articles

To do a general search for article resources, go to the UC library home page and type your searchi n the red search box under the Articles+ tab.

search box

The tool that does the search of multiple databases is called Summon. Lean more about it by going to Summon FAQ.

Go to specialized research resources by clicking on the Databases tab. Browse our databases list.

If the article full text is not available online, you can request it via Interlibrary Loan.

E-books

UC Libraries provide access to thousands of e-books. Many e-books are cataloged and can be found via the UC Library Catalog. When conducting a search in the library catalog, you can limit your search to “online books, databases, and journals.” You will find a link to the electronic book via the library catalog record.

You can also access e-books by using our metasearch tool Summon (see above) browsing or searching e-book collections.

For reference materials, such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, statistical sources, etc., please consult our Online Reference Shelf.

Interlibrary loan access

Distance Learning students can use UC's interlibrary loan system (ILLiad) to request articles and book chapters.
The interlibrary loan service you use depends on your UC college enrollment.

To log in to ILLiad, use the appropriate link for your college (see below). Use your UC Central Login username (6+2) and password. 

If you have not used ILLiad before, you will be prompted to complete a registration form before you can submit requests.  Enter the following information during registration:

  • In the STATUS field, choose: Distance Educ Student

  • In the PICK-UP LOCATION field, choose the library, for example: Langsam Library

West Campus, UC Clermont, and UC Blue Ash patrons
should use the ILLiad logon at
http://illiad.uc.edu/illiad/

West Campus includes:

  • Carl H. Lindner College of Business
  • College of Arts and Sciences
  • College of Design, Architecture, Art and Planning
  • College of Education, Criminal Justice, and Human Services
  • College of Engineering and Applied Science
  • College-Conservatory of Music

East Campus patrons (Health Sciences Library)
should use the ILLiad logon at
http://www.libraries.uc.edu/hsl/services/request.html

East Campus includes:

  • College of Allied Health Sciences
  • College of Medicine
  • College of Nursing
  • College of Pharmacy

Note: The system requires a pick-up location for processing; however, requested articles will be delivered electronically to your ILLiad account.. 
For more information, contact Interlibrary Services Department at CIN.Loans@uc.edu.

Get a print book

If you need a print publication from the UC collection to support your course work, the University of Cincinnati Libraries will work with you to supply the materials. UC library books will be checked out in your name and mailed to you.
Please note that you will be responsible for returning materials by the due date via a traceable mail service, such as UPS or FedEx.

To request UC library books or for more information, contact our Interlibrary Services Department at 513-556-1885 or CIN.Loans@uc.edu.

UC resources

University of Cincinnati Libraries

PO Box 210033 Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033

Phone: 513-556-1424

Contact Us | Staff Directory

University of Cincinnati

Alerts | Clery and HEOA Notice | Notice of Non-Discrimination | eAccessibility Concern | Privacy Statement | Copyright Information

© 2019 University of Cincinnati