Skip to main content

Undergraduate Summer Research Programs: Library Research Guide

Welcome

This guide is primarily intended for students in undergraduate summer research programs, such as the McNair Scholars Program, Protege, the Biomedical Research and Mentoring Program (RaMP), the Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship (SURF), and UHP Discover.

However, any students are welcome to use this guide as their portal to research.

Companion guides:

EEE Summer Bridge Program

WISE (Women in Science and Engineering)

What's in This Guide

Using the Library: Online and Print Materials: Getting connected, your library privileges, summer hours.

Getting Started with Your Research: Coming up with a research question, tips for successful searching, search widgets for Google Scholar and Summon, the library discovery tool.

Finding General Science Articles: Searching databases, locating full text, and requesting articles not available at UC.

Finding Articles in Specific Science and Engineering Disciplines: Major databases in disciplines from Biology to Physics.

Finding Journals: Finding online and print full text journals at UC,requesting articles not available at UC.

Finding Books and Reference Materials: Search the UC and OhioLINK catalogs, requesting materials not available at UC, connecting to online reference resources.

Evaluating Internet Resources: Source evaluation criteria and practical tips for examining your sources.

Citing Sources and Avoiding Plagiarism: Citation basics and style guides, citation formatting and management tools.

Managing Your Data: Data management best practices.

Presenting Your Research: Creating a Poster: Poster design tips and instructions for creating a poster with PowerPoint 2013.

Workshops: Professional development workshops series.

Help: Contact information for subject librarians.

Questions?

Questions about research in your discipline?  Contact:

Ted Baldwin: Chemistry, Physics
Science & Engineering Libraries
556-4211 or ted.baldwin@uc.edu

Hong Cheng: Engineering
Science & Engineering Libraries
556-5707 or hong.cheng2@uc.edu

Tiffany Grant: Biology, Medical
Health Sciences Library
558-9153 or tiffany.grant@uc.edu

Olga Hart: General Questions
Langsam Library
556-1850 or olga.hart@uc.edu

Amy Koshoffer: Biology, Math
Science & Engineering Libraries
556-1310 or amy.koshoffer@uc.edu

Holly Prochaska: Earth Sciences
Geology-Mathematics-Physics Library
556-1389 or holly.prochaska@uc.edu

Edith Starbuck: Medical, Communication Sciences
Health Sciences Library
558-1433 or edith.starbuck@uc.edu

Notice of Non-Discrimination | Copyright Information © 2015 University of Cincinnati