History at UCBA

Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Coverage: 1865 - present

America: History and Life is a comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. AHL offers abstracts and citations for articles appearing in over 2¸000 journals published worldwide in history¸ related humanities¸ and the social sciences. Coverage also includes citations to book reviews from approximately 140 major journals of American history and culture¸ and relevant dissertations from Dissertation Abstracts International.
Coverage: 1964 - present

APS ONLINE 1740-1900 spans over 1¸500 titles and 7 million pages of content beginning with the first magazines published in America. Limited coverage extends to the near mid-20th century (1943) for articles in some periodical titles that began publishing in 1900. See the database description “About this Collection” on the opening page of the database for details concerning dates of coverage.
Coverage: 1740 - 1943

Offers more than 700 historical American newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia printed between 1690 and 1876. Focusing largely on the 18th century¸ Series 1 is based on Clarence S. Brigham's "History and Bibliography of American Newspapers¸ 1690-1820" and other authoritative bibliographies. The core of the collection is formed by American Antiquarian Society (AAS) founder Isaiah Thomas' own collection of colonial and early national period newspapers and supplemented by issues added by Thomas' successors at the AAS.
Coverage: 1690-1876

Historical Abstracts is a reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada¸ which are covered in America: History and Life). Over 2¸000 journals published throughout the world are covered in the database. In addition to including the key historical journals from virtually every major country and journals of regional history¸ Historical Abstracts includes a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities that are of special interest to researchers and students of history. Historical Abstracts also cites new books reviewed in key English-language history and review journals. Dissertation citations relevant to the serial's subject scope are derived from Dissertation Abstracts International.
Coverage: 1955 - present

Back files of scholarly journals. Starts with the journals' inception.

Cornell access moved to HathiTrust in 2018 : Making of America (MOA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education¸ psychology¸ American history¸ sociology¸ religion¸ and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 8¸500 books and 50¸000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.

Making of America (MOA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education¸ psychology¸ American history¸ sociology¸ religion¸ and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 8¸500 books and 50¸000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.

Credo Reference is a ready-reference solution for learners and librarians. Its full-text¸ aggregated content covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference materials. The content is enriched with images¸ sound files¸ maps and customizable data tables.
Coverage: varies

The Federal Committee on Statistical Methodology (FCSM) is an interagency committee dedicated to improving the quality of Federal statistics. The FCSM was created by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB) to inform and advise OMB and the Interagency Council on Statistical Policy (ICSP) on methodological and statistical issues that affect the quality of Federal data.

Historical Statistics of the United States (HSUS) Millennial Edition Online allows users to access data on social¸ behavioral¸ humanistic¸ and natural sciences including history¸ economics¸ government¸ finance¸ sociology¸ demography¸ education¸ law¸ natural resources¸ climate¸ religion¸ international migration¸ and trade - quantitative facts of American History. It is the standard source for quantitative indicators of American history. The Millennial edition is a revised¸ updated¸ and expanded version of the previous three editions of HSUS.
Coverage: Colonial Times to 2000

The Core Collection is a huge and comprehensive resource that contains over 100 dictionaries and reference titles covering the complete subject spectrum: from General Reference and Language to Science and Medicine¸ and from Humanities and Social Sciences to Business and Professional.

Social Explorer contains historical Census data from 1790 to 2000. Database tools allow you to explore Census data visually through the use of interactive data maps and also browse and download Census data in convenient formats for offline processing. You may explore the data through interactive thematic maps of Census 1790 through Census 2000; then create a report from the view of your interest to see numbers and percent breakdowns. You may also go directly to the reports section and choose the data you wish to view and download. Social Explorer also allows you to create and export map slide shows which is very convenient for viewing data over time. Coverage: 1790-present