Research Guides: Undergraduate Research Programs: Library Research Guide: Finding Research Articles in All Disciplines

Getting Connected

Due to licensing agreements, certain library resources are restricted to UC faculty, staff, and currently enrolled students.

To access resources when off-campus or outside the campus network, you must login for off-campus access.

Search for Articles, Books, and More

Summon, the UC Libraries discovery tool, will help you find all kinds of materials, including books, e-books, peer-reviewed articles, conference proceedings, streaming videos, and much more.

**Summon Pros and Cons**
Pros	Cons
Easy to use Interdisciplinary Helps with citation formatting Easy linking to full-text resources Great tool for finding known articles - just paste the article title in quotation marks!	Missing content (does not reach content of important publications in some subject areas; excludes print journals) Too much information/irrelevant results. It’s often necessary to use a specialized database, as it will narrow your search specifically to your discipline and allow for more precise searching.

Summon FAQ.

Databases for General Research Articles

Please note that the databases listed below are multidisciplinary and may NOT include content related to your specific discipline or topic. To find the best database for your research needs please use the pages of this guide listing databases and research guides by discipline.

Academic Search Complete

JSTOR

ProQuest Research Library

Web of Science

Scopus (Elsevier)
Indexing¸ abstracts¸ and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature. Scopus covers 14¸000 titles across 4¸000 publishers¸ providing access to over 25 million abstracts going back to 1966 and 5 years of cited reference back years¸ building up to 10 years by the end of 2005. Coverage: 1966 - present

Locate article full text

In some databases full text will follow the citation. In most instances for accessing full text you will have to look for icons that may look like this:

If you don't see those icons or links don't work, look for the ArticleLinker button or "Find Full Text at UC" link. The button or link will take you to the tool that searches for full text articles in library database. Learn how this tool works and how to make the most of it: ArticleLinker FAQ.

If the article is not available online ArticleLinker will suggest searching the library catalog for a print version or ordering the article via ILLiad (interlibrary loan):

When requesting items not available at UC, click the appropriate Interlibrary Loan form and login to your account with your UC Central Login username and password. If you have not used ILLiad before, you will be asked to fill out a profile. For a seamless experience, do this first. Once you are logged in, the article request form will be automatically populated with the article bibliographic information.

Request Articles

Not at UC? Request it via the online request system ILLiad.

Log in with your UC central login. First time users will be prompted to fill out a profile which will then automatically supply your information for any subsequent requests.

Any questions? Need help?

Call or email a subject librarian in your discipline.

For brief factual questions use the Ask a Reference Question online form.

Our Online Tutorials cover many topics, from coming up with a research question to citing your sources and using various software.