Skip to main content
UC Logo
Libraries | Ask the Libraries

Undergraduate Research Programs: Library Research Guide

Why Use Specialized Databases?

Search specialized databases to uncover scholarly information in your specific subject area. 
Specialized databases are particularly helpful if you require a specific format or up-to-date, scholarly information on a specific topic.

Find BIOLOGY JOURNAL ARTICLES

Find CHEMISTRY JOURNAL ARTICLES

SciFinder

Reaxys

Find EARTH SCIENCE JOURNAL ARTICLES:

Search these core Geology, Geography, and Earth Science indexes and databases to identify relevant journal articles, book chapters, book reviews, essays, dissertations, and more.

Locate article full text

In some databases full text will follow the citation. In most instances for accessing full text you will have to look for icons that may look like this:

full text icons

If you don't see those icons or links don't work, look for the ArticleLinker button or "Find Full Text at UC" link. The button or link will take you to the tool that searches for full text articles in library database. Learn how this tool works and how to make the most of it: ArticleLinker FAQ.

If the article is not available online ArticleLinker will suggest searching the library catalog for a print version or ordering the article via ILLiad (interlibrary loan):

ArticleLinker screen

When requesting items not available at UC, click the appropriate Interlibrary Loan form and login to your account with your UC Central Login username and password. If you have not used ILLiad before, you will be asked to fill out a profile. For a seamless experience, do this first. Once you are logged in, the article request form will be automatically populated with the article bibliographic information.

Request Articles

Not at UC? Request it via the online request system ILLiad.

Log in with your UC central login.  First time users will be prompted to fill out a profile which will then automatically supply your information for any subsequent requests.

Any questions? Need help?

Call or email a subject librarian in your discipline.

For brief factual questions use the Ask a Reference Question online form.

Our Online Tutorials cover many topics, from coming up with a research question to citing your sources and using various software.

University of Cincinnati Libraries

PO Box 210033 Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033

Phone: 513-556-1424

Contact Us | Staff Directory

University of Cincinnati

Alerts | Clery and HEOA Notice | Notice of Non-Discrimination | eAccessibility Concern | Privacy Statement | Copyright Information

© 2019 University of Cincinnati