Bar Exam Resources

Acing Professional Responsibility provides a dual benefit to law students who, to become licensed lawyers, have to pass both a law school exam in a Legal Ethics course as well as the Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination (MPRE). To prepare for the law school examination, there are pages of text, numerous outlines, bullet points, sample essay questions and answers, and mini-checklists to learn the basics and fine points of Professional Responsibility. In addition, this book discusses all recent ABA Formal Ethics Opinions. The Acing book also enables students to quickly recall and pass the MPRE. The materials are current through the most recent Model Rules amendments in 2018.

Black Letter Outlines contain outlines of particular areas of law, a capsule summary of each outline, practice examinations, and examples and review questions. The law is succinctly stated, and exceptions to the rules are stated in the text. Rules and exceptions have purposely been condensed to facilitate quick and easy recollection. For an in-depth study of a point of law, citations to major student texts are given.

A study aid with practice final exam questions and answers pertaining to professional responsibility rules and their proper application. This text has 3 exams with a total of 181 questions.

This Gilbert Law Summary is designed to serve three groups. The first is law students taking their required course in Professional Responsibility or preparing for the bar-required Multistate Professional Responsibility Exam. Second are persons considering a legal education who want to appreciate what it means to have a law license, what issues lawyers face, and how the law requires lawyers to deal with those issues. Third are lawyers who want a handy place to turn when they face a question in practice and need help finding quick answers and relevant authority to go deeper. Using the ABA Model Rules of Professional Conduct, the ABA Model Code of Judicial Conduct, and the ALI Restatement (Third): The Law Governing Lawyers as key authorities, the author puts what otherwise could be abstract rules into context in order to illuminate what led to adoption of each rule, why the rules require what they do, and where changes in lawyer regulation may be coming. Substantive issues covered include how a lawyer and a client form their relationship, what fiduciary duties are and which ones a lawyer owes to his or her clients, how a lawyer markets and gets paid for his or her services, and various ways both confidentiality obligations and conflicts of interest can arise. In addition, the author calls attention to a lawyer's obligations to a client's opponents, courts and other tribunals, and the broader public interest, as well as a final chapter on the special responsibilities of judges.

This study aid covers all heavily tested subjects on the MPRE and taught in a Professional Responsibility course. Concise introductions give an overview of each subject, including discussion of how the MPRE tests the topic. It provides a comparison to and contrast from related rules and provisions throughout the Model Rules or the common law. Practice questions highlighting important exceptions to each rule. Thorough coverage of the American Bar Association's Model Rules of Professional Conduct, including the official Comments and clarifying ABA ethics opinions. This book features multiple-choice questions integrated into a full-fledged review of the Professional Responsibility course. Clear explanations of correct and incorrect answers help to clarify nuances in the law. A more challenging final question at the end of each chapter (the "Closer") illustrates a sophisticated problem in the area under discussion. New to the Third Edition: Completely updated chapter on Advertising and Solicitation reflects the most recent changes to the Model Rules. New sections provide in-depth coverage of attorney-client privilege and work product protection.

The Law in a Flash series consists of flash cards for legal subjects. Professional Responsibility is divided into two parts. Part 1 covers integrity, unauthorized practice, misuse of public office, supervision, firm practice, advertising, termination, conflicts of interest, money, decision-making, and confidentiality. Part 2 covers a lawyer’s obligations to the legal system and the Code of Judicial Conduct.

The Professional Responsibility audio lecture explains regulation of attorneys, bar admission, unauthorized practice, competency, discipline, judgment, layer-client relationship, representation, and withdrawal. It also discusses conflicts, disqualification, clients, client interests, successive and effective representation, integrity, candor, confidences, secrets, and past and future crimes. Other topics include perjury, communications, witnesses, jurors, the court, the press, trial tactics, prosecutors, market, solicitation, advertising, law firms, fees, client property, conduct, and political activity.

This book places the Rules in an historic context that lets the student understand problems with prior versions of the Rules, which led to the present version. The Nutshell also analyzes the American Law Institute's Restatement of the Law Governing Lawyers, Third.

Nutshells are little paperback books that give a concise overview of an area of law. The initial chapters focus on key legal principles (such as professional negligence, breach of fiduciary duty, and fraud), the role of experts in mal-practice litigation, important defenses, and the rules governing damages and fee forfeiture. Later chapters explore issues of great practical significance, including the vicarious liability law firms, common malpractice problems (such as conflict of interest), strategies for reducing errors and claims, and the role and limits of malpractice insurance.

This text presents a concise explanation of the rules and concepts of lawyer professional responsibility. The book provides a straightforward treatment of the subject, with special attention to the Model Rules of Professional Conduct and all recent amendments to those rules through the date of publication. For each topic, the book briefly addresses any relevant rationales, but primarily focuses on explaining the parameters of the applicable standards in a clear, understandable, step-by step manner. A typical treatment of a topic includes not only a clear explanation of each standard, often broken into manageable concepts, but also a simple example illustrating the application of that standard.

This CrunchTime covers the role of the lawyer, regulation of the legal profession, lawyer conduct, the lawyer-client relationship, confidentiality, conflicts of interest, duties to third parties, duties to the legal system, special role-related duties, advertising and solicitation, judicial conduct, and exam tips.

This text covers the whole field of professional responsibility, focusing not only on the ABA Model Rules, but on the often-complex relationship between the rules and doctrines of agency, tort, contract, evidence, and constitutional law. Beginning with the formation of the attorney-client relationship, the book proceeds through topics including attorneys' fees, malpractice and ineffective assistance of counsel, confidentiality and privilege rules, conflicts of interest, witness perjury and litigation misconduct, advertising and solicitation, admission to practice, and the organization of the legal profession. Coverage includes all subjects that are tested on the Multistate Professional Responsibility Exam (MPRE), including: A chapter on judicial ethics, a subject tested on the MPRE and not often covered thoroughly, if at all, in law school professional responsibility courses. Updated discussion and examples based on recent developments in the law, including the ABA's simplification of the rules on advertising and solicitation, new Model Rule 8.4(g) on discrimination in the practice of law, the California Supreme Court's Sheppard Mullin opinion on advance waivers of conflicts, and continuing developments in the impact of technology on the practice of law. A series of problems at the end of each section or chapter assist you in testing your understanding. Answers are provided for these problems. More MPRE-style multiple-choice questions in the Examples.

In this examination of professional responsibility law, you'll find in-depth, substantive discussion supported by expert analysis and commentary, case citations, statutes, and court rules. Subjects include conflicts of interest, qualifications for the bar, regulating the market for legal services, competency standards, and disciplinary measures.

This Short and Happy Guide is meant to provide students with the essential concepts and overarching themes that are most frequently tested on the MPRE. The Guide covers the rules of professional responsibility giving students the best introduction they can have as they begin their exam preparation.

Facing the MPRE? Strategies & Tactics for the MPRE will help you optimize your valuable study time and sharpen your test-taking skills. Expert advice on spotting and avoiding tricky questions and common mistakes50 questions from past MPRE exams with explanantions and analyses of the correct and incorrect answers - geared to the ABA Model Rules of Professional Responsibility. Additional questions and answers from past MPRE's - released by the National Conference of Bar Examiners

This book is a comprehensive tool for students to test their understanding of the Model Rules of Professional Conduct, the Model Code of Judicial Conduct, and other doctrines of the Law of Lawyering such as malpractice, breach of fiduciary duty, and disqualification. Its 208 questions are organized to track the topics and the emphasis of the Multistate Professional Responsibility Exam (MPRE) and thus can be used productively for bar exam preparation as well as for review of material covered in a student's required professional responsibility course. The book provides detailed explanations why the right answers are correct and why the wrong answers are wrong, including citations to the rules or other authorities that the students should rely upon.

This audio lecture allows you to assimilate the essentials of the professional responsibility course at your convenience - listen while working, commuting, exercising or just relaxing. The information and ideas you struggled with previously are now brought to life simply and succinctly. The audio also provides exam tips to maximize your performance. This audio lecture is time saving, convenient and effective.

This Understanding treatise analyzes the fundamental issues of lawyers' ethics and the ABA's Model Rules. It is designed to facilitate a real understanding of legal rules as distinguished from a superficial familiarity with them by challenging the reader to test their understanding of the legal rules against the reader's own moral standards and reasoned judgment. The fifth edition includes new chapters on Lawyers' Ethics in a Time of Crisis and Counseling Clients, Coaching Witnesses, and Cross-Examining to Discredit the Truth, and substantial updates on Judicial Ethics and more.

The Weekend MPRE book and video course is designed to prepare users for the MPRE in a single weekend, primarily through thoughtful explanations of the most tested aspects of the rules of professional responsibility. This package includes the eBook, along with 12-month digital access to 14 videos, two practice exams, and quizzes.