Skip to main content

Biology

Biology and Related Databases

Search these other science indexes and databases to cast a broader net for relevant journal articles, book chapters, book reviews, essays, dissertations, etc. relating to chemistry.

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,450 scholarly publications, including more than 3,500 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 7,888 journals in the collection. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. Academic Search Complete is an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, offering critical information from many sources unique to this database.  Coverage: Academic earch Complete provides indexing, abstracts, and PDF back-files for more than 100 top scholarly academic journals, dating back as far as 1965 or the first issue published (whichever is more recent); many of the PDF files are searchable and scanned-in-color.

BIOSIS Previews

BIOSIS Previews, a leading source of life science information, collects abstracts and bibliographic references to worldwide biological and medical literature.  BIOSIS Previews contains references to journal items focusing on vital biological and medical research findings, pharmacological studies, and discoveries of new organisms.  Approximately 5,500 life science journals, 1,500 international meetings, as well as review articles, books, and monographs are monitored for inclusion, representing virtually every life science discipline.  Over 96% of the records include informative abstracts. The University of Cincinnati subscribes to BIOSIS Previews, which encompasses both Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM (Reports, Reviews, and Meetings). Some records in this database are linked to the full text of the article.  To see if full text is available, click on “Find it”.   Coverage is from 1969 to the present.

PubMed

PubMed is a free search engine for accessing the MEDLINE database of citations and abstracts of biomedical research articles. The core subject is medicine, and PubMed covers fields related to medicine, such as nursing and other allied health disciplines.  It also provides very full coverage of the related biomedical sciences, such as biochemistry and cell biology. It is provided by the National Library of Medicine. The database contains citations from 1950 to the present, with some older material. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.   There is a PubMed Tutorial, which is a web-based learning program that will show you how to search PubMed.  Note: SciFinder includes the MEDLINE database.

Scopus

Scopus is an indexing, abstracting, and citation searching database for science and social science scholarly literature. Scopus also includes quality web sources. It's designed to find the information scientists need. Scopus indexes 15,000 titles from 4,000 different publishers with over 12,850 academic journals including coverage of 535 open access journals. Scopus includes 750 conference proceedings, 600 trade publications, 27 million abstracts, 245 million references, added to all abstracts; results from 250 million scientific web pages, and 13 million patent records from 4 patent offices.  Scopus covers 14,000 titles across 4,000 publishers, providing access to over 25 million abstracts going back to 1966 and 5 years of cited reference back years, building up to 10 years by the end of 2005. Coverage: Abstracts go back to 1966. References go back to 1996.

Web of Science

The Web of Science is a science database of bibliographic information indexed so that you can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address.  Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.  It indexes more than 5,700 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines, with all cited references captured.Cited reference searching lets you use a given work as if it were a subject term to identify more recent articles on the same topic.  For example, you can find other articles that reference (cite) a particular article of interest. This type of searching often locates relevant articles that cannot be retrieved through traditional subject-author searching.  Multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings.  You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.  Coverage: As early as 1900-present.

Notice of Non-Discrimination | Copyright Information © 2015 University of Cincinnati