Research Guides: Biology: Find Articles

Biology and Related Databases

Search these other science indexes and databases to cast a broader net for relevant journal articles, book chapters, book reviews, essays, dissertations, etc. relating to chemistry.

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Coverage: 1865 - present
BIOSIS Previews (access through Web of Science)
BIOSIS Previews® combines the journal literature of Biological Abstracts® with Biological Abstracts/RRM® (Reports, Reviews, & Meetings) and focuses on life sciences research. BIOSIS Previews monitors nearly 6,000 selectively covered journals as well as a collection of international meetings, conference reports, books, and patents.
Coverage: 1969 - present
PubMed
PubMed¸ a service of the National Library of Medicine¸ includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources. Coverage: 1950's - present
Scopus (Elsevier)
Indexing¸ abstracts¸ and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature. Scopus covers 14¸000 titles across 4¸000 publishers¸ providing access to over 25 million abstracts going back to 1966 and 5 years of cited reference back years¸ building up to 10 years by the end of 2005. Coverage: 1966 - present
Web of Science
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary database with searchable author abstracts¸ covering the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes 5¸300 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines¸ covering approximately 2¸000 more journals than its SCI print and CD-ROM counterparts¸ with all cited references captured. Coverage: 1965 - present

Tools for locating full-text

Find Article Full-Text

When searching in an article database, find the "UC Article Linker" icon (or "Find Full Text" link in Google Scholar)
- From Article Linker, check if your desired volume/issue is available online. Otherwise, search for a print copy in the Library Catalog.
- If not online or in print, submit an Interlibrary Loan (also called ILLiad) request. ILLiad may automatically fill the request form with your journal article's details. NOTE: First time ILLiad users may need to complete a contact profile.
Use Full Text Journals to search by journal title and locate databases containing full-text.
Search by journal title in the Library Catalog for print and some (not all) electronic access options.

Google Scholar - Register your UC Libraries access

Tell Google Scholar you are with UC so that search results provide links to UC-licensed full-text. Access is indicated with a "Find Full-Text at UC" link.

Go to Google Scholar
Sign in to your Google account (or create one if needed)
Click the icon in the upper left and select “Settings”
Click on “Library Links”
Search for "University of Cincinnati."
Check the box next to "University of Cincinnati – Find Full-Text at UC” and click “Save”

LibKey Nomad - Browser Plug-In for Full Text

Download Nomad at www.libkeynomad.com. After download, enter University of Cincinnati as your institution. More details: thirdiron.com/products/libkey-nomad/

When full-text is available, a "Download PDF” prompt appears in the lower left corner. NOTE: You need to be on the article’s individual page (vs. a database search results page) to trigger this prompt. Try it out with this example from International Journal of Science Education https://www.tandfonline.com/doi/full/10.1080/09500693.2018.1540897 .

Click the "Download PDF" prompt. You may be asked to enter your UC Central Login. Nomad will track down the article PDF or direct you to other options for full-text as needed.