Skip to main content

Citation Management Software

This guide provides information on RefWorks, EndNote, Zotero, and Mendeley.

Welcome!

Welcome to the UC Health Sciences Library's resource guides.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to visit the Health Sciences Library or contact the Health Sciences Librarians by phone (513-558-0127) or email. http://libraries.uc.edu/hsl/

Descriptions

    RefWorks

    A web-based bibliography manager that makes it easy to import references to articles, books, web pages and other types of sources from online databases. Login to RefWorks.

    RefWorks is licensed by the University of Cincinnati and is available at no cost to all UC students, faculty and staff.

    RefWorks can help you:

    • Electronically collect, organize and manage your references in a personal database
    • Easily format bibliographies, footnotes and in-text citations into almost any output style
    • Conveniently link references to full-text articles, eliminating unwieldy storage of paper copy
    • Access your personal database 24/7 anywhere you have web access
    • Share your personal database (or any part of it) with anyone in the world who has Internet access
    • Receive quarterly automatic quarterly upgrades (no installation required)

    If you have any questions about RefWorks please contact Edith Starbuck at 558-1433.

    Other tools available:

    EndNote (for fee): A software program for publishing and managing bibliographies that you purchase and load on your computer. You can sign up for a free 30 day trial to test it. It is available for purchase at UC Bookstore.

    Zotero: "A free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources. It lives right where you do your work—in the web browser itself."

    Mendeley: "A free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research. Automatically generate bibliographies, collaborate easily with other researchers online, easily import papers from other research software, find relevant papers based on what you’re reading, access your papers from anywhere online, read papers on the go..." and more.

    Register for RefWorks or EndNote Classes

    Comparison of Citation Management Software - Basics

    Modified table based on the Cornell University Comparison of Citation Management Software (2011) table.

    Wikipedia's Comparison of Reference Management Software also provides comparisons of many citation managers.

     

    RefWorks

    EndNote

    Zotero

    Mendeley

    Developer

    ProQuest

    Thomson Reuters

    Center for History and New Media (GMU)

    Elsevier

    Cost

    Free to UC students, faculty, and staff. Paid for by the UC Libraries.

    For-fee. UC student discount available from UC Bookstore.

    Free

    Free (Basic)

    Available to use…

    Online

    Computer with EndNote installed

    Online (Firefox plug-in)

    Online and on computer with software installed

    Version referenced

    RefWorks 2.0

    EndNote X7

    Zotero 4.0.5

    Ver. 1.8.4

    HSL classes available?

    Yes

    Yes

    No

    No

    Interoperable with other citation management programs

    Yes

    Yes

    Yes

    Yes

    Word Integration (format citations & bibliographies in MS Word)

    Yes

    Yes

    Yes

    Yes

    Modify & create filters

    No

    Yes

    No

    No

    Import & extract bibliographic information from PDFs

    No

    Yes*

    Yes*

    Yes*

    Search databases directly from program

    Yes, certain databases

    Yes, certain databases

    No

    No

    Import references from  databases

    Yes

    Yes

    Yes

    Yes

    Storage

    Unlimited

    On Computer

    100MB

    2GB (Basic account)

    Comparison of Citation Management Software - Files

    Modified table based on the Cornell University Comparison of Citation Management Software (2011) table.

     

    RefWorks

    EndNote

    Zotero

    Mendeley

    Attach files (PDF, Excel, Word, images, etc.) to references?

    Yes

    Yes

    Yes

    Yes

    Where are attached files stored?

    Remotely, on server

    Locally, on computer

    Locally

    Locally, backed up online

    Search full text of attached articles

     

    Yes

    Yes

    Yes

    Comparison of Citation Management Software - Collaboration

    Modified table based on the Cornell University Comparison of Citation Management Software (2011) table.

     

    RefWorks

    EndNote

    Zotero

    Mendeley

    Can private groups access citations to edit and modify

    Yes, through creating a shared account

    Kind of, can export references to share

    Yes, create a group login

    Yes (1 private group with 3 members for free)

    Share your references publicly

     Yes

    No

    Yes

    Yes

    Notice of Non-Discrimination | Copyright Information © 2015 University of Cincinnati