This is the "Home" page of the "New Law Grad Guide to Law Library Services" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

New Law Grad Guide to Law Library Services   Tags: bar exam, law alumni, law library policies, lexis, reference, taft building access, westlaw  

This guide is for graduating third year students of the University of Cincinnati College of Law. It describes access to the library, its resources, and its services once you graduate.
Last Updated: Jul 24, 2014 URL: http://guides.libraries.uc.edu/lawalumni Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Building Access

  • After you graduate, your UC ID (Bearcat Card) will allow you access to the building and the Law Library during the summer. 
  • Once your swipe card access ends, alumni visitors to the College of Law during regular business hours (8:00am -- 5:00pm) should enter through the Clifton Avenue doors.
  • Visitors with ADA issues and all after-business-hours and weekend visitors must use the sliding glass doors at the back of the building.  This service is only available during hours that the Law Library is open. See Library Hours for a schedule of open hours.
 

Library Accounts

  • Library accounts will expire in April 2015. Once your library account expires you will no longer have the ability to check out books unless you become a community borrower or you are a member of an OhioLINK or Search Ohio library.
  • Information on becoming a community borrower and borrowing privileges can be found at http://www.libraries.uc.edu/services/borrow.
 

Carrels

  • Carrels will be cleaned out May 23, 2014. Please make sure you retrieve any personal items and papers before this date.
  • If you are interested in a carrel for summer bar study, please contact .
 

Study Rooms

  • Graduating law students may use Law Library Study Rooms to study for the bar.
  • Access to study rooms for students taking the summer bar exam ends after the bar exam.
 

Library Resources

Alumni may use most electronic databases and e-journals on public computers anywhere in the Library. Due to license restrictions, we cannot offer access to Lexis Advance, Westlaw or WestlawNext (other than through the Westlaw Public Access terminal), or B-Law. Due to license restrictions, we also cannot offer off-campus access to databases to graduates.

Local alumni needing remote access to databases such as ALI-ABA Practical Lawyer, Aspen & LoisLaw treatises, Ebsco, HeinOnline, Fastcase, and CCH may want to become subscribers the the Hamilton County Law Library.  The Hamilton County Law Library also provides on-site access to print resources, BNA, Ohio Capital Connection, Lexis, and Westlaw for its subscribers.  You can see a complete list of their services and information on how to join at http://www.hamilton-co.org/cinlawlib/services.html

 

Public Access Computers

The Law Library provides three computers for public patrons to use for searching UCLID, the University's online catalog, selected Law Library and University databases, or gaining Internet access to U.S. Federal Depository resources on the web. These computers are located in reading room areas on the library's 2nd and 3rd floors. An additional computer on the 3rd floor is available for Westlaw Public Access databases. Each public access computer has printing capability. Public patrons may also use these computers to access Lexis-Nexis or Westlaw databases, provided they have established personal accounts with these vendors.

 

Welcome to the Robert S. Marx Law Library

Welcome to the  Robert S. Marx Law Library! 

This guide is intended to introduce you to the many ways that the Law Library can assist new graduates.  While the primary mission of the Robert S. Marx Law Library is to support research, scholarship, and learning for faculty and students in the College of Law, the Law Library also makes many of its resources available to members of the University of Cincinnati community, and the local bench and bar.

 

Lending of Library Materials

  • The Law Library does not lend library materials to Non-UC patrons unless they are community borrowers or members of an OhioLINK or Search Ohio library.  Information on becoming a community borrower and borrowing privileges can be found at http://www.libraries.uc.edu/services/borrow.

  • Library materials may be used within the Library during regular hours, but may not be removed from the Library. Under certain circumstances, an I.D. will be required to use materials on the premises. Photocopiers are available in the Library for the use of all patrons.
 

Directions & Parking

From I-75 Southbound

  • Travel south on I-75 until you reach the Hopple Street exit. Take the exit to the top of the overpass.
  • Turn left at the light onto Hopple. You will now be travelling east. Cross over I-75. Follow the road up the hill. Note that the street changes its name to Martin Luther King, Jr. Drive.
  • When you reach Clifton Avenue, make a right turn and continue up Clifton Avenue. The College of Law is at the southwestern corner of the campus. The College will be on your left at the corner of Clifton Avenue and Calhoun Street.

From I-71 Southbound

  • Take Exit 3 - Taft Rd. exit (marked University of Cincinnati exit). Taft Rd. is one-way heading west and changes to Calhoun Street at Jefferson Avenue.
  • Take Taft/Calhoun to Clifton Avenue.
  • Right on Clifton. The College of Law is at the southwestern corner of the campus. The College will be on your right at the corner of Clifton Avenue and Calhoun Street.

From I-75 Northbound

  • Travel north on I-75 until you reach the Hopple Street exit. The exit will be on your LEFT. Take the left exit up to the light. This is Hopple Street.
  • Turn left at the light onto Hopple. You will now be travelling east. Cross over I-75. Follow the road up the hill. Note that the street changes its name to Martin Luther King, Jr. Drive.
  • When you reach Clifton Avenue, make a right turn and continue up Clifton Avenue. The College of Law is at the southwestern corner of the campus. The College will be on your left at the corner of Clifton Avenue and Calhoun Street

From I-71 Northbound

  • Travel north until I-71 merges with I-75 just south of Florence, Kentucky.
  • Stay on I-75 across the river.
  • Follow the directions for approaching the campus on I-75 northbound.

Parking At UC

The parking most convenient to the College of Law can be found at the CCM Parking Garage, off Jefferson via Corry Boulevard, or the Deaconess Garage, off Clifton via Straight Street.(map PDF)

 

Library Hours

Your 24/7 access will end after the summer that you graduate.  Once your swipe card access ends, alumni visitors may gain access to the Law Library during normal hours of operation for the purpose of performing legal research or accessing U.S. Federal Depository resources held by the Library.

During the regular academic year, the Law Library hours are:

  • Monday -- Friday: 8:00 am to 10:00 pm
  • Saturday: 9:00 am to 10:00 pm 
  • Sunday: 10:00 am to 10:00 pm

During summer, the Law Library hours are:

  • Monday -- Friday: 8:00am to 5:00pm

The Law Library's hours of operation vary during holidays, summer, and semester break periods. For that reason, we advise non-lawschool patrons to telephone the Law Library at 513-556-0163 in advance of their visit to confirm that the library is open. Law Library hours are also posted on the College of Law website at http://www.law.uc.edu/library/home/library-hours.

 

Email & Computing Services

  • Current UC policy allows alumni continued access to their UConnect e-mail accounts.
  • Access to Law Library computer lab accounts will end a year after graduation. Any UC/College print subsidy will be wiped the week before Intro to Law week.
  • For a refund on any money that has been put onto a Bearcat card, alumni will need to submit a written request to the Bearcat Card Services Office. A $5.00 processing fee will be deducted from the refund.
  • Guests can access the internet anywhere on campus where wireless internet service is currently available. When guests search for internet access, they should select the “ucguest” option. Users must review and accept UCIT’s terms of use before a connection will be allowed. Guests may need to supply identification information before access will be allowed.
 

Reference Services

Take advantage of Reference Librarian expertise after graduation! Call the Reference Desk at 513-556-8078 with research questions and we'll be happy to help with suggestions for sources and tips.  Also, don't forget the Library's Web page and many research guides

  • Reference hours when classes are not in session:
    • Monday -- Friday 9:00am - 5:00pm. 
  • Reference hours when classes are in session:
    •  Monday -- Thursday 9:00am -- 7:00 PM
    •  Friday 9:00am -- 5:00pm
 

Photocopiers

The Law Library provides two photocopiers for public use. Both machines accept copy cards that are available for $1.00 through vending machines near the copiers. These cards reduce the per-copy cost to $.07. The cards are issued with a $.50 balance, and value may be added at any copier. Otherwise, copies are $.10 each, and the machines accept coins and one dollar and five dollar bills. The Library Circulation Desk does not have change. Our cards do not work in any other UC library, and cards from other UC libraries will not work in our copiers.

Microform readers and reader printers are available for patrons to use at no charge.

Notice: The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, U.S. Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material; the person using library equipment is liable for any infringement.

 

Feedback on this Guide

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip