Research Guides: 1819 Innovation Services: Market Landscape Research: home

Anyone is welcome to visit a UC Libraries location for 'walk in' access to our online resources. More info on locations at https://libraries.uc.edu/libraries .

Market Landscape Tools and Resources

Welcome to the 1819 Market Landscape Research Guide. Below, please find tools and resources to help get you started on your market and competitive research. These databases are fully accessible from the 1819 Lab and on any University of Cincinnati campus. If you are accessing from other locations, please follow the off-campus login (VPN) instructions.

Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personal alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
IBISWorld
IBISWorld Industry Reports provide in-depth industry analysis for over 700 U.S. industries in all major U.S. industry sectors at the 5-digit level of NAICS . Reports are updated regularly¸ and contain: key statistics¸ market characteristics¸ segmentation¸ industry conditions¸ industry performance¸ key competitors¸ key factors¸ and industry outlook and forecast.
Coverage - Current
BCC Research: Market Forecasting
BCC's market research reports explore major economic¸ scientific¸ and technological developments in industrial¸ pharmaceutical¸ and high technology organizations. Industry analysis and market forecasts for advanced materials¸ high-tech systems and components¸ nanotechnology and novel processing methods are at the forefront of the company's expertise. (Saving reports works better than opening in browsers).
Coverage: Current
MarketLine Advantage
Company¸ industry and country reports from Datamonitor. covers over 4000 industry profiles¸ 30¸000 companies within over 200 countries. Includes SWOT analysis for companies and Porter's Five Forces analysis for industries.Coverage: Current
Hoover's Online
Hoover's Online is a database of public and private company reports and Industry studies. Search by: Company name¸ Ticker symbol¸ Keyword Person's last name. UC has access also to the Members Only sections which includes the Hoovers in-depth Company Profiles where you will find sales leads¸ business contacts¸ investment ideas¸ financial information and competitive intelligence information including a list of competitiors.
NOTE: KNOWN ISSUE WITH ACCESS PROBLEMS; TRY A DIFFERENT BROWSER, CLEAR HISTORY AND/OR TRY AGAIN.
Coverage: Current
Mintel Market Sizes
(GMN) contains global market data including market size¸ market share¸ segmentation¸ along with supporting trend forecasts for thousands of consumer goods categories worldwide . GMN Uses a blend of primary and secondary research¸ enhanced by insights from Mintel. Coverage: Current

Market Research Reports
Extensive market research reports and summaries for particular products or industries.

Literature Searching - Open Resources

Google Scholar Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature¸ including peer-reviewed papers¸ theses¸ books¸ preprints¸ abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers¸ professional societies¸ preprint repositories and universities¸ as well as scholarly articles available across the web. If you are unable to access the fulltext of the item¸ please check with your university library. You may need to do searches from a campus computer or use a library proxy.

The Lens - Scholarly Literature search
Search across a broad range of journal articles, book chapters, conference papers, dissertations and data sets. Free to search, although full-text of articles may not be available to those outside of UC.

Patent Search Tools - Open Resources

The Lens - Patent Search
The Lens brings together data from the US, World and European Patent Offices in a single search. Full-text links, cited works information and patent family data are provided where available.
Google Patents
Good starting search (patent number, general topic, known inventor name, known company name)