Research Guides: Computer Science Research Guide: home

This is the homepage for all research resources related to Computer Science. Here, you can find Books, Databases, Journals, and more. For all our engineering research guides, see Engineering and Technology.

Need Help?

CEAS Library's Ask A Librarian service can assist you with basic to advanced questions related to resources in engineering and the sciences, including those of the CEAS (Engineering and Applied Science) Library.

Databases

ACM Digital Library
A community engaged with a repository of resources to support computing research and practice
AIDA: Artificial intelligence database of abstracts on CD-ROM
Optical disks and user guide for AI abstracts 1954-1984
Collection of Computer Science Bibliographies
A collection of 7 million bibliographies of scientific literature in computer science from various sources, covering most aspects of computer science.
Compendex
Summary of engineering research output for schools and research institutions. Analysis includes top author, funding sponsorship, and publishing trends.
Computer Vision Homepage
The Computer Vision Homepage was established at Carnegie Mellon University in 1994 to provide a central location for World Wide Web links relating to computer vision research.
HP Laboratories Technical Reports
Publications from 1990-2015
IEEE Xplore
Browse conference proceedings, books, journals and standards through IEEE. Institution login required.
MathSciNet
Mathematical reviews

Journals

Acta Informatica
Information science journal
Circuit World
Electrical and Electronic Engineering journals, starting in 1974
Computer
The flagship publication of the IEEE Computer Society publishes peer-reviewed articles written for and by computer researchers and practitioners representing the full spectrum of computing and information technology, from hardware to software and from emerging research to new applications.
Computer Vision and Image Understanding
Journal of computer vision (1995-Present)
EDN
Volumes 30-50 are also available in print in CEAS Library Journals collection, call number TK1 E323.
Electronic Design
ISSN Search for journals dealing with Electrical Design and Industry
IEEE Xplore: Browse Journals
All journals and magazines from IEEE Xplore Digital Library. Includes publications such as: Circuits and Devices Magazine, Journal of Solid State Circuits, Power Engineering Review, IEEE Spectrum. Also features transactions on the following: Antennas and Propagation, Automatic Control, Microwave Theory and Techniques, Power Delivery, Power Systems, Reliability, and on Ultrasonics, Ferroelectrics, and Frequency Control
IBM Journal of Research and Development
A peer-reviewed bimonthly scientific journal covering research on information systems, which features the work of authors in the science, technology and engineering of information systems.

Standards and Specifications

ASTM Compass
ASTM Compass provides full-text access to the full set of ASTM’s Standards (both current and historical versions), Special Technical Publications (STPs) and Conference Proceedings, Technical Manuals, and research journals such as the Journal of Testing and Evaluation. Coverage 1931-present (UC login required).
Book of SEMI Standards
SEMI standards from the UC Catalog, including semiconductors and microelectronics from the Semiconductor Equipment and Materials Institute.
IEEE Standards
IEEE Standards based on the six-step cycle of standards development, rooted in consensus, due process, openness, right to appeal and balance (UC login required).
IEEE Standards in Education Web Portal
For useful information on using standards in teaching
International Telecommunications Union ITU-T Recommendations
ITU allocates global radio spectrum and satellite orbits, develops the technical standards that ensure networks and technologies interconnect, and improves access to ICTs to underserved communities worldwide.
ISA Standards, Recommended Practices, and Technical Reports
Contains standards on control and measurement. Symbols, environmental conditions, instrument air quality, control valves, electrical system safety, process system safety, measurement devices and transducers, digital fieldbus, computer-related topics, plant floor communications, and nuclear and fossil power plant facilities
Guide to Software Engineering Standards and Specifications
This book summarizes the overview of the standards produced by over 40 well known originating bodies operating though out the world, such as ISO, IEEE, or IEC, to the very unique standards produced by such agencies as the Department of Health in the United Kingdom. Each standard, in 250 words, and provides the intended use, the official title of the standard, and the way to obtain it. Located at QA76.758 .M258 1997 CEAS Stacks.

Books

Books about Electrical Engineering can be located through the UC Library Catalog. You can search in the UC Library Catalog by author, title, keyword or subject.

Looking for Course Textbooks?

They can be accessed through UC Libraries Textbook and Reserves List, both online and in print.

Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning

The 4th Industrial Revolution: Responding to the Impact of Artificial Intelligence on Business by Mark Skilton, Felix Hovsepian
Publication Date: 2017
This text helps decision makers grasp the importance, and applicability to business, of the new technologies and extended connectivity of systems that underlie technologies and systems such as artificial intelligence, machine learning, 3D printing, the internet of things, virtual and augmented reality, big data and mobile networks.
Machine Learning: An Algorithmic Perspective by Stephen Marsland
Publication Date: 2014-10-08
Rrelevant mathematics and statistics as well as the necessary programming and experimentation to understand machine learning. Learn deep belief networks and Gaussian processes. New material on random forests, the perceptron convergence theorem, accuracy methods, and conjugate gradient optimization for the multi-layer perceptron.

More books about Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning >>>

Big Data

Big Data by Rodrigo N. Calheiros (Editor); Rajkumar Buyya (Editor); Amir Vahid Dastjerdi (Editor)
Call Number: QA76.9.B45B54 2016
Publication Date: 2016-06-07
Big Data: Principles and Paradigms captures the state-of-the-art research on the architectural aspects, technologies, and applications of Big Data. The book identifies potential future directions and technologies that facilitate insight into numerous scientific, business, and consumer applications. These include life-cycle data management, large-scale storage, flexible processing infrastructure, data modeling, scalable machine learning, data analysis algorithms, sampling techniques, and privacy and ethical issues.

More books about Big Data >>>

Compilers

Principles of Compilers by Yunlin Su; Song Y. Yan
Call Number: QA76.76.C65S8 2011
Publication Date: 2011-11-22
Principles of Compilers introduces the ideas of the compilation from the natural intelligence of human beings by comparing similarities and differences between the compilations of natural languages and programming languages. The notation is created to list the source language, target languages, and compiler language, vividly illustrating the multilevel procedure of the compilation in the process.

More books about Compilers >>>

Computer Graphics

Introduction to Computer Graphics by Fabio Ganovelli; Massimiliano Corsini; Sumanta Pattanaik; Marco Di Benedetto
Publication Date: 2014-10-17
Introduction to Computer Graphics: A Practical Learning Approach guides students in developing their own interactive graphics application. The authors show step by step how to implement computer graphics concepts and theory using the EnvyMyCar (NVMC) framework as a consistent example.

More books about Computer Graphics >>>

Cryptography/Data Security

Cryptography and Network Security by William Stallings
Call Number: TK5105.59.S713 2017
Publication Date: 2016-02-24
Cryptography and Network Security, Seventh Edition, introduces the reader to the compelling and evolving field of cryptography and network security. In an age of viruses and hackers, electronic eavesdropping, and electronic fraud on a global scale, security is paramount. The purpose of this book is to provide a practical survey of both the principles and practice of cryptography and network security.

More books about Cryptography and Data Security >>>

Cybersecurity

Cybersecurity by Dan Shoemaker; Kenneth Sigler
Call Number: QA76.9.A25 S49 2015, CEAS Stacks
Publication Date: 2014-01-29
The book opens with a comprehensive guide to the software lifecycle, covering all elements, activities, and practices encompassed by the universally accepted ISO/IEEE 12207-2008 standard. The authors then proceed document proven management architecture and process framework models for software assurance, such as ISO 21827 (SSE-CMM), CERT-RMM, the Software Assurance Maturity Model, and NIST 800-53.

More books about Cybersecurity >>>

Data Structures

Algorithms and Data Structures by Kurt Mehlhorn; Peter Sanders
Call Number: QA76.9.D35M47 2008
Publication Date: 2008-05-27
This book is a concise introduction addressed to students and professionals familiar with programming and basic mathematical language. Individual chapters cover arrays and linked lists, hash tables and associative arrays, sorting and selection, priority queues, sorted sequences, graph representation, graph traversal, shortest paths, minimum spanning trees, and optimization.

More books about Data Structures >>>

Embedded Systems

Embedded System Design by Peter Marwedel
Publication Date: 2017-08-07
A comprehensive introduction to the fundamental knowledge in embedded systems, with applications in cyber-physical systems and the Internet of things.

More books about Embedded Systems >>>

Internet of Things (IoT)

Internet of Things by Rajkumar Buyya (Editor); Amir Vahid Dastjerdi (Editor)
Call Number: QA76.5915
Publication Date: 2016-05-11
Internet of Things: Principles and Paradigms captures the state-of-the-art research in Internet of Things, its applications, architectures, and technologies. To help realize the full potential of IoT, the book addresses its numerous challenges and develops the conceptual and technological solutions for tackling them. These challenges include the development of scalable architecture, moving from closed systems to open systems, designing interaction protocols, autonomic management, and the privacy and ethical issues around data sensing, storage, and processing.

More books about Internet of Things >>>

Networks

Optimization of Computer Networks by Pablo Pavón Mariño
Call Number: TK5102.83.M37 2016
Publication Date: 2016-03-05
This book covers the design and optimization of computer networks applying a rigorous optimization methodology, applicable to any network technology. In Part 1 the reader will learn how to model network problems appearing in computer networks as optimization programs, and use optimization theory to give insights on them. Part 2 targets the design of algorithms that solve network problems like the ones modeled in Part 1.

More books about Networks >>>

Operating Systems (OS)

Embedded Operating Systems by Alan Holt; Chi-Yu Huang
Call Number: QA76.76.O63
Publication Date: 2018-02-21
This textbook/reference guides the reader through the creation of a fully functional embedded operating system, from its source code, in order to develop a deeper understanding of each component and how they work together. The text describes in detail the procedure for building the bootloader, kernel, filesystem, shared libraries, start-up scripts, configuration files and system utilities, to produce a GNU/Linux operating system.

More books about Operating Systems >>>

Programming C++

Professional C++ by Marc Gregoire
Publication Date: 2018-03-09
Professional C++ is the advanced manual for C++ programming. Designed to help experienced developers get more out of the latest release, this book skims over the basics and dives right in to exploiting the full capabilities of C++17. Case studies include nested namespaces, structured bindings, string_view, template argument deduction for constructors, parallel algorithms, generalized sum algorithms, Boyer-Moore string searching, string conversion primitives, a filesystem API, clamping values, optional values, the variant type, the any type, and more.

More books about C++ Programming Language >>>

Programming Python

The Python Bootcamp by Connor P. Milliken
Publication Date: 2019-11-16
Immerse yourself in learning Python and introductory data analytics with this book's project-based approach. Topics include Python basics and essential intermediate concepts such as list comprehension, generators and iterators, understanding algorithmic complexity, and data analysis with pandas.

More books about Python Programming Language >>>

Semiconductors

Semiconductors by Martin I. Pech-Canul (Editor); Nuggehalli M. Ravindra (Editor)
Publication Date: 2019-01-29
This book is a practical guide to optical, optoelectronic, and semiconductor materials and provides an overview of the topic from fundamentals, materials, and safety.

More books about Semiconductors >>>

Sensors

Introduction to Sensors by John Vetelino; Aravind Reghu
Publication Date: 2017-12-19
Introduction to Sensors examines the theoretical foundations and practical applications of electrochemical, piezoelectric, fiber optic, thermal, and magnetic sensors and their use in the modern era. Incorporating information from sensor-based industries to review current developments in the field.

More books about Sensors >>>

Supercomputing

Introduction to High Performance Computing for Scientists and Engineers by Georg Hager; Gerhard Wellein
Call Number: QA76.88.H34 2011
Publication Date: 2010-07-02
The text first introduces the architecture of modern cache-based microprocessors and discusses their inherent performance limitations, before describing general optimization strategies for serial code on cache-based architectures. It next covers shared- and distributed-memory parallel computer architectures and the most relevant network topologies.

More books about Supercomputing >>>

Web Development and Design

Basics of Web Design by Terry Felke-Morris
Call Number: QA76.76.H94F455 2016
Publication Date: 2015-01-21
This hands-on text introduces major topics in two-page sections, focusing on key concepts and providing interactive exercises. All the basics of web designs, from creating web pages to publishing them online, are explored in-depth by each chapter of this book. With a focus on HTML5 and CSS3 coding techniques, the Third Edition prepares readers to take advantage of the most modern and popular platforms for web development. Exploring both "hard skills," such as HTML5 and Cascading Style Sheets, as well as "soft skills" like web design and publishing to the web, the text teaches coders all the fundamental information they need to design successful websites.

More books about Web Development and Design >>>

Patents

UC Patents Guide
A comprehensive guide from UC Libraries about patent research, law, and resources.
USPTO Patent Full-Text Database
The United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) is the federal agency for granting U.S. patents and registering trademarks. This database provides a quick search tool for patents from 1976 onward.
Free Patents Online
Patent search tool, IP synopsis, and topic-based patent articles.
Espacenet: Europe's Network of Patent Databases
Free access to over 110 million patent documents

Professional Societies

Association for Computing Machinery (ACM)
ACM brings together computing educators, researchers, and professionals to inspire dialogue, share resources, and address the field's challenges. As the world’s largest computing society, ACM strengthens the profession's collective voice through strong leadership, promotion of the highest standards, and recognition of technical excellence.
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)
IEEE is the world’s largest technical professional organization dedicated to advancing technology for the benefit of humanity.
Semiconductor Equipment and Materials Institute (SEMI)
SEMI Is the global industry association representing the electronics manufacturing supply chain, connecting over 2,000 member companies and 1.3 million professionals worldwide.

Computer Science Research Guide