Find Data Sets - ENED 3061 Probability and Statistics I - Finding Data Sets - Research Guides at University of Cincinnati

Data Set Resources

Sage Data : powered by Data Planet
Sage Data (formerly Data-Planet Statistical Datasets) provides easy access to an extensive repository of standardized and structured statistical data. ... With the ability to instantly chart, map, and compare billions of indicators at the county, MSA, census-tract, state, and country level, Data-Planet is revolutionizing statistical research.
Coverage: 1909 - present
Social Explorer
Social Explorer contains historical Census data from 1790 to 2000. Database tools allow you to explore Census data visually through the use of interactive data maps and also browse and download Census data in convenient formats for offline processing. You may explore the data through interactive thematic maps of Census 1790 through Census 2000; then create a report from the view of your interest to see numbers and percent breakdowns. You may also go directly to the reports section and choose the data you wish to view and download. Social Explorer also allows you to create and export map slide shows which is very convenient for viewing data over time. Coverage: 1790-present
ICPSR - Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) is a depository of over 250,000 datasets from social science disciplines. Subject collections include aging, arts and culture, criminal justice, demographics, education, health and mental health, race and ethnicity, sociology, political science, criminology, history, public health, economics, and psychology. UC is an institutional partner. Create an account to download data and use online analysis tools.
Coverage - varies

ICPSR Library Guide
UC is a member of ICPSR and this guide provides more information about use, training, and member resources.
Data.census.gov (U.S. Census Bureau)
The new platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau. The vision for data dissemination through data.census.gov is to improve the customer experience by making data available from one centralized place so that data users spend less time searching for data content and more time using it.

DataOhio Portal
DataOhio Portal displays the platform’s public datasets and facilitates the request, approval and delivery of secured datasets. With the ability to easily browse and view data, the Portal allows the public to access information with transparency and ease, thereby improving customer interactions with state agencies and institutions. Each dataset provides state leadership, policymakers and communities with new insights which can be used to facilitate innovative solutions to the complex problems that Ohioans face.

Open Data Cincinnati
The City's data belongs to our citizens and the public. The City of Cincinnati will provide access to government data to improve services, increase accountability and stimulate economic activity. The mission is to provide access to government data, encourage the development of creative tools to engage, serve and improve our neighborhoods and the quality of life of our residents.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Data
Data.CDC.gov is a repository of all available data sets with a Socrata Open Data API. Available categories include: Administrative, Biomonitoring, Child Vaccinations, Flu Vaccinations, Health Statistics, Injury & Violence, Motor Vehicle, NCHS, NNDSS, Pregnancy & Vaccination, STDs, Smoking & Tobacco Use, Teen Vaccinations, Traumatic Brain Injury, Vaccinations and Web Metrics.
Kaggle.com
Kaggle, a subsidiary of Google LLC, is an online community of data scientists and machine learning practitioners. Kaggle allows users to find and publish data sets, explore and build models in a web-based data-science environment, work with other data scientists and machine learning engineers, and enter competitions to solve data science challenges.
Data Repositories (Open Access Directory)
A list of repositories and databases for open data, part of the Open Access Directory