This guide provides a quick overview of general and law materials. It covers browsing for materials by call number range, using encyclopedias for background research and how to locate articles, textbooks, treatises, statutory law, administrative materials, agency publications, legislative histories and websites of interest. The guide can be used by students, faculty members, lawyers, and the general public.
Please note that a number of the resources listed in this research guide are subscription services that can only be accessed by UC Law students, faculty, and staff. You will be prompted to follow the directions listed in Off Campus Access to Databases if you are accessing these resources from home. Additionally, Lexis, Westlaw, and Bloomberg Law can only be accessed by students, faculty, and staff of the UC Law school. Please use your unique username and password to sign in to each database.
Please contact any of our UC Law Librarians if you need assistance in finding or using any of the resources in the guide.
When searching for works on family law, it is important to use the library catalog to find the exact location of books. The catalog will also tell you if a book is checked out and can also help you find books located at the Reserve desk or in other special library collections.
If you would like to browse family law books in the library, this guide lists the library call number ranges for some of the basic categories of family law issues. Note: you can also use the library catalog to browse by call number electronically.
K670-709 Civil Law-Domestic Relations-Family Law
K7155-7197 Private International Law-Domestic Relations-Family Law
K7157-7197 Marriage-Husband and Wife
K7181-7197 Parent and Child-Guardian and Ward
KB531-619 Interdisciplinary-Domestic Relations-Family Law
KBM531-619 Jewish Law-Domestic Relations-Family Law
Useful keywords for searching within library catalogs, databases, and websites for information related to family law include:
University of Cincinnati Libraries
PO Box 210033 Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033
Contact Us | Staff Directory