This Guide contains some of the most used resources for art history research including journals, books, visual resources, databases, and additional resources related to institutional and professional organizations.
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Coverage: 1865 - present
AdForum containts over 110¸000 ads from over 100 countries produced in the last 10 years with an emphasis on notable and award winning creative work. AdForum has ads from all media types (TV¸ print¸ billboard¸ radio¸ case studies interactive) and all ads are viewable in a high resolution video player that includes zoom-in functionality and full screen viewing on print ads. A large number of these ads also include full production credits. An advanced search tool allows users to find the ads they need quite easily.
Coverage: 2000 - present
The Archives of American Art is the world’s preeminent and most widely used research center dedicated to collecting, preserving, and providing access to primary sources that document the history of the visual arts in America.
Art Full Text is a comprehensive resource for art information featuring full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995¸ high-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984¸ including 280 peer-reviewed journals¸ as well as indexing and abstracting of over 13¸000 art dissertations. Indexing of almost 200¸000 art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements¸ including works by emerging artists. The database covers fine¸ decorative and commercial art¸ folk art¸ photography¸ film¸ and architecture¸ and also includes a database-specific thesaurus.
Coverage: 1984 - present
Art Index Retrospective¸ 1929 -1984¸ provides users access to over half a century of art literature covering fine¸ decorative¸ and commercial art. Content includes high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications¸ many of which are peer-reviewed¸ and citations of over 25¸000 book reviews.
ARTstor is a non-profit initiative¸ founded by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation¸ with a mission to use digital technology to enhance scholarship¸ teaching and learning in the arts and associated fields. It is a searchable database of more than 2.5 million digital images and related data.
NOTE: ARTSTOR CONTENT IS MOVING TO JSTOR (MUCH CONTENT IS ALREADY MOVED). ARTSTOR WILL BE RETIRED IN AUGUST 2024.
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes more than 1¸000 periodicals published worldwide on archaeology¸ city planning¸ interior design¸ and historic preservation¸ as well as architecture. Updated daily¸ the Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals covers 1977 to the present¸ with more than 229¸000 records.
Coverage: 1977 - present
A database search engine covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present¸ indexes and abstracts art-related books¸ conference proceedings and dissertations¸ exhibition and dealer's catalogs¸ and articles from more than 2¸500 periodicals.
Coverage: 1973 - present
The Eighteenth Century Collections Online provides access to the digital images of every page of 150¸000 books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of approximately 33 million pages¸ the product allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in fields of history¸ literature¸ religion¸ law¸ fine arts¸ and sermons to advertisements-and works by many well-known and lesser-known authors¸ all providing a diverse collection of material for the researcher of the eighteenth century. Included are works from women writers of the eighteenth century; collections on the French Revolution; and numerous editions of the works of Shakespeare. Multiple editions of each individual work are offered to enable scholars to make textual comparisons of the works. Supported by the Charles Phelps Taft Research Center.
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature¸ including peer-reviewed papers¸ theses¸ books¸ preprints¸ abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers¸ professional societies¸ preprint repositories and universities¸ as well as scholarly articles available across the web. If you are unable to access the fulltext of the item¸ please check with your university library. You may need to do searches from a campus computer or use a library proxy.
JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and diverse primary sources. Explore the visual side of JSTOR, including artwork, newspapers, manuscripts, photographs, and other artifacts contributed by libraries, museums, archives, and historical societies around the world
OpenBibArt reviews the literature on arts from Late Antiquity to the present day, providing access to close to 1.2 million of bibliographic records of periodicals, books, exhibition and auction catalogues, published between 1910 and 2007.
Oxford Art Online is an authoritative¸ inclusive¸ and easily searchable online art resource. Through a single gateway users can access-and simultaneously cross-search-an expanding range of Oxford's art reference works: Grove Art Online¸ the Benezit Dictionary of Artists¸ the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics¸ The Oxford Companion to Western Art¸ and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms¸ as well as many specially commissioned articles and bibliographies available exclusively online.
The Core Collection is a huge and comprehensive resource that contains over 100 dictionaries and reference titles covering the complete subject spectrum: from General Reference and Language to Science and Medicine¸ and from Humanities and Social Sciences to Business and Professional.
The Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition)¸ from the first issue in 1892 to the current month¸ reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page¸ advertisement¸ cover and fold-out has been included¸ with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type¸ designer and brand names.--Web site. Coverage: 1892 - current
World Book Online is a suite of online research tools that delivers encyclopedia articles¸ primary source collections¸ educator tools¸ student activities¸ pictures¸ audio¸ and video¸ complemented by current periodicals and related Web sites. All the databases are editor-screened for authenticity and age-appropriate content.