Research Guides: Biomedical Engineering Research Guide: home

Need Help?

This is the homepage for all research resources related to Biomedical Engineering. Here, you can find Books, Databases, Journals, and more. For all our engineering research guides, see Engineering and Technology.

Need Help?

CEAS Library's Ask A Librarian service can assist you with basic to advanced questions related to resources in engineering and the sciences, including those of the CEAS (Engineering and Applied Science) Library.

Databases

Compendex
An engineering-focused database that includes journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, standards, books, and preprints. Content is sourced from publishers from around the world, including major engineering societies such as IEEE, ASME, SAE and ACM.
PubMed
PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health. PubMed comprises more than 37 million citations and abstracts biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.

National Center for Biotechnology Information
The National Center for Biotechnology Information advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.

BIOSIS Previews (access through Web of Science)
An expansive index to life sciences and biomedical research from journals, meetings, books, and patents. The database covers pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more.

Biotechnology Research Abstracts
An advanced search hub for reviewed biotechnology abstracts.
BioMed Central
A pioneer of open access publishing, BMC has an evolving portfolio of high quality peer-reviewed journals including broad interest titles such as BMC Biology and BMC Medicine, specialist journals such as Malaria Journal and Microbiome, and the BMC Series.
NASA's Life Science Data Archive
NASA's data archive open for researchers, educators, and students.

Plunkett Research Online
Plunkett research online takes you directly to industry-specific research portals for the most important business sectors¸ from energy to e-commerce and retailing to financial services. Includes market research and trends analysis¸ glossaries¸ statistics¸ company profiles and contacts¸ and industry associations and organizations.

Journals

Applied Microbiology and Biotechnology
Journals from Ohiolink from 1984-present.
Applied Ergonomics
Journals from Ohiolink from 1969-present.
Genome Research
Genome Research is an international, continuously published, peer-reviewed journal that features outstanding original research providing novel insights into the genome biology of all organisms, including significant advances in genomic medicine.
IEEE Transactions on Biomedical Engineering
Basic and applied papers dealing with biomedical engineering. Papers range from engineering development in methods and techniques with biomedical applications to experimental and clinical investigations with engineering contributions.
IEEE Transactions on Medical Imaging
IEEE Transactions on Medical Imaging (T-MI) encourages the submission of manuscripts on imaging of body structure, morphology and function, including cell and molecular imaging and all forms of microscopy. The journal publishes original contributions on medical imaging achieved by modalities including ultrasound, x-rays, magnetic resonance, radionuclides, microwaves, and optical methods.
Journal of Biomedical Engineering
The Journal of Biomechanical Engineering reports research results involving the application of mechanical engineering principles to the improvement of human health. The scope of relevant topics ranges from basic biology to biomedical applications and includes theoretical, computational, experimental, and clinical studies.
Biomedical Instrumentation and Technology
Publications from 2005-present.

Standards and Specifications

ASTM Compass
ASTM Compass provides full-text access to the full set of ASTM’s Standards (both current and historical versions), Special Technical Publications (STPs) and Conference Proceedings, Technical Manuals, and research journals such as the Journal of Testing and Evaluation. Coverage 1931-present.

Professional Societies

American Society of Biomechanics
Biomechanics represents the broad interplay between mechanics and biological systems. The American Society of Biomechanics (ASB) was founded in 1977 to encourage and foster the exchange of information and ideas among biomechanists working in different disciplines and to facilitate the development of biomechanics as a basic and applied science.
Biomedical Engineering Society
The Biomedical Engineering Society (BMES) is the professional society for biomedical engineering and bioengineering. Founded in early 1968, the Society now boasts over 7,500 members and is growing, rapidly.
Society for Biomaterials
Clinicians, researchers, and students from medical device manufacturers, academic research labs, and operating rooms across the country and around the world belong to SFB. This interdisciplinary gathering is a critical pathway to identifying issues with current technologies, and for translating academic research to clinical practice.
Human Factors and Ergonomics Society
The Human Factors and Ergonomics Society, founded in 1957, is the world’s largest scientific association for human factors/ergonomics professionals. HFES serves the needs of members and the public by promoting and advancing the discovery and exchange of knowledge concerning the characteristics of human beings that are applicable to the design of systems, products, tools, and environments of all kinds.