Research Guides: AIS 3001-4099: Applied Interdisciplinary Studies: Find Sources

Start Search Using Summon

Summon is a great place to start a search for sources (e.g. scholarly article, news article, ebook, streaming media). Use the search box on this page or go to the Articles search box on the UC Libraries web site. Use the Keyword Map worksheet to identify keywords for your search.

Keyword Strategies:

Look at non-library sources (e.g. non-profit organization's web site, marketing materials, or strategic plan) for potential keywords and phrases that describe the organization or topic
Consider using broad and narrow keywords and phrases especially when searching for types of sources such as scholarly journal articles
For Cincinnati-based organizations, use keywords that describe the purpose and/or scope of the organization (e.g. food pantries, job training programs)

Additional Help

The Scholarly Journal Articles (characteristics and strategies for reading) and Types of Sources (how information is created) pages provide refreshers on the differences between sources.

Summon: Beyond the Basics (Video)
This tutorial (3:03 minutes) reviews advanced tips and tricks for using the Summon search engine.

Best Bets for Databases

Background Research

Credo Reference
Full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference materials. The content is enriched with images, sound files, maps, and customizable data tables.

Case Studies

SAGE Business Cases
A robust digital collection of thousands of authoritative cases from over 100 countries. The collection spans a wide range of business and management disciplines from leadership and entrepreneurship, to family business and women in leadership.

Country Overviews

CultureGrams
Goes beyond basic facts and figures with local perspectives on more than 200 countries and territories, detailing daily life and culture, including history, customs and lifestyles.
Global Road Warrior
Covers 175 countries and includes information on climate, society and culture, business culture, demographics, money and banking, business capitals, health and medical, transportation, communications, business services, and more.

Current Events

Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database covering a wide range of subjects and includes full text articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and news sources and videos.
Business Source Complete
Business database that includes full text scholarly journal articles plus magazine, news, and trade publications and more.
Newspaper Source
Covers regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, and newspaper columns.

Industry Research

IBISWorld
In-depth industry analysis for over 700 U.S. industries in all major U.S. industry sectors at the 5-digit level of NAICS. Contains key statistics, market characteristics, industry conditions, industry performance, key competitors, and industry outlook and forecast.
Plunkett Research Online
Industry-specific research portals from energy to e-commerce and retailing to financial services. Includes market research and trends analysis, statistics, company profiles and more.