Research Guides: ECE 3015: Children's Literature in Early Care and Education: Key Databases

Introduction to Children's and Young Adult Literature Databases

Using a children's literature database is helpful for finding key information about a particular title, including the following:

Many children's literature databases also provide access to extremely important supplementary information about a title, including the following:

Curriculum tools and lesson plans
Author biographies
Book reviews
Reading measurement program information (i.e. Lexile, Reading Counts, Accelerated Reader)

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database.
The Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) is your resource to an extensive array of information about children's books¸ video and audio recordings¸ film strips¸ and other children-focused media. The database contains more than 130¸000 critical reviews of thousands of children's books¸ ranging from the earliest baby board books to novels and nonfiction for young adults¸ and an average of more than 1500 new reviews are added to the database monthly.

TeachingBooks.net
Create free account first.

TeachingBooks makes instantly available original, in-studio movies of authors and illustrators, audio excerpts of professional book readings, guides to thousands of titles and a wealth of multimedia resources on children's and young adult literature.

Children's Core Collection
This rich resource covers fiction and nonfiction works, story collections, picture books and magazines recommended for readers in preschool through sixth grade. Professional literature for the children's librarian, both periodicals and books, is also covered. Selected and recommended by collection development specialists, books within Children's Core Collection encompass a wide variety of topics, including social sciences, science, math and reading.
Children's Literature Review
Children's Literature Review covers more than 750 authors and includes numerous entries focusing on individual titles and topics in children’s and young adult literature, including picture books, folklore, and graphic novels. Introductory essays are written and entries compiled by professional literature researchers and other subject matter experts. Each entry includes a set of previously published reviews, essays, and other critical responses from sources that include scholarly books and journals, literary magazines, interviews, letters, and diaries; all are carefully selected to create a representative history and cross-section of critical responses.