No matter what materials science topic you're researching, these databases are a good place to start your search:
Materials science research with more than 40,300 binary and ternary alloy phase diagrams, each with their associated crystal and reaction data. Also includes all inorganic systems. This data can assist with materials troubleshooting, manufacturing control, and development of new materials.
An engineering-focused database that includes journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, standards, books, and preprints. Content is sourced from publishers from around the world, including major engineering societies such as IEEE, ASME, SAE and ACM.
MatWeb's searchable database of material properties includes data sheets for over 180,000 metals and alloys, plastics, ceramics, wood, composites, fibers, and other engineering materials.
Provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more.
These resources may provide additional, or more specialized, information:
Quickly access relevant patent, substance and bioactivity insights, and a retrosynthesis tool. Find information on organic, inorganic and organometallic substances; chemical reactions; published experimental facts, including substance property, spectral and reaction data; and Chemical patents.
A comprehensive, multidisciplinary abstract and citation database that includes literature from the social sciences, physical sciences, health sciences and life sciences. Search and filter relevant information, monitor research trends, track newly published research and identify subject experts. Use the analytics tools to visualize, compare and export the data.
First-time users sign up and register for a SciFinder-N account using your UC email address. Registered SciFinder-N account users can access this extensive database for chemistry-related literature and patents, chemical substance and reaction databases, and chemical supplier catalogs. The database searches journal articles, book chapters, patents, conference papers, technical reports, chemical property data.
Includes academic journals and book series that publish regular and special issues, volumes, conference proceedings, and monographs focused on science and engineering themes.
Books about Materials Science can be located through the UC Library Catalog. You can search in the UC Library Catalog by author, title, keyword or subject.
They can be accessed through UC Libraries Textbook and Reserves List, both online and in print.
