University of Cincinnati Libraries is happy and proud to support the wonderful study aboard opportunities available at UC. We have resources for students, parents, and advisors. We can help you plan your trip, make the most of the study abroad, and welcome you back. You have access to library resources and reference assistance anywhere anytime!
Information for students covers all stages of the experience.
Preparing to go abroad: resources for optimizing your study abroad experience, learning about your country, and links to news, media, and language resources,
While abroad: resources for increasing your cultural and language proficiency and tips for using libraries, including access to UC collections and reference assistance.
Back from the trip provides links to sources on dealing with reverse culture shock.
Information for parents and advisors includes links to books, articles, and websites.
What is studying abroad like? What skills and attitudes would help you get the most of your experience?
In a panel hosted by UC Libraries students shared their high and low moments and tips of making study abroad fun and productive. The panel is captured in the video below.
Hoover's Online is a database of public and private company reports and Industry studies. Search by: Company name¸ Ticker symbol¸ Keyword Person's last name. UC has access also to the Members Only sections which includes the Hoovers in-depth Company Profiles where you will find sales leads¸ business contacts¸ investment ideas¸ financial information and competitive intelligence information including a list of competitiors.
NOTE: KNOWN ISSUE WITH ACCESS PROBLEMS; TRY A DIFFERENT BROWSER, CLEAR HISTORY AND/OR TRY AGAIN.
Coverage: Current
IBISWorld Industry Reports provide in-depth industry analysis for over 700 U.S. industries in all major U.S. industry sectors at the 5-digit level of NAICS . Reports are updated regularly¸ and contain: key statistics¸ market characteristics¸ segmentation¸ industry conditions¸ industry performance¸ key competitors¸ key factors¸ and industry outlook and forecast.
Coverage - Current
Covers 175 countries. Includes information about: country facts¸ climate¸ society and culture¸ business culture¸ demographics¸ money and banking¸ travel essentials¸ business capitals¸ points of interest¸ security briefing¸ health and medical¸ transportation¸ communications¸ business services¸ technical/internet¸ electrical¸ embassies/consulates and maps.
Includes sections on: Detailed market size data¸ Country marketing parameters¸ Marketing forecast data¸ Brand and company information¸ Business information sources¸ Marketing profiles¸ and Full text market analysis¸ International market intelligence reports¸ market direction reports¸ and Emerging market reports.
Summon searches for books, articles, and other materials available at the library (most of it is online). It is a library version of Google.
You can find country information available at the library by using some of the following searches:
Italy AND retailing
Italy AND economy
Italy AND "consumer trends"
Italy AND "cultural competency"
