Running the actual searches for your systematic review requires a few things. Prior to beginning be prepared to:
|
CONDUCT THE SEARCH |
|
Run all database searches on the same day |
|
Search for grey literature, hand searching, etc. (if applicable) |
Running the individual searches in each database should be straight forward since your search strings have already been created and tested. Your searches may return a large number of results and you want to keep track of all of these - including duplicates and those you will exclude later. Citation managers or Covidence can help you with this process. The library currently supports:
Users must register for an account with a valid UC email. Go here to register:
https://app.covidence.org/organizations/7gwO5/signup
Covidence is an online tool that streamlines the production of systematic reviews, scoping reviews, and other literature-intensive research projects. It coordinates the screening process of titles/abstracts and full-text articles, and it facilitates the population of data extraction forms and risk of bias tables. Users must register for an account with their UC email. UC HSL is piloting this resource for 1 year. More information about this pilot can be found at: https://guides.libraries.uc.edu/CovidencePilot
Desktop free, open sourced citation management system that can be used to collect, organize, cite, and share research. Word processor integration for Word, LibreOffice, and Google Docs, and can sync records across devices. Developed and supported by the Corporation for Digital Scholarship.
RefWorks is a citation and reference management service. With RefWorks users can create their own personal database by importing references from online databases. They can use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds. As a web-based product¸ RefWorks is available to users across various platforms including Windows¸ Mac¸ Unix¸ etc. UC users can set up their free individual accounts. This is the NEW version of RefWorks. Users new to RefWorks should set up accounts with this version of RefWorks. Most new development for RefWorks service will be on this NEW platform.
Other helpful tools include:
A comprehensive and exhaustive systematic review will include a search of nontraditional publications known as grey literature. This type of literature is not usually found in your average library database. Examples of grey literature include:
Grey literature can be found through:
Other search methods include contacting experts, citation and reference searching, and hand searching key journals.
