Skip to Main Content
General Books & Treatises
Bankruptcy & Domestic Relations Manual (Westlaw)
Full text of Bankruptcy and Domestic Relations Manual, giving the domestic relations and the bankruptcy practitioner page after page of important details and strategies for representing the domestic relations creditor or debtor in a bankruptcy case. In it the attorney will find explanations of the former and the revised bankruptcy law relating to domestic relations claims, and strategies and steps to take to successfully handle a domestic relations issue in a bankruptcy case.
Bankruptcy & Its Impact on Domestic Relations & Family Law (Westlaw)
This text is a guide to issues arising in divorce proceedings that are affected by the Bankruptcy Code as amended by the Bankruptcy Abuse Prevention and Consumer Protection Act of 2005 (BAPCPA). Issues included in the text are the effect of the automatic stay; the power of bankruptcy courts to enjoin state courts; status of property in the bankruptcy estate; the impact of the bankruptcy discharge on alimony, child support, maintenance, and property settlements; post-petition divorce actions; and exempt property.
Child Custody and Visitation Law and Practice (Lexis)
This national publication covers all custody and visitation matters handled by the family law practitioner including: * Every phase of a disputed custody or visitation proceeding * Effective use of expert witnesses * Substantive law of custody and visitation * Alternatives to traditional approaches * Practical advice on management of a case * Analysis of UCCJEA, PKPA, ICWA, and the Hague Convention on Civil Aspects of International Child Abduction Topics discussed in Child Custody and Visitation Law and Practice include: * Child custody mediation * Child abuse and custody * Rights of putative fathers * International enforcement of custodial rights * The effective use of mental health experts and child custody evaluation reports and custody determinations in light of the new reproductive technologies in custody-visitation disputes * Disputes between parents * Disputes between parents and non-parents *
Child Custody Practice and Procedure (Westlaw)
Using "best interest" factors as the guiding force, the author of Child Custody Practice and Procedure presents strategies for winning favorable decisions in child custody arrangements and outlines procedures for obtaining initial and modification jurisdiction under:
The Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction Act
The Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction and Enforcement Act
The Parental Kidnapping Prevention Act of 1980
This title also covers:
Declining jurisdiction
Communicating with courts in other states
Discovery tools such as oral, videotape, and written depositions
Interrogatories
Production and inspection of documents and photographs
Request for updating answers to interrogatories
Motions for sanctions or striking of pleadings
Registering child custody orders
Joint parenting agreements
Proven trial strategies
Selecting mental health experts
Using expert testimony at trial
Tips for enforcing custody and visitation orders, and modifying custody awards
Presenting an appeal
Enforcing custody and visitation orders
Modifying custody awards
Child Support Guidelines: Law and Practice (Westlaw)
Child Support Guidelines Law and Practice is a comprehensive, current practice tool to help practitioners understand and implement the Federal Child Support Guidelines, which came into force May 1, 1997. The second edition covers all of the topics in an annotated format, providing case annotations for each section of the Guidelines.
Determining Child & Spousal Support (Westlaw)
Determining Child and Spousal Support combines a discussion of economic principles with practical guidance, providing the foundation for determining realistic and fair support in divorce cases. You'll find the tools necessary to arrive at monthly support figures for children and adults, based on actual cost-of-living formulas. Plus, the text provides valuable help in evaluating new cases, identifying unfair settlement offers, and considering the variables that can affect settlement amounts. It also features:
Step-by-step instructions, client forms, and worksheets
Easy-reference tables that quickly direct you to the information you need
Basic "fill-in-the-number" formulas that expedite the calculation process
Domestic Torts: Civil Lawsuits Arising From Criminal Conduct Within Family Relationships, 2d (Westlaw)
Domestic Torts: Civil Lawsuits Arising From Criminal Conduct Within Family Relationships is an essential resource for attorneys practicing either family law or personal injury law. The treatise provides a complete examination of domestic torts, exploring both the psychological and legal aspect of domestic tort cases.
Family Law and Practice (Lexis)
GENERAL EDITOR: Arnold H. Rutkin Written by a distinguished group of matrimonial practitioners and family law experts from across the country, Family Law & Practice is national in scope and practice-oriented, providing guidance for every stage of a family law proceeding from initial client contact through modification and enforcement. Some of the topics covered in this comprehensive, up-to-date work include: * Strategy * Temporary relief * Child custody, including the latest cases on joint vs. sole custody * Valuation and distribution of property upon dissolution of marriage * Child support * Spousal support * Domestic violence * The latest tax considerations * Discovery, pre-trial, and trial techniques * Modification and enforcement of support orders * Divorce, support and benefits relevant to military families * Paternity proceedings * Adoption * Unmarried cohabitants * Counsel fees * Attorney ethics Invaluable practice aids incorporated throughout the work include model pleadings, orders, motion papers, sample retainers, financial questionnaires, sample interrogatories, models of equitable distribution of marital property, model direct and cross-examinations. First published in 1985.
Family Law in a Nutshell (West Academic)
Few areas of law practice cover as many issues as family law. The subject embraces marriage and divorce, annulment, custody of children, spousal and child support, complex property issues, paternity, domestic violence, adoption, and alternative means of reproduction. Each of these topics itself is complex. For example, within the broad subject of child custody lie the issues of interstate move away cases, international parental child abduction, and the impact of domestic violence on a parent’s right to custody or visitation. In addition to purely legal issues, family law has a large psychological component, touching on some of the most important and sensitive aspects of human nature and interaction, such as, what is a family, what are the rights and responsibilities of parents toward children, and how should society respond to child abuse and domestic violence? All of these issues, and more, are discussed in this Nutshell.
Family Law in Perspective (West Academic)
The Fifth Edition of the Perspectives book continues the focus of providing students, practitioners, and observers with insight into the ever-changing parameters of laws pertaining to family structure and responsibilities. Specifically, this book addresses, among other topics, nonmarital cohabitation, establishment of paternity, premarital and marital contracting, assisted reproductive technology, marriage, and divorce. Recent cases and federal and state statutes address specific topics such as surrogacy agreements, division of marital and nonmarital property upon dissolution of cohabitation or divorce, child support guidelines, and establishing custody rights through parenting agreements or what is considered in the best interest of the child. And there is a continuation of discussion illustrating equal protection, liberty interest, and free exercise in the context of same-sex relationships, the safety of partners and children, and termination of parental rights and possible adoption of minors. The Perspectives book seeks to provide the reader with a grasp of what is currently the law and a glimpse into where the law may be going.
Family Law Litigation Guide with Forms: Discovery, Evidence, Trial Practice (Lexis)
AUTHORS: Numerous Family Law Specialists Family Law Litigation Guide with Forms: Discovery, Evidence, Trial Practice is the only publication available that helps prepare you for every phase of matrimonial and family law pre-trial practice and related court proceedings. You'll get in-depth coverage of procedural and evidentiary rules, as well as practical "how to" guidance that helps you apply those rules in court. Whether you're a specialist or a general practitioner, your work will go faster with clearly-written analyses, practice points, convenient checklists, and more than 200 sample court-tested forms, including: * Forms used in family law proceedings * Practice checklists * Sample motion papers * Sample discovery devices * Sample questions and answers that demonstrate and explain every aspect of questioning Four distinct units of coverage take you step-by-step through: * Law of Discovery * Discovery Practice * Law of Evidence *
Gilbert Law Summaries on Community Property (West Academic)
The subjects discussed in this Community Property outline include classifying property as community or separate, management and control of property, liability for debts, and division of property at divorce. Also covered are devolution of property at death, relationships short of valid marriage, conflict of laws problems, and constitutional law issues (including equal protection standards, and due process issues).
The Law of Domestic Relations in the United States (West Academic)
This part of the Hornbook Series analyzes both the continuity and changes that have occurred in the law of domestic relations in recent years. Alternatives to marriage like contract cohabitation, civil unions, and marriage itself are examined in light of state supreme court and United States Supreme Court cases. The economics of divorce including the division of property is presented with reference to the emergence of marriage equality. Adoption of children concludes the book with emphasis on the abandonment of secrecy and the new regard for openness.
Lindey and Parley on Separation Agreements and Antenuptial Contracts, Second Edition (Lexis)
AUTHORS: Louis I. Parley; Alexander Lindey Lindey and Parley on Separation Agreements and Antenuptial Contracts is your complete source for family law agreement forms, including premarital, separation, and marital settlement agreements, as well as cohabitation and postnuptial agreements. Lindey and Parley also covers attorney-client fee agreements and related transactional forms. Streamlined and modernized to make your research more efficient, this resource includes nearly 600 easy-to-use forms.
Mastering Family Law (Lexis Digital Library)
Mastering Family Law helps students understand the basic principles and underlying policies of the topics covered in a general family law course. The content in this book is drawn from the table of contents of all the major family law teaching texts and includes all of the major topics covered in those texts. Consequently, a student will find this book a helpful supplement to any family law casebook. The book includes traditional family law topics such as marriage and divorce, but also covers child law topics such as the constitutional rights of parents and the definition of parents, among others. It provides a roadmap at the beginning of each chapter to focus attention on the important topics that will be addressed and a checkpoints list at the end of each chapter to summarize the important concepts as an aid to student comprehension and retention. The book is written in a student-friendly style designed to present the major concepts in easily understood language.
Military Family Law (Lexis)
The practice of family law can be complicated when a military spouse is involved. Issues of deployment and child custody, military pensions and division of property, and a panoply of federal rules and regulations make protecting the rights of military spouses very complex. Even the jargon is specialized. Military Family Law makes sense of the intricate web of federal rules and regulations governing the military, as well as the practices special to each branch of the service. The authors, Patricia and Steven Shewmaker, both served in the military before going on to earn their law degrees and fully understand the unique issues that confront military families. They explain: • The different branches of the military • Military pay, including basic pay, allowances, and basic allowance for housing • TriCare® medical benefits • Retired pay, and the division of retired pay • Military disability and VA benefits • The Servicemembers' Civil Relief Act (SCRA) • Domestic violence • Support issues, including interim family support for each branch of the service • Child custody and visitation
Modern Child Custody Practice (Lexis)
AUTHOR: Jeff Atkinson Cited by the U.S. Supreme Court in Troxel, scrutinizing grandparent visitation, and also by the supreme courts of 11 states, Modern Child Custody Practice is the manual that: * Treats the human dynamics as well as the legal aspects of child custody and support cases * Analyzes each step of the custody proceeding, from the first client interview through the appeals process * Describes how to most effectively use--or rebut--the testimony of mental health professionals * Explains when joint or split custody is a viable alternative * Thoroughly discusses visitation by the noncustodial parent, grandparents and stepparents * Evaluates the type and degree of change required to modify custody * Provides guidance for handling an out-of-state move by the custodial parent * Sets forth the orientation and techniques used in mediation * Includes forms, checklists, case examples, detailed citations and appendices * Covers child custody jurisdiction, including a thorough analysis of the law, the Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction and Enforcement Act (UCCJEA) and the Hague Convention
Preparation for Deposition in a Family Law Case (Lexis)
Authors: Roger J. Dodd and Larry Pozner. Proper preparation of your client prior to their deposition can prevent mistakes that can cost you the trial or hurt your settlement. This video is designed with your client in mind; watching it helps your client prepare for the deposition experience, know what to expect, and understand the "do's and don'ts" of being deposed. Save your time by using this billable tool to prepare your client. Includes pointers on avoiding the most common witness mistakes such as: saying too much, guessing, and assuming. Guidance on correct behavior such as: listen carefully to the question, pause briefly to allow time for your attorney to react, always be honest and sk questions when you are unsure. Also includes courtroom scenes for illustration of potential impact of "bad" answers
Qualified Domestic Relations Orders: Strategy and Liability for the Family Law Attorney (Lexis)
Author: Raymond S. Dietrich This gap-filling practice guide for handling and protecting retirement benefits in marital dissolutions stresses proper representation and negotiation techniques. While many family law attorneys outsource preparation of QDROs to other professionals, the attorney still requires guidance on how to best protect his client's interests. Author Raymond S. Dietrich provides a tightly focused analysis, the necessary information and the strategies critical to properly positioning a case. Effective strategies in negotiating settlement of interests in retirement benefits are poorly understood partly because many family law attorneys send the task out to a specialist, use a form book to draft a QDRO or accept the pension plan administrator's offer of the "standard provisions." This book provides a succinct education regarding the structure of many pension plans, alerts the practitioner to unknown contingencies, empowers the attorney with negotiating strategies and warns of potential attorney liability. QDRO Strategy and Liability complements all state-specific and national dissolution practice sets and online family law menus in the handling of retirement benefits, one of the most common and important assets in marital dissolution proceedings. This top-of-the-line coverage is a necessary addition for all family law attorneys handling significant asset cases - as well as forensic CPAs and pension plan administrators. A Table of Cases, a Table of Statutes and an Index complement the synopses at the beginning of each chapter to make analysis and authority easy to find.
Questions & Answers: Family Law (Lexis Digital Library)
Using a multiple-choice and short-answer format, this book contains questions and answers regarding a variety of issues covered in family law. The focus is not on the law of a particular jurisdiction but, instead, on the laws of various jurisdictions. Because there is a great deal of overlap with respect to how states approach the resolution of many of the issues that arise in the domestic relations context, this book offers an overview of how various issues are treated across the states. That said, however, the explanations include some of the differing approaches used by the states reflecting differing priorities and emphases. This book is intended to help students hone test-taking skills as well as clarify a variety of issues that arise in family law.
Valuation and Distribution of Marital Property (Lexis)
UTHORS: Arnold H. Rutkin, William M. Troyan, Grace Ganz Blumberg and other matrimonial law experts The Valuation and Distribution of Martial Property is a guide to property disposition in community property and equitable distribution jurisdictions. The guide covers: * Latest tax issues relating to the disposition of property * Use of accountants, appraisers, and pension evaluators * Valuation of real property * Valuation of small businesses including closely held corporations * Valuation of a professional practice * Valuation of intangible assets including a degree or license * Valuation of ERISA and non-ERISA pension plans; drafting the QDRO * The characterization and division of community property * Antenuptial, postnuptial, and property settlement agreements * Possession, sale, and distribution of the marital home * Conflicts of law
Ohio Books and Treatises
Anderson's Ohio Domestic Relations Practice Manual (Lexis)
AUTHOR: Barbara J. Howard Written for the legal professional whose practice includes domestic relations cases, this manual leads the attorney step-by-step through a divorce or dissolution proceeding. In a convenient softcover format, Anderson's Ohio Domestic Relations Practice Manual provides practical advice as well as drafting suggestions for applicable forms. References are made to representative local rules and official forms as they apply to specific steps and issues. Focusing on the issues, questions, and problems that commonly arise in typical divorce or dissolution cases, this guidebook provides detailed coverage of special issues of current interest such as custody (allocation of parental rights and responsibilities), spousal and child support, and health care. Common post-decree matters such as modification of support or custody are also considered as well as issues relating to the validity and enforcement of antenuptial agreements. Features include: * Client Questionnaire * Fee Agreement Letter * Sample Pleadings, Motions, and Decrees * Sample Separation Agreement * Child Support Worksheets * Shared Parenting Worksheet and Sample Plans * Sample Temporary Restraining Order and Affidavit * Sample Qualified Domestic Relations Orders (QDROs) * Sample Decree Modification Motions * Sample Prenuptial Agreement * Domestic Relations Local Rules and Official Forms
Anderson's Ohio Family Law (Lexis)
AUTHORS: James G. Carr; John Gilchrist; Don J. Young Anderson's Ohio Family Law is a three-volume set addressing the legal issues with regard to children, marriage, the elderly, and juvenile court practice and procedure. Volume One presents an overview of family law. Volume Two of Anderson's Ohio Family Law, Juvenile Court Practice and Procedure is a treatise designed specifically for Ohio's judges, child welfare workers, and other individuals active with or concerned about the welfare of children. Written by two of the state's leading authorities on juvenile law, it contains the most comprehensive review and discussion of Ohio's statutory and case law available on the subject of juvenile court practice and procedure. Anderson's Ohio Family Law also includes the Ohio Family Law Handbook.
Couse's Ohio Form Book (Lexis)
With more than 1,000 forms in a convenient topical format, Couse's Ohio Form Book also includes general commentary explaining the law governing the forms followed by tax commentary explaining state and federal tax laws. This set covers and is organized in accordance with the following general areas of practice: business law, commercial transactions, domestic relations, estate planning and probate, legal practice, professional relationships, and real property. Forms are thoroughly cross-referenced to related forms, with references to Page's Ohio Revised Code Annotated and Ohio cases, applicable federal statutes and cases, and relevant secondary materials. All of the forms in this publication are also available online as formatted, ready-to-use forms at www.lexis.com as part of the Anderson's Ohio Forms source.
Domestic Relations Law--Baldwin's Ohio Practice (Westlaw)
Domestic Relations Law (Baldwin's Ohio Practice) provides comprehensive coverage of domestic relations law in Ohio. Judges, law professors, and leading practitioners contributed analysis, commentary, and practical guidance to Domestic Relations Law, under the guidance of General Editors Beatrice K. Sowald and Stanley Morganstern, making it a valuable family law resource. Topics include:
Alternate forms of dispute resolution
Antenuptial agreements
Child Support
Collaborative Law
Marriage
Parentage
Marital obligations
Property rights
Domestic violence
Separation
Divorce
Spousal support and more
Case analysis and hypotheticals illustrate successful strategies. The content includes forms regarding modification of separation agreements and child support enforcement agencies.
Ohio Domestic Violence Law--Baldwin's Ohio Handbook (Westlaw)
A practical guide for law enforcement officials, family practitioners, social workers, judges, prosecutors, police, and defense attorneys, Ohio Domestic Violence Law covers Ohio civil and criminal laws governing domestic violence. It discusses current issues and emerging trends, with references to applicable state and federal statutes, rules, and caselaw. It includes:
A question-and-answer format
Checklists, interview formats, charts, sample questions, a sample brief, and other aids
Analysis of civil protection orders, including issuance, hearings, court and police enforcement, and criminal protection orders
The full text of selected provisions of the Ohio Revised Code and selected Rules of Superintendence for Ohio Courts
Analysis and commentary
Proven strategies for safe intervention on behalf of victims and steps to safeguard the constitutional rights of the accused.
Ohio Forms Legal & Business (Westlaw)
Ohio Forms Legal and Business includes the standard legal and business forms most commonly used in Ohio.
Ohio Juvenile Law--Baldwin's Ohio Handbook (Westlaw)
This publication is the leading reference for Ohio's juvenile courts, practitioners, and children's advocates. It offers coverage on the law and practice applicable to delinquents, juvenile traffic offenders, unruly children, and neglected, abused, and dependent children. Every phase of a juvenile proceeding, from intake to disposition is outlined and explained.
Court Rules & Forms
Hamilton County Court of Domestic Relations Forms
Link to forms and procedures from the Hamilton County Court of Domestic Relations.
Hamilton County Court of Domestic Relations Local Rules
Local rules for the Hamilton County Court of Domestic Relations.
Matthew Bender Ohio Forms & Checklists (Lexis)
Database where you can search for sample Ohio forms, including family law forms.
Ohio Family Law Finder (Westlaw)
Database where you can search for Family Law forms.
Ohio Rules of Civil Procedure (Lexis)
The OH - Ohio State & Federal Court Rules (OHRULE) file contains the following Ohio Rules of Court from the Page's Ohio Revised Code Annotated: -Ohio Rules Of Civil Procedure -Ohio Rules Of Criminal Procedure -Ohio Rules Of Appellate Procedure -Ohio Rules Of Juvenile Procedure -Ohio Rules Of Evidence -Ohio Traffic Rules -Commission On The Rules Of Practice And Procedure In Ohio Courts -Rules Of Superintendence For The Courts Of Ohio -Commission On The Rules Of Superintendence For Ohio Courts -Commission on Technology and the Courts -Rules Of Practice Of The Supreme Court Of Ohio -Rules Of The Court Of Claims Of Ohio -Rules of the Court of Claims, Victims of Crime Compensation Section -Local Rules Of The Court Of Claims Of Ohio -Supreme Court Rules For The Government Of The Bar Of Ohio -Ohio Rules of Professional Conduct -Supreme Court Rules For The Government of The Judiciary Of Ohio -Code Of Judicial Conduct -Supreme Court Rules For The Reporting Of Opinions -Mayor's Court Education And Procedure Rules -Guidelines for Assignment of Judges -LOCAL RULES OF THE COURTS OF APPEALS -Cuyahoga County Rules of The Court of Common Pleas -Franklin County Rules of Practice of the Court of Common Pleas -Hamilton County Rules of Practice of the Court of Common Pleas -Lucas County Rules of Practice of the Court of Common Pleas -Montgomery County Rules of Practice and Procedure of the Court of Common Pleas -Stark County Rules of Practice of the Court of Common Pleas -Summit County Rules of Practice and Procedure of the Court of Common Pleas -LOCAL CIVIL RULES UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT NORTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO -Local Criminal Rules United States District Court Northern District Of Ohio -Local Bankruptcy Rules United States Bankruptcy Court Northern District Of Ohio -Local Rules United States District Court For The Southern District Of Ohio -Local Rules United States Bankruptcy Court For The Southern District Of Ohio -Local Patent Rules of the United States District Court Nothern District of Ohio -Local Patent Rules of the United States District Court Southern District of Ohio.
Ohio Rules of Civil Procedure (Westlaw)
Westlaw version of the Ohio Rules of Civil Procedure.
