Skip to Main Content
General Books and Treatises
Powell on Real Property (Lexis)
Powell on Real Property is the definitive real property treatise you've been looking for. Includes The Supreme Court Update, an annual review of Supreme Court cases affecting real property interests written by General Editor Michael Allan Wolf. A Treatise for the Twenty-First Century, Updated 4 Times a Year. Each update to the treatise contains expert analysis and includes Powell in the Courts, a quarterly analysis of recent case law citing Powell written by General Editor Michael Allan Wolf. Powell Now Contains New Analysis of Complex Property Issues Related to Rails-to-Trails. Some of the most contested property disputes of the late twentieth and early twenty-first centuries have concerned the conversion of railroad corridors to public uses such as recreational trails. Such disputes are the subject of new Chapter 78A, Rails-to-Trails: Conversion of Railroad Corridors to Recreational Trails, written by Professor Danaya C. Wright. Green Buildings. Why do real estate attorneys need to know about them? Powell General Editor Michael Allan Wolf explains in new Chapter 78B, Green Buildings, as he explores the green building phenomenon--the forces coming together to integrate building design and construction practices furthering energy efficiency, resource conservation, and the protection of the environment. Authoritative Coverage. The work on all aspects of real property law that the courts look to and cite. Powell's authoritative, national coverage includes unmatched in-depth analysis of the pertinent case law, statutes, and regulations. Its over 130 chapters and several practice guides cover the gamut of real estate issues with clear explanations of the current law. Examples of topics include: * Americans with Disabilities Act: public accommodations and commercial facilities * effect of bankruptcy law on real property transactions and interests condominiums, cooperatives, homeowner associations, and timesharing conveyancing * deeds, recording acts, and title insurance * easements, licenses and restrictive covenants * eminent domain * landlord and tenant law * land use planning and regulation * mortgages, liens and foreclosures * tax aspects of real estate transactions and investments * effect of telecommunications laws on real property interests * property disputes related to conversion of railroad corridors to recreational trails and other public uses ("rails-to-trails") * green buildings Written and updated by leading authorities and practitioners from across the nation. Statements of law are supported by abundant citations to statutes, regulations, case law, law review commentary, and more. For more than half a century, Powell on Real Property has been the one source to turn to for the answers to real property law questions in America. With its unparalleled breadth AND depth of coverage, it still is.
Thompson on Real Property (Lexis)
An important national treatise on real property law, Thompson on Real Property, Thomas Editions, was completely revised and modernized in the 1990s by editor-in-chief David A. Thomas and more than 30 other noted legal scholars. Together, they contributed over 100 chapters of up-to-date, comprehensive, and in-depth coverage of real property law, including analysis of such topics as - adverse possession - agricultural and farm law - constitutional impacts on real property - construction and construction financing - conveyancing procedures - landlord and tenant - inns and innkeepers - international real property issues - petroleum and pipelines - property issues in space law - public and private nuisances - real property issues in weather control - waste Thompson on Real Property, Thomas Editions, has been cited by the courts hundreds of times, and cited by the highest courts (for example, by the United States Supreme Court in United States v. Craft, 535 U.S. 274 (2002)).
Housing Discrimination Law & Litigation (Westlaw)
Housing Discrimination Law and Litigation gives you a point-by-point analysis of the entire field of housing discrimination law -- from the background of our modern discrimination laws to the most recent fair housing cases and legislation.
Housing Discrimination Practice Manual (Westlaw)
Housing Discrimination Practice Manual examines critical issues that arise in housing discrimination cases: What is substantively considered to be prohibited conduct? Who can sue and be sued? What are the procedural options and forums available to victims? Should you take a particular case to HUD? The Department of Justice? Federal Court? The answers are all spelled out for you! Housing Discrimination Practice Manual provides an overview of the Fair Housing Act, and clearly explains the basic theories of liability and burdens of proof applied in a housing discrimination case and takes you step-by-step through the litigation process.
Ohio Books and Treatises
Anderson's Ohio Residential Real Estate Manual (Lexis)
This edition of Anderson's Ohio Residential Real Estate Manual is full of complete and updated information relating to every aspect of the real estate transaction in Ohio. Each chapter has been revised and updated to include the most recent statutory and case information. New materials include: * Detailed review of the new Agency Disclosure Requirements in Ohio with forms * Detailed review of the Lead Paint Disclosure Requirements in Ohio with new forms and related information * Discussion of new statutory material on Trustee Deeds * Updated and revised forms.
Ohio Real Property Law and Practice (Lexis)
Real Property Law and Practice includes virtually everything an attorney needs to practice real estate law in Ohio: two volumes of indispensable analysis, practice tips, checklists, and forms. This valuable resource is authored by Robert M. Curry, Partner with Thompson Hine LLP in Dayton, Ohio and James Geoffrey Durham, Professor of Law at the University of Dayton School of Law. In this edition, you'll find: Checklists, Warnings and Practice Tips have been inserted throughout the chapters, in an easy-to-find format that provides you with critical information at a glance. Analysis of the U.S. Supreme Court's eminent domain decision in Kelo v. City of New London.
Ohio Landlord Tenant Law--Baldwin's Ohio Handbook (Westlaw)
Ohio Landlord Tenant Law (Baldwin's Ohio Handbook Series) contains state and federal laws and regulations governing residential landlord-tenant legal issue.
Ohio Planning and Zoning Law (West)
Ohio Planning and Zoning Law is the only comprehensive treatise on Ohio land use controls and related planning and economic development issues. It offers a step-by-step guide to Ohio’s permit process as well as in-depth analysis of state legislation governing planning, economic development, and affordable housing. The text emphasizes Ohio statutes and caselaw, along with significant decisions from other state and federal courts.
