Horticulture Guide

Containing 500 full color photographs and illustrations, The Bench Grafter's Handbook: Principles and Practicepresents exhaustive information on all aspects of bench grafting. It details requirements of more than 200 temperate woody plant genera, covering over 2,000 species and cultivars including important ornamental, temperate fruit, and nut crops. The book explains the principles and practices of bench grafting, new procedures to enhance grafting success, and recommendations for further scientific investigation. Practical issues to aid professionals and the beginner, include detailed accounts, supported by pictures and diagrams, of the main grafting methods, knifesmanship techniques, and methods of training. Provision and design, now and for the future, of suitable structures, grafting facilities, and equipment, to provide ideal controlled environments for grafts, are described. The book describes major grafting systems, sub-cold, cold, warm, supported warm, hot-pipe, and other grafting strategies. It provides details of health and safety issues; work stations, seat design, lighting levels; recorded output figures for various types of graft; grafting knives and tools; and methods of sharpening by hand and machine. Features: Comprehensive description, pictures, and diagrams of how to learn and utilize important grafting methods. Detailed information and scientific principles behind the selection, specification, and choice of the main graft components - the rootstock and scion. Scientific principles and practicalities of providing optimal plant material, equipment, facilities and environmental conditions for graft union development including addressing the problems of graft incompatibility. Discussion of the actual and potential role of bench grafting in woody plant conservation with suggestions for new initiatives. This book is intended for use by nurserymen; those involved in the upkeep of extensive plant collections; conservationists; plant scientists; lecturers in horticulture; horticultural students; and amateurs with an interest in grafting. , warm, supported warm, hot-pipe, and other grafting strategies. It provides details of health and safety issues; work stations, seat design, lighting levels; recorded output figures for various types of graft; grafting knives and tools; and methods of sharpening by hand and machine. Features: Comprehensive description, pictures, and diagrams of how to learn and utilize important grafting methods. Detailed information and scientific principles behind the selection, specification, and choice of the main graft components - the rootstock and scion. Scientific principles and practicalities of providing optimal plant material, equipment, facilities and environmental conditions for graft union development including addressing the problems of graft incompatibility. Discussion of the actual and potential role of bench grafting in woody plant conservation with suggestions for new initiatives. This book is intended for use by nurserymen; those involved in the upkeep of extensive plant collections; conservationists; plant scientists; lecturers in horticulture; horticultural students; and amateurs with an interest in grafting. ns for new initiatives. This book is intended for use by nurserymen; those involved in the upkeep of extensive plant collections; conservationists; plant scientists; lecturers in horticulture; horticultural students; and amateurs with an interest in grafting.

Presents gardening techniques and step-by-step instructions to produce various plant species for each season of the year and maintain a healthy, natural landscape.

The 18th century was a wealth of knowledge, exploration and rapidly growing technology and expanding record-keeping made possible by advances in the printing press. In its determination to preserve the century of revolution, Gale initiated a revolution of its own: digitization of epic proportions to preserve these invaluable works in the largest archive of its kind. Now for the first time these high-quality digital copies of original 18th century manuscripts are available in print, making them highly accessible to libraries, undergraduate students, and independent scholars. Medical theory and practice of the 1700s developed rapidly, as is evidenced by the extensive collection, which includes descriptions of diseases, their conditions, and treatments. Books on science and technology, agriculture, military technology, natural philosophy, even cookbooks, are all contained here. ++++ The below data was compiled from various identification fields in the bibliographic record of this title. This data is provided as an additional tool in helping to insure edition identification: ++++ British Library T122467 London: printed for R. Baldwin; and J. Jackson, 1759. [2],42p., plates; 8°

In Plant Propagation A to Z, over 500 photographs illustrate both practical step-by-step propagation techniques and the plants themselves. More than 1,000 garden plants are covered in the extensive tables, detailing the specific propagation techniques to use -- seed, cutting or division -- for each plant. More specialized propagation methods are also described, including layering, grafting, and even growing ferns from spores. Information on germination time, strike rate, time of year to propagate, and temperature required is given, with specific instructions covering 500 popular garden ornamentals. Plant Propagation A to Z gives practical advice to: Decide the right technique to use Determine the best time to propagate Learn specialized propagation methods Choose the right equipment Easy-to-use and informative, Plant Propagation A to Z is an essential gardening reference book that will be used time and again.

For researchers and students, George's books have become the standard works on in vitro plant propagation. For this, the third edition of the classic work, authors with specialist knowledge have been brought on board to cover the hugely expanded number of topics in the subject area. Scientific knowledge has expanded rapidly since the second edition and it would now be a daunting task for a single author to cover all aspects adequately. However, this edition still maintains the integration that was characteristic of the previous editions. The first volume of the new edition highlights the scientific background of in vitro propagation. The second volume covers the practice of micropropagation and describes its various applications.

Hallmarked as the most successful book of its kind, this remarkably thorough treatment covers all aspects of the propagation of plants—both sexual and asexual—with considerable attention given to human (vs natural) efforts to increase plant numbers. The book presents both the art and science of propagation, and conveys knowledge of specific kinds of plants and the particular methods by which those plants must be propagated.A five-part organization outlines general aspects of plant propagation, seed propagation, vegetative propagation, methods of micropropagation, and propagation of selected plants.For anyone with an interest in how plants are grown and utilized for maintaining and adding enjoyment to human life.