Research Guides: Public Opinion, Survey, and Policy Research: Home

About this Guide

Find resources for public opinion, polling, and policy research.

iPOLL
iPOLL is a comprehensive¸ up-to-date source for US nationwide public opinion. A full-text retrieval system¸ the iPoll online database is organized at the question level¸ providing the tools to sift through nearly a half million questions asked on national public opinion surveys¸ 1935 to present. Surveys archived in the Roper Catalog were originally gathered by academic¸ commercial and media survey organizations such as Gallup Organization¸ Harris Interactive¸ Pew Research Associates¸ and many more.
Coverage: 1935 to present
Polling the Nations
Polling the Nations is a comprehensive collection of public opinion¸ with information from the United States and also more than 100 countries around the world. The database includes the full text of the questions and responses covering 5¸000 topics and issues.

Roper Center Datasets and Collections Presents the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research, a nonprofit research organization located at the University of Connecticut in Storrs. Provides a history and overview of the Center. Describes the resources and services that are available. Offers access to the archives and publications of the Center. The data held range from the 1930s to the present. Most of the data are from the United States, but over 50 nations are represented. Contains over 17,000 datasets. The iPOLL databank offers access to nearly half a million survey questions and answers asked in the US by more than 150 survey organizations. Direct links are given to study documentation and datasets ready for instant access and express downloading through RoperExpress

Roper Center Public Opinion Research Archive
The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research is the leading educational organization in the field of public opinion research. Established in 1947¸ its main objective is to maintain an archive of data from polls and surveys conducted by major survey organizations for use by researchers¸ students¸ and journalists.

CAWP: Center for American Women and Politics The Center for American Women and Politics (CAWP), a unit of the Eagleton Institute of Politics at Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, is nationally recognized as the leading source of scholarly research and current data about American women’s political participation. Its mission is to promote greater knowledge and understanding about women's participation in politics and government and to enhance women's influence and leadership in public life. [Site Description]

Europa World Plus
Europa World Plus is the online version of the Europa World Year Book and the nine-volume Regional Surveys of the World series. First published in 1926, the year book is renowned as one of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories.

Think Tank Search Engine
Think Tank Search searches the websites of institutions that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity. These sites are affiliated with universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, and non-governmental organizations. Inclusion is based upon the relevancy of subject area to HKS coursework and scholarship, the availability of the think tank’s research in full-text on the website, and the think tank’s reputation and influence upon policy making. The list represents a mixture of partisan and non-partisan think tanks.