This guide will get you started on your research process for the Business Essentials Course. Please refer to your professor and syllabus for detailed information for the assignment.
Hoover's Online is a database of public and private company reports and Industry studies. Search by: Company name¸ Ticker symbol¸ Keyword Person's last name. UC has access also to the Members Only sections which includes the Hoovers in-depth Company Profiles where you will find sales leads¸ business contacts¸ investment ideas¸ financial information and competitive intelligence information including a list of competitiors.
NOTE: KNOWN ISSUE WITH ACCESS PROBLEMS; TRY A DIFFERENT BROWSER, CLEAR HISTORY AND/OR TRY AGAIN.
Coverage: Current
IBISWorld Industry Reports provide in-depth industry analysis for over 700 U.S. industries in all major U.S. industry sectors at the 5-digit level of NAICS . Reports are updated regularly¸ and contain: key statistics¸ market characteristics¸ segmentation¸ industry conditions¸ industry performance¸ key competitors¸ key factors¸ and industry outlook and forecast.
Coverage - Current
Market research reports primarily for the U.S. and covers a variety of sectors including beauty and personal¸ health and medical¸ electronic¸ consumer goods¸ lifestyles¸ travel and tourism¸ financial industry¸ internet industry¸ retail¸ and food & drink. Reports discuss market drivers¸ market size & trends¸ market segmentation¸ supply structure¸ advertising and promotion¸ retail distribution¸ consumer characteristics¸ and future and forecasts. Users will need to click on "I Agree" with the "Conditions of use" statement - each time they enter the database¸ and to establish and login into a profile with a UC e-mail address. Coverage: current
Summon searches for books, articles, and other materials available at the library (most of it is online). It is a library version of Google.
You can find company information available at the library by using some of the following searches:
Kroger AND "company goals"
IBM AND "financial goals"
Cintas AND "core competencies"
"consumer trends" AND "frozen foods"
APA Academic Writer (formerly Style Central) is the consummate tool for learning and using APA style for a wide range of users: undergraduates, graduates and faculty. APA Academic Writer offers a plethora of tools to facilitate the writing and research process and to ensure compliance with APA style. Tools include 66 excellent video guides on specific rules or guidelines with direct links to corresponding text in the Publication Manual of the APA; 18 substantive video tutorials on broader topics such as “confounding variables” or “analyzing data”; 10 self-quizzes; 18 sample research papers, 15 sample tables & figures, over 150 sample references, 19 full-text psychology related reference books, a writing and collaboration tool and a manuscript matcher to identify journal candidates for publication. Moreover, most of this content can be embedded in online courses.
