Research Guides: Philanthropy and Nonprofit Organization Research: Home

Welcome

Research a specific non-profit organization and find information and data about the non-profit sector in this guide.

Ohio Charity Research
Search for charities and nonprofits registered in Ohio and locate their annual report filings.
Pro-Publica Nonprofit Explorer
Browse millions of annual returns filed by tax-exempt organizations with ProPublica’s Nonprofit Explorer. See details like executive compensation, revenue, expenses and more. Search for an organization or a person, or search the full text of filings.
Candid Guidestar
Nonprofit organizations’ IRS Form 990 returns can be viewed on GuideStar. A free registration process is required to access the reports.

Business Source Complete
Business database with full text for over 3¸600 serials¸ including over 1¸000 peer-reviewed business journals. Additional full text¸ non-journal content includes financial data¸ books¸ monographs¸ major reference works¸ book digests¸ conference proceedings¸ case studies¸ investment research reports¸ industry reports¸ market research reports¸ country reports¸ company profiles¸ SWOT analyses and more.
Coverage: 1886 - present

Catalog of Nonprofit Literature
This database of the literature of philanthropy incorporates the unique contents of Candid's libraries and contains more than 33,000 records, the majority of which include descriptive abstracts.
more...less...
NOTE: Once you locate a title, you must search for it within UC Library's Catalog. bit.ly/3S6bN0Z
Center for Effective Philanthropy
Browse resources for reports on funders, including evidence-based reports, profiles of funders, and case studies on the philanthropy sector.

Chronicle of Philanthropy Data & Research
National Center for Charitable Statistics
NCCS is a research center and open data platform dedicated to advancing the knowledge and understanding of the nonprofit and charitable sector.

The data catalog contains a broad array of data on the nonprofit sector including IRS 990 tax data, survey panels, and political action committees.
SOI Tax Stats - Charities and Other Tax Exempt Organizations
These statistics from the IRS contains statistical tables, articles, and other information on charities and other tax-exempt organizations.
IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search Bulk Data Downloads
Datasets about Tax Exempt Organizations Status and Filings. Can be downloaded in bulk via zip files.