Research Guides: Sociology -- Resources & Services (Main Library): Citation/Style Guides

Contents --- Citation/Style Guides

American Sociological Association Style Guides
Interpretive Guides to the ASA Style Guides (4th & 5th ed.)
Additional Citation Resources
EndNote and RefWorks (Cite sources and create bibliographies automatically, including over 3,000 styles.)
Citing Data

American Sociological Association Style Guides

American Sociological Association Style Guide, 6th edition
The sixth edition of the ASA Style Guide is the authoritative reference for writing, submitting, editing, and copyediting manuscripts for ASA journals and other publications following ASA's unique format. This revised, updated edition features guidelines for the most common situations encountered by authors and editors. New features include revisions to reference formatting and additional information on grammar, as well as expanded information on the use of electronic , digital, and social media sources. The sixth edition also includes guidance for online manuscript submissions, preprints, and updated reference examples. Coil binding. 163 pages (taken from the ASA website). Note that there are 2 copies: one in the Langsam stacks and the other in Langsam RERSERVES.
more...less...
Record date: 01/16/2020
American Sociological Associatioin Style Guide, 6th edition (e-book)
You can purchase your own e-book version (Kindle) of the 6th edition for $9.99.
more...less...
Record date: 11/7/2019

Interpretive Guides to ASA style (4th edition)

Purdue Online Writing Lab
"Formatting in Sociology" is based on the 5th edition of the ASA Style Guide. It includes guidelines for in-text references, reference (bibliography) page and manuscript writing.
more...less...
Record date: 10/12/2016

Additional Citation Resources

All ASA published journals and many non-ASA sociology journals comply with the ASA Style Guide for formatting requirements. However, many sociology journals conform either to other standard style guides, e.g. APA, Chicago, or to their own publisher's guide. To determine the style guide pertinent to a specific journal use any of the sources listed below to link to the publishers web site for that journal.

Ulrichs Web; Global Serials Directory
Locate your journal and click on the Web address across from "Website" to connect to the publisher's web site. From here look for author related information, e.g. "Author Instructions" or "Submit Manuscript" to identify the style guide used for this journal.
more...less...
Ulrichs contains listings of currently published journals, newsletters, and annuals, as well as discontinued publications. Though Ulrichs is not limited to scholarly serials, it does include a comprehensive collection of scholary journals. Further, using the [Advanced Search] mode it is easy to search either for specific journal titles or for a large group of journals. The SUBJECT search box is useful for identifying broad subjects (e.g. psychology), and the KEYWORD search box is useful for finding journals that focus on any specifuc content area, e.g. cognition.
Serials directory
Locate your journal (searching by title is most efficient) and then find the "Publisher's URL." Copy and paste this URL into your browser to go to the publisher's web site. From here look for author related information, e.g. "Author Instructions" or "Submit Manuscript" to identify the style guide used for this journal
more...less...
The Serials Directory provides access to the most up-to-date and accurate bibliographic information as well as current pricing structures for popular serials. This database contains nearly 250,000 U.S. and international titles, including newspapers; data from nearly 108,235 publishers worldwide, including e-mail and Internet addresses. Use the robust Ebsco search engine to identify journals that publish articles in your areas of expertise.

EndNote or RefWorks

Citation and reference management tools provide indispensable research support for the electronic collection and management of references (including full text), and these tools facilitate the production of in-text citations, footnotes and bibliographies (for over 6,000 different style guides) in research papers and manuscripts. Click the links below to learn more.

EndNote

RefWorks

EndNote OR RefWorks -- Why and which tool is right for you?

Citing Data

How to Cite Data (MSU Libraries)
Provides guidelines and additional helpful links for citing data sets and statistical tables.
more...less...
Record Date: 10/31/2019