Sociology -- Resources & Services (Main Library)

This is the 4th edition (2014) of this venerable dictionary of sociological terms. It also includes short biographies of living sociologists.

The Glossary of Literary and Cultural Theory provides researchers and students with an up-to-date guide through the vibrant and changing debates in Literary and Cultural Studies. In a field where meanings are frequently complex and ambiguous, this text is remarkable for its clarity and usefulness. This third edition includes 17 entirely new entries and updates to more than a dozen others which address key concepts and contemporary positions in both literary and cultural theory. (from the publisher)

This is a useful, though not authoritative, comprehensive glossary for terminology in the social sciences.

This 2012 work provides lengthy explanations a wide range of concepts of the body as a social phenomena, including "linked" references.

This 2011 work provides substantive discussion about each concept, including additional readings.

Provides comprehensive definitions of hundreds of concepts in the social sciences, and this resource also identifies controversies, key figures, applications and readings for most terms.

Springer, 2003

Langsam REF H62 .E585 2005
This is an excellent resource with comprehensive articles about social science research methods and analysis.

Langsam REF H41 .I58 2001
The 26 volume encyclopedia may be dated, but it remains the classical work that integrates the social sciences with other disciplines. The well written articles are authoritative and signed.

The Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Family Studies presents a comprehensive, interdisciplinary collection of the key concepts, trends, and processes relating to the study of families and family patterns throughout the world.

Includes over 600 short and long entries from hundreds of academics from the social sciences and humanities covering the importance and impact of race, ethnicity and nationalism.

A comprehensive, interdisciplinary compendium of original entries focusing on the origins, evolution, and global development of contemporary social theory. Features more than 850 in-depth, original entries contributed by international experts Includes all major theories, theorists, schools of thought, disciplines, debates, doctrines, developments, epistemologies, and methodologies relating to the development of modern social theory.

Location: Loaded on Reference CDROM Station 401
American Sociological Association