Research Guides: Company Information (U.S.): Databases

Company Databases

COMPANY DIRECTORIES

Mergent Intellect
Search over 250 million companies worldwide.

ORBIS (Bureau van Dijk)
ORBIS contains 200 million companies worldwide and is searchable using hundreds of criteria. ORBIS contains the following types of data: company financials in a standardized format; financial strength indicators; Country profiles and outlook from the EIU; Directors and contacts; Original filings/images; Stock data for listed companies; detailed corporate structures; Market research; Business and company-related news; M&A deals and rumors. The database includes corporate family trees in diagram format. You can also create and analyze peer groups.

IN-DEPTH COMPANY PROFILES

Company Dossier (Lexis/Nexis)
Company Dossier lets you search a company by name, ticker symbol, or D-U-N-S® number. You can also restrict your search by company type, city, state/province or country. From this form, find a wealth of information including headquarters locations, SEC filings, and executive hierarchies. Company Dossier delivers easy-to-read profiles of over 43 million companies worldwide and information on 1,000 industries to your desktop in just seconds. It helps you identify potential new clients, understand a company’s brands and trademarks, access detailed financial and recent litigation information

MarketLine Advantage
Company¸ industry and country reports from Datamonitor. covers over 4000 industry profiles¸ 30¸000 companies within over 200 countries. Includes SWOT analysis for companies and Porter's Five Forces analysis for industries.Coverage: Current
Hoover's Online
Hoover's Online is a database of public and private company reports and Industry studies. Search by: Company name¸ Ticker symbol¸ Keyword Person's last name. UC has access also to the Members Only sections which includes the Hoovers in-depth Company Profiles where you will find sales leads¸ business contacts¸ investment ideas¸ financial information and competitive intelligence information including a list of competitiors.
NOTE: KNOWN ISSUE WITH ACCESS PROBLEMS; TRY A DIFFERENT BROWSER, CLEAR HISTORY AND/OR TRY AGAIN.
Coverage: Current
Mergent Online (Moody's)
The following services are available from Mergent online: Company data¸ Company data archive¸ International company data¸ International company data archive¸ U.S. & International Annual reports¸ Industry reports¸ Equity reports¸ Corporate Bond Portraits¸ and Expanded long-term debt. Coverage: Current
Morningstar Investment Research Center
Performance statistics¸ written fund analyses¸ and analytical tools of over 3¸500 funds. Graphing of funds over a period of time is fairly easy. Searching the entire database for funds that meet your specifications is also possible. The standard Morningstar analytical tools¸ star ratings¸ investment style-box coordinates¸ and potential capital gain exposure are part of the service. Coverage: Current
Standard & Poor's Net Advantage
Standard and Poor's Net Advantage includes 10 major publications of S&P¸ The Outlook¸ Corporation Records¸ Mutual Funds¸ Bond Guide¸ Stock Guide¸ Divident Record¸ Stock Reports¸ Industry Surveys¸ Earnings Guide¸ and the Register of Corporations and Executives. The database is fully integrated¸ so that you can get a stock report on a company and then link to the other publications that have information on that company. Advanced searching is also available. Coverage: Current
Value Line Research Center

FINANCIAL RESEARCH

Bloomberg Terminal
Bloomberg is a dedicated computer terminal for accessing financial data electronically. It seamlessly integrates real-time and historical information on about 5 million bonds¸ equities¸ commodities¸ currencies and funds. It also comprises data on almost every publicly traded company and biographies of more than 1 million people.
Coverage: Current & Retrospective
BizMiner
BizMiner provides industry analysis for 16¸000 lines of business in 300 U.S. markets. It covers financial profiles¸ financial ratios¸ profit and loss profiles¸ regional business profiles¸ local market research reports¸ and retail sales/square foot report.
Coverage: Current
Compustat
Compustat is a database of financial¸ statistical¸ and marketing information. It provides more than 300 annual and 100 quarterly Income Statement¸ Balance Sheet¸ Statement of Cash Flows¸ and supplemental data items on more than 7500 publicly held companies. SPC offers several Compustat files that are available in both annual and quarterly formats. The industrial annual formats offer both historical and restated data. The industrial quarterly formats offer restated data as reported by the company. The restated data allows analysts to compare current and prior years' results on a comparable basis and determine financial trends and growth rates. For most companies¸ annual and quarterly data is available for a maximum of 20 years and 48 quarters (Compustat User's Guide p.1). Compustat files also contain information on aggregates¸ industry segments¸ banks¸ market prices¸ dividends¸ and earnings.
Coverage: 20 years
CRSP (Center for Research in Security Prices)
The Center for Research in Security Prices (CRSP) maintains the most comprehensive collection of standard and derived security data available for the NYSE¸ AMEX and Nasdaq Stock Market. CRSP is a research center at the University of Chicago Graduate School of Business¸ and maintains historical data spanning from December 1925 to the present. CRSP's trademark of unique issue identifiers tracks a continuous history of securities¸ providing a seamless time-series examination of the issue's history. CRSP's unparalleled accuracy and dedication to excellence has made CRSP data a staple of academic and commercial research and data analysis throughout the world.
Coverage: Current
I.B.E.S.
The IBES database provided by Thomson Financial contains comprehensive global information on analyst estimates of earnings per share including both individual forecasts and consensus data. Analyst recommendations are available as well. In addition to earnings estimates data is available on a more limited basis for estimates of revenue¸ cash flow¸ FFO¸ EBITDA¸ target prices¸ long-term growth and more.
Coverage: 1974 - present
Mergent Online (Moody's)
The following services are available from Mergent online: Company data¸ Company data archive¸ International company data¸ International company data archive¸ U.S. & International Annual reports¸ Industry reports¸ Equity reports¸ Corporate Bond Portraits¸ and Expanded long-term debt. Coverage: Current
Standard & Poor's Net Advantage
Standard and Poor's Net Advantage includes 10 major publications of S&P¸ The Outlook¸ Corporation Records¸ Mutual Funds¸ Bond Guide¸ Stock Guide¸ Divident Record¸ Stock Reports¸ Industry Surveys¸ Earnings Guide¸ and the Register of Corporations and Executives. The database is fully integrated¸ so that you can get a stock report on a company and then link to the other publications that have information on that company. Advanced searching is also available. Coverage: Current
Value Line Research Center
The Value Line Research Center includes on-line access to Value Line's leading publications covering stocks¸ mutual funds¸ options and convertible securities as well as special situation stocks. Included databases are:Included are: The Value Line Investment Survey¸ The Value Line Investment Survey - Small and Mid-Cap Edition¸ The Value Line Mutual Fund Survey¸ The Value Line Daily Options Survey¸ The Value Line Special Situations Service¸ The Value Line Convertibles Survey and Exchange Traded Funds (ETFs).

FAMILY TREES

ORBIS (Bureau van Dijk)
ORBIS contains 200 million companies worldwide and is searchable using hundreds of criteria. ORBIS contains the following types of data: company financials in a standardized format; financial strength indicators; Country profiles and outlook from the EIU; Directors and contacts; Original filings/images; Stock data for listed companies; detailed corporate structures; Market research; Business and company-related news; M&A deals and rumors. The database includes corporate family trees in diagram format. You can also create and analyze peer groups.

HISTORICAL DATA

Mergent Archives
(Annual Reports)(1925-)

ProQuest Historical Annual Reports
(1884-)

D&B Million Dollar Directory
(1959-Current minus a few years)

Mergent Archives by FTSE Russell
These are image files of the various manuals such as Banking¸ Industrial¸ Transportation¸ etc... going back to 1909. Each manual provides company information in the following areas: historical background¸ current activities¸ divisions and subsidiaries¸ businesses and properties owned¸ officers and directors¸ seven year income statements and balance sheets¸ financial and operating ratios¸ summary of each class of stocks and bonds¸ text of letter to stockholders¸ and excerpts from annual reports. Coverage: 1909 - present

Value Line Historical Stock Reports
(1997-)