Research Guides: Physics & Astronomy Resource Guide: Find Articles

Physics and Astronomy article resources

These selected core Physics databases search journal articles, book chapters, book reviews, essays, dissertations, etc.

AIP Conference Proceedings
Conference proceedings from the American Institute of Physics (AIP) scientific meetings, ranging from large international conferences to small specialist workshops. Subject areas span the entire physical sciences, including physics, math, chemistry, materials science, and engineering.
arXiv
Open acces to over 559,000 e-prints in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, and statistics.

Astrophysics Data System
Publicly Available. The Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a NASA-funded project whose main resource is an Abstract Service¸ which includes four sets of abstracts: 1) astronomy and astrophysics¸ containing 607¸193 abstracts; 2) instrumentation¸ containing 586¸979 abstracts; 3) physics and geophysics¸ containing 922¸490 abstracts; and 4) Los Alamos preprint server¸ containing 3¸529 abstracts. Each dataset can be searched by author¸ object name (astronomy only)¸ title¸ or abstract text words.

Compendex
Compendex is a comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database. It covers the entire spectrum of engineering, in depth, with records for 2,600+ international journals, conference papers and proceedings, and technical reports.

Institute of Physics Journals
National Nuclear Data Center
The National Nuclear Data Center (NNDC) is funded by the U.S. Department of Energy to provide information services in the fields of low and medium energy nuclear physics to users in the United States and Canada. In particular¸ the Center can provide information on neutron¸ charged-particle¸ and photonuclear reactions¸ nuclear structure¸ and decay data. Coverage: 1990 - present

Optica Publishing Group (Formerly OSA)
Optica Publishing Group is a leading global forum for light science and technology. This cutting-edge repository of peer-reviewed optics and photonics content includes journal articles, conference papers, and videos.
Science Collections (AAAS)
In Science Collections, you can browse by subject to find Science articles published in your field since 1997 and view special content collections like Netwatch and Books et al.
Scientific.Net
Includes academic journals and book series that publish regular and special issues, volumes, conference proceedings, and monographs focused on science and engineering themes.
SPIE Digital Library
The SPIE Digital Library is the most extensive resource available on optics and photonics, providing unprecedented access to technical publications from SPIE Journals, Conference Proceedings and Presentations, and eBooks.

Other Science databases

Search these General Science indexes and databases to cast a broader net for relevant journal articles, book chapters, book reviews, essays dissertations, etc. relating to Physics topics.

Web of Science
Multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Coverage: 1965 - present
Scopus (Elsevier)
Indexing, abstracting, and citation searching database for science and social science scholarly literature. Includes quality web sources, conference proceedings, and trade publications.
Coverage: 1966 - present

Find a specific journal

Have a citation - just need to find the journal?

E-Journal Search

Library Catalog - Journal Search