Research Guides: STEM Education: Teaching Science, Technology, Engineering and Math: Articles

Key Databases for Researching STEM Education

The databases listed here act as powerful specialized portals for researching STEM education.

Education Research Complete Education Research Complete is a bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education¸ and all educational specialties¸ such as multilingual education¸ health education¸ and testing. Education Research Complete also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration¸ policy¸ funding¸ and related social issues. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1¸500 journals¸ as well as full text for more than 750 journals. This database also includes full text for more than 100 books and monographs¸ and full text for numerous education-related conference papers.
Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.Coverage: 1865 - present
ERIC (EBSCOhost) ERIC indexes education-related literature¸ beginning in 1966. The ERIC database is the world's largest source of education information¸ containing abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice. The database covers descriptions and evaluations of programs¸ research reports and surveys¸ curriculum and teaching guides¸ instructional materials¸ position papers¸ and resource materials. In 1993¸ ERIC began indexing education-related books¸ including the output of major publishers. More recently it includes full-text non-journal documents (issued 1993-present). ERIC may be accessed directly at http://www.eric.ed.gov. To take advantage of many links to full-text documents through OhioLINK¸ use the connect below. Coverage: 1966 - present
Professional Development Collection The database provides a highly specialized collection of over 500 full text journals¸ designed for professional educators.
Education Full Text Education Abstracts indexes core international periodicals¸ monographs¸ and yearbooks in education. Topics include a wide range of contemporary education issues¸ including government funding¸ instructional media¸ multicultural education¸ religious education¸ student counseling¸ competency-based¸ and information technology. Education Abstracts cites articles in English-language periodicals and yearbooks published in the United States and elsewhere. English language books related to education published in 1995 or later are also indexed. Coverage: 1983 - present
Scopus (Elsevier) A comprehensive, multidisciplinary abstract and citation database that includes literature from the social sciences, physical sciences, health sciences and life sciences. Search and filter relevant information, monitor research trends, track newly published research and identify subject experts. Use the analytics tools to visualize, compare and export the data. 
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete A full-text database covering computing, technology, and engineering disciplines. Covers the research and development spectrum of the computing and applied sciences disciplines. Provides indexing and abstracts for over 2,000 academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources from a diverse collection. 
Teacher Reference Center (TRC) A complimentrary research database for teachers, Teacher Reference Center (TRC) provides indexing and abstracts for more than 220 peer-reviewed journals. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 220 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.

Accessing Library Resources

Include off-campus access information on your guide as needed. All database and link assets are already proxied in LibGuides so you do not need to proxy any links on your guides.
Use this text to provide information on accessing library resources, if needed:

How to Access Library Resources: Click the link to a library resource. You may be prompted to log in with your UC username and password. You may have to complete Duo Two-Factor Authentication as well.

These prompts can occur both on and off campus.

Additional Information and Resources for Accessing Library Resources

Affiliate and Guest Access
Information for Affiliates, Guests and Alumni for connecting from off campus.
Help and Troubleshooting
Tech support for common connection and password issues.
Tools
Proxy link generators and linking via Google Scholar.